Customer Reviews for

The Night Angel Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Most Excellent

From gutter rat to master wetboy (a.k.a. Assassin- but better)and then beyond even that, these three books follow the life of Azoth/Kylar Stern from the age of about 10 as he grows up under the apprenticeship of Durzo Blint, the best wetboy Cenaria (their country) has ...
From gutter rat to master wetboy (a.k.a. Assassin- but better)and then beyond even that, these three books follow the life of Azoth/Kylar Stern from the age of about 10 as he grows up under the apprenticeship of Durzo Blint, the best wetboy Cenaria (their country) has ever seen. He is trained, taught that love is a poison best left untouched, and then unleashed on the world. where he somehow stumbles into the role of being one of the most important people in existence! But unfortunately, Kylar can't seem to shake his love for Doll Girl/Elene who he loved even as a child, he keeps screwing up and dying (you'll understand how that's possible when you read the books), and when he tries to give up the 'way of shadows' (otherwise known as orchestrating fate from the shadows without any recognition) he keeps getting pulled back despite how he fights it tooth and nail. This is a story of destiny, prophecies, and figures larger than life. Who ever thought a guild rat could be the champion of kings? Kylar will show you who! These stories are full of action, moral ambiguity, and hero's the likes of which every sci-fi addict craves to see! I'd recommend these books to anyone who doesn't mind gore or the dark twisted side of life, and I'd recommend them to anyone who loves to be on the edge of their seat for a few days while you read them one after the other until you pass out, because you have to sleep sometime after all! I'll say this for Brent Weeks, I've read a LOT of books in my years, and these books are the best one's I've EVER read. No matter how many times the narrator changed (from Kylar, to Elene, to Durzo, to Momma K and more.) it was seamless and important. Not one part did I skip, like we sometimes want to do when the other characters are boring or not that important and are allowed to be narrators. These books are brilliantly written. I'd say that if you're a fan of R.A. Salvatore then this series is right up your alley, but I think they're even better. I know, I know, I'm a blasphemous nerd. but read the series and you won't be able to help but think the same thing. Good Reading!!

posted by Pagan on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst books I have ever read.

This is a story about people living in a really terrible place. Now, that's fine and dandy, it makes the hero better when he rises up and makes it through. This story is just terrible. The author goes out of his way to make sure we get the HINT that this place is awful....
This is a story about people living in a really terrible place. Now, that's fine and dandy, it makes the hero better when he rises up and makes it through. This story is just terrible. The author goes out of his way to make sure we get the HINT that this place is awful. A fat rich guy going to deflower a virgin whore, a guy raping boys on a regular basis--one of which turns gay, and much much more!

Let us start with our protagonist, whom we shall name Blandon, for that describes him quite well, Azoth or Kylar Stern just don't cut it. This boy wants to become a wetboy... I'm not kidding, that's what they call their magic assassins. The name sounds so stupid, and speaking of stupid names, our hero wishes to be taught by Durzo Blint: Master Assassin-- excuse me I mean Wetboy. I can't take this guy seriously with a name like that. Not to mention he's completely off his nut. On several occasions he beat our protagonist within an inch of his life, for no good reason. It's okay though, our hero says he still loves him like a father. Get some counseling!

The prose shows me that the author has watched one too many anime. As for some reason the weapons retain their japanese names and the super-secret-shadow-group-that-secretly-runs-the-city-but-everyone-knows-about-it is called the Sa'Kage.

Not only does this have a major case of Deus Ex Machina, but a mad case of I'm a bad-ass cuz the author said I was. Neither Blandon nor Durzo (lol seriously? Durzo?) ever gave me the impression they were a bad-ass, they either screwed up or acted irrationally. Character developement? Non-existent. A plot that makes sense? We don't want your kind here. People speaking american slang and swears? Everywhere you look.

What makes this whole thing worse? This was a birthday present.

posted by Novouto on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Most Excellent

    From gutter rat to master wetboy (a.k.a. Assassin- but better)and then beyond even that, these three books follow the life of Azoth/Kylar Stern from the age of about 10 as he grows up under the apprenticeship of Durzo Blint, the best wetboy Cenaria (their country) has ever seen. He is trained, taught that love is a poison best left untouched, and then unleashed on the world. where he somehow stumbles into the role of being one of the most important people in existence! But unfortunately, Kylar can't seem to shake his love for Doll Girl/Elene who he loved even as a child, he keeps screwing up and dying (you'll understand how that's possible when you read the books), and when he tries to give up the 'way of shadows' (otherwise known as orchestrating fate from the shadows without any recognition) he keeps getting pulled back despite how he fights it tooth and nail. This is a story of destiny, prophecies, and figures larger than life. Who ever thought a guild rat could be the champion of kings? Kylar will show you who! These stories are full of action, moral ambiguity, and hero's the likes of which every sci-fi addict craves to see! I'd recommend these books to anyone who doesn't mind gore or the dark twisted side of life, and I'd recommend them to anyone who loves to be on the edge of their seat for a few days while you read them one after the other until you pass out, because you have to sleep sometime after all! I'll say this for Brent Weeks, I've read a LOT of books in my years, and these books are the best one's I've EVER read. No matter how many times the narrator changed (from Kylar, to Elene, to Durzo, to Momma K and more.) it was seamless and important. Not one part did I skip, like we sometimes want to do when the other characters are boring or not that important and are allowed to be narrators. These books are brilliantly written. I'd say that if you're a fan of R.A. Salvatore then this series is right up your alley, but I think they're even better. I know, I know, I'm a blasphemous nerd. but read the series and you won't be able to help but think the same thing. Good Reading!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Amazing

    Quite possible the best series of fantasy books I've ever read. Other than the occasional spelling error, I wouldn't edit the ocntents of this book in s single way. Fantasy has become too pure these days; all of the heroes are incorruptible and all of the villains are absolutely evil. This book does not have that aspect. I found myself feeling sorry for the antagonists and hating some of the actions of the protagonist. It also doesn't have the childish quality that some fantasy seems to have. Weeks does not pull any punches when it comes to violent or sexual scenes, adding a greater sense of realism to the book. I literally could not put the book down. I read the entire series from start to finish at age 13, understanding some of it and questioning other parts, but one thing was for sure: I enjoyed it. I re-read the books recently, and the feeling of awe has been the same. I recommend these books to anyone (interested in primarily fantasy or not), because they are gripping, emotional, and powerful books to read. My compliments to the author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Series of Excellence.

    This set of books are some of my absolute favorite novels. Weeks keeps his stories full of surprising twists that I guarantee you will not see coming. I would recommend The Night Angel Trilogy to anyone who enjoys to read. Hopefully, Weeks will make some more books that are as interesting as these were sometime soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    A Keeper!

    This short series is a masterpiece. Best new author to come along in years. If you like dark fantasy, I can't recommend one more with its antihero protagonists who are mystical assassins. It joins A Song of Ice and Fire and the Wheel of Time series that I will keep forever to read, reread and pass along to future enthusiasts. I only wish there were a hardcover version for better protection as I will keep this forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Fascinating world that was created.

    Fascinating world that was created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    it flips, turns, jump at you, and then slap you in the face some

    it flips, turns, jump at you, and then slap you in the face some more... Great series... !! Unexpected action adventure... a combination of Ninja and Knight... why wouldn't you read it!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Amazing Read!!

    This is one of the best trilogies I have read in a long time! I will be reading this authors other novels asap! Great discussion novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    A must read

    I looked at these books several times before I picked them up and read them. I can't believe I waited. I burned through the whole trilogy in no time. They are packed with action the whole way through and the story really sucks you in. The plot twists enough to keep you constantly suprised. Brent Weeks is the standard I now compare all new authors to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Buy the book/ the $20 you spend will bring years of pleasure/. f

    Buy the book/ the $20 you spend will bring years of pleasure/. for you won"tl just read it once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome series!

    When I first saw this series I thought it would be a dull one that just would just keep drowning on but I picked it up while waiting for another book to be released. Now I can easily say that this was my favorite series of books and Brent Weeks my favorite author. It has one of the most intertwined and in debth plot out of any books I have read. Even though I am only 16 I would suggest this book to anyone who has a intrest in fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    I loved this series.

    I started this series while waiting for some other book to come out. As life happens, it took me a bit longer to read than I first anticipated. I was faced with the dilema to finish this, or put on hold books that I had been highly anticipating. I finished this series, and loved it. And while it's not a book I want my 16 year old to read, I couldn't help myself and talk about the book so that she wants to read it, so I had to give her the very general story. Well written, with twists and turns, and surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Series

    I ran into this series shortly after I first began reading for enjoyment and was instantly hooked by the action and mystery. Brent Weeks does an excellent job of making the characters in this incredible world he created relatable. I was amazed at how attached I found that I had become with the characters as I read through the three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Amazing

    I loved every part of this trilogy. I have to admit that I bought the book because of the cover, but once I started to read it I could hardly put it down. Each book gets better and better, I started to make connections with each of the characters. It will be one of my favorites for a very long time now it just needs to be made into an epic movie trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    enjoyable series

    Very good really enjoyed them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Night Angel Trilogy is a must for SCi Fi and Fantasy fans alike

    The Night Angel Trilogy was a purchase I had been planning to make for a long time. Now I have since it has come out in a 3 in 1 edition box set. Although not any cheaper than buying the books separately, you get a cool acse to keep your delicate paperbacks safe.

    This trilogy is definetly not what I expected, but thats not a bad thing. It offers much more than what you would think to be just another assassin book, and has a straightforward writing style that holds nothing back. Some of the less pretty scenes are told on all of their brutal and realistic glory. This is the kind of adult fiction that I enjoy. These books are definetly not for the faint of heart, but if you want a really good and realistic story, these are definetly for you. The story takes place in a pseudo-earth world, and has lots of fighting, character development, and magic. The books are very long but no words are wasted. The entire book is worth every penny. If you have the time for about 2000 pages, , I definetly recommend picking this set up. You will remember the characters well for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Trilogy (not just fantasy trilogies either) EVER!!!

    I don't read fantasy books AT ALL! I've tried before and it's just not my thing. My husband does however (read fantasy) and he talked me into reading this series. I read the ENTIRE series in 4 days because I could NOT put it down!! I was absolutely OBSESSED with reading these books! Thankfully I had them all at the same time so as soon as I finished one I could immediately start the next book. Each one leaves you so on the edge of your seat that I would have completely flipped out if I couldn't have run to my book case and grabbed the next one! I'm a huge bookaholic and of all the hundreds and hundreds of books that I've read this series is probably my favorite of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Series

    After reading many, pitiful stories that make a person drudge through them just so they can see the ending, The Night Angel Trilogy is a refreshing change. It is very rare to find a series that each novel can stand alone and not just make you wait for the next one to release. Brent Weeks has an incredible talent for twisting the story and making you sit on the edge of your seat. I had to pull myself away from the book several times because I was unable to get my other work done. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read thrilling novels.

    Note: This book does contain strong language, sexual content, and adult situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3