Customer Reviews for

Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 1242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(884)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Powerful . . . and for readers that were moved by NIGHT, I would also recommend A BEAUTIFUL WORLD by Gregg Milligan

NIGHT by Elie Wiesel is a piercing account of the horrors of concentration camp, which impressed an incredible toll both internally and externally on his being. As a young adolescent, he is ripped from his home, plummeted to the depths of suffering, and driven to the e...
NIGHT by Elie Wiesel is a piercing account of the horrors of concentration camp, which impressed an incredible toll both internally and externally on his being. As a young adolescent, he is ripped from his home, plummeted to the depths of suffering, and driven to the edge of his own humanity. Mr. Wiesel openly shares with readers the tremendous weight of these experiences etched within his soul. His courage in doing so should be lauded.

From Mr. Wiesel we can learn that regardless of the burden from the sins of others imposed upon us and our own sins, it is possible to endure - and even to help others do so.

In that vein, I would recommend another memoir to readers of NIGHT - called A BEAUTIFUL WORLD, written by Gregg Milligan. It is a book you will not be able to put down - a deeply moving account of the indomitable human spirit as seen in the heart of a young child subjected to severe physical, mental and sexual abuse.

In the author's own words, he shares his story to help others 'buckle down and bear the ride' through their own hell - and know that they are not alone. A BEAUTIFUL WORLD is an incredible testament to the perseverance of hope. Exquisitely written and heart wrenching, it is an unforgettable story.

Both A BEAUTIFUL WORLD and NIGHT offer readers a chance to adjust their own perspective on suffering through the examples of both authors. Though they have suffered greatly and will never leave this experience behind, they will not allow it to end them either.

Further, both authors possess the incredible courage to reach out and share their stories, giving of themselves for the benefit of others. The astounding resiliency shown in that act alone speaks volumes of them as human beings -- and the words they press to paper will ever live on in the hearts of those that read them.

posted by SarahAnn09 on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Night By Elie Wiesel Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Po

Night
By Elie Wiesel
Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Posey








Night is a very acclaimed historical book; It brings a new view and outlook on the extermination camps written by Elie Wiesel. The book was copyrighted in 1958. Night is an autobiography that yo...
Night
By Elie Wiesel
Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Posey








Night is a very acclaimed historical book; It brings a new view and outlook on the extermination camps written by Elie Wiesel. The book was copyrighted in 1958. Night is an autobiography that you can buy for $9.95 its International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is 978-0-374-50001-6.
The author’s purpose in writing his story is to inform the reader on past events, and the hardships of the extermination camps. The author states in the book that it may have been to “Leave behind a legacy of words, of memories, to help prevent history from repeating itself.” Elie mentions that he may have written it “To preserve the record of the ordeal he endured as a adolescent.”
The topic of Night was focused on one boys’ experience in the concentration camps and everything he endured along with an entire race of Jews trying to survive the angst of the prejudice bestowed upon from the Germans. Themes include companionship for salvation, when Elie and his father would look over one another to insure each other’s survival throughout the chaos the Germans caused. Another theme would be the dangers of ignorance, when the Germans used Jews as scapegoats for all of their problems. 
        The book is a easy read and was wrote in exclusively chronological order with  flashbacks to past events to support the current ones. He gave an example of a flashback when he and 100 other jews were in train carts in the bitter winter surviving off of snow for food when all of a sudden Germans from outside threw in bread to watch Jews fight and kill each other over a slice of bread, Elie compared that event to years later when he witnessed a Parisian woman throwing coins into the water to amuse herself of natives strangling each other over the money. Elie wrote it in a section by section form to divide his experiences throughout his hardships. He started at the beginning of his childhood and told his story throughout his life as he went on. Elie was good at supporting his thesis by never straying off of the subject.
        As a student who is very interested in history the book was a great and very interesting read. It very greatly helps that it was a very accurate book considering it was written by someone who experienced the exact events of the story. The book was not only an accurate story of the holocaust is very detailed. For example it gave exact numbers of people on train cars
Night is a detailed historical book based on true events during the holocaust. Even though the book was based on horrific events and gave scary details the book was able to keep me interested and compelled to finish it. Ellie excellently gave information on our world's history and how he feels that racism is wrong and can lead to extreme violence. In conclusion night is a story of a boy and his troubles throughout the holocaust.

posted by Jacob_Alexis on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful . . . and for readers that were moved by NIGHT, I would also recommend A BEAUTIFUL WORLD by Gregg Milligan

    NIGHT by Elie Wiesel is a piercing account of the horrors of concentration camp, which impressed an incredible toll both internally and externally on his being. As a young adolescent, he is ripped from his home, plummeted to the depths of suffering, and driven to the edge of his own humanity. Mr. Wiesel openly shares with readers the tremendous weight of these experiences etched within his soul. His courage in doing so should be lauded.

    From Mr. Wiesel we can learn that regardless of the burden from the sins of others imposed upon us and our own sins, it is possible to endure - and even to help others do so.

    In that vein, I would recommend another memoir to readers of NIGHT - called A BEAUTIFUL WORLD, written by Gregg Milligan. It is a book you will not be able to put down - a deeply moving account of the indomitable human spirit as seen in the heart of a young child subjected to severe physical, mental and sexual abuse.

    In the author's own words, he shares his story to help others 'buckle down and bear the ride' through their own hell - and know that they are not alone. A BEAUTIFUL WORLD is an incredible testament to the perseverance of hope. Exquisitely written and heart wrenching, it is an unforgettable story.

    Both A BEAUTIFUL WORLD and NIGHT offer readers a chance to adjust their own perspective on suffering through the examples of both authors. Though they have suffered greatly and will never leave this experience behind, they will not allow it to end them either.

    Further, both authors possess the incredible courage to reach out and share their stories, giving of themselves for the benefit of others. The astounding resiliency shown in that act alone speaks volumes of them as human beings -- and the words they press to paper will ever live on in the hearts of those that read them.

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    Night

    I'm amazed by what humans are capable of doing to one another and this book shows how devastating the cruelty can be for some. Night is the story of Elie Weisel, who spent his life during the Holocaust and knew how people were treated in the concentration camps.I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn how people were during the Holocaust.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    Brilliant Novel

    The book Night is a terrifyingly honest retelling of a holocausts survivor's story. Elie Wiesel, who was a teen when he and his whole town were forced into the camps, shows what really happened. He spoke of how everyone reacted, and showed how desperate everyone truly got when they realized how much trouble they were in. It offered a look inside the mind of one of the victims, and showed the constant battle they fought with themselves. Also, it put in his own experiences, showing how he felt during it.
    To start with, Night really captured the nature of humans perfectly. Some of the Nazis were cruel, while a few were simply there because they had to be. Some prisoners were helpful and nice, some were aggressive and selfish. He showed all sides of the people, that they're not all the same.
    Plus, the book also shows how his beliefs changed over time. As he was forced onto the cattle cars, he called himself religious. After years of starvation, abuse, and harsh conditions, he began to lose faith. By the time he escaped, he believed in only one person, himself. He let readers in on all he was thinking, not just what he was witnessing.
    Also, the novel is just well written. The flow is impeccable, with each even flowing seamlessly into the next one. The details Elie poured into this story really shine through. All of the sentences have a meaning, and aren't just some made up stuff to make the story seem more interesting. He turned his life story into a beautiful piece of literature.
    In addition, he talked about his father and about how hard he tried to help him. Plus, he even admitted to sort of feeling a wave of relief when his father passed away. He loved his father, but after constantly helping him as they both grew weaker and weaker, as well as doing hard labor to survive, it's no wonder he felt a weight lifted off his shoulders after his father's passing.
    To sum it all up, Night is a painful, but beautiful story. It somehow managed to capture the essence of desperation, and showed this off with ease. It also showed his own battles with faith. Elie remained truthful throughout; contributing to what makes this novel so breathtaking. He didn't shy away from the things he felt, he showed them to the world. Additionally, the book is just a magnificent piece of literature. Night is definitely a book worth reading.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Holocaust: "whole-burnt"

    Elie Wiesel's Night is a very intriguing memoir that includes mystery, questioning, and suspense. I really enjoyed reading this book. The suspense kept adding up, to make it almost impossible stop. Every time I said to myself "After this page I have to go to sleep," a page later I'd continue on. The reason why I chose to read Night in the first place was because I visited the Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. this past summer. Once I read the back cover of Night, it instantly reminded me of The Holocaust Museum. Some other books I was on the verge of choosing were interesting also, but my trip to Washington D.C. inspired me to read Night. Now that I've read it, I know I made the right choice.

    My favorite part of the memoir was the same scene that I did my oral interpretation on: the father is called by some prominent members of the community to discuss the plans for the transport starting the next day. This scene is really suspenseful and intense in a way that I can barely put into words. Imagine your whole life disappearing in a day. Elie Wiesel goes through this very tough time in his life where he has to leave his life, childhood, and memories in Sighet, Transylvania. In this scene, his father's horrific news flips his whole life instantly around.

    The main reasons why I enjoyed Night are because it added to my knowledge about the Holocaust, and helped me realize who I am. Before reading it, all I knew from the Holocaust was what I read from The Diary of Anne Frank, which didn't give as much background information as Night did. It made me, once again, realize how big of an impact this genocide was and the people it affected. Also, Night gave me a better understanding of our recent past, and reminded me how fortunate and lucky I am to be me.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night...

    When I first was told that I had to go out and buy this book for my high school class I was flustered. It was another book that we were going to pick apart during English class and that would ruin yet another book that could have been enjoyable. Well I am in a Pre-AP English class, so I thought it would be better if I read it before we started reading it in class. So I bought it last night and decided to begin reading it while we put up our Christmas tree and figured I'd get a chapter or two finished, but no, I started reading and couldn't find a good spot to put it down. Elie Wiesel's story is incredible and the fact that it is actually true makes it even more real in my mind. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the Holocaust!

    It is 50/50 on research, because it depends on how you get your information, but from a survivor's point of view it is incredible! I loved it and found it extraordinary and I'm actually looking forward to annotating it during class in the upcoming weeks.

    GREAT READ! VERY INTERESTING! CAN'T PUT IT DOWN!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Book Review Night Makayla Cordell & Becca Coil       Night

    Book Review Night
    Makayla Cordell & Becca Coil


          Night is a book written by Elie Wiesel. The copyright date is 1958. Night is a really sad book but it is also a very good book. It is kind of like a chick flick. It is sad throughout the story but there is somewhat of a happy ending when Elie and everyone else who survived are let free. A paperback copy of Night cost $8.96. If you decide to get a copy the ISBN is 978-0-374-50001-6. Night is an easy read but you just have to think about what you are reading while you are reading it.
    The purpose for which Elie Wiesel wrote this book was to keep history from repeating itself. He states his own horrific personal experiences that he can never bring himself to forget. Wiesel explains the torture and death his family and others had to witness while going through the holocaust. He’s targeting all ages to read and hear the real story from his point of view.
    Night is all about Wiesel’s life during the Holocaust. It is also about how him and others survived during this time. Wiesel struggled through the Holocaust because of starvation, beating, thirst deprived and more. Even though he was struggling he still helped other including his father. By him helping others and himself he managed to survive. At times he wished he could just die but he never wanted to leave his father because he knew his father would not be able to survive if he was gone. Wiesel wrote this book because he wanted people to know what happened to the Jewish people when Adolf Hitler was the dictator in Germany. He also did not want history to repeat itself. The Jewish people were treated very poorly just because of the religion. Now we have Buddhist, Jews, Catholics, Christians, and so many more. All of the people who are from these religions are treated the same. They are all welcomed to any place.
    Wiesel uses irony, foreshadowing metaphors and similes. There are many twists in the book that bring grief and sadness to the readers. Flashbacks are used to explain many of Weisel experiences and memories that have happened. For example, at points throughout the story all he wanted to do was die and go to a better place. He refers to a lot of memories and foreshadows to what may happen next.
    Wiesel has received many rewards in his lifetime. They range from the Nobel Peace Prize to the Presidential Medal of Freedom. He also has received the National Jewish Book Award for Modern Jewish Thought & Experience. Night is the first book out of his trilogy. The books that follow are Dawn and Day, which are heart-wrenching stories that attack readers to keep reading. Elie Wiesel has a reputation of getting his audience involved. His books really open the eyes to all readers and their concerns of the holocaust.
          Night is one of the best books to read. It teaches readers about someone’s life during the Holocaust, how he survived, what he had to go through in order to survive, and things he had to see. The content of Wiesel’s book is very detailed but it is good. Wiesel and all of the other Jews had to go through the unthinkable. Wiesel’s story is extremely touching and a book that is recommended to all.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Night by Elie Wiesel Reviewed by Nenny and Kolan Elie Wiesel¿s

    Night
    by Elie Wiesel
    Reviewed by Nenny and Kolan

    Elie Wiesel’s book “Night” (ISBN number 9780374500016) is a documentative embodiment the horrors of the Holocaust. As a first hand witness, Elie Wiesel in 1958 captures both his experiences and those of all who suffered at the hands of Nazi Germany in this enticing novel. This book features bone chillingly accurate descriptions of the atrocities committed within the concentration and death camps scattered throughout the Eastern European region during Hitler’s reign. It is not one to disappoint the reader.
    In 1944 Elie Wiesel was taken from his home, captured, and forced to survive in a Nazi death camp with only his father to accompany him as they fight their way through to the end of the war. Starved, beaten, and his spirit broken, Elie survives to tell his tale to the world of what he went through during the terrible years of the Holocaust. 
    “Night” proves to be a document written to express the importance of remembering our past and how inhumane people can be. By Elie’s account of the savage conditions and brutal actions he and his fellow prisoners were subject to, he continually reminds the reader of the events that nobody should ever experience. This is a volume dedicated to making sure the same atrocities never happen again in our history. The Holocaust was a time of misfortune and misery with lots of individuals who suffered throughout its intolerable existence in history.
    This “slim volume of terrifying power” as quoted by the New York Times, is popular throughout the world. “Night” can be found online and in most stores around the country for just under 10 dollars. This, combined with the incredibly interesting and easily read report of the experience in which the author was forced to survive make the book more than worthwhile. 
    In short, “Night” summarizes the experiences of both survivors and the less fortunate during the Holocaust. Every turn of the page brings on a new sense of anxiety and excitement for the victims-you will never want to put it down.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Best book ever

    I read this book for school this year at school and i was not excited about it but i ended up LOVING IT. It was great. Must read book!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Perspective of Life Changed

    The book Night touches the reader's heart. The story about Elie inspires the reader to take action against inhumane treatment. I like how all the descriptive words are used to describe all the hardships and troubles Elie and the other Jews faced. I didn't like how the book ended. It could've showed where Elie went after the camp was liberated. Overall a great book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    This book is a MUST read!

    I have always been very interested in the History of Aushwitz and other various concentration camp "horror" stories. I heard about this book first after watching Oprah when she had Elie Weisel on her show. After hearing his inspirational yet terrifying life story I knew I had to read this book. The descriptive words that Weisel uses within the pages paints a picture and makes you feel like you are there watching the things that were done to these innocent people. There were some chapters that were very hard to read because of the disturbing things that were done. But after reading the book I have a greater respect and sorrow for the people that went to through the horrible events within the concentration camps. After reading this book it will make you want to treat others with the respect that they deserve. This book was an amazing read and an incredibly inspirational story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    I've read this book twice in a lapse of 10 years and every time 

    I've read this book twice in a lapse of 10 years and every time I read it it's almost as if I've read it for the first time. Its such a powerful book. A def must read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Journey of Survival

    Inspiring, captivating, emotional, terror, are only some of the adjectives that remotely begin to describe the journey this will take you. A real life story of survival under the most horrific circumstances. Well told, unassuming, with vivid descriptions. The pace of the narration is also pitch perfect and does not betray what's coming next. Excellent gift to give for the traveler in your family or circle of friends.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    Questioning Faith...

    this book refers many times about Wiesel and other inmates questioning there faith. i think its an outstanding book to give kids. especailly young adults who are being engulfed in the black and whites of religion. i will never forget the rabi's speech on god. maybe there is no god. Elie is a brave soul who should be looked up too. all the schools should read this. so many people today have forgotten the horrors of this event in history. one of the best biography's i have ever read. and possibly the most influencial messages. it certainly made me tear up a few times.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Night-A Historical Classic! A test of true faith!!

    This book will change your complete outlook on the harsh reality of the Holocaust. Weisel takes you into an indepth look of his experience in the concentration camps of Germany. Each line of Night leaves you speechless over the cruelty of what man is unfortunately capable of. Weisel is taken from a warm and comforting home with his Jewish family (who has the fear of God within them)to the utmost worst conditions a human being or any living thing can experience. His "once found" faith is tested within himself, and he begins to question, is there such a God whom would allow this? Does the faith he has left carry him through, or do the enemies of his hopes and dreams conquer over him? Weisel's Night is the closest and most initmate journey of the Holocaust you can experience. (Review- 4.5 stars!)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Night By Elie Wiesel Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Po

    Night
    By Elie Wiesel
    Reviewed by Jacob Chmielewski and Alexis Posey








    Night is a very acclaimed historical book; It brings a new view and outlook on the extermination camps written by Elie Wiesel. The book was copyrighted in 1958. Night is an autobiography that you can buy for $9.95 its International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is 978-0-374-50001-6.
    The author’s purpose in writing his story is to inform the reader on past events, and the hardships of the extermination camps. The author states in the book that it may have been to “Leave behind a legacy of words, of memories, to help prevent history from repeating itself.” Elie mentions that he may have written it “To preserve the record of the ordeal he endured as a adolescent.”
    The topic of Night was focused on one boys’ experience in the concentration camps and everything he endured along with an entire race of Jews trying to survive the angst of the prejudice bestowed upon from the Germans. Themes include companionship for salvation, when Elie and his father would look over one another to insure each other’s survival throughout the chaos the Germans caused. Another theme would be the dangers of ignorance, when the Germans used Jews as scapegoats for all of their problems. 
            The book is a easy read and was wrote in exclusively chronological order with  flashbacks to past events to support the current ones. He gave an example of a flashback when he and 100 other jews were in train carts in the bitter winter surviving off of snow for food when all of a sudden Germans from outside threw in bread to watch Jews fight and kill each other over a slice of bread, Elie compared that event to years later when he witnessed a Parisian woman throwing coins into the water to amuse herself of natives strangling each other over the money. Elie wrote it in a section by section form to divide his experiences throughout his hardships. He started at the beginning of his childhood and told his story throughout his life as he went on. Elie was good at supporting his thesis by never straying off of the subject.
            As a student who is very interested in history the book was a great and very interesting read. It very greatly helps that it was a very accurate book considering it was written by someone who experienced the exact events of the story. The book was not only an accurate story of the holocaust is very detailed. For example it gave exact numbers of people on train cars
    Night is a detailed historical book based on true events during the holocaust. Even though the book was based on horrific events and gave scary details the book was able to keep me interested and compelled to finish it. Ellie excellently gave information on our world's history and how he feels that racism is wrong and can lead to extreme violence. In conclusion night is a story of a boy and his troubles throughout the holocaust.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night by Elie Wiesel

    Night is the hesitantly told story of Elie Wiesel and his family and their experiences in the German concentration camps of Auschwitz and Buchenwald. Wiesel suffered his teenage years as a prisoner in both prison camps and vowed never to speak of his experiences there. In Wiesel's own words, "To be silent is impossible, to speak forbidden."

    Because of his lost spiritualism and faith in mankind he kept his word for ten years but was persuaded by French novelist Francois Mauriac to complete it for the world. Night exposes Wiesel's struggles during and after the Holocaust and it is brilliantly written and emotionally charged. This true documentary will upset your sensibilities but the spirit of the man who endured it will most certainly lift yours.

    Though not as well-known as The Diary of Anne Frank Elie Wiesel's Night is just as compelling and heartbreaking and should be on your essential WWII "To Read" list.

    5 stars out of 5

    The Alternative
    Southeastern Wisconsin

    http://thealternativeone.blogspot.com/

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night Book Review

    "Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain."The book Night was a the most shocking book I have ever read. This is the best autobiography I have ever read. It was shocking because he wrote this book from when he was in the concentration camps during World War 2. He is very descriptive as to everything the SS officers made him do and what they did to the other Jews around him. The most shocking thing was that toward the end they made him, his father and the rest of the Jews in the camp run fifty miles to another camp to get away from the Soviet army. Also, that they beat his father even though he was old and dying. All of this shows how much people could hate others just because they aren't like them and think they are an inferior race.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    A Test of True Faith.

    Night is a story about the harsh reality of the Holocaust. Elie Wiesel tells the story of his traumatic childhood he faced in the concentration camps. This story lets the reader know of all the cruel terrible things that people are capable of doing. Throughout the novel Elie is faced with many different challenges where he only has his own faith to turn to for help.
    Elie Wisel has written more than forty works of fiction and nonfiction. He has been awarded with many different awards for his talent for writing. Night opened my eyes to what millions of people faced during the Holocaust.
    Night is about a teenage boy (Elie Wiesel) who was taken from his home and sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. While there he gets separated from all of his family except his father. Through all the obstacles that they encounter they stay by one another's side. Elie realizes that the only thing that he can truly trust is his own faith. This experience tests the faith he has within himself.
    Wiesel gets his point across very well about the reality of the Holocaust. He tells each event that occurs in very graphic detail. Elie Wiesel's story might be heartbreaking but it is beautifully told.
    Night is an inspirational story that teaches you to never give up on your own faith. Wiesel has many encounters along his journey in that camps that make him want to give up, but he never does. Elie Wiesel's positive attitude and his desire to keep his life is what makes him one of the survivors of the Holocaust.
    Overall I'm thankful that I read Night, although parts of the novel were very heartbreaking to read. I think that this book should be required reading for everyone at some time in their life. It was an inspirational story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Night By Elie Wiesel Cayl Poncsak & Jonathan Hagadorn The b

    Night
    By Elie Wiesel
    Cayl Poncsak & Jonathan Hagadorn

    The book Night by Elie Wiesel in an autobiography on the troubles of a 15-year-old Jewish boy in the holocaust. The ISBN is 978-0-374-50001-6 and it runs about $7.99 with a copyright of 1958 & 2006. The purpose of this book is to inform people about the tragedy that happened so history doesn't repeat itself.
    The theme of the book is injustice towards the human race throughout the world. The thesis is about Elie Wiesel a 15-year-old Jewish boy who struggles with his family to survive the holocaust. The author supports this thesis by describing Elie’s overcoming of his physical and mental hardships in order to survive the Holocaust.  An example of one of Elie’s physical hardships was a march to a new camp in the cold for hours while running.  One of his many mental hardships was Elie’s thoughts of putting his own self-preservation over his father’s.  
    The book can really keep the reader interested because of the suspense throughout it.  There are many intense situations and descriptions the author writes about.  It gives a great idea of what the Holocaust was like because the author is a Holocaust survivor.  The book is important because it tells the rest of the world what the Holocaust was like to go through and how mistakes in history should be learned from, not repeated.  The author’s descriptions of his emotional conflicts, the concentration camps, and the stories of other people involved in the Holocaust were very thorough.  These descriptions help the reader understand the author’s thoughts, hardships, and relationships.  The book can relate to universal issues like any kind of prejudice, discrimination, or struggles.  This is because the author had to go through very tough times emotionally and physically.  
    Elie Wiesel is currently a writer.  He has written more than sixty books, which are fiction and non-fiction.  Elie has defended the cause of Cambodian refugees, Soviet Jews, victims of famine and genocide in Africa, and victims of war in what was Yugoslavia.  President Jimmy Carter appointed him as Chairman of the President’s Commission on the Holocaust in 1978.  Also, in 1980 Elie became the Founding Chairman of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council.  He has won the Nobel Peace Prize, the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the French Legion of Honor, and the United States of America Congressional Gold Medal.  After, Elie won the Nobel Peace Prize, he and his wife Marion Wiesel established the Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity.
    The book is very informative and descriptive.  This would be a great book for readers who enjoy historical events and issues.  It brings up worldwide problems like human suffering, violence, terrorism, and refugees.  One quote having to do with these problems is “Violence is not the answer.”  The author also said, “More people are oppressed than free.”  Elie Wiesel wants something to be done about human suffering and terrorism.  

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Night By: Elie Wiesel Those who have not felt touched by the H

    Night
    By: Elie Wiesel

    Those who have not felt touched by the Holocaust will feel much different after reading Elie Wiesel’s book Night. Reading this book shall immerse the reader into history as they experience the Holocaust with Elie. As you experience Elie’s life throughout the book, you shall see through his eyes what he felt and underwent. The cost of a paperback copy of the book is $9.95. The first publication of Night was in 1958, but the original English published version was in 1960. The book has 109 pages on 1982 Bantam paperback pages. The ISBN for the book is 978-0-374-50001-6. This book is over the Jewish persecution by the German Nazi’s during the time known as the Holocaust.
    Elie’s purpose in writing this horrifying novel was to tell and share his life during this time. He also wrote so that people will learn the cruelty that humanity can be capable of. He wanted people to remember the atrocities that were committed during this time period. He also wanted others to think about how they treated others during everyday life. His view throughout the book is one that is from his very eyes. From reading this book, repeating history, is a fear that Elie has. 
    A theme throughout the book is that humans can commit vicious acts of cruelty to those deemed innocent for they lack humanity and mercy. As a child Elie lived in a small town in Romania. In 1942, the Germans came to his town and took all foreign Jews away. Shortly after they came for the rest of them. Elie finds himself jumping from concentration camp to concentration camp, during the height of the German “Final Solution.” He witnesses events that change his view on life and his faith in God.
    Elie’s reputation throughout the world is one of a man who is looking to make a difference and to promote world peace. He has earned medals and awards for his writings on peace. A few of them include the Nobel Peace Prize, Medal of Freedom, and the French Legion of Honor. Overall the book has an inspirational and meaningful outlook on life. It shows how even through adversity and persecution, there are many who have the will to endure the hardships of imprisonment and extermination.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63