BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nick of Time (Bug Man Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Nick of Time ~ Excellent!!

    Nick Of Time by Tim Downs is the sixth book in the Bug Man Series . This was the first book I've read by this author, but it won't be my last. This book was fantastic, full of suspense, and one of the best plots I have ever read. If you like C.S.I., you will love Nick Of Time !

    Dr. Nick Polchak is a forensic entomologist, a bug man. He is engaged to Alena Savard, a beautiful, but odd woman who lives in a trailer on top of a mountain just outside of Endor, Virginia. And yes, the town thinks she might even be a witch. Actually, she is smart, quick-witted, and a bit sarcastic, just like her fiance. Alena is a dog trainer and her canines are so obedient that they only need slight gestures to be instructed.

    Their wedding is next Saturday. Alena wants a small wedding with all the trimmings, Nick wants no trimmings. Crime and forensics have united these people.

    Nick is invited to The Vidocq Society, a professional meeting for forensic specialists, the week prior to his wedding. His longtime friend, Peter Boudreau, from Nick's college days at Penn State, asks him for help in a murder investigation. When Nick arrives in Philadelphia, Peter never arrives. Nick's investigation takes him to Pine Summit, a little town outside of the Poconos. Nick becomes so wrapped up in his case that he hardly remembers his fiance, let alone his wedding. Nick and Alena begin to wonder if they should even marry.

    It was a treat to read a novel whose plot occurs in my home state of Pennsylvania. The author was quite accurate in his details of Penn State and the Frost Entomology Museum, a place I have visited a few times while home educating my children. I learned a lot about forensics and how investigators determine time of death and motive in criminal cases.

    I loved the characters in this book and often found myself laughing at their comments. The characters speak those sarcastic remarks we often think, but are too afraid to say. The conclusion was totally unexpected and fantastic. Please read this book and then read the rest of this series. Personally, I can't wait to read the next Bug Man novel.

    Tim Downs is the Christy Award-winning author of Plague Maker and the Bug Man novels. He lives in North Carolina with his wife and three children.

    Thank you to Tim Downs and Thomas Nelson for the opportunity to receive this book in exchange for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting book

    Tim Downs book "Nick of time" is another installment in the "Bugman series" following Virginia based Nick Polchak, forensic entomologist on yet another case. Unfortunately for him, it's at a pretty bad time in his life as he's about to get married.on Saturday. Most brides aren't too keen about their grooms being gone right before the big "I do". So when Nick tells his fiancé and dog trainer Alena Savard that he is leaving the Monday before their wedding to head to Philadelphia for a Vidocq society meeting- a group of highly specialized forensic specialists who handle cold cases- she's not real thrilled about it. As always when he gets to Philadelphia more is waiting for him than he anticipated and he is caught off guard by the case that is before him that keeps sucking him in farther and farther. With his singular focus, he is completely entrenched in this case and the question is- will he get back to Alena in time?

    This is my first book in the Bug man series. I wanted to get that out there because I think those that have read all the books might have a different perspective. I thought the opening chapter with the" fish out of water" feeling for Nick in a Bridal boutique was perfectly written - hilarious, quick pace, doesn't get better than that. As I continued on with the book, the storyline was good, great little twist in there towards the end that I didn't see coming, a variety of interesting characters. The tough part for me was that Nick and Alena are so very sarcastic and caustic to practically everyone they meet, it's tough to get excited about their upcoming nuptials. I was left with the feeling of- how can these two possibly make it? It was difficult for me to really like their characters. There was a little bit of redemption towards the end, but not a lot. The spiritual message was very subtle, which is fine I guess, not every book needs to preach the gospel that is of the Christian genre. On the whole I thought it was a good book and I think I would benefit by reading Tim Downs other books on the "bug man" in fairness to get more of the back story on Alena and Nick.

    Discolsure- I was graciously given a preview copy of this book through the Booksneeze program. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Back away slowly, before it's too late...

    What do you get when you cross CSI's Gil Grissom with a healthy dose of The Mentalist's Patrick Jane?

    Dr. Nick Polchak.

    This is the sixth installment in the Bug Man series, and by all accounts, it's also the best.

    Here are a few selected quotes that will give you a flavor for Mr. Downs' style:

    "I know you're an FBI agent, and I'm sure you're a real tough guy and you've probably had to deal with all kinds of desperate characters before-but trust me, mister, you don't want to mess around with a woman who's planning a wedding."

    "I knew I should have gotten rid of that mattress."

    "I hate it when a woman flirts with you and then tries to kill you."

    "What's eating you?" / "Gee, I don't know. Maybe it's dying-that always puts me in a foul mood."

    These are some of the best lines. I pity the fans of the previous five Bug Man stories, because this 'best-of-the-series' story is lame.

    However, when I shared the "surprise ending" with my wife, we both laughed out loud, it's so outlandish. A gun and a beer, that's all you need to know.

    If you're looking for fiction so bad it bonds you with your friends and family, buy several copies of this book.

    The publisher subjected me to this story free-of-charge in exchange for this unbiased and entirely honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Nick of Time by Tim Downs

    Hi there again! I've gotten a new book from Booksneeze- "Nick of Time" by Tim Downs. Before I get started, I need to let you know that due to some legal thing, I don't have to give this book a good review. Okay? Okay. I did enjoy this book, but it is the sixth book in the Bug Man series. While this is a good book on its own, I'm sure that if you had read the previous five, it would not only make a little bit more sense, you would get more out of this novel. This book revolves around Nick Polchak, a forensic entomologist who specializes in. well. bugs. If you watch the TV show "Bones", think Dr. Jack Hodgins? Well, Nick here is getting married. If his fiancee can find him. Caught up in a murder case involving an old friend, Nick here disappears, and no one knows where he is. I love me a good mystery, and this was exactly that. I love forensic science (I could never be a part of it- too much icky stuff like blood and bugs and body parts. Yuck:P) This really was a phenomenal book however, and I give it an honest four out of five stars?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Another Bug Man Mystery

    I like watching "Bones" on TV (gross bits and all) and thought this book would be interesting, since the main character is a forensic entomologist. I did not know there were other books about the "Bug Man," but that didn't really detract from the overall experience.

    Nick the entomologist is getting married but gets sidetracked investigating the murder of a friend. With just a few days left until the wedding, his fiance sets out to find him, and the mystery continues.

    I found the book slightly formulaic, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. There is certainly a Christian theme to the book, which readers of faith should enjoy. There are also plenty of twists and turns, which keep the reader guessing.

    All in all, a fun, easy read, perfect for anyone who enjoys procedural crime dramas like "Bones" or "CSI" and such.

    [Note: I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Bug Man Fan Is Born!

    First of all, I want to say that I love it when I get to review a book by an author from my state of North Carolina....this one happens to be about 20 minutes from me! How cool is that?! I think that is awesome! Another reason I am happy about this book, is that it starts off in Front Royal, Virginia. I used to live SUPER close to that and would go there sometimes, so it was fun reading that! Anyway, I loved The Bug Man. I loved the book. I loved Tim's work. All of it. This was a hook-line-sinker for me, folks. The Bug Man is a fantastic character and Tim Downs did an EXCELLENT job of blending him in with the plot line of this book.

    From page one, I was laughing. Nick Polchak was a funny yet played the suspenseful role quite well. I enjoyed the banter and interaction between him and Alena. When Nick had to leave just few days before his wedding to Alena, the suspense begins. His close friend is found dead in his home and he's determined to find out why. But will he make it back home in time for the "I do's" with his fiance? She's determined to have him there so her and her tracking dogs set out to find him....only things aren't what she expected. Once Alena sets out, things really get going in the twists and turns department.

    Tim's writing style for this Bug Man novel was awesome. He kept me laughing with Polchak's humorous character, but kept me in suspense with each twist the story took. I couldn't put this book down for I HAD to keep turning the page and finding out the next twist in the scenes!

    If you love suspense novels, then please grab a copy of Tim's Nick of Time. Though you will laugh out loud at Nick Polchak, you'll be guessing what's gonna happen next in this 5 star read. This is the first Bug Man novel I've had the pleasure of reading, but I will tell you this: this will NOT be the last one! I will be collecting and reading ALL the Bug Man novels and will be anxious and hoping that Tim Downs' releases another one SOON! Hat's off to Tim Downs for a ROCKIN' great suspense novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    This book keeps you turning the page!

    "Nick of TIme" by Tim Downs is part of the "Bug Man" series of books that focus on Nick Polchak, a forensic entomologist (he studies bugs on dead and decomposing bodies to help solve crimes). Nick is known for being strange so those who know him even a little bit are nothing less than shocked when he becomes engaged. His fiancée, Alena Savard, trains dogs use in all forms of criminal justice such as tracking and even finding cadavers and even places where someone has died. The wedding is all scheduled for Saturday, when on Tuesday Nick abruptly leaves town for a meeting and then becoming involved in a murder case involving a close friend of his.

    The question on everyones mind, especially Alena's, is whether or not Nick will make it to their wedding. And if not...what is it that he is really running from? Nick is used to nothing but work, work work, often dedicating himself completely to the task at hand. He therefore does not see how this makes him self-centered. Alena trains dogs and lives on a mountain all alone with over 30 of said dogs. She has an issuing trusting people.

    So strangely...Nick thinks that he can continue to be so focused on his career even to the point of neglecting promises to his 'wife'. While Alena thinks that Nick is another dog that she can train and that he will do what she says. Throughout the book, Nick is reminded of marriage and what all is involved...that it is more than just a wedding and 'I do'. Both he and Alena are put into situations where they are forced to seriously think about what they are (or aren't) getting themselves into.

    The story was really easy for me to follow, even without reading any of the other "Bug Man" novels. The story very entertaining and the author does a good job of keeping up the pace and keeping just enough information from you to make you keep saying "ok....just one more chapter". All in all it was a great read and I can definitely see myself reading more by this author, especially the other books in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Best Book Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't wait for this book!!!!!! This is definately one of my favorite book series EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3