Customer Reviews for

Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist

Average Rating 4
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Modern Love Story

I read the book about three months before the movie came out. I laughed, cried and everything in between. Trust me this book has a little bit of everything. After Nick gets off stage he spots his ex-girlfriend, desperate to look like everything is cool he asks Norah to ...
I read the book about three months before the movie came out. I laughed, cried and everything in between. Trust me this book has a little bit of everything. After Nick gets off stage he spots his ex-girlfriend, desperate to look like everything is cool he asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. Norah says okay just to make his ex (her enemy) jealous. Five minutes leads anywhere from a drunk best friend to stealing a named jacket.
This book is very...realistic in a way because something like that could very well happen in real life but at the same time it isnt something that you see every day. This book portrays a teenager's mind in the works. I dont expect the movie to be half as good.Please rate this review, Thank you!

posted by TeenReaderIL on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

wow

I hated this book with a serious passion. The book just seemed stupid and the wording was all mixed up and the plot was just so...so... STUPID!!

posted by BOOKLOVA on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Modern Love Story

    I read the book about three months before the movie came out. I laughed, cried and everything in between. Trust me this book has a little bit of everything. After Nick gets off stage he spots his ex-girlfriend, desperate to look like everything is cool he asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. Norah says okay just to make his ex (her enemy) jealous. Five minutes leads anywhere from a drunk best friend to stealing a named jacket.<BR/>This book is very...realistic in a way because something like that could very well happen in real life but at the same time it isnt something that you see every day. This book portrays a teenager's mind in the works. I dont expect the movie to be half as good.Please rate this review, Thank you!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    KEEP THE AUDIENCE MATURE

    Authors, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, contribute very profound and interesting ideas that invite the reader to question not only their life, but the life of those they affect. I loved how this book made me think of my own personal life in a way that I had never thought of before. But as I felt myself being absorbed into the book, with each profound word and sexual comment I withdrew from the book a little more. I felt that both the obscene words and sexual situations did nothing to add to the sheer brilliance of the book. If anything, they took away from the overall message and credibility.<BR/>This book is an amazing love story between two teenagers who come to meet together at a concert by accident. Through one night, they find themselves slipping into each other as their love grows.<BR/>But, at an age of 15, even I felt myself uncomfortable from some of the situations in the book. They were completely unnecessary in developing the overall message of this book.<BR/>However, well written, I encourage other teenagers to read this book, but be cautious as you read it in the company of your family and be cautious with who you share it with.<BR/>Age 16 and Up.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    wow

    I hated this book with a serious passion. The book just seemed stupid and the wording was all mixed up and the plot was just so...so... STUPID!!

    4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome Read for Teens

    Not only does this book weave you around the the beautiful city of New York City, but it also describes the story of two music soul mates that finally meet. The book easily relates to teenagers, especially who love eclectic music. The back and forth chapter of narration from Nick and Norah's perspective, shows the insecurities and doubts when your starting a relationship. I loved this book and truly would recommend it to all and everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist

    This is a very good book for teenagers to read. It is very different than what you normally see in books. There are parts that dragged on a bit, but it was not so bad that it was a huge bother. My favorite thing about the book is that you get both sides of the story. I love that it jumps back and forth between Nick's and Norah's points of view. If you have already seen the movie please do not base this book on some expectatioj you may have gotten from the movie. The book is much better and the movie was actually somewhat disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    never should have.....

    I saw the movie...and disliked it. I saw the book and was like the book is probably better than the movie. But jeez the book was sort of funny...but to me it was just way too unrealistic, and too much happens to fast. But maybe thats the point? Idk.. good luck maybe you will actually enjoy it...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Amazing read

    The authors' writing styles are completely on point. They made the book so realistic and loveable, i couldn't put it down. The storyline and writing is so original and refreshing, and i found so many connections between norah's character and myself. The peek into the innerworkings of nick and norah's teenage minds is very real, and i found myself reading this over and over again. This has quickly become one of my alltime favorite reads, and i highly recomment it. A full five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I finished this book in 1 day. I didn't quite understand it sinc

    I finished this book in 1 day. I didn't quite understand it since I rushed through it so I decided to read it again. When I read it again, I also finished it within a day and I understood it more. I love the book. I really do. The ending, however, seemed to be rushed. I understand that it had to end somehow but you could tell the ending was rushed. The ending was terrible but everything else was pretty good. I really liked how it was written in Nick and Norah's point of view so the readers would know each character's point of view without the book being written in third person. Again, good story but bad ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Amazing read

    One of my favorite books. I originally read this book after loving the film, and the book is even better. The story is well-paced and effectively captures the feelings of the given moment. The back-and-forth writing style of Cohn and Levithan adds a level of depth and uniqueness to both Nick & Norah. I absolute reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Beautiful:)

    I love how it was hopelessly romantic in a cute way but not too cheesey. It was sorta akward being in thougghts like that watching the movie you cant hear the thougghts. So it was better than the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Love the movie, disliked the book

    One of my favorite movies is N&N Playlist. So I was excited to read the book but was disappointed that the characters were different, completely. I like having the background on the characters and knowing what happened later on that night/day...but overall I wouldnt suggest reading this if you enjoyed the movie.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I very vaguely remember watching the movie that¿s based on this

    I very vaguely remember watching the movie that’s based on this book five or six years ago. I think that I liked it, but I really can’t be too sure. My total inability to remember whether or not I enjoyed the movie was what prompted me to add this book to my to-read list whenever I came across it on Goodreads.

    This book felt so mediocre to me. The story was fine enough, but nothing about the book stood out for me. It was just okay. Maybe I’m strange, but I generally prefer to have stronger feelings towards a book, whether they are good or bad. Feeling so indifferent is weird. It certainly didn’t feel me with the urge to rewatch the movie, so I’m thinking that’s more negative than positive.

    While the book is pretty short (~180 pages), it felt so boring at times. When it comes to reading something so short, I would expect everything to be vital to the story. It didn’t feel like that here. I feel like I could have skimmed the book and walked away with the same impact a full read through gave me.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book! Hands down to David Levithan and


    I absolutely loved this book! Hands down to David Levithan and Rachel Cohn for a wonderful collaboration of another HE SAID/ SHE SAID type of novel. I like it when characters have their own perspectives in a book or a point of view for those who understand that better. It gives us a better sense of the characters' selves,  the background of their lives, why they turned out like that. 
    What's wonderful about the way they wrote each point of view, is that their back stories are glimpsed, but is enough to give the readers a sense of kinship. And it is just a 183 page novel! I think for something so short, it delivered well.
    Now let's talk characters. Nick is the awkward, lanky guy, who plays bass and is trying to avoid his ex-girlfriend because he's ultra- sensitive and wants to move on but has a hard time doing it. He's adorable! I dunno. At first, you'd find it annoying that he's actually so obsessed with the thought of his ex but then you'd understand afterwards and you'd cheer him on anyway when it came to Norah
    Then, there's Norah. The cute, slap in your face, insensitive chick, who just wants to be loved like most people, but is afraid that the relationship she might enter again, may lead to her once failed relationship. I really love Norah and her wild imagination and how she really wants to have a good relationship with Nick.
    One thing that concerned me about the book is the language. Though the writing style is something I commend, censorship for kids who may have had the time to grab this from a bookshelf, may be necessary. I don't really mind the use of curse words that may have dominated an entire page, lets say, page 95??? 
    But in all goodness of writing and story wise, NICK AND NORAH'S INFINITE PLAYLIST, is the one of the most, fun, well-rounded books I've read. Decent? I'm old enough to take it...
    Warning: Children of the universe, you may wanna consider finding another YA to read, unless you're 15 or 18, you're good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Enchanting page turner

    Read it in less than 36 hours

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Terrible book. Don't waste your time and, more importantly, your

    Terrible book. Don't waste your time and, more importantly, your money. All the characters talk the same. They all use the word F-U-C-K like a zillion times. The plot is stupid and boring and so are the characters. I just can't understand how this book got published, let alone how it was made into a motion picture. If you're into Teen Drama, try The Perks of Being a Wallflower or anything by John Green. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Bre

    Umm is this a easy read or no?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Problem: Nick spots his ex-girlfriend heading towards him with a

    Problem: Nick spots his ex-girlfriend heading towards him with a new guy
    Response: Asks the girl next to him to be his girlfriend for five minutes
    Result: An unexpected, fun filled night in New York City

    I  just had to pick this up when I heard that the story took place over one night! The story was told in alternating chapters full of hilarious
    and sarcastic commentary from Nick and Norah. They were both battling heart breaks when they bumped into each other at a show.
    My favorite part of the story was how music played such an important role. Throughout the night, Nick and Norah constantly made
    references, tossed out song lyrics, and even chased after one of their favorite bands for a secret show.  

    This was a short and fun read that made me laugh throughout the whole night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great read!

    Very very good read. Would definitely reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    LOVELOVELOVE!!!!!

    This has been one of my favorite books for a while, and i finally bought it on my NOOK. Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Fast read

    It had a few "slow" parts, but it was pretty action-packed overall. It was very funny and I thought it was really interesting how the story is told by alternating between his and her perspective. The author does a good job at establishing the characters' personalities.
    You'll like this book if you like reading about rebellious teenagers with a music interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14