Customer Reviews for

Next to Love: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful historical fiction about friendship...

This is a perfectly wonderful story about three friends who meet when they are very young and stay by one another as their lives and perspectives change dramatically over time. The narrative gives the reader perspectives from each about the same incidents in the histor...
This is a perfectly wonderful story about three friends who meet when they are very young and stay by one another as their lives and perspectives change dramatically over time. The narrative gives the reader perspectives from each about the same incidents in the history of the world at, then coping with the aftermath of war and in their own personal lives. Beyond being an engaging story, it is beautifully written.

posted by MattCH on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I must be the only person that read this book that thought it boring. I did not like how it went back and forth in diffrent time periods. The ending was so so.

posted by 18403605 on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 27 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    World War II in the Home-front

    "Next to Love "by Ellen Feld­man is a fic­tional book which fol­lows three child­hood friends before, dur­ing and after World War II.

    Babe, Mil­lie and Grace are child­hood friends in a small town in Mass­a­chu­setts. When the men are called to server their coun­try they know their lives will change, but they don't real­ize w much.

    Over the next decade, the women lose their inno­cence, strug­gle with their men, soci­ety and small town politics.

    The first thing that struck me while look­ing at the book was the won­der­ful cover. How­ever, the name of the book put me off but I decided to give it a shot any­way. I'm glad I did, "Next to Love "by Ellen Feld­man is a well writ­ten book which I enjoyed. The name of the book comes from an Eric Par­tridge quote "War.next to love, has most cap­tured the world's imag­i­na­tion".

    The book takes place between 1941 and 1964, it fol­lows three child­hood friends from a small town in Mass­a­chu­setts and their strug­gles. The book tells an impor­tant story of those who strug­gle with the after­math of the war on daily basis for the rest of their lives.

    The writ­ing is excel­lent, at first I felt dis­tanced from the char­ac­ters, which both­ered me a bit. How­ever some­where towards the mid­dle of the story I real­ized that there is not only dis­tance between the reader and the char­ac­ters, but also between the char­ac­ters themselves.

    While this is cer­tainly not a his­tory book, the lives of the women fol­low the national strug­gles (civil rights for exam­ple) which got national atten­tion, and some­times even inter­na­tional atten­tion. While there isn't much melo­drama in the book, the author cer­tainly tells a vivid and lucid story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Story of How War will Impact the Lives of Those they Love!

    "In the last 3, 421 years of recorded history, only 268 have seen no war." - Will Durant, 1968.

    A story of war, love, loss and the scars they leave behind, Next to Love, follows the lives of three young women and their men during the years of World War II and its aftermath, beginning with the men going off to war and ending a generation later, after the man have finally returned to a nation changed beyond recognition.

    Beautifully crafted, moving, and unforgettable, Next to Love by Ellen Feldman, depicts the power of love and friendship, and illuminates a transformational moment in American history.

    I received the book, Next to Love by Ellen Feldman,compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and got so much more than I expected. I didn't realize just how different each person related their experience to war. From the men who saw it as a sense of duty and honor, so leaving for them even though it was difficult was an adventure of sorts, a way to protect the lives of the families and friends they left behind.

    While for the women, they tried so many times to put up the brave face of a woman who supported her man. They wanted the last remaining memories of their time together with their loved ones to be positive and filled with love. So many times, they held back their fears, afraid to voice their concerns that the moment they left, might be the last time they saw them.

    Told through the lives of Babe Huggins, Grace Gooding, and Millie Swallow, we see how each of them deals with the men they love as they head out to war. This is a personal struggle for each of them and along the way, they will be forever changed by the circumstances that the war will impose on them all.

    This book rates a 4.5 out of 5 stars and does contain some profanity that may offend some readers but overall, I truly believe this is a true story of how many women and men dealt with the war, and the aftermath that follows when some return home and others do not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 27 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2