BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Next

Average Rating 3.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extr...
Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

posted by eoconnell on June 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really didn't Like this book.

I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person...
I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

posted by Ducky48 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

    Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Different, but good

    This is a great book. Crichton's genetic page-turner is much better than expected and is one of my favorite books. The characters are a bit confusing sometimes, but not always. It's a bit different from other books of his and has a faster pace, but to me NEXT is a great book and I look forward to reading another one of Crichton's novels. Oustanding and highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. Devoured it in just a few sittings. He does his research and it shows in his work. I would recommend it as one of his best works. Recently read Micro as well and that was also awesome. Have been a fan for a long time and will continue to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Next, another great exciting installment of Michael Crichton's ingenious writing

    The book Next, is another amazing page-turning novel by the great Michael Crichton and another example of his unique writing style, scientifically accurate reasearch and excitment. This book is a defenite page-turner, and you would hate to set it down for a moment. This book has excitment, drama suspense and is a thrilling tale. For any Michael Crichton regular or fan this is a must-buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Mrs. Bond found out that her parrot was helping her son with his math homework.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I found this book a bit confusing at first, being about twelve when i read it, but when i got the hang if it it was an incredible read. Truly spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Sadly, Crighton's last published work. All his books were great

    Sadly, Crighton's last published work. All his books were great. Well written, though provoking, characters you cared about. The consument writer for our age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    highly recomended!!!

    I absolutly loved this book. It has a lot of different subplots that come together in the end. Ts a great read especially for someone into genetics!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i just started reading this book it is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Next by Michael Crichton

    Next; by Michael Crichton is another great installment by Mr. Crichton, and is what should be expected of the literary genius of the late author. This book has originality, and is factually sound, and the research put into it is outstanding. This book is exciting, thrilling, and I hate having to put it down. This book is an overall good book, and I recommend to anyone as a permanant addition to their collection; whether on the shelf, in hand, or on your nook, it is a great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book in the vein of Crighton writing!

    Fabulous book on the potential for misuse of DNA manipulation in the creation of life utlilizing genes extracted from animal and plant life. If you look up some of the terms and places noted in the book, you will find that many of these places are in fact real, and real experiments are in fact taking place in manipulating DNA in an attempt to create sentient life.

    Similar to the books written by Dan Brown, ones needs to actually look into the facts being presented which will in turn, open up a new mystery for you the reader to followup in search of truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    I read this book in a critical mood, wanting to find every flaw in the book and complain about it. I almost WANTED this book to be bad. And if you want something to be bad, then your more likely to think its bad. But I thought this book was GREAT. It was origional, engaging, interesting and well thought out. A book that doesn't focus on one person or story to get its point across, a book that makes you think. A book about the future, where your cells can belong to somebody else.
    The book has so many different plots intertwined that I can't give an adequate synopsis of it but can only tell you to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    great book

    Great book! You don't have to be into gentics or science to understand what's going on. Very interesting and worth while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    never a disappointment yet with Crichton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    Next by Michael Crichton

    Was a really good book. Enjoyed reading it. Would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Crichton's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Unusual, and Excellent

    This book is not his usual. I do disagree with the previous reviews, however. Even though the story does jump around quite a bit, and may be a bit difficult to follow at times, it kept me interested. Plus, the story, like many of his books, was not the main point. I feel Crichton decided to express his point more thoroughly without using the story so much, and I think he did an excellent job. NEXT is a good read, I bought it yesterday afternoon, and I'm reviewing it tonight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Title seems Cool!

    I read somewhere that one of the companies in Jurassic Park is in the book. So maybe this book relates to that book. After all I read the back cover and it seems very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    If you can keep up...

    This is the second Crichton novel I've read, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. If you can keep up with the numerous characters and their respective plot lines, its a very enjoyable read. It made me stop and think about the things that I do everyday in the laboratory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    Excellent Book

    After reading Crichton's last book, I was worried it would be just as bad. I was very glad to see he obviously recovered from writing junk. It was a very interesting commentary on biological research and the follies of our legal system at times. It was hard to put this one down, I must say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Next Is A Great Book

    When I purchased ¿Next¿, due to the picture on the front, I expected a follow up to Jurassic Park. The book is nothing like Jurassic Park. It is a high tech adventure into genetics and transgenetics and the laws governing them. The first few chapters are confusing and I couldn¿t guess where the author was heading, but it all ties together very nicely at the end. The book is well worth reading as genetics are our future and laws must be updated. The fictional part of the book flows very nicely and is also entertaining and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6