Customer Reviews for

The Night Before

Average Rating 3.5
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

I loved it! I couldn't put it down, I stayed up until three in the morning reading.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I would like to preface this short review by saying that I generally like Lisa Jackson's writing. For the most part, her reading is very easy to read, but not in a "simple" sense of the word - everything just flows right. I have found that a lot of her books seem to hav...
I would like to preface this short review by saying that I generally like Lisa Jackson's writing. For the most part, her reading is very easy to read, but not in a "simple" sense of the word - everything just flows right. I have found that a lot of her books seem to have the same framework, but I enjoy it even though I know its coming. That said, this one started out slow for me. I had a rough time getting through it compared to the other books in another series (New Orleans) I have read of hers. However, I finally got into it about halfway through and found myself enjoying the rest of the book. Overall, not her best, and not one that I would recommend a friend begin with. However, if you are a loyal Lisa Jackson fan, it is certainly worth your time, and includes Montoya from the New Orleans series.

posted by SarahLauren on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting romantic psychological suspense

    In Savannah, Caitlyn Bandeaux is covered with blood, but has no idea why or what happened last night. She blames her memory loss on alcohol. After she cleans up, Police Detectives Reed and Morrisette inform her that someone brutally murdered her estrange spouse Josh. She remains the prime suspect with a strong motive and opportunity since he was suing her in the wrongful death of their infant son Jamie and her blood type was found at the crime scene. Still the cops realize that Josh had many enemies from his unscrupulous business dealings and his womanizing. Caitlyn asks her twin Kelly for help, but her sibling initially fails to return her desperate calls. As she suffers more blackouts and strange flashes, she turns to psychiatrist Adam Hunt though Kelly objects. Adam has an agenda of his own while the truth begins to surface inside Caitlyn¿s mind one slow drip at a time. Fans of Lisa Jackson¿s ¿Blooded¿ novels will want to read THE NIGHT BEFORE, an exciting romantic psychological suspense filled with plenty of twists, albeit too many. The story line grips the audience as Caitlyn struggles to regain her equilibrium by trying to learn why she blacks out (read the twist to learn why) but also falling in love with Adam. Some of the loose ties from the ¿Blooded¿ novels are answered in this tale that includes the appearance of New Orleans Detective Montoya. Ms. Jackson will return to all the lists while her audience anxiously awaiting the sequel, THE MORNING AFTER. Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Denise Stern for Readers' Favorite Veteran author L

    Reviewed by Denise Stern for Readers' Favorite

    Veteran author Lisa Jackson delivers again with the tale of a young woman named Caitlyn Montgomery Bandeaux who wakes up one morning, bloody and confused after a night out at a bar. There's blood all over her bedroom but she has no idea how it got there. Then, she finds out that her ex-husband has been murdered. She has no memory of the event, but the blood in her bedroom scares her. Did she do it? Her new psychiatrist tries to unlock her memories, but seems to have an agenda of his own.  Police Detective Reed thinks she's good for the murder, but then, as members of her family turn up dead, he has nowhere to turn. The veteran detective is sure his gut is telling him the truth, but the facts presented to him are just not lining up.

    Lisa Jackson provides a new twist to her usual tales of women in jeopardy. In Caitlyn, readers are introduced to a confused, incredibly complex character. Caitlyn's relationship with her twin sister and her other family members provide the main focus that drives the plot.  However, nothing is as it seems. Jackson's adept use of narrative, pacing, and suspense offer readers a fast and exciting journey through twisted family dynamics and the ultimate revenge. Jackson's story relies heavily on the point of view of her main character, but doesn't hesitate to delve into the psyches of supporting characters in this novel of family ties, perceptions of loyalty, and the deep-rooted jealousy that threatens to destroy an entire generation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    kept me guessing

    good book if you like suspense and who done it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    randall

    You think your up for it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Enjoyed

    story had a slow start but suspense and mystery built. enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love all lisa jacksons books!

    great series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Great read

    Enjoyed the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Excellent book-hard to put down

    I truly enjoyed this book- just when I thought I knew who was guilty, something would point me in another direction! Just the type of mystery I like! Keeps you guessing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Recommend

    Keeps you quessing as to who is involved, A little to much profanity
    otherwise, excellent. Also, recommend:The Morning After. Also excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Very good

    Very good book, but make sure you read "The Morning After" next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Suspense until the very end!

    Enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Full of suspense! Highly recommend. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    good read

    very good book, this is the second book I'v read of hers and will read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    movie

    would make a good movie .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT

    This book was good, and had me guessing until the end! I didn't figure it out at all, and had my mouth open when the plot was revealed...great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Another good book from Lisa Jackson

    I have only been familiar with Lisa Jackson for about a year. The suspense was great-couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    highly recommended

    ou interested to the end,and the ending is not what you are expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Kept me guessing

    I've read a handful of Lisa Jackson novels. Some are really good, and others aren't my favorite. I definetely will recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great page turner, creepy fun

    love the crazy twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    keep waiting

    I read the first two books Hot Blooded and Cold Blooded and so far I just haven't gotten into this one . I have read 170 pages and it has taken me 3 nights to get that far. Usually it only takes me 3 nights of reading to finish a book. I guess it is taking me this long is because it doesn't have the same people in it. I know a detective is supposed to be in it as the first 2 books, but he hasn't come in yet. Maybe after he does it will be better. Hope so, anyway.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8