Customer Reviews for

Next

Average Rating 3.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extr...
Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

posted by eoconnell on June 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really didn't Like this book.

I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person...
I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

posted by Ducky48 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Decent, but not my favorite

    I¿m not the scientist of the family, but even I was on shaky ground with some of the `scientific¿ claims made by the `scientists¿ in this book. I¿m just not sure I bought them as characters. The media hype, overreaction, and misinterpretation were right on the money, though. That I found completely believable! I¿m not sure about the style of the book ¿ the interspersed news clippings and whatnot were interesting, but also had a tendency to break up the story. As did some of the exceedingly short chapters, though they also lent to the air of excitement as, towards the end, you were jumping back and forth between the characters. Overall, the book did keep me entertained and enthralled, and the characters were likeable, even if I didn¿t really latch on to any of them as a favorite. It moved at a good clip, and though the ending was a bit abrupt, it still managed to wrap up in a reasonable fashion. In reading through some of the reviews, which focus on politics, mainly. Sure, yes, it is possible to see a bit of a leaning towards certain beliefs in this book (in the appendix he actually takes a stand on a few things, including stopping the patenting of genes) but c¿mon ¿ almost every author who writes a book will show their colors, especially if they tackle any important issues. I think, though, to call Crichton a `puppet of Bush¿s cabinet¿ and thinking that `buying this book will line the pockets of this administration¿ might be a bit overreacting. Just maybe. Read the book for what it is. It¿s a fictionalized pseudo-science thriller, no more, no less. It may bring up some salient points about the direction of genetic manipulation, but it¿s no gospel of science, morality, ethics, or politics. If it makes you think, good, fine, check out the books listed in the back for the hard-boiled science. I¿d say if you like other recent Crichton books, you¿ll probably like this one. If State of Fear agitated you so much that you couldn¿t speak for weeks, stay away from this one. For some reason, though, it is firmly in my mind that Airframe is still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Not Michael's best but an important book

    I have read all of Michael Crichton's books, and I have to say this is not one of the best. Senility can be an explanation, but I believe that Crichton wants to inform the world on his views before he dies. Genetics for commercial uses can have many ramifications in the future, and Crichton portrays it well with his seemingly random plots and ridiculous events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Best Yet. Sit Back and Enjoy This One!,

    If ever there was a Crichton junkie then I'm it. I've read them all. This is a great read. I can't wait until his next novel comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Sounds good to me!

    I haven't read yet, but based on the blurb on the jacket, it sounds great. I actually find it funny that liberals are now behaving like the conservative people who make a fuss over books and things that show nudity and explicit lyrics and the like, and now the liberals want to censor someone else's opinion, which again, this is FICTION!! And on that point as well, there are HUNDREDS of legitimate scientists out there who also say the Earth is actually due for an ice age soon, and don't think global warming is the issue the liberal Al Gore followers want to make it out to be. But again, I intend to read the book and enjoy it as a novel, which I'm pretty sure it was intended as.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    'Next' I'll read State of Fear

    Oh lets see, reviewers going off on global warming. Yep, supported by hundreds of scientists traveling the world convention tour on their country's tax payer's backs. Discredited by tens of thousands of real scientists. When the historic climate data is proven to be nothing more than assumptions and totally at odds with known validated fact... and theory supporters just yell louder, what you have is global warmism. It's a religion, like creationism. Not science. The book, by the way, is better than that capsule description makes it sound. Woof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A free Thinker

    This writer is known as a free thinker. Don't bash him because of that. We all know about global warming, its been happening for the last 15,000 years. The ice cap use to extend into half of North America, remember? Not saying that we dont have a problem with pollution, but we are not causing the earth to (warm up). This is natural. It happens, it has happened, it will happen again. Anyway, I enjoy readin his books, and I suggest anyone who likes to think for themselves to read them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6