Customer Reviews for

Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs (Jane Jameson Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious

I laughed my ass off! It was a great book. There's really nothing more that needs to be said...

posted by 709798 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unoriginal and dull

Wow I feel like I've read this whole book before. Very similar to Maryjanice Davidson's Undead and Unwed, except this book fell flat. It wasn't as funny and the plot was unsuspenseful and predictable. Read the Undead series or sookie stackhouse books instead!

posted by Mrs-EdwardCullen on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Hilarious

    I laughed my ass off! It was a great book. There's really nothing more that needs to be said...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny!

    How can you not love a main character who has a dog named Fitz (after Jane Austen's Fitzwilliam Darcy, of course)? The first book in the Jane Jameson series has helpful quotes from The Guide for the Newly Undead at the start of each chapter ("When you encounter unpleasantness from the human population, try to keep in mind that you will be able to dance on their graves long after they're dead. It's a cheering thought."), a book that Jane actually receives in a "Welcome to your new life" gift basket. As a former librarian, a book to guide her on her new life path is just what she needs. On the bad day to end all bad days, Jane loses her job, receives a gift certificate to a clichéd chain restaurant in lieu of a severance check, has her car break down on the way home from said restaurant, is accidentally shot by a drunken hunter, and finally turned into a vampire by the cute guy she met in the restaurant's bar.and that's just the beginning. Before you can say "Where's Wal-Mart's 'special dietary needs' aisle?" Jane finds herself in the middle of even bigger problems-someone is killing off vampires in town and trying to frame her for their murders. Her first undead "date" consists of visiting Cracker Barrel to defend herself to the local branch of the World Council for the Equal Treatment of the Undead, a group that is not big on sticking to the fine points of the whole "innocent until proven guilty" maxim. (Yes, they meet at Cracker Barrel. Just wait until you find out where their holding cell is!) But, as her mother would point out, at least she's dating, right? Surely that must be a plus?

    I absolutely cannot wait to read more of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Series

    I have read many of the vampire/werwolf series and I like this one a lot. Very funny and some great characters that can go on for many books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Unoriginal and dull

    Wow I feel like I've read this whole book before. Very similar to Maryjanice Davidson's Undead and Unwed, except this book fell flat. It wasn't as funny and the plot was unsuspenseful and predictable. Read the Undead series or sookie stackhouse books instead!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I absolutely LOVE this series!!!!!!!

    I absolutely LOVE this series!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    well done

    Molly Harper put together a verry well written book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    GREAT STORY!

    I was quickly pulled in to this story, wanting to know what would happen with the characters! I have since read all three books in this series and am anxiously awaiting the next, not available until 2/28/12. Definitely worth the wait! Catch up now so you don't miss out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Very funny

    Molly Harper really knows how to make you laugh. This book was a great read and a good break from the normal things I read. The wit will keep you laughing, and groaning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Just goes to show

    You can't please everone... but this book sure pleased me... funny and a bit irreverant it was a great time. I DIDN'T once go look to see what else I could be reading which of late really says a lot right there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend - A must read!!

    There is nothing better then Vampires and humor! Molly Harper knows how to mix the two. After reading her first book I had to add all of them to my collection. Who would have know that Werewolves and Vampires were so funny. I loved all of Molly's books and can't wait for the next one. Keep them coming Molly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH OUTLOUD!

    Super entertaining....funny, and such a nice change from the super sappy Vamp book. WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH OUTLOUD! Made a great AUDIO listen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    So funny

    I cannot recommend this series enough. I was literally laughing out loud every few minutes. I'm pretty sure my husband thought I was crazy. I usually read darker UF and PF books but am sooo glad I branched out and picked this series up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Audio version (laugh out loud funny)

    Jane Jameson, is your average nice girl. She is a librarian and when she gets let fired from her job she goes on a bender and gets herself pretty drunk. On her way home her car quits working and she starts walking home. She is mistaken for a deer, shot and left for dead. The last guy she talked to at the bar was Gabriel, a vampire, and he has been following Jane. When he sees what happens he turns her into a vampire. Now instead of getting to eat that great down home southern cooking she is stocking up on blood. It is not at all easy to be a vampire, so its a good thing she has the Guide to the newly undead to help her out. Jane is just getting use to being a vampire, with the help of Gabriel, but now the vampire council thinks that she is behind a series of vampire murders. Audibles is my best friend when it comes to audio books. The only problem is trying to figure out which book to use my credit on. I have read Molly Harper's werewolf series and loved it, and I knew that she had written a vampire series so decided to give it a try. Man, let me tell you this book was laugh out loud funny to listen too. Molly Harper has a way with words that just cracks me up, it was the one thing I loved about her werewolf series too. Jane Jameson, is just sort of a plain Jane. She doesn't drink (except for her bender), she is a librarian, she pretty much doesn't have much of a social life at all. So she thinks it was just her luck that the one tiime she gets drunk and has to walk home she gets killed and turned into a vampire. She didn't ask for this, she doesn't want to be a vampre. How on earth will she break the news to her poor mother. I like Jane, and its probably because she is just a average woman and now she has to deal with being above average. She can do things she never thought she would ever be doing and she has to deal with the fact that she will live forever. (Unless, set on fire or staked in the heart) Gabriel, is a fairly old vampire who couldn't resist Jane's scent. It was the reason he followed her from the bar the night she was shot and left for dead. It was also the reason he couldn't resist making her a vampire too. He has never felt so close to someone he has made before, but he likes looking after Jane. Now one of the things that can make or break a audio book is the narrator. The narrator for this book is Amanda Ronconi, and although she is good, I didn't find her great. I know its hard to make male voices sometimes and that some are better at it than others but sometimes her voices sort of blended together and it was hard to tell them apart. She does have a pleasant voice and is easy to listen to and over all she did a decent job. Over all I had a great time listening to this book, it was fun listening to all the mishaps that happened to Jane as she tries to figure out how to live being undead. It was a fun storyline and I loved most of the secondary characters like, Zeb and Dick Chaney (yep, that was sort of funny). I would recommend this book for anyone who likes those quirky kind of vampire romance novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Did i miss something?

    Okay so I'm a huge fan of vampire/werewolf books and there aren't many good ones out there that can capture my interest but after seeing all the reviews for this series i thought "why not" so i bought all three books and usually I'll read a book in a day, this book it took 3 days! I just could not get into it at all. Jane is annoying! The author wrote her to where she has a smart mouth comeback to everything and it gets old. Further more she can't carry on a conversation without that smart mouth attitude (immature) the love interest is boring. I just don't understand how so many people liked this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Fantastic

    I laughed and laughed thru this book. The writing is perfection. Love the vampireness, the dialogue is hysyerical and yu gotta love Jane. Thanks for the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    I first read the Nice Girls series several years ago, moving on

    I first read the Nice Girls series several years ago, moving on to read nearly every one of Molly Harper's wonderfully witty and creative novels as soon as I could. I go back to re-read the books like I'm visiting old friends - the Jane Jameson series and the spin-off books that revolve around the charming Half-Moon Hollow's supernatural community, the Naked Werewolf books, and most recently the Bluegrass set. If you enjoy lighthearted romantic comedy paired with the paranormal, full of quirky but hilarious characters triumphing over their own social awkwardness as well as the books' villains, I think you'll really appreciate these stories. There was only one book that I felt wasn't up to the author's standard (one of the later spin-offs), but given the many hours I've spent giggling to tears thanks to Ms. Harper's imaginative writing and her 'special way with words', I am grateful for the literary world she created and the characters she enriched it with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Really enjoyed this read

    This book was a lot of fun. Refreshing and an easy, entertaining read. The characters are engaging and it was genuinely funny! Give it a try. It won't disappoint. I'm off to grab book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good book and I read it in a day. I couldn't put it down. Though

    Good book and I read it in a day. I couldn't put it down. Though the main characters relationship with the guy could have had a little bit more to it, then again it's the first of three so it was a good builder for something. Plus I love the way she is with the dog. The woman is strong willed and takes everything head on though it's in the name of her dog that she gets mad back. Its a very selfless character that can win ones heart easily

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Fun read! Good characters!

    I love the humor in this series of books. The characters are great. They make me laugh, some of the things that happen. Lol :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11