Customer Reviews for

Night

Average Rating 5
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book should be on school required reading lists

While "watching" someone lose their faith is heartbreaking, the book takes the reader on a step-by-step journey with the writer from his home, to the concentration camp, and to the liberation of the camp. The seemingly benign initial events leading to the concentration ...
While "watching" someone lose their faith is heartbreaking, the book takes the reader on a step-by-step journey with the writer from his home, to the concentration camp, and to the liberation of the camp. The seemingly benign initial events leading to the concentration camp will stimulate young readers to question the status quo.

posted by bigDofthedesert on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not for Christmas

It is a horribly depressing book that i do not recommend to read before the Christmas, but my English teacher forced us to, so i do not have a choice, but YOU DO! Be smart and read it after Christmas or sometime else.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bravo!

    The audio was done so well that I felt like I was there. The story is about one man's real life testimony of a dark historical past that can not be forgotten. It serves as a reminder that even in the 20th century, people are capable of incredibly monstrous acts. Testimonials like these help make sure that history does not repeat itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very touching book, I was completely absorbed in the story.

    I bought the audiobook because it was on sale, however I would have paid double the original price. This is one of the few books that I've read that actually touched my heart and spirit and reduced me to tears. Once I started listening to the story I could not stop, it was that absorbing. This was a great book, I highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    A Great and True Story

    I am not going to waste your time in talking about how gory the book was, or how it is to graphic. The librarian at my school said that we couldn't have this book at our Catholic school because,'...that these type of books aren't written for our age level.' I personally think that our age level hasn't been written for those books. I thing that the children of today would be much less shocked when they journey into the world if they weren't protected from the truth of those that came before us and we could learn from their mistakes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    One of those books you just can't put down!

    March 28, 2009. I recently read this book for an english class. I thought it pretty dry at first then I found that I could not put it down. The way it describes the treatment and the conditions of places like aushwitz during the holocaust was unimginable. How it describes german Nazi's using babies of all things as machine gun practice was just so inhumane you couldn't belive that people could be so cruel to one another. Some people say that the holocaust never happened but this book proves those people wrong! This book will definitly take you on an emotional rollercoaster, that doesn't end untill the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Wake up call

    Night is quite a book to read. I love how this book warns us of history's tendency to repeat itself. It is very important that we as a people not only read 'Night', but take heed to the warnings of it and make sure that a genocide never occurs again on the face of the earth. This book not only causes me to reflect on the Holocaust, but also to reflect on other genocides that are currently occurring around the world in places such as the Sudan and Northern Uganda. Makes me ask myself if we as a cultured people are really listening to the warning of 'Night' and taking action to ensure that no one else will have to undergo such horrors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Thrilling and terrifying, it keeps you in your seat

    Night keeps you glued to your seat. It tells of the horrifying reality of what happen to Jews during the holocaust, and in this book Elie Wiesel is giving his own acoount of what happen to him and his family forcing you to see the scenes he experienced, and the brutality of it all. This book is a must-read novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Wow....

    I read this book my 11th grade year in my English class and all I have to say is that this book is great! I highly recommend people to read this novel. This book is definitly an attention grabber. So descriptive and touchy. I definitly going to read all of Elie Wiesel's books. Elie Wiesel is a amazing author and great person. He took his experiences at Auschwitz and put it all in text. All people should really read this accomplishment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    VERY MOVING!

    This was a book I had to read in my school years. I have always been interested in the holocaust. Im not big on reading books but this one I couldnt put down. Its so sad. Im glad Mr. Wiesel told his story it needs to be told so people dont forget & so it doesnt happen again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    wow

    This book is just amazing. To know that people had the will to go on living after everything they cared about, their families, friends, everything. To read everything that they went through and everything they lived through. It must have been so hard for him to relive all of his feelings and emotions while going through all of that. He is an amazing person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Great but sad

    It was a great story. I loved it but it was very sad. You really learn very much about the holocaust because it is a true story. I reccomend this book to everyone who is willing to learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Night review

    Night is an unforgettable account describing the horrors of the Nazi death camps. It tells the story of the desperation and exhaustion imposed on the Jewish people while living in a hell on earth. Although a painful and sorrowful description of the Holocaust, Wiesel¿s message was effectively transmitted to his readers. With his direct approach, the reader is able to comprehend the reality of the Holocaust in a straight-forward manner. His frank writing style made it easy for the reader to picture themselves in the author¿s shoes, and experience life in a concentration camp. Another strength of this book was that Wiesel was able to leave room for the reader to form his/her own opinions. He did not make his audience emotionally attached, but he provided them with the ultimate truth. Night was not only story, but a lesson for all humankind. By describing the realistic tragedies of the concentration camps, Wiesel was able to inform the world of the truth behind the Holocaust. In putting his experience in writing, Wiesel helped to prevent past mistakes from being repeated. He experienced the agony of a massacre, and realized that no human should encounter it again. Superbly written with an efficient message, I cannot say any bad things about this book. In helping me to better understand the suffering and terror of the Holocaust, Wiesel¿s story was informative, and yet an amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Love it, and hate it

    Very awesome book, with a lot of power. It is so hard to read because of the nature of the book, it makes you wonder how any human could do that to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    So much power in such a short book

    I've read this short book four times, and my 13-year old has read it twice. Each time we read it we suffer the same profound sadness as we watch Wiesel's descent with time. At the onset of the tragedy, he cannot bare to be parted from his father. At the end, his father to him is a burden, and, when his father dies, there is almost a sense of relief on the part of the author, who welcomes the extra soup ration. By just telling it 'like it was', this book is incredibly powerful, and the sadness will linger with the reader... as it should. A terrible story, beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Night Bye Elie Wiesel

    Night is a terrigying book about a young boy and his father's struggle to surrive Concentration Camp. Thos book needes to be read because the actions un this book should never be repeated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    This book was the best book I have ever read.

    I do not like to say that I loved this book because it is about a truely tarible event in history but it is the is the best book I have ever read. This is a book that will make you think. This makes everything I have ever learned about the Holacaust become real with every word he writes. You must read this book because when you do you will see the tarible reality in the Holacast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Night

    A great book that will make you cry and make you not want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Night

    I read a selection of this book in my English class. It was soo sad, it made me cry. But it also made me go out and buy the book, so I could read the whole thing. Anyone who reads this will enjoy it, no matter what!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Very Emotional, but a great book!

    Night is a great book explaining what happened during the Holocaust! It made my cry a lot because of the deadly things the Nazis did to the Jews. Especially, in death camps like Auschwitz, Birkenau, Buchenwald, and Buna. i definately recommend that you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Penetrates right through you

    A painful read but a must for any WW2 or Holocaust scholar. It is so well written that goosebumps kept creeping up my arms. It is a masterpiece of horror. Perhaps, by the end the agony is a bit too much but that is the purpose of the book, to make us feel the suffering of Wiesel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    MAGNIFICENT

    This was, by far, one of the best books I've ever read (and I've read a few). Elie Wiesel has left a moving, incredibly disturbing account of the Concerntration Camps in WWII. Beautifully written, with an ending that left me sitting, looking at the words, for a quarter of an hour. Everyone MUST read this book. It is essential for the understanding of the human condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14