Customer Reviews for

Night Calls

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Katharine Eliska Kimbriel's Allie books do Harry Potter one, or

    Katharine Eliska Kimbriel's Allie books do Harry Potter one, or two, maybe even three better. The young female wizard in Night Calls doesn't have to be alienated from all of the adults and authority figures in her life for there to be breathtaking suspense. Alfreda Sorensson has a loving family and good neighbors in American frontier village of Sun-Return. She also has a magical gift that promises to be as eruptive as a volcano and just as hard to hide from supernaturally evil beings. And her magic flows not from words and wands, but from nature. Her magic is ultimately meant for healing. The role of Allie's cousin and mentor Marta -- healer, midwife, and something of a priestess -- runs like a golden cord through the story. The climax combines terror and a terribly fragile hope for the healing of broken human relationships. This is superb dark fantasy and the kind of good book that helps a reader get through a bad night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    This was cleverly written book that has a strong cast of charac

    This was cleverly written book that has a strong cast of characters as well as a vividly imagined world that is makes the phenomenal seem common place. The female protagonist is strong and interesting with out being a cliché.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    In an alternate early 1800s Michigan Territory, Alfreda Sorensso

    In an alternate early 1800s Michigan Territory, Alfreda Sorensson is growing up on her family’s farm. Her life was simple and busy, until the dreams came . . . followed by evil unsuspected. The dreams are signs of Alfreda’s “Gift,” a legacy of magical ability that runs in her family. The Gift is a burden that her mother would spare her, but which cannot be denied.
    Alfreda must train to use her gifts, first under her parents, then under her aunt as evil returns again in different guises to threaten her family and community.
    The story of Alfreda and her society is in the best tradition of American frontier storytelling. It would be absorbing enough without the fantasy element. Together, the tale kept me riveted to the last sentence, and sent me on-line to find the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    First read this book and the other (Kindred Rights) as a young t

    First read this book and the other (Kindred Rights) as a young teenager (many many years ago). I still to this day read these books and have not found anything that even slightly compares. Katharine's writing style is one that you can see every detail, smell the wonderful smells and taste the foods. After reading you don't feel like you've read a book, it seems as though you watched a movie, or were there experiencing everything. Her stories take you with them. Never have I been so moved by a book. A must read for anyone of any age group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    When a werewolf is killed outside the quiet village of Sun-Retur

    When a werewolf is killed outside the quiet village of Sun-Return, Allie Sorensson discovers two truths: there are beings beyond her ken and that she has inherited Gifts to fight them. This is a heavy burden for a girl on the verge of turning twelve, but Allie’s family paid the ultimate cost for not having a practitioner nearby—the life of her oldest brother, Dolph.

    As her lessons begin, Allie’s most important insight is discovering how little she knows. Missing a simple detail in identifying an herb used for medicine can cost a life. Lives are at stake – because there’s more dark creatures coming.

    Funny how when you read a book that you haven't read in a long time, it feels like meeting an old friend again. You pick up where you left off and then you're lost in that world of wonder. In the case of a very well-written book like Night Calls, re-readings always show you something new. The first time I read Night Calls, I was fascinated by the supernatural element – werewolves in a pioneer setting. Now, I’m realizing the deeper lessons we can learn from the pioneers of Sun-Reach: communities must remain strong, land must be carefully stewarded, and no Gift should ever be wasted.

    Night Calls will keep you up all night and leave you anticipating the sequel.

    Rebecca McFarland Kyle, September 2013

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    I know Katharine but I've never read her work until now. I'm in

    I know Katharine but I've never read her work until now. I'm in awe at the power of her voice and her ability to get inside the head of a young, very pragmatic child who never understood she was a witch until it was almost too late. The alternate frontier world she lives in becomes very real. If we can accept a King George Washington, we can accept that some people change shapes and forms under the spell of the night. This book works for both adult and YA, just as Harry Potter did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    This remains one of my favorites.  The narrator is an engaging a

    This remains one of my favorites.  The narrator is an engaging and delightful character, and the author can describe foods I loathe in a way that makes my mouth water.  The mix of woodscraft, folklore and mythology are a delight.  It's both "Alternate History" and "Frontier Fantasy."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    My faorite book

    One of the best books ive ever read. The main character is awesome, but even the supporting cast is well writen and fleshed out. A book for the young and old alike. Every couple of years i like to reread this book its great every time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    highly enjoyable

    Wonderful story of a young girl who becomes aware and learns to use her gifts. Loved every word of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Absolutely wonderful

    Fast paced absorbing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Fantastic tale

    Great, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Excellent

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    This is a remarkable book, I have read all of her books and I ha

    This is a remarkable book, I have read all of her books and I have NEVER been disapointed by one of them. All of her books are keepers, I read them and then go back later and read them again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1