Customer Reviews for

The Next Best Thing

Average Rating 4
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(305)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Higgin's has done better....but still worth reading!

This is probably the least favorite book by Kristin Higgins.sadly. I still enjoyed it, and I am sure many people can relate to the main character after losing a spouse. I did feel bad for her and Higgins did a good job portraying her emotions throughout. I thought th...
This is probably the least favorite book by Kristin Higgins.sadly. I still enjoyed it, and I am sure many people can relate to the main character after losing a spouse. I did feel bad for her and Higgins did a good job portraying her emotions throughout. I thought though that Higgins dragged the book out with having the main character go back and forth, back and forth. It was also kind of weird that she had a fling with her deceased husband's brother. But, like I said, I did enjoy it. I like Kristan's writing style. Her books are usually comical, romantic, and sad/heartfelt. I now think I have finished all of her books.can't wait for more!

posted by RZAZ31210 on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Too many flashbacks

It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husb...
It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husband. *sigh*

posted by Niff on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    Average at Best

    I really enjoyed reading "Just One of the Guys" so much so that I downloaded "The Next Best Thing". I found this book to be rather farfetched and depressing. Lucy needed a psychologist. Too many flashbacks and much too much talk about the dead husband. The family focus on everyone being widowed was much too much as well.

    I am anxious to read "Too Good To Be True".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Too many flashbacks

    It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husband. *sigh*

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Energizer Book

    I've read 1 of Kristan Higgins' books and it was pretty good. This one however just kept going and going and going. Honestly, about 1/2 through I wanted the male character to just walk away and find someone that didn't treat him like crap. Inevitably they would get back together everything was fine then she would treat him like crap again. I'm not sure if K. Higgins wanted you to sympathize with the lead character...but it's hard to pull for someone that uses people the way she did. She had her reasons but still. You just don't treat people that way.

    After reading this book, I'm not sure I'll read any of her books again. Kind of disappointing because I thought I'd found a new author to read. Oh well, the search continues.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Not my favorite

    The beginning of the book was very catchy. I enjoyed reading it at first and then realized I was in the middle of the book and the same details were reoccuring. I found myself able to skip some pages by quickly reading the first and last sentence on the page. I felt the story was far too long and could have ended very quickly without being so windy at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    not sold on this story yet

    this is my second novel from Higgins, I enjoyed "too good to be true" but not loving this one as much. I think Ethan is a bit far fetched. I can't see him not ever saying anything to his brother about this girl he met at school(only read half of the book so far). I know they weren't close but he had to mention it in passing. The love story of Ethan and Lucy is okay but supporting cast are too many. We didn't need the whole town invovled. I am going to read "Just one of the Guys" hopefully it will be good. Read Robin Kaye, she was wonderful surprise. Breakfast in Bed was an impulse buy. The Ronaldi series is a great read very funny and witty. I read it series backwards and loved all three

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    ...

    Another thing....the past few kristan higgins books ive read all state something like "oh hes/shes average looking i guess. Nothing that stands out blah blah blah" when one main character is talking about the other main chatacter that they end up falling for. While i realize that thats realistic prolly most of the time, it sure would be nice to read one where they characters actually thought the other was physicaly attractive and had some kind of pull towards eachother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    When I started to read the book I couldn't put it down but then

    When I started to read the book I couldn't put it down but then it just kept on going.  I eventually stopped reading the book because Lucy annoyed me so much.  I have read another book by Kristen Higgens and really liked it but this one was disappointing.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5