Customer Reviews for

The Next 100 Years: A Forecast for the 21st Century

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    An Accidental Find- A GOOD one!

    I'm a futurist at heart. But I'm also a realist- and one thing I like best about this book is that it provides a good introduction to geopolitics for the layman. But, for those of us who like geopolitics, Friedman has given good rationales for the future direction of empires and hegemonies without going "Star Wars" or "Star Trek" crazy (I'm a fan of both!)

    In this book, America doesn't always win; other countries don't always lose; the concept of physical, cultural, economical and spiritual borders are addressed in addition to national borders; and, most importantly, it teaches lessons of the past and the patterns that modern-day empires (both new and successor states) follow because of what has been done by their predecessors centuries and decades before.

    If you like to have intellectual arguments about relevant things, including resource scarcity and relevant, realistic advances in technology to address those issues of scarcity, this is a nice book for you, too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Read... Had a hard time putting it down!

    This is an excellent read for anyone interested in history, politics, geography, or international relations. George Friedman uses his position at the head of a think-tank directly involved in these matters to extrapolate past history into the future. Some of his ideas seem extraordinary, but as he points out so well, so many events of past history couldn't have been easily predicted or considered likely either...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Compelling - a book that must be read

    For many years, as a subscriber to the Stratfor Reports, I have been familiar with, and an admirer of, the work of George Friedman. In his book, The Next 100 years, Friedman applies years of experience and expertise in the field of strategic forecasting to a compelling and provocative series of predictions of the economic and political landscape developing during this century. Friedman reaches finite conclusions. However, he does so after building a substantial and believable case for each of them. Undoubtedly, many governments and powerful players read the Stratfor Reports and I am sure they will likewise read Friedman's book - -to the likely dismay, disbelief and anger to some - - to the delight and acceptance of others. I'm sorry that I won't be around to appreciate the longer term accuracy of Friedman's predictions. I'll be quite interested in as much of it as I am able to experience. And, I predict that it will be plenty accurate, notwithstanding Friedmans lack of any need to hedge or hide behind ambiguity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Could Possibly Be a Very Accurate Future

    The book The Next 100 Years by George Friedman is a very interesting and possibly accurate take on what will happen during the 21st century. Most of the predictions are based either politically or militarily. For example, Friedman predicts there will be another United States and Russian cold war during the 2030's, and that Mexico will confront the U.S. in a ground based war by 2100, the end of the century. But, apart from war there are predictions of population and technology, including most energy sources coming from space based systems.

    Personally, I felt like this book was a very interesting read, even when it wasn't too exciting. I believe that whether or not Friedman's predictions become true or not, his analysis of the past and the way he explains his thought process in coming to his conclusions was very well done, and can definitely make anyone see his predictions as at least somewhat possible. I enjoyed the way that each chapter was kind of broken down into a decade, or a very major event during the 21st century, and that each chapter's predictions led to the next chapter's predictions. The only dislike I had for this book was that it could be somewhat dull at times, although it is probably much more in depth and analytical than similar books, which is needed to provide a base for hypotheses made in this book. I think anyone who is optimistic about and interested in the future, and enjoys learning about the past should read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Awesome, don't need to be a history major to enjoy

    Most books I pick up in this genre are 500+ pages and you have to know your world history to have any chance of getting through it. This was more my style - smooth read, good transitions, enough detail to understand without getting too dense. Enjoy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    The next 100 years: The prophet of time

    The use of oil, the next world war, the next economy crisis, the research of weapons.All of these are analyzed and explained in the book The next 100 years: A forecast to the 21st century. George Friedman has done excellent predictions full with reasoning and made assumptions step by step from the present world 10 years by 10 years to the future. From The economical surge of China, to Japan and Turkey challenging the United States for global power, then to the technological use of outer space weapons, these predictions from the book were all based from the present day, and then gradually expanding towards the future. In the book, common sense is being thoroughly explained through facts, and estimations analyzed through events. George Friedman has presented each nation with its own interests for the next 100 years and has brought the movements of countries to a whole new level. I was most impressed by the analyzing of the technology what each nation will be focusing on, the most significant ones being "battle star" and the use of energy. In the last 10 years of the book, the author has already pictured a totally different looking earth, so technology advanced that Science Fiction books for once came to truth. The only suggestion I have about the book is that George Friedman could have focused more on the happenings in Africa, which has barely appeared in the book. I believe that the concept of this book is so powerful and logical, that it will be continued to pass on as a guidebook for all of humanity for the next 100 years.
    Or until the next book comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Cannot Help But Agree Disagreably

    George Friedman has stated his case very well. Given all the advantages and privileges that the United States has earned for herself as the only superpower on earth at the dawn of this new century - be it geographical, economical, technological or political - I cannot help but agree: the 21st century will indeed be marked in history as the American Age. This, however, appears to be a matter of common sense that Friedman does not want us to rely on. The only difference is that of his use of common sense - he combines it with his amazing familiarity with how nations behave at the macro level, which for me is very impressive. So much so that I was compelled to make a major adjustment on how I personally look at the subject at hand.

    My only complaint is his apparent unwillingness to come face to face with another issue - an issue that may not be as gigantic as geopolitics but would nonetheless result in a massive socio-cultural distintegration, albeit gradual, if consistently ignored. I speak here of the spiritual, moral and intellectual foundation that made Western civilization probably the most enduring civilization in human history, which, little by little, is being abandoned by America. I just can't imagine the implications it may bring should it continue in the next 100 years.

    Regardless of my disagreement, I still find in Friedman a genius who, I believe, will be be remembered 100 years from now, as we remember Nietzche who predicted that the 20th century would be the bloodiest century in history 100 years before it came to pass.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bold geopolitical predictions for the coming century

    In this bold, lively and entertaining book, political strategy researcher and analyst George Friedman makes highly specific predications about the 21st century. His discussion of the globe's changing face educates readers about the forces shaping international politics. Friedman is committed to a wide geopolitical perspective, and his predictions rest on broad, detailed historical knowledge. Even if you think some predictions are farfetched (or too specific for such long time frames), the parallels he draws between what happened historically and what he believes will happen in the future are quite educational. getAbstract recommends Friedman's book to professionals involved in international business or long-term strategic planning, and to any reader interested in pragmatic, interesting and, of course, theoretical, assertions about the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    The Next 100 Years

    One of the most stimulating books I have read in a long time. George Friedman has done extensive work in formulating his analyses of the next 100 years. History comes alive in conjunction with his writing of the unfolding of future events. The information he gives has made the daily newspapers and television commentaries become so much more meaningful even today.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great

    All i can say is makes you think

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book is extremely well written with a ton of research and anyone interested in the possibilities of the future should read this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Provocative perspective on the next 100 years

    Though the writing is not particularly scholarly, the thought process, the logic and the rationale of the past and forthcoming economic, geographic, population, military and geopolitical issues confronting our world in the next 100 years is extremely thought provoking and challenging...whether he is right or wrong.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good.

    This was a pretty good book, with a wide-reaching theme. It's very speculative, but I guess the author's an "expert", though I hadn't heard of him before.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Fear the Future

    Friedman's intelligence knowledge and predictions scare me, but at my age, it won't affect me. I worry for my children and grandchildren, however. I am giving the book to them!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Creator of KAOS

    This authors only intent is to create enemies out of existing allies, and create enemies out of potential allies... He talks about how Japan will rise to be a world power, where China and the U.S.A. would have to counter such an event. In the mean time The U.S. is selling high tech aircraft to Japan that are radio controlled by the U.S.A. This is a calculated effort to attack a country, which would be considered premeditated warfare in my opinion. This author has clearly stated his position in the illegality of the direction he is trying to menuevuer the American mentality. It is a clear case of calculated evil.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4