Customer Reviews for

The Next Best Thing

Average Rating 4
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(305)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Higgin's has done better....but still worth reading!

This is probably the least favorite book by Kristin Higgins.sadly. I still enjoyed it, and I am sure many people can relate to the main character after losing a spouse. I did feel bad for her and Higgins did a good job portraying her emotions throughout. I thought th...
This is probably the least favorite book by Kristin Higgins.sadly. I still enjoyed it, and I am sure many people can relate to the main character after losing a spouse. I did feel bad for her and Higgins did a good job portraying her emotions throughout. I thought though that Higgins dragged the book out with having the main character go back and forth, back and forth. It was also kind of weird that she had a fling with her deceased husband's brother. But, like I said, I did enjoy it. I like Kristan's writing style. Her books are usually comical, romantic, and sad/heartfelt. I now think I have finished all of her books.can't wait for more!

posted by RZAZ31210 on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Too many flashbacks

It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husb...
It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husband. *sigh*

posted by Niff on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bittersweet

    Author Kristan Higgins is an award-winning author of several published books in the romance genre. Other titles include: Too Good To be True, Just One Of The Guys, Catch Of The Day, and Fools Rush In. She resides in Connecticut with her firefighter husband and two children.

    Lucy Lang has been a young widow long enough. Finally feeling like it's time to settle down again and remarry, she says goodbye to her 'friend with benefits', Ethan Mirabelli, and hello to the dating scene. Except finding the right guy for her isn't as easy as she thought. After all, all she wanted was a nice guy with whom she could have kids and not form a deep attachment to. A broken heart once was enough. But much to her dismay and delight, Ethan isn't going anywhere, and Lucy knows he's the one man who could break her heart again. And this time, she may not recover.

    First person point of view typically isn't my first choice, but this is a perfect example of what stellar writing is about. If you haven't laughed, cried, and sighed with contentment a hundred times while reading this, then there's something wrong with you. The hero and heroine are relatable, and the secondary characters are memorable. From the setting to the story-line, this is impossible to put down. Bravo. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran,
    Author of SUMMER'S ROAD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Best of Higgins!

    The Next Best Thing is by far Kristan Higgins' best work. You'll fall in love with Ethan, Lucy, & the rest of their crazy family. It will make you laugh out loud & shed a few tears. Great read! Highly recommended for those who love a good romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You will laugh, cry and just feel when you read this book

    Kristan is known for her quirky characters, and everyday heros and heroines and of course the dogs, cats and other animals that play such large roles themselves in her stories and you will get that and more when you dig into this wonderful read.
    Lucy has something that runs in her family, on her mother's side, a lot. She's a widow and it happened early in her marriage and in her life just like her mother and two great aunts it's their own private club and no one wants to join. Well Lucy has made a decision and unlike the rest of the "Black Widows" she's decided that she wants to remarry, even though Jimmy was the love of her life, but before she does that she'll have to stop sleeping with his younger brother. Gotcha didn't I.
    Those of us who love Kritan's romances have come to expect her witty descriptive dialogue where she makes her characters and settings pop off of the page and makes us laugh out loud and cry. Her story line is unique in the fact that these "Black Widows" aren't murdering psychopaths but female family members who jointly own a bakery in a picturesque little town. So let's talk about her characters they are a cast of unforgettable folks from the kooky great aunts, the overly cautious sister, the vogue mom, the old school Italian In-Laws, the cute confused heroine and the hot hunky hero. And they all have a major role to play in the telling of the tale. Her romance is funny, sad, serious and so full of pitfalls you're constantly looking forward to the next disaster. Her love scenes are hot and spicy, but also very tender and sweet.
    So if you've never read Kristan Higgins, what's wrong with you get this book. And if you're an old fan re-discover just what it is we all love about her writing and get this fall on your face funny and cry in your coffee tear jerker together in one incredible novel, you won't be sorry you did.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Lovely

    Lucy can't seem to get over her husbands death and the curse of the Black Widows seems to hang over her head as she attempts to start a relationship with his younger brother Ethan. Delightfully funny as the a group of her aunts and mother are lovingly called the Black widows (because their maiden name is Black and they are all widows) bicker over everything and Lucy isn't sure she wants to expand their business at the family bakery with her bread through a whole foods executive who looks just like her late husband. Ethan struggles himself as he tries to have patience for the indecicive woman he loves and hopes she will choose him and a life of happiness rather than a life of comfortable widowhood. A lot of laughs and even more tears in this book. I loved it and the recipes too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Great Kristan Higgins Book

    Enjoyed the characters in this book and the journey they went through. I felt like they were very relatable, especially if you have lost a loved one or experienced a loss similar. Kristan was able to develop those emotions and that arch very believably and well, but at the same time it wasn't a depressing book. Especially loved the theme of family that was tied throughout.

    Loved surprise of the "toast" throughout the book, very unexpected and sweet. Could have done without the letter from the author at the front of the book that I felt gave away most of the plot. Not sure why it was there--should have been at the end of the book in my opinion!

    Overall, a solid book that was well developed. If you have read and liked other Kristan Higgins books than you will like this, I liked it more than others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    This was a really good book. I had every emotion going. I cried, laughed, was shocked, and frustrated. There were times you just wanted to scream at Lucy to Wake Up! Over all a really good book with a very happy ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    disappointed

    I really liked the book. Ethan was very selfless. However, this book has been reissued. It was issued in 2010 and 2013. I am disappointed that I bought it twice. I would have liked to buy one of her other books with that money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Kristan Higgins just keeps getting better and better....

    If you haven't had the pleasure of reading one of her books, do yourself a favor and pick one up and if you don't have the money to actually purchase the book, seek out your local library which is an excellent way to try new author's that you can fall in love with, I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Wonderful

    The Next Best Thing is a wonderful book loved Lucy and Ethan story. Ethan is understanding, at times you just want his happiness, for him to be loved and not compared. Lucy has to face reality and learn to see what has alway been right in front of her face. True Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    This is a new author for me. After reading The Best Man I was ho

    This is a new author for me. After reading The Best Man I was hooked. I ordered book after book and was never disappointed. I love her story lines, character development, and style. I cry, I laugh, I smile.
    Kristen Higgins is a delight. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great Read

    Higgins hits the mark with this story of loss and finding love in unexpected places. Looking forward to the next Higgins novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Beautiful, heart-wrenching love story

    Ms. Higgins does love with a huge dollop of sweet agony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Loved it - such heartwarming story.

    Loved it - such heartwarming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Amazing

    This is a must read! Such an inspiring story that truly warms the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Heart-warming story

    Love the characters, story, and writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Best book I've ever read

    I can not say enough good thing aboit this book. Read it after my divorce and it helped me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Love this book!!!

    This is my favorite by Higgins. Funny, sexy, great overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Another fantastic novel by ms higgins

    She has become one of my favorite authors. This book is full of suspense and you will not be able to put it down. The characters come to life and you find yourself emotionally involved in the story. Bravo ms higgins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Recommend all of her books!

    I have read all of Kristan Higgins books. I loved everyone of them. They make you laugh, cry and smile! I cant wait until the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend her books.

    This book made me laugh and cry, she is a great writer. I want to read all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16