Customer Reviews for

Night Broken

Average Rating 4.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Great book

I had the opportunity to read this book early, and I couldn't put it down. Fantastic character development and a handful of new cast members that immediately feel like part of the family.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

:( Dissapointment

I have read all the books in this series and sadly this one was a big dissappointment. It was so slow, nothing interesting even happend until the book was half way over. Also was dissappointed in how she wrote Adam in this book. He should of stood up more for his wife M...
I have read all the books in this series and sadly this one was a big dissappointment. It was so slow, nothing interesting even happend until the book was half way over. Also was dissappointed in how she wrote Adam in this book. He should of stood up more for his wife Mercy.

posted by 7443279 on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Earc received to give an honest review. (Netgalley & Literal

    Earc received to give an honest review. (Netgalley & Literal Addiction)
    NO EPIC SPOILERS!




    ~ I’m thinking that jealously can be used as a form of intuition in relationship situations. We all know that at times jealously can be an irrational emotion that can’t be helped or explained. But what happens when that emotion is NOT irrational and you have good reason to be jealous and maybe even a little worried? 




    Briggs is at it again, building upon Mercy and laying her character, while still keeping her very much Mercy. This time though, she has to deal with ex-wives who can manipulate people without even trying, Vampire Politics at its finest and a Volcano God who can’t stop killing.




    There is always drama of some sort in Mercy’s life and this is no different, Briggs starts us off with something that seemed so harmless, but in the span of a couple words and a page it turns into something that is going to suck very much for our girl Mercy and she knows it. But there isn’t much she can do because there is no way she is going to leave Adams ex-wife to fend for herself against a killer. Seems like an easy “job” for lack of a better term, but this is anything but easy. Soon they are knee deep in a myth about Volcano Gods and his love of the Sun and our hero’s and heroine’s learn that everything isn’t always what it seems and Christy isn’t at all without motives. 




    We all know that the pack (the females in the pack) don’t care for Mercy because she signifies changes and wolves don’t like change all that much. There is a sort of tentative peace when the book starts that gets smashed to pieces when it becomes plainly obvious that the women want Christy back. Everyone is sucked into the manipulation but Honey, who surprises me in this book and I love her more for her willingness to stick by Mercy and see everything for what it is. 




    On top of dealing with the ex-wife of her husband, someone very important wants the walking stick back. The issue- Mercy gave it to Coyote and hasn’t seen him since she fought the River Devil. Now she has a week to find and get the walking stick from Coyote before things really get bad. Piece of cake… except for the simple fact that she doesn’t know how to find him and nobody has seen him either. But there may be someone who has the power to get in touch with him for her. Someone with a very big connection to her, that had me smiling and laughing the entire time because he is not what I was expecting – had I been expecting him. 




    The moments between Adam and Mercy are really sweet and romantic I love them as a couple. I hated that Christy was coming between them and it was obvious that she was, even if only when Mercy was not around and couldn’t be there to defend her turf, although she wasn’t doing much defending because she was trying to not set back all the work she and Adam had done in order to get pack on the Mercy bandwagon. 
    There was never a lack of action in Night Broken, lots of talking but it wasn’t meaningless or just filler space. Everything that was said and done in this book held a purpose, even if we didn’t know what that purpose was right at that moment. Briggs can weave a story like no other, mixing emotions, actions and drama and evil villains with an ease that we all very much appreciate. We also got to see some old characters, friends, associates and frenemies. Secrets are revealed that were kept from Mercy (for her sanity) and motives from the Vampire seethe come to light. 




    Book Pages and Dripping Ink gives Night Broken 5 Black Roses and a must read stamp of approval. 




    HAPPY READING!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I waited for 2 years for this book and read it in one day.  It w

    I waited for 2 years for this book and read it in one day.  It was totally worth the wait.  I love the world of Mercy Thompson.  This book has Adam’s ex in trouble and wanting them to help her out.  If she can help herself to Mercy’s world she isn’t above trying for it.  She has to know that Mercy won’t take it sitting down.  Action, adventure, Magic, love and laughter this book has it all.  

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Night Broken is the eighth installment in the Mercy Thompson ser

    Night Broken is the eighth installment in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. Briggs is another one of those authors that knows what it takes to keep a series fresh and original. This is book eight in a series that is still going strong. Each book moves the series forward and incorporates new and interesting characters while exploring the myths of many different cultures. With Mercy Thompson you have a little bit of everything, shapeshifters of all kinds, werewolves, vampires and fae and many creatures most urban fantasy fans haven't even heard of. Briggs continues to amaze with every new addition to the series. A great urban fantasy read!

    What I liked:

    The main theme of this particular book is the fact that Adams's ex-wife Christy is being stalked by a very bad man. He is a real killer and her life is actually in danger, but she has ulterior motives in seeking the packs protection. She plays on Mercy's good intentions and worms her way back into Adams life, knowing all along she has a plan to get him back. Christy was a real piece of work. One of the qualities that I think shows Briggs is a good author, is the fact that she can make you strongly dislike characters. If she can bring out that kind of emotion from the reader, she knows what she's doing. And I really disliked this woman. LOL! Christy gets her just rewards in the end though, and it was oh so satisfying.

    It was kind of disturbing to see Mercy treated like an outsider again by the pack. She is the alpha's choice and I felt like they should have respected that. It is their duty as members of the pack to have her back and I really felt like they didn't here. But I think that was all in the plan. Briggs is up to something with this and I'm interested to see where she's going. Christy's big plan was to turn the pack against Mercy and it was way too easy for her to start doing that. But Mercy showed that she was the bigger person. The pack may not have had her best interests at heart, but she always has their's in mind. 

    The relationship between Mercy and Adam really shines in this book. Urban Fantasy books don't usually have a lot of romance as a rule and this series is really no different, but it has it's moments and this book showed that. Mercy and Adam stood together, they had each other's backs and they were determined to make it work. Adam's love for Mercy was so obvious that it was quite beautiful and her fierce love for him was truly amazing to read about. I just love them together. I'm glad that's direction Briggs took them. A great couple!

    What I didn't like:

    The pack disloyalty was my only grip with this one. It's such a wonderful series, with so many wonderful characters who are part of the pack and outside the pack. I just wanted them to be bigger than that. To see what Christy was up to and to hold Mercy up as their Alpha female. I hope it's a plot device, if not I'm a little disappointed in them.

    Bottom Line:

    This is another fantastic book in the Mercy Thompson series. Patricia Briggs just keeps getting better and better. If you are an urban fantasy fan and haven't found this series yet, you need to try it. It's truly amazing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Couldn't put it down! Have to admit that after I read the last

    Couldn't put it down! Have to admit that after I read the last sentence of the book, I howled for more!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Wonderful!!!

    I don't think I will ever get enough of this series.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Another great book in the Mercy series

    Loved it. I was pleasntly surprised and thrilled by what I read. Can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Another good one from Briggs

    Loved it, can't wait for the next one. Pack has to deal with the return of Adams ex-wife. Poor Mercy has to deal with her and the pack. While the ex's stalker cause more problems then any human or normal creature could ever be. Mercy again finds herself in the middle of things and a new family members. New and old friends fight against a new foe. Anyway if you have read the series this is a another good one, and if you haven't you should

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Loveee

    Once again this book.was a home run, I love this..series, and I loved the self restraint she showed toward adems ex wife,because I know if I/ any woman were in her shoes, it would be hard, i even respected mercy 100 times more that she never bad talked adems ex to her step daughter about.her mother, which not.may people do these days, but mercy gave jessy a chance to start rebuilding a relstionship w a mother who was never there, and people.don't realize how importaintnl that can.be at.her age, but anyways I loved how at the end.she gave the others time to see the truth about the ex in the end,.
    I loved this book cause it intertwmed her past and future, and gave the kick butt inside and outside strength l, mercy style ;) ....... Cj Thorsos....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    It was interesting finally seeing how Adams ex wife played in th

    It was interesting finally seeing how Adams ex wife played in the mix! At the beginning it seemed like she was letting the ex win. Glad to read otherwise and how she showed a grown up version of herself but still did not let her overcome Mercy. Loved the surprises with Coyote and the very last line made me wish she wrote a little faster

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I simply love Mercy Thompson. In Night Broken she just proves he

    I simply love Mercy Thompson. In Night Broken she just proves herself time and time again what kind a honest person she truly is...

    Adam's ex-wife Christy has returned with a threat that could destroy them all. Her easy life style has turned an ancient volcano god into her own personal stalker. Not only putting Christy’s life in harms way but also bring the god's wrath onto Mercy. If that wasn't enough, Christy is the ultimate manipulator. She has a way of playing the perfect victim and has her sights on removing Mercy from the picture.

    Meanwhile, the Gray Lord, Alistar Beauclaire wants his father's walking stick back. If you remember in the previous installments, Mercy gave the walking stick to Coyote. Now she must find the elusive trickster god. On her journey, she discovers a few very exciting twists to Mercy's story...of course, I can't share without giving a few spoilers so all I can say is you have to read it and find out. There is also an additional character added to this story that I hope becomes a major player in future installments.

    In all the circumstances, Christy passive aggressively attacks Mercy. Mercy takes the high road. Showing huge character growth as well as making her more humanized/relatable. Don't worry she gets her perfect pay back so don't go getting blue in the face.

    I love how Briggs grabs her inspiration and twists it with folk lore. Not only do we get a healthy does of Native American but she combines so many cultures as well.

    The pack seems to be embracing Mercy. I was concerned that this was going to be the same old situation with the pack turning against Mercy and she being isolated once again...That is definitely not the case. Although Christie's manipulations has caused many actions of discord, most of the pack sees right through her games and twisting of the truth.

    For the Fae, Mercy discovers more about her mentor and his family. While trying to unite the walking stick with its owner, Briggs pulls out a possible issue that might have Mercy and the Pack facing up against some serious future fae plot possibilities. 

    Overall, Briggs knows how to bring a supernatural world alive. Her writing glues you to the pages and makes this fantasy world a reality in your imagination. I highly recommend reading Night Broken and can see a re-read of this entire series in my near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    So Good!

    Didn'r want it to end, hope we don't have to wait as long for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Such a good series

    Some series seem to get tired after awhile... but this one just keeps the adventure, the fun, the good banter and the heart going strong in each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Loved it

    Cannot get enough of Mercy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful addition to the Mercy Thompson series. I read the bo

    A wonderful addition to the Mercy Thompson series. I read the book in one day because I couldn't even consider putting it down. I'm ready for the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Once again Patricia Briggs brings us an amazing Mercy Thompson b

    Once again Patricia Briggs brings us an amazing Mercy Thompson book. To me this wasn't her best book of all time, but still a great read. And if you read her a lot, like i do, you can tell she has another book on the mind. which just hint that the mercyverse is going to get shook up, which is always exciting. I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in the series. The cliffhanger she left is still driving me crazy even a week after reading.
    Its defiantly a book you don't want to put down.
    Just thought i would put my two-cents in on this and review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Never a disappointment

    My only regret is that I wish it had been longer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Great Book

    Great book can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Love

    Keep them coming Patricia and I'll keep buying them. I am addicted to Mercy Thompson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    love the whole series

    love this series. though sometimes i get lost, the way she writes sometimes doesnt always flow and i go back and read the page over again. but love the story, love Mercy and love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9