Customer Reviews for

Next

Average Rating 3.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extr...
Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

posted by eoconnell on June 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really didn't Like this book.

I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person...
I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

posted by Ducky48 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Not One of Crichton's Better Efforts

    I haven't hated a Crichton book this much since Congo. It wasn't even a novel so much as an extremely loosely connected series of vignettes whose sole seeming purpose was to allow Crichton to express his personal opinions on various ethical aspects of genetic research. Crichton has always had some soapboxing in his books, but it's never been as extensive or ham-handed as this.

    The e-book specifically was also sub-standard. Any text that appeared in small caps in the original text was completely missing from the e-book, leading to sentences like, "They passed a sign along the trail that said ." (The missing text read "BUKUT ALAM ORANGUTAN SANCTUARY" in small caps in the paper book.) There were so many instances of missing text that I was forced to check out a paper copy of the book from my local library and carry it around with me for reference, which rather defeats the purpose of having an e-reader. The same text was missing when I checked the e-book via the Nook app on my PC, which leads me to believe the issue is with the EPUB file, not the display on my 1st gen Nook.

    Also, in the bibliography of Web sites at the end of the e-book, the URLs ran completely off the page, sometimes disappearing in mid-letter.

    A major disappointment all the way around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Not Impressed

    So many story lines that were all tied together and terminated suddenly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Where's the beef? (Read plot)

    His books are usually fast paced and gripping, but this one leaves you wondering what the plot was or if there was one. A monkey and bird eventually become part of a family. Really!!! That's the story!!! The only interesting parts were the actual science. Save your money and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    MP3 version did not work on PC Media Player

    MP3 version did not work on PC Media Player

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your time

    He's lost his intrigue and his touch. This book was so predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Crichton should be ashamed

    Total garbage. Starting to loose faith in him. I have enjoyed his books in the past, but this one is really below standard. Don't waste your money. Looking back at State of Fear in light of all the science out there now, I am starting to think maybe he is a little wacked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Stupid story - no plot

    Extremely disappointing storyline. Nothing more than a disjointed monologue with a lot of pontificating and ranting. What happened to the engaging storyteller of previous books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Huge Disappointment

    What a huge disappointment. What happened to the old M.C. with suspence and enjoyable characters. This novel has no plot to speak of and only two dimensional insipid characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Crichton Writes a Bomb

    I am a big Crichton fan, but this book is bad. It has too many characters, is too confusing and it just keeps coming up with one unbelievable plot after another. Crighton's books normally have one hard to believe aspect. Once you buy into that aspect the remainder of the story is great. This one just keeps coming up with fantasies. When they hired the bounty hunter to kidnap the 8 year old to steal his genetic material and supposedly had the law on their side. It lost me. I finished the book only because I was 3/4 of the way through it. I'm surprised the publisher, Harper Collins, let Crichton hurt himself like this. Isn't it their job to make sure this does not happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    It just gets worse...

    I used to love Crichton's work, however now, with this book especially, the quality has gone down. In this story, there is no protagonist, a million subplots that go nowhere, and a fairly rushed ending. I also don't like that he's trying to push right-wing agendas through what is supposed to be fictional writing. Timeline was a great book, Prey was pointless, State of Fear is a joke, and this is just boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    My last purchase by this author!!!

    Rambles on and on. Great book for insomniacs. Better than a sleeping pill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    LEAVE THE POLITICS OUT?!

    If most of the above reviewers left the politics out, there would be very few reviews of this book. Those that state or imply that politics are not relevant should not ever imply they are legitimate literary critics (professional or amateur). One of the most important elements of an author is his/her's credibility. If the contextual flow of a novel makes it apparent the author is a spokesperson for an administration that is impotent and no longer relevant, that has to become involved in the impact the novel has on any reader with all oars in the water. I too enjoyed and was impressed by early writings of Mr. Crighton. He has lost me too with this most recent literary failure. Joe from Mission Viejo (yes, one of the conservative bastions of California)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    If you like child pornography, pick up this book...

    I was absolutely disgusted when I came across the description of a two year old boy being raped. If you all want to support this kind of 'literature' and 'deep thinking' then I feel sorry for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    MP3 CD does not work on PC!

    I was going to listen on iTunes so I thought MP3 would be the way to go, since you rip Audio CD to MP3. The problem is the MP3 CD is not compatible with a PC. The reason is chapter (file) names contain illegal Windows file name characters like ' or ?. I was able to import into iTunes, but I had to make an ISO image of the CD and edit the filenames on the new CD to be able to read in Windows. Please make MP3 CD's that work with iTunes on Windows and MAC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    I wish Creighton would evolve

    I agree with Mr. Greengenes. Creighton made his millions by 'scaring us' with science. Now he rides his own coat-tails promoting right-wing, anti-environmental positions. This was a complete snooze....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Boredom Reigns

    Mr C. has been one of my favorite authors for a long time. His early work like Sphere and Jurassic were very entertaining. Ever since his last book, he has gone downhill. I struggled to get through Next. It was too slow and too many people to keep track of. You would totally forget what one person was doing by the time they came back into the story. And when does a fiction book have a seven page bibliography? If I wanted to read a nonfiction book, then I would. Get back to pure entertainment, Mr C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Poorly written

    I used to call myself a fan of Mr. Crichton's work, but I wished I would have left this one on the shelf. It is poorly written and poorly conceived. It just goes in circles and ends up nowhere. I'm sure a topic as notable as gene patenting is worth writing about, but it unfortunately gets lost in this mess of a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    A series of 'what-if' subplots looking to resemble a novel

    About three-fourths of the way through this book I was still trying to find out what the plot was and why I should care about any of the characters in the novel (if I could even remember which was which). It seemed as if the author just had a bunch of notes written down on paper for his next book and then he couldn't figure out which one to use, so he just uses them all in one jumbled 'novel'. The character development was absolutely horrible and the entire book lacked coherence. The only good thing about the book was the facts that were presented and my own thoughts that regarding those facts. I would not suggest this book to anyone, unless maybe they need a coaster. Go out and get either 'Prey' or 'State of Fear' for a much better read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Bush's pal bashes up another Neo-science fantasy

    I believe that this man has done much harm to science and himself in his slavish adherence to the Bush agenda. His thrillers always end up the same, a raptor, a monster, monkey, clone, thing chasing the good guy through most of the book, but good old yank know how always saves the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Do NOT support Crichton!

    I had been a huge fan of Michael Crichton since his early novels, but after his last (State of Fear), the junk-science, right-wing attempted debunking of global warming (which by the way is a serious issue acknowledged by hundreds of *real* scientists), I will no longer support his work. Not only does he attempt to discredit a real problem we face in global warming in his book, it turns out he is a toady, and sometimes 'science advisor' for George Bush. Crichton's new 'monkey' book will undoubtedly follow the same line of wacko conservative, anti-science reasoning and I for one will not provide any more of my hard earned cash for Crichton to continue to line the pockets of this ignorant administration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2