BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Next Thing On My List

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Go skydiving. But first, read this book.

    This book kept me up way too late at night -- I couldn't put it down! June Parker is living life in the slow lane. Her job -- as a writer for a carpooling agency -- is uninspiring. Her love life is nonexistent. Her biggest goal is to lose ten pounds. Following a Weight Watchers meeting her life takes a sudden, awful turn: she has a terrible car accident, and her passenger, a young woman she'd met at the meeting, is killed. June discovers a 'life list' in the young woman's possession, detailing all of the things she wanted to accomplish before her twenty-fifth birthday. As a way of coming to terms with her role in the girl's death, June takes on the challenge of competing the list. The list launches June into a series of adventures -- from kissing a stranger to boogie boarding to riding in a helicopter . . . to changing someone's life. In the hands of a less skilled writer, June's progression through the list could have seemed choppy, but Smolinski crafts a tale of one woman's journey of self discovery with page-turning precision. The writing is sharp and funny, the story is original, and the characters are both flawed and believable. This warm-hearted, clever book is truly a standout.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    What's on your list of things to accomplish before........?

    This book was an original approach to looking at the question "what are your dreams? Do you think you'll accomplish them?" The main character has survivor guilt over an auto accident that wasn't her fault. Instead of following her dreams she decides to finish the list of dreams that the girl who died had had. She learns much more about herself in the process.
    I especially liked that the ending wasn't predictable. Does she finish the list? The book was very thought provoking.
    An added bonus to book groups- the author will join your discussion by phone if you arrange it before hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't recommend enough! Great Read!!

    This is a great story, sad but uplifting. I picked it up because it seemed like a cute easy read but it was a truely unique story that makes you stop and take stock of your life and how you want to live it. I have told everyone about it. I loved it from start to finish it had me hooked. You won't regret reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Light and entertaining but thought provoking

    Very good book. It was light, funny, quick reading 'or listening to', yet made you think about the important things in life. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Just What I needed! :)

    After reading 3 bad books in a row i really needed to read a Great book! and The next thing on my list was PERFECT! I loved everything about this book! i really got into the main character and i feel like i know her! The best Chick-lit book I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    The next thing on my list...to read this book again!

    I picked up 'The Next thing on my list' and was instantly pulled into character, June's life up & down's. I enjoyed the book thoroughly and felt that there was more than one life lesson to learn from this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved the twists and turns in this book. Once you think she completed something on the list, the task takes on a different meaning. I just couldn't put it down. It didn't end the way I predicted, and that made it even better.

    I certainly recommend this as a good easy book, that will make you reflect on your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Didn't think I would enjoy this much as I have. Such a good, en

    Didn't think I would enjoy this much as I have. Such a good, entertaining, thriller. So, glad I picked this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    My life

    Im not liking this its like i dead no good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Makes me think

    I really enjoyed this book. It was great for discussion at my book club. It really made me think about my life, what I've done with it and what would I like to do with my future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    Wonderful book

    I absolutely love this book. I read it in one afternoon. It's wonderful. Makes you realize that it's the small things in life that make it worth while. It really encouraged me to make my own list and I'm determined to have it done before I turn 25.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it very quickly, it is a short easy read. The storyline is so original. I laughed out loud and I cried, it is a very touching story. It also inspired me to create a list of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    a fun, easy read

    I am one of those people that has to be hooked by a book from the first page. This definitely did it for me. I loved the concept of doing things that scare you or that you think might be impossible.

    June Parker is in a rut in her life, unable to make any progress or even enjoy what she's doing. When a car accident kills her passenger Marissa, she finds a list that Marissa wanted to complete before her 25th birthday. June takes it upon herself to complete the list for Marissa. Along the way, it changes June's life forever.

    This book encouraged me to make my own list of crazy things. It also shows you how to appreciate the little things in life and that a little effort can go a long way. I recommend this to anyone looking for a fun and easy read that will lift your spirits and motivate you in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To Do List

    Fun quick read. It was nothing dramatic scary or serious. Just something fun to read. The story is about a woman trying to complete someone else's life to-do list. The list was actually really good. It was a great idea and it works well in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Lots of Fun!

    This book was a selection for our Book Club which consists of about 20 women who meet monthly. It was specifically chosen as a 'summer' read for its lightheartedness.

    Our book club leader for the night contacted the author, Jill Smolinski, directly and asked if she would be willing to call during our meeting. Alas! She called at the specified time and spoke with us for about a half hour via a speaker phone. Everyone had an opportunity to comment and ask questions. She actually provided a lot of insight into how she came to write the book and gave us a lot of information about her personal writings.

    Originally, it was difficult for me to understand how the protagonist accepted the results of her accident apparently with little guilt; however, that was only the external emotion exhibited. Her dedication to completing the list showed just how deeply it had affected her. The complex relationship with the victim's brother was difficult to figure out until the end of the book.

    At the end of our meeting, we all wrote down three things we would put on our personal list and put them in a basket. On the way out the door, each person selected an anonymous list from the basket and will try to accomplish one thing from that list.

    Overall, an excellent light book for a club as a change from some of the heavier, more serious literature we normally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Perfect for a vacation book!

    This is a really fun book to read. It has enough depth to feel that you are reading something meaningful, but it isn't heavy or depressing. It was the perfect beach read. I love the book club guide at the end that included activities as well as questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Great Read!!!

    What a great book. A little slow to start, but after the first few chapters it just grabs your attention. Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. Really creative idea for a book. Another great read for readers who like "chick lit" type books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    highly recommended

    One of my friends recommended suggested this book to me. The author had a phone conversation with them while they were holding their book club meeting. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and gave it as a gift to several people this year for Christmas. Funny, touching, and inspiring. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!

    This book had me laughing out loud soooo many times. Just absolutely enjoyed it from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2