Customer Reviews for

Nick of Time (Bug Man Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never heard of a forensic entomologist before this book.

    Wow if it is one pair that have no business getting married its Nick and Alena. I enjoyed the mystery; I really liked learning about all of the bugs, but I did not like Nick or Alena. Heavens knows I have no issue with people who have oddities (particularly as I have a few oddities myself), but this was a little bit ridiculous. Just the thought of these two having children was causing me to have a panic attack. I'm glad Alena called it off. Anyway, it was the relationship between the characters that caused me to feel conflicted about this book. I liked the book a lot more once I realized that Alena called it off. I really liked the fact that she recognized what she needed in a relationship.

    This book is the fourth in the series. I did not feel lost because I hadn't read the prior books. I'm not sure that I could read another book in this series. I think it would set my teeth on edge. Well perhaps I'll revisit the series in 5 years. I think.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Tim Downs' Nick of Tim

    I wish I would of known ahead of time that Nick of Time was in the middle of a series, I will most definitely be going back and reading the other books....I can't wait....What others have said about this book are absolutely true...you will LOL, you will scratch your head, and you will have your investigating antennas up....Tim Downs is creative and a true artist when it comes to plot twists. Thank you!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Nick of Time by Tim Downs

    Never before have I ever been so ashamed to read a book. Yes, Nick of Time was a great book with unforgettable characters, but it's also smack in the middle of a series. I read it because I signed up to read it on a website, but now I wish I'd read the entire rest of the series first.

    Nick Polchak is a forensic entomologist, which means he knows bugs better than pretty much anyone else on the planet. He has quite the messed up personality, too, so that's why everyone was shocked when he announced he was getting married.

    Alena Savard is a dog trainer, but unlike any you've seen before. She's lived alone for most of her life, and there's no better partner for Nick. Yep, that's right, the Bug Man and the Dog Woman are getting married. There's only one problem: it's the week of the wedding, but Nick is nowhere to be found.

    Nick went to a monthly convention-this much Alena knew-but it turns out a friend of his was recently murdered, so he set out to find his own answers-even though it was his wedding week and he had no way to contact his fiancée-and he eventually starts uncovering what could be a much more sinister plot.

    Nick of Time is a great book. At times it had me shivering, at others it had me laughing. One of the plot twists you can't see coming, and when it's finally revealed, chances are you'll burst out laughing (if you're not the type to laugh out loud, then you'll at least chuckle in your head).

    The characters were well-created, each with their own personality (it sounds like something that should always happen-and you're right-but some authors are just bad at doing it). The story was cool, and you could feel many of the emotions of the characters. Tim Downs is a great novelist, but I just wish I'd read the books in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly recommend

    A great crime thriller, Nick of Time, is a story about a man that uses his knowledge of bugs to help solve murders. Nick is arrogant and rude you love him anyway. He takes off a few days before his wedding leaving his fiance, Alena, somewhat unhappy about it. Will the bug man make it back in time?

    The two of them end up getting involved in all kinds of intrigue, plenty of action and surprising twists. An interesting and fast moving plot with humurous and snippy dialogue, this book is hard to put down. You can't guess what is going to happen next, that is a feature I love in a book.

    Wonderful characters, great storyline.

    Tim Downs is a fantastic writer, he now has a new follower! I give Nick of Time 5 stars.

    I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Nick of Time
    By Tim Downs

    I have a wide amount of book preferences, from romance, to humor, to how tos, and books about bettering yourself, but at the end of the day, sometimes, you just want to get lost in an amazing book, and that's just what happened when I decided to read this book!! I have a love and soft spot for books with great descriptions, thrilling plots, and awesome twists and turns. This book delivered on all levels! Nick Polchak is a bug man, a forensic entomologist a career built around maggots, blow flies and decomposing bodies! He's a single guy, but it's no surprise given his career choices! However, Nick meets, and falls in love with a reclusive dog trainer named, Alena. They decide to get married, but, Nick has disappeared!! He's gone off, chasing the murder of an old friend. The closer he gets to catching the murderer, the farther he gets from his love, and almost wife Alena! Although this book sounds firm and gruesome, but exceptionally written, and well thought out. The characters were believable, the plot was cleaver, and it was an all-around pleasing mystery to read! There is wonderfully witty dialog, and a plot twist at the end that you won't see coming!!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bugman's Adventure

    Nick has finally made the decision to marry, but when a friend invites him to a meeting in Philadelphia of the Vidocq Society he heads off. An adventure awaits him when he arrives. Loved this story...one clue leads to another and with the wedding on Saturday!
    Alena...Nick's intended feels threatened when Nick takes off so close to their wedding date. Loved the way she trains her dogs...she uses her dogs to find cadavers. They also protect her when she commands them!
    Right from the beginning you wonder if Nick will make it back in time? This story keeps you wanting to turn the page to find out what is going to happen next. You will never guess the ending!
    When Nick is stopped, several times in the book, he is a wise guy! No wonder he misses the important phone calls!
    If you want a page turner, and a really good read, that you cannot figure out what is going to happen next...this is the book for you!
    I was given a copy of this book by Book Sneeze, I was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfectly imperfect, like real life!

    Nick, a forensic entomologist, is known as the Bug Man. He isn't very good with the human species, but to everyone surprise he is finally getting married. However, a friend is murdered and Nick's single-minded focus keeps pushing him to solve it. But what about his wedding in a few days? He is going to forget it or is he subconsciously running from it? This is the 6th book of the Bug Man series, but for some reason after the 3rd they aren't marked as clearly. However they do follow each other, so I would suggest that you stay in order. I had read the first 3 novels and became a fan of the Bug Man. When I got Nick of Time, I found out that I had missed 2 other Bug Man books. I quickly got and read those, so I could be caught up. I enjoyed being in Bug Man mode for a couple weeks! I really enjoyed Nick of Time. I continue to love Nick's quirkiness and wittiness. We were introduced to Alena, Nick's fiancée, a couple of books ago. She is an excellent addition with her own uniqueness. Tim Downs added a twist that I totally didn't see coming, and I usually am able to figure out books and movies pretty quickly! Also, the ending wasn't "perfect" which I felt was a breath of fresh air! It was closer to reality than books that try to wrap everything up neat and tidy. All I have to say is "Go get her, Nick!" Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Nick Downs has written a series of suspense novels based on the character Nick Polchak. Nick is, shall we say, an unusual character. He loves the world of insects--he'd rather spend time with bugs than with humans!

    The mystery was engaging and the characters were quirky and entertaining.
    This is not the first book in the series, but the first I had read. I had absolutely no trouble jumping into the series midway, as the author was adept at filling in the blanks along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Nick of Time by Tim Downs

    The book Nick of Time by Tim Downs is the newest book in the bug man novel series. It was a very fun read with a major surprise near the end. Just one word of warning, dont read this book without reading the one that can before it. You would be completely lost and would not understand the plot at all. Nick Polchak is the main character who's job is to study decomposing bodies. Even with this repulsive job he has just managed to find his true love. There is just one problem. His friend dies and Nick runs off to investigate; only a couple days before his wedding. The rest of the book is his searching for his friend's killer and his fiance looking for him. While this book did not have the gross factor of the previous books it was a little intense. There was a good scene were the hero is captured and very quickly realizes how much he loves his soon to be wife. The book was very entertaining and a great was to pass the time. I read it during a tornado. I would recommend this book to others but tell them the must read the earlier ones first. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Excellent Suspense - Couldn't Guess the Twist

    I was hesitant to select this book, since it is Tim Downs' sixth book in a series; however, I was pleasantly surprised. Mr. Downs does an excellent job of continuing the series while engaging a new reader. I had no trouble immersing myself into the storyline.

    I love the quirky main character, Nick Polchak! He's a forensic entomologist, a guy who studies bugs. I equate him to one of those people who thinks on such a higher level, he has trouble interacting with 'average' people. What makes Nick endearing is he says whatever he's thinking. He clearly has no edit button on his mouth; and his exasperated (and borderline sarcastic) commentary is hilarious. I laughed allowed throughout the entire read.

    While I didn't connect as well with the other characters, they were easy to keep up with and follow. Nick's fiancée, Selena, is quirky in her own right; and I'd like to get to know her better. Nick's FBI and Vidocq Society friends, while incredibly intellectual, are quite down to earth. In every scene, I felt each character was approachable and real. The banter between characters reminded me of dialogue from movies like Ocean's Eleven. If you like fast-paced novels, you'll like Nick of Time.

    What I loved most about Nick of Time is the unexpected twist it took. I thought I had the plot figured out, and then WHAM! What I thought would happen, didn't. Bravo to Mr. Downs for throwing this reader off the suspected finish. For that very reason, I cannot wait to read the other Bug Man novels. I believe I have a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    bugs!

    I am not really familiar with the Bug Man series prior to reading this book, but that didn't mean I felt left out on the whole deal about Nick Polchak. This book can be a stand alone mystery novel that's as good a way as any to get one started on the Bug Man series. Tim Downs writes with the entertaining wit of a writer who definitely knows what he's doing and just what type of emotions and reactions he wants to affect his reader with. This book has both mystery and humor that's sure to keep any reader up all night laughing.

    Tim Downs has indeed created quite an interesting character in Nick Polchak. And this book has just whetted my appetite for more of his hilarious adventures. Alena is just as fun a character as her quirky fiance, as well as her three highly trained dogs. This book will keep you guessing as to how the resolution to the mystery will unfold and whether or not our hero and his one-track mind will ever make it to the altar. The writing is good and easy to understand. The flow of the story doesn't seem rushed and the character interactions and developments came naturally enough to be believable. A fun and exciting book that deserves 4 out of 5 stars!

    I got a free copy of this book to review from booksneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Witty and Smart

    Dr. Nick Polchak, Prof. Of Entomology at North Carolina State is a genius, a man who understands bugs more than people. He is engaged to be married in less then a week to an equally eccentric woman, dog trainer Alena Savard. Premarital discord ensues when Nick finds it necessary to help a colleague on an cold case requirng his forensic expertise. Nick arrives in Pennsylvania only to find his friend murdered and makes it his mission to find out why? With Nick missing and a wedding date looming, what is a fiancée to do but to track him down with her pack of dogs. This case only deepens when nothing is what it seems, leaving you wondering if Nick and Alena will make it to the alter and whose the murderer?

    I've just read probably one of the most wittiest novels in a long time. I couldn't put the book down, Nick is the ultimate character you love to hate. He's funny, brilliant and at the same time rude and egotistical. The ending was an unexpected twist which worked wonderfully with the story. Kudos to Tim Downs, I highly recommend this book.


    **Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly good!

    The premise is tricky and multi-layered: a murder mystery, wedding planning, and cold feet. This is probably why I didn't expect much--because, really, how can your regular run-of-the-mill author pull all those odd threads together?

    Apparently, Tim Downs is not your regular run-of-the-mill author. I've never heard of him before Nick of Time and I terribly underestimated him. Besides, the cover was unattractive, and I've never read a good mystery from a Christian publisher. So there.

    But Nick of Time paints a convincingly dark, CSI-ish world with an interesting, eccentric Grissom-like main character (minus the irreverence and obnoxiousness).

    Lots of dry humor, snappy banter. A solid, intriguing mystery that moves a step ahead of you, with an equally weighty subplot of relationship woes. Plus one of those really good twists that catches you off guard. None of the ready made formula endings, this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Very Good Book!

    This book was an intense page turner. When I started reading this book I did not expect to learn so much about bugs! One of the reasons I enjoyed this book is because just when you think you know what is going on the author adds another little twist! The story starts out when this couple enters a wedding planners office called "Wedding 'n' Such: Everything you need to make your special day unforgettable." The couple (Nick and Alena) are planning on getting married in a few months! The groom's profession is forensic entomologist (pretty much it means he can look at the bugs on or around the corpse and be able to tell how long the body had been dead) and the bride's profession is training cadaver dogs! Only days before the wedding Nick gets a call from his forensic bug buddy saying he needs help on a case. Alena, however, doesn't hear from him for three days and on the eve of their wedding takes her dogs and goes looking for him. Nick of Time is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great series

    Nick of Time was a very interesting read, full of twists turns and packed with marriage advice. It was odd to read marriage advice in a fiction book, but it really flowed well within the text. The characters were well built and had great depth. I know that this Nick of Time books are a series, so I am going to to have to grab some of the other books and check them out as well. The book was a great easy read and it definitely had an ending that no one would suspect. If you like forensics books, murder mysteries or the like, you will definitely enjoy this book. It was fun to read and I am excited to read the next book in the series. The book ends with a new beginning (not to spoil anything) and I am excited to see where the author takes our interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    A great mystery thriller!

    The Bug Man is getting married on Saturday... if his fiancée can find him.

    Forensic entomologist Nick Polchak lives in a world of maggots and blow flies and decomposing bodies. No wonder he is still single.

    But Nick has finally found a woman as strange as he is - dog trainer Alena Savard, a woman who is odd, reclusive, and can seemingly talk to animals. It was a match made in heaven.

    Nick and Alena are scheduled to be married on Saturday - just a mere 4 days away- Nick finds himself driving to Philadelphia for the monthly meeting of the Vidocq society. Being among a group of forensic professionals consulting on cold cases will surely allow him to feel useful and normal.
    But while there he discovers that a close friend has been murdered . . . Nick begins to follow the trail of evidence rather than returning to his fiancée. Fearing that his one-track mind won't lead him home by Saturday, Alena and three of her dogs go to track him down.

    When she finally finds him, nothing is as Alena (or Nick) expected . . .

    (summary adapted from the publisher)

    Picture a forensic entomologist and an avid dog lover sitting in a wedding planner's office. Neither know truly what they desire, but Nick sure knows all of this is a waste of time. He heads to his monthly meeting in Philadelphia against the wishes of his intended, 4 days before their wedding. Fast forward -----> He finds his trusted friend and colleague murdered ------> Who else cares enough to solve this mystery? No one but him!

    I enjoyed the this book. The story line and characters were well developed. Tim Downs did a superb job in crafting this book to keep you questioning what is around the next corner.... or on the next page!

    Nick of Time is the sixth book in the Bug Man series. I did not have any trouble picking up on Nick's character, but I do look forward to reading the previous books. There is even one written around New Orleans and Hurricane Katrina!

    Star Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    Note: I received a free copy of Nick of Time from BookSneeze® for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    First Visit With the Bug Man

    Imagine how excited I was to find out about a series featuring a forensic entomologist! Nick of Time begins with Nick preparing to wed his fiancé, Alena. Then just a mere four days prior to the big day, Nick leaves town to meet his friend Pete in Philadelphia. Pete has requested Nick's help on a cold case that he is trying to solve. Unsurprisingly, Alena is unhappy with Nick's plan to leave town so close to their wedding day. Nick makes a plan to call Alena every evening at 9pm while he is away. Alena waits and waits, but no call from Nick ever comes. In a message relayed from Nick through their pastor, Alena finds out that Pete was murdered before Nick was able to meet with him about the cold case. In an attempt to try to find out what happened to Pete, Nick follows some leads and ends up in the Poconos. The Poconos was Alena's dream honeymoon location, and Nick is there without her. Instead, he is on a wild goose chase and if he does not get back soon, their wedding will be missing a groom. Alena follows Nick to the Poconos, following the same leads that he followed just two days prior. Alena needs to know whether Nick still wants to marry her, but the two keep missing each other. They finally catch up with each other on eve of the wedding, but will the wedding go on as planned? Alena's dogs and her kennel are a big part of this story. I generally like stories that are dog-related, and I could definitely relate to Alena's concerns about her dogs any time they were in danger. However, I found her training of the dogs a bit over the top and unrealistic. About halfway through the book, I realized that I found the characters of Nick and Alena to be somewhat abrasive and I nearly gave up reading. But I picked it back up and finished the story. I am glad that I finished the story because there was a big twist at the end. Sometimes I can suspend logic for a good mystery novel, but it just didn't work for me in this case. Overall this probably isn't a series that I will continue reading. Thanks to Thomas Nelson for providing me with an advance copy of Nick of Time via netGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Love This Series!

    If you're not familiar with the series, take Sherlock Holmes (I'm talking Robert Downey Jr. in Guy Richie's 2009 Sherlock Holmes) and transport him into the present, make him an expert on bugs, and throw in liberal doses of CSI. Now you've got the basic outline.

    In this book, the Bug Man-a.k.a Nick Polchak-is getting married. There are perhaps situations in the world that would be more difficult for most of us, but not for everyone's favorite anti-social, blunt, sarcastic, Polish-American forensic entomologist (especially the wedding part-he just does not understand "human's bizarre mating rituals"). In order not to give spoilers for the previous book, Ends of the Earth, I won't tell you whom he marries.

    Anyway, being Nick, he leaps off to go help a friend solve a cold case murder about five days before the wedding and well, everything goes downhill from there.

    Published by Thomas Nelson, Nick of Time isn't an overtly Christian book, but it is a clean one. No wading through sex, cursing, and gratuitous violence here. This isn't to say it's necessarily for the weak-stomached. Understand, the main character spends his days picking insect life off dead bodies and analyzing them to determine time, place, and in some cases, method, of death. He also keeps dead pigs in his backyard to study insect decomposition.

    Nick of Time isn't the strongest Bug Man novel (my favorites are probably First the Dead and Shoofly Pie), but despite its plot holes, it is quite funny. All Bug Man books are the type of books you laugh out while reading, and then attempt to hunt someone down to share the joke with. In short, if you're a fan of Bug Man, read Nick of Time; you'll enjoy another encounter with Nick. If you aren't a fan of Nick yet, I'd recommend you start with Shoofly Pie, and work your way up. And don't worry. By the time you get to Ends of the Earth, you will be a fan, and then you'll want to read Nick of Time.

    In accordance with Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, I am disclosing that I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. My opinions are my own, and I am not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Awesome book! Highly Recommended!

    First of all, I must say that this book was amazing! When I first read the back and read the word "Bug Man" I was a little leery as whether I really wanted to read it or not. But when I sat down and opened it up, I could not put it down.

    Forensic entomologist Nick Polchak is getting married to his beautiful fiancée Alena Savard, a dog enthusiast (and that's just putting it lightly). But only a week before the wedding, Nick heads up to Philadelphia for his monthly meeting with the Vidocq society, a group of forensic specialists, who are the best in their given field, that take on cold cases that were never solved. Nick hasn't been able to make it to the last few meetings and he is especially eager to go to this one because his good friend Pete has invited him over to catch up. But when Nick finds that his friend has been murdered it takes him even further away from is waiting bride to the Poconos in northeast Pennsylvania. Tired of waiting for Nick, Alena gets in her car, determined to take matters into her own hands and bring home her fiancé before her wedding. But is there another reason for Nick's disappearance? Is he having second thoughts about the wedding? Will Alena be able to find him? ??? Read the book! It's a good one!

    P.S. A forensic entomologist is someone who studies bugs and their relations to decomposing bodies. Just thought you should know.

    P.S.S. or is it P.P.S.? This is the 6th book in the Bug Man series, but even though I have never read or even heard of the others (Shoofly Pie, Chop Shop, First the Dead, Less than Dead, Ends of the Earth) I had no trouble following this book or feeling like I was missing something. But I have heard that it is probably best to read the others first if you want a background of the characters but it is not necessary.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. Not officially available until May 17, 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew bugs could tell tales

    Nick of Time [Publisher: Thomas Neilson, Inc., Pages: 336, ISBN: 1595543104] is a Bug Man novel and a sequel to Ends of the Earth as per the author. The protagonist of the book is a forensic entomologist, Dr. Nick Polchak.

    Nick is engaged to be married. A few days before the wedding, he is invited by his close friend to attend a meeting to help solve an old case. He discovers his friend missing and the trail takes him to the old case. As he tries to uncovers the case, he also has a few brush-ins with the local cops, one of which is a retired FBI agent.

    His fiancee goes in search of him with her dogs. She has her own adventures even as she learns how to use her new iPhone.

    The rest of the story is about not just the solving of the old case but the revelation of other things as well.

    This is the first book by Tim Downs that I have read. He has an easy style of writing, which makes for fast reading. The book also introduced to me the science of forensic entomology, is the application and study of insects and other bugs to criminial matters. Who would have thought bugs in dead bodies reveal so much information about death.

    The suspense is maintained throughout and there are enough twists in the tale to keep the reader on this toes.

    A nice book for the weekend.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3