Customer Reviews for

Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 1270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(897)

4 Star

(248)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Powerful . . . and for readers that were moved by NIGHT, I would also recommend A BEAUTIFUL WORLD by Gregg Milligan

NIGHT by Elie Wiesel is a piercing account of the horrors of concentration camp, which impressed an incredible toll both internally and externally on his being. As a young adolescent, he is ripped from his home, plummeted to the depths of suffering, and driven to the e...
NIGHT by Elie Wiesel is a piercing account of the horrors of concentration camp, which impressed an incredible toll both internally and externally on his being. As a young adolescent, he is ripped from his home, plummeted to the depths of suffering, and driven to the edge of his own humanity. Mr. Wiesel openly shares with readers the tremendous weight of these experiences etched within his soul. His courage in doing so should be lauded.

From Mr. Wiesel we can learn that regardless of the burden from the sins of others imposed upon us and our own sins, it is possible to endure - and even to help others do so.

In that vein, I would recommend another memoir to readers of NIGHT - called A BEAUTIFUL WORLD, written by Gregg Milligan. It is a book you will not be able to put down - a deeply moving account of the indomitable human spirit as seen in the heart of a young child subjected to severe physical, mental and sexual abuse.

In the author's own words, he shares his story to help others 'buckle down and bear the ride' through their own hell - and know that they are not alone. A BEAUTIFUL WORLD is an incredible testament to the perseverance of hope. Exquisitely written and heart wrenching, it is an unforgettable story.

Both A BEAUTIFUL WORLD and NIGHT offer readers a chance to adjust their own perspective on suffering through the examples of both authors. Though they have suffered greatly and will never leave this experience behind, they will not allow it to end them either.

Further, both authors possess the incredible courage to reach out and share their stories, giving of themselves for the benefit of others. The astounding resiliency shown in that act alone speaks volumes of them as human beings -- and the words they press to paper will ever live on in the hearts of those that read them.

posted by SarahAnn09 on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Night By Elie Wiesel Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Po

Night
By Elie Wiesel
Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Posey








Night is a very acclaimed historical book; It brings a new view and outlook on the extermination camps written by Elie Wiesel. The book was copyrighted in 1958. Night is an autobiography that yo...
Night
By Elie Wiesel
Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Posey








Night is a very acclaimed historical book; It brings a new view and outlook on the extermination camps written by Elie Wiesel. The book was copyrighted in 1958. Night is an autobiography that you can buy for $9.95 its International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is 978-0-374-50001-6.
The author’s purpose in writing his story is to inform the reader on past events, and the hardships of the extermination camps. The author states in the book that it may have been to “Leave behind a legacy of words, of memories, to help prevent history from repeating itself.” Elie mentions that he may have written it “To preserve the record of the ordeal he endured as a adolescent.”
The topic of Night was focused on one boys’ experience in the concentration camps and everything he endured along with an entire race of Jews trying to survive the angst of the prejudice bestowed upon from the Germans. Themes include companionship for salvation, when Elie and his father would look over one another to insure each other’s survival throughout the chaos the Germans caused. Another theme would be the dangers of ignorance, when the Germans used Jews as scapegoats for all of their problems. 
        The book is a easy read and was wrote in exclusively chronological order with  flashbacks to past events to support the current ones. He gave an example of a flashback when he and 100 other jews were in train carts in the bitter winter surviving off of snow for food when all of a sudden Germans from outside threw in bread to watch Jews fight and kill each other over a slice of bread, Elie compared that event to years later when he witnessed a Parisian woman throwing coins into the water to amuse herself of natives strangling each other over the money. Elie wrote it in a section by section form to divide his experiences throughout his hardships. He started at the beginning of his childhood and told his story throughout his life as he went on. Elie was good at supporting his thesis by never straying off of the subject.
        As a student who is very interested in history the book was a great and very interesting read. It very greatly helps that it was a very accurate book considering it was written by someone who experienced the exact events of the story. The book was not only an accurate story of the holocaust is very detailed. For example it gave exact numbers of people on train cars
Night is a detailed historical book based on true events during the holocaust. Even though the book was based on horrific events and gave scary details the book was able to keep me interested and compelled to finish it. Ellie excellently gave information on our world's history and how he feels that racism is wrong and can lead to extreme violence. In conclusion night is a story of a boy and his troubles throughout the holocaust.

posted by Jacob_Alexis on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1270 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 64
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Night By: Elie Wiesel Those who have not felt touched by the H

    Night
    By: Elie Wiesel

    Those who have not felt touched by the Holocaust will feel much different after reading Elie Wiesel’s book Night. Reading this book shall immerse the reader into history as they experience the Holocaust with Elie. As you experience Elie’s life throughout the book, you shall see through his eyes what he felt and underwent. The cost of a paperback copy of the book is $9.95. The first publication of Night was in 1958, but the original English published version was in 1960. The book has 109 pages on 1982 Bantam paperback pages. The ISBN for the book is 978-0-374-50001-6. This book is over the Jewish persecution by the German Nazi’s during the time known as the Holocaust.
    Elie’s purpose in writing this horrifying novel was to tell and share his life during this time. He also wrote so that people will learn the cruelty that humanity can be capable of. He wanted people to remember the atrocities that were committed during this time period. He also wanted others to think about how they treated others during everyday life. His view throughout the book is one that is from his very eyes. From reading this book, repeating history, is a fear that Elie has. 
    A theme throughout the book is that humans can commit vicious acts of cruelty to those deemed innocent for they lack humanity and mercy. As a child Elie lived in a small town in Romania. In 1942, the Germans came to his town and took all foreign Jews away. Shortly after they came for the rest of them. Elie finds himself jumping from concentration camp to concentration camp, during the height of the German “Final Solution.” He witnesses events that change his view on life and his faith in God.
    Elie’s reputation throughout the world is one of a man who is looking to make a difference and to promote world peace. He has earned medals and awards for his writings on peace. A few of them include the Nobel Peace Prize, Medal of Freedom, and the French Legion of Honor. Overall the book has an inspirational and meaningful outlook on life. It shows how even through adversity and persecution, there are many who have the will to endure the hardships of imprisonment and extermination.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    OMG!!

    I got hooked after reading about 3 chapters of this book in my english class. I never thought i would ever say this but...thank you school!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Life Changing

    I hate this book so much because its so dang good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    indescribable!

    This book is an "I can't put it down!" read. Tragic story, well told. It is indescribable the torturous conditions Mr. Wiesel went through, he is very lucky to be alive. Don't read this book expecting it to be light-hearted, because it isn't.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Bm

    It is boring as my ass

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Good

    Great book had to read it for la 2

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Horrific and Sad!!!!!!!!!!

    This is agreat book even though i am not the whole way through it i love it. Definitly not a book for anyone under 6th grade.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Great Book.... Ends too fast though.

    The title of this book was decent, but you would only understand it if you read deep enough into the book. Overall though the book was very good, it had a nice storyline because of it was true. The only thing I didnt like about the book was the ending. It looked as if the author, Elie Wiesel, got bored and ended the book fast and not include anymore details about his life after his father died.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    my summer reading. [5 Stars]

    this was another summer reading book. [PHEW!] anouther one finnished. Yes, Night was a fantasticly written book about a Jewish boys' journey through the consentration camps. When I was reading the book I felt like i was feeling the boy's happieness, pain, suffering.... Such an amazing book. I definatly suggest it. (:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Sometimes the Truth Hurts

    This book is about Elie Weisel and his survival during the holocaust. Elie wrote this book so that history may not repeat itself. Throughout the holocaust, humans were committing genocide in probably the cruelest ways possible.In this novel, Elie tells of his life when he had to live in concentration camps. Luckily, he was able to stay with his father. This is probably the only good thing that happened in this novel. Almost every page is filled with graphics so crucial that words can hardly explain it, but this is reality. Night is also filled with instances in which people are treated like animals. For example, one part in the book, the guards threw bread on the ground for the Jews to eat. Because they were so starved, the Jews literally killed each other for the bread. Unlike most books, Elie wrote the book exactly as he remembered it, and used many similes. This book is very inspirational. It reminds people to not give up when life gets you down.I really enjoyed this book even though some parts were hard to read. I would recommend this book to mature teens and adults because of some graphics told in the book. This novel tells the truth and people should know what really happened so that it won't happen again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night

    As a 13-year old boy who grew up in the Bronx, I'm one into sports, comedy, and action. I never really knew much about the Holocaust. The book "Night" taught me so much about it. It's super intense, emotional, and informative. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a poignant and breath-taking kind of book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Sleep After Reading This

    Wiesel's existentialistic autobiographical description of some of his experiences during the Holocaust is tragic, heartbreaking, and so filled me with dread that my nerves were deadened to the point of insonmia for two days. A small price to pay, however, for having experienced this book. Nothing is worth reading if it does not make you examine the fearful abyss of your own emotions as well as the capacity for human violance (and the will to endure such violence). What makes this even more tragic is the existential perspective taken by the author, something for which I was not fully prepared. Though I'm familiar with the existential style of writing, the authors with whom I was more familiar (Camus, Kafka, Beckett) tended toward a tragic-comic absurdity. The absurdity encountered in this book is the capacity for human violence, and the will to endure it. The tragedy centers as much on the atrocities committed as on the decimation of the human spirit who endures these atrocities, so much so as to leave the heart desolate, even upon reflection, years later, on the events that would play such a momentous role in anyone else's life. Don't expect to jump for joy, or to cry, at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    I really liked the book because we dont really learn about what

    I really liked the book because we dont really learn about what happened to other people other then white or black people I would recommend this book to all high school students.I really liked the part where he was talking about his siter and where he remembered her standing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    As a child, I learned how to play piano. I enjoyed playing piano

    As a child, I learned how to play piano. I enjoyed playing piano because of my teacher, who was very influential in my life. Not only did she teach me the techniques in playing, but also, taught me many life lessons. I did not consider her as 'a teacher,' I considered her, as a friend. Then, I heard she had cancer, I was deeply shocked. "Will there be a chance she will make it?  I couldn't talk about her for many days because it would bring me to tears. My family and I visited her in the hospital many times. Every time we saw her, I could see she was becoming weaker, and this was when I realized, she isn't going to make it. In my opinion, this relates to Night by Elie Wiesel. Elie, including his family, is sent to a concentration camp because of their race. Elie, a survivor of the holocaust, sees death almost everyday. Elie was scared for life. He stated, "never shall I forget those flames that consumed my faith forever...Never shall I forget those moments that murdered my God and my soul and turned my dreams to ashes (34)." Although, I cannot necessarily compare myself to what Elie's been threw, I  saw death in my own eyes when my friend passed away.  This memoir, was devastating, and jolting, but this intriguing story of Elie Wiesel's life during the holocaust, is a book you would not want to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Night, an autobiography written by Elie Wiesel, is about his exp

    Night, an autobiography written by Elie Wiesel, is about his experience in a concentration camp during World War II. Elie uses a variety of sentences and imagery to create an interesting, eerie tone for the book. Because he wrote about so many different experiences, there was lots of action, which kept me interested in reading it. I enjoyed the symbolism of fire and night throughout the story. In my opinion, I think Elie could have written with more details to show what the camp looked like because I would be able to understand his experiences better. I definitely recommend this book  for people to read. It helps us understand more about our history and what is was actually like to be in the middle of a war. I give the autobiography Night, by Elie Weisel four stars and think anyone should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Have you ever been in a concentration camp? Night is a story tha

    Have you ever been in a concentration camp? Night is a story that makes you think back in time. It makes you think of how mistreated the Jews, gypsies, crippled, expected mothers, and Russians.

    Night is a very good story and is appropriate for an audience that is older than thirteen. It is very graphic and can be disturbing to some viewers at different times. This book shows how terrible and graphic it really was. During this time period everybody turned their backs on the Jews. Even when they were being transported they were starved, beat, and sometimes killed. During the winter a large amount of prisoners were killed from freezing to death. The prisoners were beat so much that they were not scared of death. Even when the Russians bombed the camp they were cheering with joy even though they could have all died from the explosions. Every Jew in every camp had to wear the yellow star.

    The events are well organized and easy to follow. There is some parts in the story when the characters use explicate language. Overall I would recommend anyone from the age of thirteen and up to read this book.

    This book would be good for anybody who likes to read about the Holocaust or about graphic scenes. The whole story is somewhat sad. It will definitely keep you interested. In some moments it had me scared of what is going to happen next. Even when the time period did change it specifically told you when and where it was. This story in my opinion is very good and easy to read. I never got confused during the transitions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Night  Title: Night Author: Elie Wiesel  Night starts ou

    Night 
    Title: Night
    Author: Elie Wiesel 








    Night starts out in Sighet, Czechoslovakia, 1941, the beginning of World War II. 
    Throughout the book, the author, Eliezer Wiesel is moved through several treacherous concentration camps, including Auschwitz, Buchenwald and Buna. Most of the action takes place in these camps, as Elie struggles to survive. The book covers Elie’s life from 1941 to 1945, a time when, in Nazi controlled Europe, Jews like Elie, along with countless others were taken to concentration camps where they were held, forced to work, or killed. Elie stayed at had conditions ranging from poor to barely livable. Although one of his camps was stated to be “better off”, he still had little food, old clothing and long workdays. He had to work in the snow and heat, march long distances through the cold and sleep in the mud on the floor, sometimes surrounded by the dead corpses of his companions. The author didn’t “choose” the setting of his story; he was placed in it. However, I believe he chose to write about this part of his life because it shows the issues Jews went through and the cruelty man can show to man. 
      The main character in this book is Eliezer Wiesel. He was a Jewish boy of 15, born in Sighet, Czechoslovakia. He was thoughtful, loyal and kind throughout the book, but as he goes through one after another hardship, his character changes greatly. When at first he was deeply religious and awed by his God, he begins to doubt, and even despise Him. He stops caring about others about seeing so many die before him. One thing he doesn’t lose is his love for his father. Although many times he wondered if it wouldn’t be easier to leave his weak father behind, 
    Eliezer sticks with him until the end. This loyalty is one of his best traits, while one of his worst, even if only caused by the circumstances, is his lack of concern or empathy for anyone besides himself or his father. The message of this book was clear. Without hope, courage and empathy, men can turn on one another without thought or reason, and without education to understand other people, this 
    can become even worse. Although the heartless soldiers stood out to me, the heartless prisoners stood out even more. For example, in one part of the book, a boy, or young man killed his own father over a piece of bread, so animal was his desire for food. I think the author wants you to learn about how harshly the Jews were treated during this time period, and the sheer viciousness of the Holocaust. 
      This book definitely was the worst book I have ever read. There were lots of slow parts, and although it was not that hard to read, it made me think too much. I would recommend it to almost anyone. Whether you like action or history or complex characters or anything else, this book has it. I think anyone can enjoy, and more importantly learn from Night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    I enjoyed the book ¿Night¿ by Elie Wiesel. It tells about a t


    I enjoyed the book “Night” by Elie Wiesel. It tells about a thirteen year old boy whose family gets sent to the concentration camp. Each day this boy goes along the way as he gets beaten to being starving each night .Tying to stay alive hoping that he will eventually get out of this hell whole with him and is father. The author has a strong tone that shows in his theme. I would suggest that teenagers read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    In the process of reading....

    Night is a very powerful, well written autobiographical book. But I don't understand it, scenes jump from one to another, polish and german words or used without English translations. If this is to instill a feeling of choas, it works. It was perfect in the begining, but as the book progresses, it makes no scence. Or is that the point? The descriptions are so blunt, so horrific, I struggle to believe them. I found myself shaking. I thought "this can't be true, at least not all of it." There are scenes when babies are thrown into fires and used as target pratice, children are being trafficed and hanged, men are forced to put their own father's bodies into furnaces. This is is a tremendously difficult read, I am in the eighth grade and considering asking my teacher for an alternate assignment. My deepest respects to Mr. Wiesel and his family, I agree that the holocaust needs to be taught in schools and that tolerance and love is essencial, but Night is too intense for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Mo'fo

    I am a lesbian

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1270 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 64