Customer Reviews for

Nicholas Nickleby (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not Dickens' best

Being written early in his career and started before "Oliver Twist" was completed, "Nicholas Nickleby" contains all of the classic Dickens qualities of richly detailed characters and numerous intertwing subplots, yet it seems somewhat rushed in conclusion. Dickens fans...
Being written early in his career and started before "Oliver Twist" was completed, "Nicholas Nickleby" contains all of the classic Dickens qualities of richly detailed characters and numerous intertwing subplots, yet it seems somewhat rushed in conclusion. Dickens fans will surely recall "Nickleby" with fondness, but it is certainly not the first full length Dickens novel one should read. "David Copperfield" or "Bleak House" are better representations of Dickens at his best.

posted by 13598475 on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typos

I've noticed in most e-books that there are a lot of typos. I am assuming that the books are scanned and not re-typed, so the scanners must be fallible. The story of Nicholas Nickleby is wonderful, and I am reading it again in order to encounter the man in smalls once ...
I've noticed in most e-books that there are a lot of typos. I am assuming that the books are scanned and not re-typed, so the scanners must be fallible. The story of Nicholas Nickleby is wonderful, and I am reading it again in order to encounter the man in smalls once more.

posted by LibraryLadyMB on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good, but not Dickens' best

    Being written early in his career and started before "Oliver Twist" was completed, "Nicholas Nickleby" contains all of the classic Dickens qualities of richly detailed characters and numerous intertwing subplots, yet it seems somewhat rushed in conclusion. Dickens fans will surely recall "Nickleby" with fondness, but it is certainly not the first full length Dickens novel one should read. "David Copperfield" or "Bleak House" are better representations of Dickens at his best.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Some critics complain that Nicholas Nickleby is unsophisticated and melodramatic compared to Dickens' later works. In my opinion they are missing the point - it is melodramatic to be sure, but that is all part of the tounge-in-cheek tone of the work. This is an extremely entertaining novel. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Excellent Read

    This book was fantastic. It was the second book by Dickens that I read, and I thought that it was even better than Oliver Twist. I loved the characters, the plot, and even the ending. However, Nicholas is certainly a flawed hero, but that just makes the story more intriguing. It has a perfect amount of political satire, humor, and tragedy. Wonderful book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    can interest people who don't like to read  

    can interest people who don't like to read  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Typos

    I've noticed in most e-books that there are a lot of typos. I am assuming that the books are scanned and not re-typed, so the scanners must be fallible. The story of Nicholas Nickleby is wonderful, and I am reading it again in order to encounter the man in smalls once more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    What a great story!

    I've read it before but I can't seem to get my NOOK to cooperate and let me read it again. :-(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Movie

    The movie was great, but l never read the book. I have read oliver twist. (It is agreat one) l have also seen OliverTwist the movie... once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    My favorite Dickens Character

    Dickens has truley captured all aspects of human nature in this novel. Nicholas is possibly the best character i have ever come across, you will truley fall in love with his kindness by the end of the novel...its a must read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Dicken's characters are without parallel!

    This was the first Dickens' I had read, and it hooked me. From the introduction, right down to the last page, I was enthralled with the wonderful tale of injustice, cruelty, kindness and humour. Dickens has such wonderful diversity in characterization with the cruel Ralph Nickleby, the kind but simple Smike, the good hearted cheeryble brothers, and eccentric Miss La Creevy. For any fan of literature, this is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2