Customer Reviews for

Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist (Left Behind Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    Story didn't live up to the title

    Perhaps I expected too much from this novel after reading the first two in the series, but I was very disappointed. I thought we would see a huge battle between Nicolae, Buck and Rayford, but that never took place. A great deal of the book seemed to just go over what happened in the first two books. This should have been done in a prologue, so that people who read the first two novels didn't have to read the same things over again. I did like the bus chase with Buck and Tsion. That was really the only thing that saved this particular novel in the series from being a complete bore.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Where is the False Prophet?

    Nicolae, Left Behind Series #3, is the third in the exciting Left Behind series. LaHaye and Jenkins use fiction to explore the End Times events described in the Bible.

    It's been nearly two years since the Rapture and the antichrist Nicolae Carpathia has become the head of the United Nations. This book focuses more on the private lives of pilot Rayford Steele, his daughter Chloe, and her journalist boyfriend Buck Williams, then on Nicolae, the Antichrist.

    I enjoyed this book but was wondering why the authors don't include the false prophet in any of their books? According to Revelation 13, the false prophet will play a vital role just as the Antichrist will. In another exciting end-times novel, SCARS by Patience Prence, the author includes the false prophet in the main storyline.

    This book is great for all ages and those looking for a thrilling, Christian fiction, but if you're looking for a novel to help you understand Bible prophecy, this is not it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Page turner! Thriller!

    Absolutely a thriller. This is a very descriptive book and it seems the more I get into the series, the more capturing it is. I love it. Really makes you think about how things will eventually end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    This was an eye opening story, I have read the series in order. Once I start each one of the books in this set I can't put it down. I am hoping to purchase the entire collection for my family and friends to enjoy as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely engrossing

    I love this series of books. Even if you aren't religous, these books will grad you and pull you in just because of the action. What a great way to get people engrossed in what is actually a religous subject. I love them all and this is the second copy of this that I have purchased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Left Behind

    "Nicolae: rise of the Antichrist", by Tim Lahaye and Jerry Jenkins, is a great book for anyone. the main story is about a group of strangers who are left behind after the rapture of Christ, and join together to battle the antichrist. in this book, Nicolea has siezed control of the United Nations, now called Gobal Community, and most of the world government. he uses his new authority to start world-wide warfare and panic. while at the same time convincing the world that he is the solution to everyone's problems. the death of pastor Bruce has lead Buck on a quest for the Tribulation Force's new leader.<BR/><BR/>this is my favorite book so far in the series. one of my favorite characters in the novel is Buck Williams. Buck is a Chicago reporter for a national newspaper until he was promoted to Nicholae's personal media assistant. Buck is the heart of the Tribulation Force becuse of his will power and bravery. he has taken on every obstacle Nicolae has thrown at him. Nicolae Carpathia is the manifestation of evil. he is described in Revalation as the son of the devil. he was born to kill, steal, and destroy, and he has a natural charm to help him do so. he is the perfect leader: smart, likable, and able to lie to anyone. to those who don't know that he is the antichrist, Nicolea seems like Jesus himself.<BR/> --Jbunn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    The most dramatic and explosive of the first three books

    Nicolae is powerful and gripping. I literally could not put it down. I was captivated and constantly holding my breath awaiting what would befall those that were left behind next. When 'the Wrath of the Lamb' is invoked and the earth trembles in fear I was left breathless and to the point of tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Wickedness

    Left Behind was a very deep book. With lots of twists and turns i didn't ecpect. It takes place all over the world from the dirty places to the rich neighbor hoods. Rayford (the main character, His daughter Chloe and Buck Williams know who the antichrist is and try to stop him. Through out the book their hard work pays off to fellow believers. They also realize the growing power of the antichrist and his grip tightening on the world. I really liked this book because it gave me an understanding of how powerful and corrupt leaders can be and the horrific events of the Tribulation. All though this is a fictional book this piece of literature has a lot to offer spiritually and emotionally and physically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Recommend all the Left Behind Books

    I've already read all the books from Left Behind and are real good books. I recommend it to everyone. Starting to read The Rising, from Tim LaHaye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Nicolae-Left Behind Series

    Tim Lahaye and Jerry Jenkins connect the readers with their series of books called Left Behind. The novel I am reading is the third book in the series, called Nicolae, and it is really a good book to read. Nicolae is a novel with one main conflict. The conflict of man against man is set between the Tribulation Force and the antichrist, which is Nicolae Carpathia. Nicolae is also the antagonist in the story and the tribulation force is the protagonist. The Tribulation Force consists of Buck Williams, Rayford Steele, Chloe Steele, Amanda, and Bruce Barnes, the leader. The conflict is the tribulation force is trying to stop Nicolae Carpathia from starting World War 3 and ending the world. This story is set throughout the world, but mostly in the United States and New Babylon. The theme of this story is you can¿t surpass God no matter how much power you have or think you have. This story is told in third person limited point of view. I liked this story, because of its numerous strong points, such as telling a precise and believable version of the rapture. It also has numerous parts in the story where people die because of their beliefs or their actions toward the antichrist. Unfortunately some people think that since it is a biblical based story these strong points are the weak points as well. The characters in Nicolae are all static because they change as a result of others in the story. For example Buck comes into the story as a journalist that is rich and only cares about himself; that is, until he meets Chloe and becomes a believer in Christ , which makes him a static character. Nicolae is an extremely good book and I think others would enjoy reading it. It is one of those books that you don¿t want to put down because it keeps getting better and better. The downside to the story is it is a long book, so if you don¿t like reading for hours at a time you probably wouldn¿t enjoy reading this book. This book could make people realize that without god in your life you would be doomed. I think this book could be powerful enough to bring more and more non-believers to Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Loved It

    After reading the frist left behind book of the series I new I would be hooked. Each book I have read keeps getting better and better! I cant wait to read Left Behind #4 Soul Harvest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    The thrills keep coming!

    I must say, with each book it keeps getting better. I fell in love with 'Left Behind' and I thought it was the greatest book. Then I read 'Tribulation Force' and I thought that was 10 times better than the first. I read it in a week and I'm not the kind of person who sits down and reads. THen I picked up 'Nicolae' and all I can say is WOW! So many surprises around every turn. The end is SO SAD. My only problem is the book was that I thought the memorial service for Bruce was rather drawn out and boring. I loved it when Buck and Tsion were escaping, I couldn't stop reading. THese books are wonderful! I just started reading 'Soul Harvest' all I can say is, BE PREPARED TO BE SHOCKED! I was freaked out by the first cupple chapters. But none the less. Awesome books. I'm passing them around to my family who isn't saved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    The Antichrist is Rising!

    I absolutly enjoyed the book I read it in 4 days I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I can't wait to read the whole series It's Just a matter of time before the real Anti-Christ arises to power. I have some interesting ideas about it if you want to know them email me ok. I be glad to discuss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Nicolae: The Rise of the Antichrist

    In Nicolae: The Rise of the Antichrist, by Tim Lahaye and Jerry Jenkins is a perfect book to show how people feel and react in the time of the Apocalypse. In the time after the Apocalypse anything can happen. In this continuation to the left behind series the point of view alternates between two people, Rayford Steele, a pilot, and Cameron (Buck) Williams, a reporter. Rayford, his daughter Chloe, wife Amanda, Son-in-law Buck, and Rabbi Tsion Ben Judah are a group of people who consider themselves the Tribulation Force, a group of people dedicated to God. They suspect and are certain that ruler of the world, Nicolae Carpathia, is the Antichrist. Buck and Rayford work for him because they believe God placed them there for a reason. This story successfully captures the emotion and actions of the characters during the Apocalypse. The way the authors alternate from Rayford's point of view and Buck's point of view gives you a better understanding of what is happening in the world that surrounds them. The story is action packed and you will not want to ever stop reading it. The characters in this fictional story are extremely realistic and do not resemble the common stock character. This book is so realistic it can change the way you think on some subjects. Unlike many other books, the conflicts in the story are very reasonable and could happen. I strongly recommend that you go and read this book because it is a realistic interpretation of what the Bible says the Apocalypse will be like. This book may change the way you look at everyday life. This addicting book is the perfect book for a good read. Also I strongly recommend that if you have not read the other two books that precede this you should because you will have a better understanding of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    ANOTHER GREAT BOOK

    Book #3 is a great continuation from the first two. The author did a great job of keeping my interest with new and exiting twists in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    the best

    do yourself a favor read all 10 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Apocolypse

    This entire series is elitist propoganda to make people feel better that 'maybe' they'll be selected to go onward and upward.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Wow!! This is an awesome book!!

    I am not even finished reading it and couldn't waid to review it. It is a great book, I cried and was on the edge of my seat!! What a wonderful book! Wow!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Do yourself a favor

    Anyone who is reading this series should also pick up and read a copy of Glen Kleier's epic endtimes thriller, The Last Day. It's the yin to the Left Behind yang --- an alternative look at Judgment Day that, if read with an open mind, is far more thought provoking and relevant to the current religious strife in the world. A must read for thoughtful Christians and agnostics alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    I coudn't put it down!

    This book was great! It only took me a day and a half to read. Once you start reading you just can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5