Customer Reviews for

The Night Before Christmas

Average Rating 3.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

TheNightBeforeChristmas Illustrated by Margaret Evans Price

A WONDERFUL book featuring charming pictures illustrated by a prolific children's illustrator. These books take you to 1917 when Mrs Price (Married to the Price of Fisher Price East Aurora, NY) created delightful pictures for children's books. Very nostalgic and retro...
A WONDERFUL book featuring charming pictures illustrated by a prolific children's illustrator. These books take you to 1917 when Mrs Price (Married to the Price of Fisher Price East Aurora, NY) created delightful pictures for children's books. Very nostalgic and retro a great gift for the grand kids!

posted by 1611308 on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

These reviews are for different books with same title

There are several books with the title "The Night Before Christmas" and the reviews for each book seem to be lumped together. That appears to be reason why the reviews under a given version of this book make reference to different illustrators.

For the "Read to me" ver...
There are several books with the title "The Night Before Christmas" and the reviews for each book seem to be lumped together. That appears to be reason why the reviews under a given version of this book make reference to different illustrators.

For the "Read to me" version of the book that is read by Lisa Scott and illustrated by Marlene Moore, there are a few differences in this story from what I am familiar with. This is ok, but the name given to one of the reindeers, "Donder", and the start of the quote in the last sentence, "Happy Christmas", left me raising an eyebrow and a puzzled look.

It is a nicely read and illustrated book, but I am probably going to find the version of the book that I am familiar with and read that to my kids.

posted by 8461344 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    HORRIBLE

    It doent even have whole details

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Good ebook

    Nicely done.

    In response to previous reviews: the only ommitted paragraph was the one about Santa smoking a pipe.

    I like the fact that they omitted it - nobody smokes in my house, not even Santa. But, seriously, it was a necessary omission.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A CHRISTMAS TREASURE

    Who could resist a book illustrated by Tomie dePaola? Certainly not anyone at our house. Through the years his name on a cover draws us as few other children's book illustrators do. He received the New Hampshire Governor's Arts Award of Living Treasure - how appropriate! For so many parents and youngsters he is, indeed, a living treasure. His other honors include the Caldecott Honor Award and the Newbery Honor Award. Today reproductions of art from his books are found in many galleries.

    This traditional Christmas story comes to life once again thanks to Mr. dePaola. He has set the story in New Hampshire circa 1840, and found inspiration for the page borders from designs for New England quilts (some from his personal collection).

    It's wonderful to have this sturdy board book edition to be enjoyed over and over again by young eyes and hands. It's a generous size so the art work can be fully appreciated - from the toy soldier peeping out of Santa's pack to the cat snoozing on the hearth.

    Mr. dePaola has been published for some 40 years, and we're hoping for 40 more.

    - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Timeless

    The children insist on hearing it again and again.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    The night before christmas

    I love christmasvl so this was the perfect book for me :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Missing Pages

    Even my five year old wondered why the father was in bed and then at the window on the next page... The missing stanzas are an issue.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Not the best book ever

    I didin't like it because the reader left a eco in her voice it creeped me out. The auther forgot the page that described santa, his cheeks, and pipe. The reindeer's name is not "donder."

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

    This is incomplete and is missing the last stanza of the poem. Don't purchase.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Parts of the poem are missing. It should be clearly labeled as a

    Parts of the poem are missing. It should be clearly labeled as abridged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    I have read the book. Is this one good?

    IDK if I want to get this. I have read the actual book but IDK if this one is good. I will get it if anyone tells me if the pictures are good or not...

    <3 Megz

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????.

    Who would get this app it is not a good app.booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent: A Family Tration

    This is our family's all-timefavorite. We started reading it on Christmas Eve about 1966 and now are on the third generation of 'listeners' all over the country. While the story is the same, the illustrations make the book "special" for the little people. our thanks to B & N for the reprints and for keeping the book available for new generations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    My 6 year old granddaughter liked the story and would read AND listen to it by herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Text is not true to the author. Several words are changed or ev

    Text is not true to the author. Several words are changed or even missing. Wasn't impressed with the illustrations either. Very disappointed in this version.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    that was

    Fgfhf

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A bitter, bitter disappointment. Horribly abridged, with every

    A bitter, bitter disappointment. Horribly abridged, with every line of poetry removed. DO NOT BUY. Hated the &quot;newly told&quot; tale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Don't buy this book. The Night Before Christmas [NOOK Book]

    Don't buy this book.
    The Night Before Christmas [NOOK Book]
    by Clement Clarke Moore, Marlene Moore (Illustrator), Lisa Scott (Narrated by)

    unless you want to be cheated. They leave out at least three lines in this book. guess I should have known that it only being $2 that it would be a chopped up version of a beautiful story

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Rdhfejgdhfddbc xncgfbgcchdudhrr rfdr¿¿ggdfbrgdgfgbfgfgfgffgrhfhfhfjrieodhifdhfkgffdbltl?ffrfgofgdjhddgkdgdldjggdyggehefgegekfgtufhfgffgfhrhffheifgfgsfchdjcndifewwhdehhjfgdgdgdgfjpjjgffh


    Cxxvdgdgdjdnxxnxncbcc cnc nncncncnccbvhrdifjfhkdhjshshhhjsjsjsjsjsjsjsdddeiieieidsisisdihdhdfjjjrjjjjrejejejjjjjdgfhhhffhfffhhfhfhfdhffhchchcjcjjjduuudjjd.jjcxjdjdjjdejdjdjfdjdjdjdfhh427!hnxdbxnxxnxnxxbnxxnddhdddhdhdhdjdjjdsjjjhddhhhhhshhdxxxjxnxxxxnxxjxjdxxjsshdjddsdjdsdjdhshd-'-

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Missing pages

    I HAVE SEVERAL PAGES MISSING. ITS A GREAT POEM BUT TOTALLY MESSED UP. SO WHAT DO I DO?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Terrible.

    I wasted my money. Missing verses, wrong words. Save your money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8