Customer Reviews for

The Night Before Christmas

Average Rating 3.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

TheNightBeforeChristmas Illustrated by Margaret Evans Price

A WONDERFUL book featuring charming pictures illustrated by a prolific children's illustrator. These books take you to 1917 when Mrs Price (Married to the Price of Fisher Price East Aurora, NY) created delightful pictures for children's books. Very nostalgic and retro...
A WONDERFUL book featuring charming pictures illustrated by a prolific children's illustrator. These books take you to 1917 when Mrs Price (Married to the Price of Fisher Price East Aurora, NY) created delightful pictures for children's books. Very nostalgic and retro a great gift for the grand kids!

posted by 1611308 on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

These reviews are for different books with same title

There are several books with the title "The Night Before Christmas" and the reviews for each book seem to be lumped together. That appears to be reason why the reviews under a given version of this book make reference to different illustrators.

For the "Read to me" ver...
There are several books with the title "The Night Before Christmas" and the reviews for each book seem to be lumped together. That appears to be reason why the reviews under a given version of this book make reference to different illustrators.

For the "Read to me" version of the book that is read by Lisa Scott and illustrated by Marlene Moore, there are a few differences in this story from what I am familiar with. This is ok, but the name given to one of the reindeers, "Donder", and the start of the quote in the last sentence, "Happy Christmas", left me raising an eyebrow and a puzzled look.

It is a nicely read and illustrated book, but I am probably going to find the version of the book that I am familiar with and read that to my kids.

posted by 8461344 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    TheNightBeforeChristmas Illustrated by Margaret Evans Price

    A WONDERFUL book featuring charming pictures illustrated by a prolific children's illustrator. These books take you to 1917 when Mrs Price (Married to the Price of Fisher Price East Aurora, NY) created delightful pictures for children's books. Very nostalgic and retro a great gift for the grand kids!

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    These reviews are for different books with same title

    There are several books with the title "The Night Before Christmas" and the reviews for each book seem to be lumped together. That appears to be reason why the reviews under a given version of this book make reference to different illustrators.

    For the "Read to me" version of the book that is read by Lisa Scott and illustrated by Marlene Moore, there are a few differences in this story from what I am familiar with. This is ok, but the name given to one of the reindeers, "Donder", and the start of the quote in the last sentence, "Happy Christmas", left me raising an eyebrow and a puzzled look.

    It is a nicely read and illustrated book, but I am probably going to find the version of the book that I am familiar with and read that to my kids.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Book Too Small

    The description of the book listed it as being a full size picture book, but it is actually half the size. It was not at all what I had expected.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    this book

    This book has great illustrations...very colorful and fun.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Magical Edition of a Favorite Holiday Story!!!

    This is an excellent version of The Night Before Christmas. Delightful illustrations bring humour and new life into an old story. A version appealing to men and women - includes Santa in flight cap and rocket-like sleigh and elves of every personality, from mountain climbers to folkdancers..truly a gem. Great for holiday gifts!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Df

    Santa is fake im 9 but this book made me think even if he is fake i will always love him because of of this book

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Clement C. Moore

    I belive Clement Moore is very imaginitive in the way he wrote about Santa and his reindeer. He saw it as if he saw Santa Claus himself.I have loved the poem since I was little. My grandmother always reads it to us on Christmas Eve.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best Illustrations

    Best illustrations out of all of the versions out there. Highly recommend!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    This is so cool

    This book is good for Christmas

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Beautiful book

    Loved Marlene Moore's illustrations and Lisa Scott's voice. Both perfect for a kid's read aloud ebook.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Perfect for your childs first Christmas book!

    Illustrations are AMAZING! Perfect for your child and/or a gift....absolutely adorable, wonderful book to own.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    A Christmas Classic for Children

    This most beautifully illustrated version of The Night Before Christmas with the classic text is a keepsake, even soft bound.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    There are so many editions of this book that the reviewing proce

    There are so many editions of this book that the reviewing process becomes almost meaningless. The poem is pretty much the same endearing sentimental tale many of us grew up with
    , but the illustrations vary with. The Regan illustrations are appealing but not as bright and colorful as children might prefer. The Rand illustrations are lighter and brighter and therefore more appealing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This book is old but good

    This book is awsome i love pld storys thay are so good and thay explan more than newer books new books just state the oveas and say. THE END!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Abridged

    Lovely illustrations, but why shortened?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I love this book

    It is too shote and it is not good

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Original book plus read to me. My granddaughter can listen to it or We can read it together.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Terrible

    It doesnt eeven ddeserve one star

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great version for the nook

    I looked through several before deciding on this one for my nook for the grandkids and the children i work with at the day care. Even with the missing verses it is still great, Just long enough to hold their attention, but not too long to bore them. And by the way for those of you that keep saying they got Donner wrong, it is Donder in the original version. In the song Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer it was changed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Frjjdddj

    Jjddhhddehhrtytfxa

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8