Customer Reviews for

Next

Average Rating 3.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extr...
Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

posted by eoconnell on June 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really didn't Like this book.

I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person...
I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

posted by Ducky48 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/unabridged/Science Fiction: Right now, I'm on a Crichton kic

    CD/unabridged/Science Fiction: Right now, I'm on a Crichton kick.
    Apparently, Crichton took a look at gene therapy and technology in the 15 years that he wrote Jurassic Park and realized there was a problem. For one, the stuff that was pseudo science in JP, was begin done. This book has several stories that intertwine, overlap, and stand alone. It's a cautionary tale of what happens when government and medical boards (not just the US) lag behind modern science. Like how much of your body do you own after you give a tissue sample. Or how much gene integration should be done to animals. I liked it because I learned a lot. I didn't know that genes or diseases are patented. I found out that SARS became a pandemic because there was uncertainty on who owned the patent. I found out Hepatitis C is patented.
    This book starts out like a spy novel, but then goes into several directions. There is an emptiness to the conclusions. I wanted to know if the evil bounty hunter.....I mean property recovery agent, went to jail for the rest of his life.
    I still liked it a lot. Did I mention the talking ape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Out of the Norm for M.C.

    I really enjoyed this on audio book. I listen during a very long commute and I hated to get out of the car at the end of the jouney;could not wait to start listening again. This was a bit off the normal path for Mr. Crichton and I was hesitant about buying it at first but I now happy that I did because it is a wonderful story that will cause concern about possible abuse in the fields of medical research. The interview with the author at the end of the audio book was most interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Very mysterious and great

    This storyis a genetic mystery crime book. It is awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Loved it

    The first Crighton book I have read. I was hoping for more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to make you think about the future

    Michael Crichton has done it again as he takes you into a very realistic future world, and maybe not so far into the future as you might imagine. It may be all possible now. He makes the idea of a person who is genetically engineered with animals not so out of this world. I had a little trouble keeping all the characters straight but he kept me glued to the book until I finished it. I could really believe that what was happening in the book was real, and it made me fearful of the future. I will keep this one in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun quirky look at what might be . . .

    The format of the book was a nice change. Great reading for small bits at a time. Also found it interesting to talk about with other readers - very timely. Most everyone is afraid of genetic manipulation and what the results might bring. My favorite character was the bird - I think he deserves his own book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Good overall read. Very informative on a subject that is difficult to understand: genetics.

    The story was a little disjointed with so many different threads going on at once. Most of those threads were pulled together at the end and the ones that weren't were still important to the message of this book. Clearly the author (Crichton) had a message he wanted to get out and this story did just that. Any questions about the author's message are answered in the author's notes at the end of the book. I really enjoyed this book and learning so much about how genetics are being handled in our institutions (the courts, labs and colleges of the U.S.). This book certainly generates much conversation and internet searches among my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought-provoking

    Next encourages you to think about the consequences of some of the technology we are slowly beginning to take for granted. What does it mean for your DNA to become someone else's property? What are the risks of transgenic animals?

    I think this book is great for people interested in science fiction, bioethics, and those interested in having a topic for conversation with friends and professors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ha ha--did you know this guy wrote "Jurassic Park"?

    My dad read this book and he didn't even have to suggest it to me for me to want to read it. This book is incredible and I suggest it to anyone who loves a good sci-fi read. Even you realistic fiction lovers would enjoy this novel, 'cause I know I did, and I'm a fantasy chick. And would you believe that when I read this, it wasn't until I was halfway through that I realized, "Hey...this is the same guy who wrote Jurassic Park!!!"

    Hahahahahaha. I'm gonna read the dino book next...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Good, but...

    There was alot going on. I almost felt like I needed take notes to keep up with all the different characters. It keeps you guessing and thinking. Overall it was a good, interesting, thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I liked it.

    Not his best but the book was thought provoking and occasionally hysterically funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Different Crichton story but good in its own way

    I personally enjoyed this novel. It's very fast-paced, and it introduces a lot of different sub-plots that either fit together at the end or help to support Crichton's thesis. That being said, I will also admit that it's different from MC's classic novels, like Jurassic Park and Sphere, which allowed you to get to know the characters better. I enjoyed this book much more than his recent offerings (Timeline, Prey, State of Fear), but I also realize that this novel isn't quite on par with my favorite Crichton novels (JP, Congo, Sphere, Eaters of the Dead). That being said, if you're looking for a fun read and have an open mind, this may be a sound option for you. Otherwise, you may want to take a pass on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Too many characters and the plot seems to drift sometimes. Overall great writing with great topics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Left a little short but very well written!

    This book was very well written and flows together very nice. This is my 9th Crichton book I have read so I am a big fan of his. Like other reviewers have said before me there are just too many story lines going on at once without any real structure I believe he had so many different issues with genics that he couldn't just single a few out. I understand that this book and State Of Fear are more of Crichton's way of getting his beliefs out there. But with that said the book was well written and very interesting. Could possibly be a look into the not so distant future of genetics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Crichton doesn't disappoint with this subject!

    For those of you who actually love Crichton's book because of the intellectual and scientific nature of his writing, I recommend you read this book. Unlike some authors, Crichton actually tackles new unheard subjects and presents them in brilliant, ingenious ways. I have yet to find an author that can match his writing and presentation skills. Crichton's book, NEXT, is not a typical rollercoaster ride story that makes the reader smile at explosions instead, the story moves you through several people's lives that relate to the subject matter of the book. Some readers may get too confused with retaining names and main characters, but most people I talk to had no problem and loved how Crichton connected all their lives to each other by the end. You can tell that Crichton did not just write this book to simply write a book, but instead, he chose to tell the reader of an important subject that you will never hear in the media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Great winter read!

    Great read. It was a little farfetched but I really enjoyed it. As always, Crichton does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Complex

    I really enjoyed this book, though it lacked a little on a plot. The number of characters and the complexity of their individual stories prove how important the subject of genetics really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    provocative

    MC continues to bring about much needed debate in society. As with his last two novels there is fiercely contended issues for the present and future. I did take a star off due to 'monkey boy' being too over the top. Having read all his books, I can say they are never boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Next is 2nd worst and Best at the same time.

    Personally, I haven't cared for Crichton's last few works because I found the plot's lacking. Prey seemed a weak attempt to discuss nanotechnology, and State of Fear, while filled with an interesting point of view on global warming or the lack their of, seemed filled with plot holes. Next is Crichton's second worst fiction novel, behind State of Fear. But it's his BEST (most) conscientious book to date. While the plot is LESS believable than dinosaurs running rampant on an island somewhere, the subject is one that we will have to face all too soon. While almost every last character has compromised moral judgement, Crichton presents a worst-case scenario for gene patenting that should enflame your interest one way or the other. I recommend reading it, simply to expand your knowledge base in the slightest, so that when confronted with these types of debates in a few election years, you won't be completely in the dark. Also of note: That Crichton's name envelops the book and bookcover, yet the novel's name is only found twice in small print. Less of a novel than a Crichton opinion can be found in these pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    A reviewer

    Here's some knowledge that I think you and other people should be aware of before you submit a review such as the one you posted. 'State of Fear,' 'Next' and almost all of Michael Crichton's books have one, wonderful thing in common They're 'fiction.' Definition of Fiction: 'the act of feigning, inventing, or imagining.' Come on, does anyone actually believe that we have uncovered functioning Saurischia or Ornithischia deoxyribonucleic acid inside fossilized mosquitos? Does anyone believe that we have proof of a hero named Buliwyf saving an isolated Norse community from a Neanderthal invasion? (Beowulf is not proof, like Eaters of the Dead (which happens to be based on it) the entire concept of the possibility of that myth being actual fact is mere 'speculation.') You'd have to be plain naïve to believe such things. This is the same general idea. He's not debunking, challenging or contradicting anything. I may not be a professional writer myself, but I feel pretty safe to say that he's (like many authors) 'telling' a 'story.' So many people have made this exact, same mistake so don't feel foolish, just please 'think' before you post something as ignorant as the content you previously posted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6