Customer Reviews for

Nick of Time (Bug Man Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Tim Downs' Nick of Tim

    I wish I would of known ahead of time that Nick of Time was in the middle of a series, I will most definitely be going back and reading the other books....I can't wait....What others have said about this book are absolutely true...you will LOL, you will scratch your head, and you will have your investigating antennas up....Tim Downs is creative and a true artist when it comes to plot twists. Thank you!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Nick of Time by Tim Downs

    The book Nick of Time by Tim Downs is the newest book in the bug man novel series. It was a very fun read with a major surprise near the end. Just one word of warning, dont read this book without reading the one that can before it. You would be completely lost and would not understand the plot at all. Nick Polchak is the main character who's job is to study decomposing bodies. Even with this repulsive job he has just managed to find his true love. There is just one problem. His friend dies and Nick runs off to investigate; only a couple days before his wedding. The rest of the book is his searching for his friend's killer and his fiance looking for him. While this book did not have the gross factor of the previous books it was a little intense. There was a good scene were the hero is captured and very quickly realizes how much he loves his soon to be wife. The book was very entertaining and a great was to pass the time. I read it during a tornado. I would recommend this book to others but tell them the must read the earlier ones first. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    bugs!

    I am not really familiar with the Bug Man series prior to reading this book, but that didn't mean I felt left out on the whole deal about Nick Polchak. This book can be a stand alone mystery novel that's as good a way as any to get one started on the Bug Man series. Tim Downs writes with the entertaining wit of a writer who definitely knows what he's doing and just what type of emotions and reactions he wants to affect his reader with. This book has both mystery and humor that's sure to keep any reader up all night laughing.

    Tim Downs has indeed created quite an interesting character in Nick Polchak. And this book has just whetted my appetite for more of his hilarious adventures. Alena is just as fun a character as her quirky fiance, as well as her three highly trained dogs. This book will keep you guessing as to how the resolution to the mystery will unfold and whether or not our hero and his one-track mind will ever make it to the altar. The writing is good and easy to understand. The flow of the story doesn't seem rushed and the character interactions and developments came naturally enough to be believable. A fun and exciting book that deserves 4 out of 5 stars!

    I got a free copy of this book to review from booksneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great series

    Nick of Time was a very interesting read, full of twists turns and packed with marriage advice. It was odd to read marriage advice in a fiction book, but it really flowed well within the text. The characters were well built and had great depth. I know that this Nick of Time books are a series, so I am going to to have to grab some of the other books and check them out as well. The book was a great easy read and it definitely had an ending that no one would suspect. If you like forensics books, murder mysteries or the like, you will definitely enjoy this book. It was fun to read and I am excited to read the next book in the series. The book ends with a new beginning (not to spoil anything) and I am excited to see where the author takes our interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Love This Series!

    If you're not familiar with the series, take Sherlock Holmes (I'm talking Robert Downey Jr. in Guy Richie's 2009 Sherlock Holmes) and transport him into the present, make him an expert on bugs, and throw in liberal doses of CSI. Now you've got the basic outline.

    In this book, the Bug Man-a.k.a Nick Polchak-is getting married. There are perhaps situations in the world that would be more difficult for most of us, but not for everyone's favorite anti-social, blunt, sarcastic, Polish-American forensic entomologist (especially the wedding part-he just does not understand "human's bizarre mating rituals"). In order not to give spoilers for the previous book, Ends of the Earth, I won't tell you whom he marries.

    Anyway, being Nick, he leaps off to go help a friend solve a cold case murder about five days before the wedding and well, everything goes downhill from there.

    Published by Thomas Nelson, Nick of Time isn't an overtly Christian book, but it is a clean one. No wading through sex, cursing, and gratuitous violence here. This isn't to say it's necessarily for the weak-stomached. Understand, the main character spends his days picking insect life off dead bodies and analyzing them to determine time, place, and in some cases, method, of death. He also keeps dead pigs in his backyard to study insect decomposition.

    Nick of Time isn't the strongest Bug Man novel (my favorites are probably First the Dead and Shoofly Pie), but despite its plot holes, it is quite funny. All Bug Man books are the type of books you laugh out while reading, and then attempt to hunt someone down to share the joke with. In short, if you're a fan of Bug Man, read Nick of Time; you'll enjoy another encounter with Nick. If you aren't a fan of Nick yet, I'd recommend you start with Shoofly Pie, and work your way up. And don't worry. By the time you get to Ends of the Earth, you will be a fan, and then you'll want to read Nick of Time.

    In accordance with Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, I am disclosing that I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. My opinions are my own, and I am not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew bugs could tell tales

    Nick of Time [Publisher: Thomas Neilson, Inc., Pages: 336, ISBN: 1595543104] is a Bug Man novel and a sequel to Ends of the Earth as per the author. The protagonist of the book is a forensic entomologist, Dr. Nick Polchak.

    Nick is engaged to be married. A few days before the wedding, he is invited by his close friend to attend a meeting to help solve an old case. He discovers his friend missing and the trail takes him to the old case. As he tries to uncovers the case, he also has a few brush-ins with the local cops, one of which is a retired FBI agent.

    His fiancee goes in search of him with her dogs. She has her own adventures even as she learns how to use her new iPhone.

    The rest of the story is about not just the solving of the old case but the revelation of other things as well.

    This is the first book by Tim Downs that I have read. He has an easy style of writing, which makes for fast reading. The book also introduced to me the science of forensic entomology, is the application and study of insects and other bugs to criminial matters. Who would have thought bugs in dead bodies reveal so much information about death.

    The suspense is maintained throughout and there are enough twists in the tale to keep the reader on this toes.

    A nice book for the weekend.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Nick of Time by Tim Downs

    Hi there again! I've gotten a new book from Booksneeze- "Nick of Time" by Tim Downs. Before I get started, I need to let you know that due to some legal thing, I don't have to give this book a good review. Okay? Okay. I did enjoy this book, but it is the sixth book in the Bug Man series. While this is a good book on its own, I'm sure that if you had read the previous five, it would not only make a little bit more sense, you would get more out of this novel. This book revolves around Nick Polchak, a forensic entomologist who specializes in. well. bugs. If you watch the TV show "Bones", think Dr. Jack Hodgins? Well, Nick here is getting married. If his fiancee can find him. Caught up in a murder case involving an old friend, Nick here disappears, and no one knows where he is. I love me a good mystery, and this was exactly that. I love forensic science (I could never be a part of it- too much icky stuff like blood and bugs and body parts. Yuck:P) This really was a phenomenal book however, and I give it an honest four out of five stars?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Another Bug Man Mystery

    I like watching "Bones" on TV (gross bits and all) and thought this book would be interesting, since the main character is a forensic entomologist. I did not know there were other books about the "Bug Man," but that didn't really detract from the overall experience.

    Nick the entomologist is getting married but gets sidetracked investigating the murder of a friend. With just a few days left until the wedding, his fiance sets out to find him, and the mystery continues.

    I found the book slightly formulaic, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. There is certainly a Christian theme to the book, which readers of faith should enjoy. There are also plenty of twists and turns, which keep the reader guessing.

    All in all, a fun, easy read, perfect for anyone who enjoys procedural crime dramas like "Bones" or "CSI" and such.

    [Note: I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1