Customer Reviews for

Nick of Time (Nick McIver Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    'Amazed, dazzled, swept off to sea!

    Wow! Some books sweep you away. Ted Bell's Nick of Time amazed me, dazzled me, and swept my imagination off to sea. The interweaving of pirate adventures at sea with the threat of German U-boats pre-WWII was accomplished so skillfully that I yearned to join them traveling through time. Ted Bell's descriptions were so vivid, I could picture every scene in full-color. With the exciting action scenes, I ignored the outside world to focus on this incredible tale. The history was so enticing, I found myself pouring through WWII texts on England's preparations for war, Churchill's struggles, and maps of the islands. I wanted to experience sailing and its dangers as Nick was able to do. Curse my landlocked childhood! I curled up with this book last weekend while battling the flu, but even the flu couldn't keep me away from the pages of this story. I was compelled to keep reading until past midnight. The last line of the story gave me hope for many more sequels. Please, Mr. Bell, may I have some more? I know you have written books for adults, but this title was truly amazing and I want to experience it again. Someone will be snatching up the rights to make this into a film soon! Give us hope that the sequel is on it's way. The message of heroism in Nick of Time has clung to me this week. I keep reviewing scenes and conversations from the story. Who are my heroes? What if I could travel through time to meet them? Would I have anything to offer them? Are there small roles in history that we could play that would impact others? How many of us could act as well as seven-year old Kate? Also, what has become of the villain Billy Blood? Where will he strike next? Middle school students are going to be so hooked by this book. Perhaps I should change to being a MS librarian just so I can help boys in particular find this book. Don't worry girls, you'll love this as much as I did and there is plenty to ponder after you're finished reading. Just don't think you can read only one chapter before breakfast. I tried and glanced up 80 pages later to wonder what had happened and where I'd been. I've been craving an adventure story with a good mystery and this arrived in the nick of time to rescue me. Nick of Time will be released in May, 2008... read the next great book for kids.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Nick of Time"

    I purchased this book as a gift. I have been told by my nephew that he loved the book and would enjoy more from the same author. Also he gives the book 5 stars for thrilling, story, absorbing,writing, Cover art and characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    'A rip-roaring sea adventure'

    A modern day Treasure Island with a great 12 year old hero!! This book will delight any and all readers but boys 9 and up will absolutely eat it up! Pirates, Nazi submarines, and a dramatic sea rescue of kidnapped children. What a great read and a perfect break for all kids (and moms and dads, too) who are 'wild about Harry'!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Best Ever to Get Your Boy Reading!

    This is a great book for everyone, but most especially for boys. Not only is it historical and teaches many historical facts overlooked in school, it teaches values like courage and persistence. It is entertaining for both boys 10 and over and all adults. I read it along with my grandson, and we compared notes each night. He wants to read it again, because he knows he may have missed some important little clues to the entire plot. Great writing. Wish Ted Bell would write many more like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Birth of a CLASSIC!

    Reading this book I felt like I was back in time, a time when books were full of not only adventure, but values such as courage and love of country and boys who were self- reliant and wanting to be heroes! In my view, it's a classic in the making! It may sound old-fashioned but believe me, it isn't! One of the most exciting adventure stories I've ever read. And I am not exaggerating even a smidge. Clearly written for youngsters but this oldster loved it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Nazis, Pirates and Time Travel

    Bought this book for my 12 year old nephew and sat down to read a chapter to make sure it was 'clean' enough to gift - it is. Got hooked and ended up reading the whole book myself over the weekend. Enjoyment of the book requires an imagination as the time travel and constant non-stop adventures go well beyond reality. However, the characters are well-developed, the plot is fast moving, the historical elements are informative, and each of the short chapters leaves the reader wanting to know what happens next. I think some of the nautical vocabulary and historical context are likely beyond pre-teen knowledge but the story will delight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Nick of Time

    From its striking dust cover art to its beautiful binding and print, this middle-grade adventure story has it all: boats and the sea, pirates, castles, Nazis, and time travel. It has everything a young reader could want. The writing is crisp, clear, and practically flawless. Description and scene setting put the reader in the middle of things where he or she is immediately drawn into the adventure with the leading characters, Nick and Kate. As the story progresses, more and more actors are sprinkled in until a full host are moving the story faster and faster forward toward a roaring climax. Action never stops in the great novel which rivals Robert Lewis Stevenson's Treasure Island in size and scope. The author covers this book's sometimes rapid point of view changes with seamless transition and skill seldom seen in a beginning writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Nick of Time

    This book is cool. Period. When you're done reading all the Harry Potter books, check this out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    This is a great book

    Their is amasing stuff in this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    A THRILLING ADVENTURE!!!!

    I found this book to be captivating from the first page. The reader is pulled into the adventures of Nick and his friends, and kept at the edge of your seat with every turn of the page. Bell has created an adventure for both young and old. I personally can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    &sai

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Good book, writing is very good.

    The series is one i like to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    "Nick of Time" is an epic novel for readers of any age

    "Nick of Time" is an epic novel for readers of any age. Author Ted Bell wrote it for kids, but adults would find it a fascinating read too. This is the story that Robert Louis Stevenson (Treasure Island) could have written if he lived in our generation.

    The first chapters light upon twelve-year-old Nick McIver, the son of the lighthouse keeper on a little English island. The year is 1939. Trouble is stirring from Germany, and someone needs to spy on what the Nazis are doing. As young Nick begins to learn of the disturbing things happening above him in the air, and below him in the sea, he becomes concerned for the well-being of England and its people. Who is truly safe from the Nazis' efforts? Nick can't just sail away from these problems on his clipper, like he so enjoys doing. This time, he's in it for the fight, no matter where it takes him.

    Next is the leap into time travel! It's an exciting aspect of the book, which takes the reader away from the beginning of World War II and into a time much earlier, where there's a large problem to solve at sea, and not much time to escape. Will Nick's new comrades (AKA "scientific detectives") be able to help him get back to 1939 in one piece?

    Aside from the Nazis, Nick has inherited his very own personal enemy --- who is a pirate, no less. Not just any pirate either, but one who can travel through time. Nick is kept on his toes, never knowing from which direction that the infamous William Blood may appear from.

    So many great characters are featured in this book! I wish I could tell you about Gunner, Commander Hobbes and Lord Hawke, but you'll have to read the book to find out about them. I truly think the author did such a wonderful job with describing his characters. Although a decidedly masculine cast takes the spotlight, there's one little girl who simply shines. Kate, Nick McIver's little sister is an adorable sweetheart, who fits in so perfectly with the action. She's smart for her age, and may as well take on the entire German Gestapo with her charm.

    The only con that I found in the entire story is that it does include violence --- more so that most juvenile novels might have. Then again, this adventure isn't quite like any other juvenile novel either. It's that good.

    Other notes: The audiobook with John Shea as narrator is the perfect listening material on a rainy day.

    "Nick of Time" is an exciting nautical adventure, filled with peril, wit, and the element of surprise. I can hardly wait for the sequel, "The Time Pirate".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Please see my Goodreads review...

    Please see my Goodreads review...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Awsome:)

    Gr8 book so much adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Smell my feet

    U guys suck at spelling, OSUM really, are u people to lazy to spell out a word. Thats just dumb

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Great book

    Loved it. It was soo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    EPIC!:

    Osum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Imagineitive....

    Great book. Ive read it abot 10 times now Cant wait for my kids to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    A must-read for all

    Great book for the whole family!One of the best books ever that contains history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3