BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Night Chills

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

Psychologically thrilling and highly disturbing! I immediately fell in love with these characters and absolutely could not believe what was going on the town of Black River! The residents are all with flu-like symptoms and have no idea that they are unwittingly being ad...
Psychologically thrilling and highly disturbing! I immediately fell in love with these characters and absolutely could not believe what was going on the town of Black River! The residents are all with flu-like symptoms and have no idea that they are unwittingly being administered a drug through their drinking water! I liked how the book went into each of the three men's motives and desires for testing their product out on unaware citizens. You may also enjoy the other novels of Dean Koontz, especially the older ones. I also liked The Charm School by Nelson Demille, The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet, the novels of Tami Hoag, Tess Gerittsen and Patricia Cornwell. If you like Koontz, you would probably also enjoy Stephen King, Richard Laymon and John Saul.

posted by JessLucy on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!

YUCK!! I am a huge DK fan and really like MOST of his books! This was not one of them! WAY TOO much porno-type sex descriptives. I am not a prude by any means, but this was very repulsive to me for some reason. I guess I'm just to used to Koontz's nightmare inducin...
YUCK!! I am a huge DK fan and really like MOST of his books! This was not one of them! WAY TOO much porno-type sex descriptives. I am not a prude by any means, but this was very repulsive to me for some reason. I guess I'm just to used to Koontz's nightmare inducing monsters, not his graphic sex scenes. Sorry, DID NOT like this book!

posted by DKFan on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Loved it!

    Psychologically thrilling and highly disturbing! I immediately fell in love with these characters and absolutely could not believe what was going on the town of Black River! The residents are all with flu-like symptoms and have no idea that they are unwittingly being administered a drug through their drinking water! I liked how the book went into each of the three men's motives and desires for testing their product out on unaware citizens. You may also enjoy the other novels of Dean Koontz, especially the older ones. I also liked The Charm School by Nelson Demille, The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet, the novels of Tami Hoag, Tess Gerittsen and Patricia Cornwell. If you like Koontz, you would probably also enjoy Stephen King, Richard Laymon and John Saul.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    From start to finish you are deeply involved in the story. This is definitely not a book for kids, because of the "darkness" and corruption in people, and because of very descriptive sexual moments that digs in deeper into the mind of a man corrupted by power.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Night Chills is SPECTACTULAR

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read. Its intense plot sucks you in for the ride of your life and keeps you begging for more. Koontz is a master of bone chilling terror and should be immortilized for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Could This Really Happen?

    This is the first book by Dean Koontz that I read. I am now hooked on his novels. The plot and character development is outstanding. I like how he intervenes different stories to all come together at the end. Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Page turner.

    I am not big on Mr. Koontz's books but this has to be one of the best books I've read. The plot and and character development were excellent. This book made me stop and think what if he's even half right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    One of Dean Koontz best!!

    This book is good from the beginning. The concepts are so crazy and he makes you wonder if it could really happen. I couldn't stop reading. It is so good. I recommend it to anyone who wants to be frightened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Chilling

    Haveing read this book over a year ago, hardly ever does a day go by when I don't think of it. Not because of it's scary, (which it is) but because it has a lot of turth to it. The Author gives a list of referances, in the Note To Reader, that proves the horror of the subject matter to be very real. Every single person should read this book at one point or other to be awer of the truth thats all around them. Since reading this book I will never look at the world the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    Sick!...But Good!

    This was only the second Dean Koontz I read. Really good. I liked it because all of the stuff in the book could actually come true! Maybe. It scared the hell out of me! And that is what makes Dean Koontz great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    A book that will GIVE you night chills!!

    I have been reading Koontz for over seven years now. This was the first Koontz book I ever read, and it is by far my favorite. It took me only a few hours to finish this thriller, I simply couldn't put it down. The suspense is killer, the way the story falls into place, it is simply spectacular! Koontz will pull you in from the beginning and won't let your heart stop its rapid rhythym till long after you've finished the book!! I have read a LOT of Dean Koontz, actually, the only book I haven't read so far is False Memory, so trust me on this one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2