Customer Reviews for

Night Demon: The Night Series

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I am so hooked on these Night Walkers and this book did not disa

    I am so hooked on these Night Walkers and this book did not disappoint!! With this story we get to meet Lukas and Gretchen but also get to see Calisto and Kate from Night Walker and Kane and Rita from Night Thief again, which for me just makes it so much more satisfying. The story line will grab you and keep you on the edge of your seat right up to the very end of the book, and if you are like me you will not be able to put it down until you have finished! I highly, highly, highly recommend this book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Night Walker, another great book by Lisa Kessler. She¿s

    Another Night Walker, another great book by Lisa Kessler. She’s sucked me in again and kept me reading like a fanatic! This is Lisa’s second Night Walker book, 3rd if you include the wonderful novella she wrote to tide us over until this book came out.
    Made a Night Walker by mistake, Lucas considers himself a mistake, his existence a total abomination. Working with his assistant Gretchen, who doesn’t know that he is a Night Walker, he tries to find a way to end his life, his immortal life. The heat builds between these two characters as they work together tirelessly. The building of the relationship is believable and never rushed.
    The Yucatan jungle comes alive in this story and the amount of research that has gone into this book is phenomenal. We learn a lot more about the Night Walker history as well, and the world building and characters come to life in a way that will make your head spin.
    The story is well written and, as per the norm with Lisa, well paced. Twists you never expected will keep you on the edge and the writing flows as smooth as silk. There is never a dull moment! I loved seeing some old characters from Night Walker and Night Thief, as well as the new characters that Lisa gives us in this installment.
    The Night Walker gods come out to visit in this book, to help cage the monster unleashed, and they are not characters that you will ever forget!
    A darker story than the first two, the impact of this book will hit you hard. The fight between good and evil has arrived and no one knows who will prevail.
    A great addition to the series, I’m already asking myself, who’s story is next Lisa and when will it be out?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Night Demon by Lisa Kessler First if you have not read Night Wa

    Night Demon by Lisa Kessler

    First if you have not read Night Walker & Night Thief please read first.

    Lisa has out done herself in this story.  It grips you from the beginning.  This story has: Adventure, romance, trust and betrayal.
    I could not put it down until I finished it.

    We learn how the Night Walkers became and how the first fought the Demon Camalotz. 
    This is the story of Lukas & Gretchen.  Who are in the Yucatan Jungle researching Night Walkers.  
    Gretchen does not know yet who & what they are.  Luckas is trying to discover more about who he is.

    When Lukas & Gretchen come across a pyramid with glyph's on it, they get very excited.
     When some of these glyph's are translated it talks about Night Walkers.  
    Along with learning a lot about the Mayans.

    Later Lukas decides to find his maker Calisto (who we met in Night Walker and his mate Kate)
     to ask him about their race and to tell him about his discovery.  
    It seems Kate has been having some interesting dreams.

    Gretchen (who decides to return to the jungle to help Lukas), Lukas, Calisto and Kate arrive in the
    jungle we have learned the four Gods (North Mulac (which we learned was Calisto's maker),
    South Colin (which we read about from Lisa's Series Shorts),
    East Kane (who we met in Night Thief with his mate Rita) and west Issa) are already there trying to find
     the Demon and how she escaped.
     
    Without giving to much away let's just say the good guys won but at a cost.
     The end of Night Demon leads in to the next Night Child. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Simply Amazing!  A Definite Must Read!  *ARC provided by publish

    Simply Amazing!  A Definite Must Read! 
    *ARC provided by publisher
    Lukas Smith was made a Night Walker by mistake and considers his existence an abomination.  He started searching for a cure and when that seemed futile, he started searching for a way to end his immortal life.  With the help of his assistant Gretchen Finch, he feels he is getting closer and closer with the Mayan glyphs that they find at an altar deep in the Yucatan jungle.  He keeps his true identity a secret from Gretchen but the countless hours they spend together deciphering the ancient glyphs are making it difficult for him to keep everything professional between them. 
    Gretchen has been working side by side with Lukas for close to ten months and he is still a huge mystery to her.  He works day and night and never in their ten months together has he ever opened up to her, forcing her to keep her feelings for him a secret and concentrate solely on their work. The glyphs they find at the altar indicate that some sort of ritual had occurred there but they are still missing a piece of the puzzle to figure out just what.  Deciding to go back by herself one day, Gretchen heads out to the altar site, but when she arrives there she feels the presence of something or someone else.  Something or someone dark, and it sets its sights on her. 
    This is the second book in Lisa Kessler’s Night Series, and I have been looking forward to this book since I flipped to the last page of Night Walker.  The wait and anticipation was 100% worth it!! It was an amazing read! She brings so many elements into this story that you will be on the edge of your seat the whole way.  Characters that we have read in the past play huge roles in it as well: Calisto and Kate, Kane and Rita, Colin who we have had the pleasure of meeting briefly at the end of Night Thief then a few other Night Walkers that we don’t know quite so well (yet).  As well as a new adversary that is so dark you will feel her taint even through the book.  This world that Lisa has created is simply amazing and is a definite must read!
    I give Night Demon 5 out of 5 stars
    Reviewed by BMR Reviewer - Holly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    All right everyone, last night I finished Night Demon by Lisa Ke

    All right everyone, last night I finished Night Demon by Lisa Kessler. Honestly, I didn't know what to expect when I first started the story for a couple of reasons. The first reason is it's a book two in a series. I know jumping into a middle of the series especially with a paranormal book can be trouble. However, I didn't feel that way. Granted it might have been beneficial to get the first book and novella of the story in too, but at the same time, I felt I could navigate the story without the first book and novella. I have say I did pretty good. YAY! I guess I should share with you what book kept me up really late.

    First off, I started Night Demon Wednesday night. I was having a hard time getting into the story. Nothing that had to do with the story. Really, it just had been a long day and I just didn't feel like reading. Which was probably a good thing, because the next day I dived into Night Demon. Boy, I had a hard time putting it down, which is the reason for the late night. I would get to the point saying I need to go to bed, but the same time I got a point where I needed to know what happen next. Honestly, by the time I really needed go to sleep, I had a few chapters left and figure "oh what the heck, I'm almost done."

    My first thought was intense. Night Demon was an intense read full a lot of information. I enjoyed the fact that it gave a different twist on vampires. With so many vampire stories out there it's really hard to put your on twist on night creatures, yet Ms. Kessler was able to do that in Night Demon.

    To be honest, there is a lot that is going on in this story that I don't want to bog you all down with so many details. I love that we travel around the Yucatan trying to understand the ancient Mayan history about the Night Walkers. Then travel to San Diego to get more information and back to Yucatan. As you read this story you really feel like your there watching things as they happen. Gretchen Finch is one smart cookie. I have to say I really do like intelligent  heroine who are not afraid of danger. Boy does she find danger. Then you have Lukas Smith who wishes he could cure himself from being a Night Walker. Plus, he wants to keep Gretchen safe from the evil that lurks and possibly from him.

    WOW, is all I can say about this book. Seriously, you feel the danger that lurks around you. At times I had to take a break from the book, because it was intense. Yes, it will give you that heart pounding excitement. Plus, Night Demon leaves aching to see what happens next. Now like the rest of you, I have to wait for the next book. So, if you are looking for excitement, danger and intrigue, I would suggest Night Demon. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Night Demon is a well-crafted, fast-paced paranormal romance tha

    Night Demon is a well-crafted, fast-paced paranormal romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Lisa Kessler once again demonstrates her talent for words as she weaves her tale of paranormal romance and meshes it with the ancient Mayan realm. She takes her vision of night walkers, vampires with shape shifting capabilities, and mixes in ancient deities and demons, to make this adventure riveting. 

    The characters are well-developed and draw you into their dark world as they battle the unseen evil that is threatening to destroy the human race. Lukas and Gretchen, who have been working together to decipher the ancient Mayan glyphs that were found deep in the Yucatan rain forests, discover they must battle evil as they fight the smoldering attraction they have for each other. Lukas, a night walker who was accidentally turned, is obsessed with finding a way to end his abhorrent immortal life and is convinced that the answer lies in the ancient glyphs. Gretchen, an archaeologist who is helping Lukas decipher the glyphs, finds herself being drawn into a world she had no knowledge of existence. 

    The story line is rich in detail with complex characters that will bring out a multitude of emotions in you. The plot is solid and flows unfettered, the chemistry is hot, and the romance steamy.  Lisa does an amazing job of drawing the reader into her world of night walkers. Night Demon is a fascinating descent into the dark realm of the paranormal and will have you reading non-stop from beginning to end. This book is an intriguing and highly recommended must read.




    I received a copy of the book from Entangled Publishing
     in exchange for my honest review.
    Janna Shay
    Author of Fair Play

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was riveting! From the moment I started it, stopping r

    This book was riveting! From the moment I started it, stopping reading it was an issue. I was captivated with the storyline! It gripped me and would not let go! Ms. Kessler definitely knows what it takes to keep a person coming back for more! I shall be faithfully awaiting the next book to see how it all works out for the Night Walkers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting take on vampires and the Mayan Apocalypse.   Gret

    An interesting take on vampires and the Mayan Apocalypse.  
    Gretchen is an archaeologist working in the Yucatan with brilliant and eccentric Lukas Smith.  They’ve discovered glyphs that tell the tales of the night walkers.  Something Lukas is familiar with as he is one.  The altar they’ve found was used for a sacrifice to banish a demon.  And now someone has freed the demon and Gretchen & Lukas need to find a way to stop the Night Deon before she destroys life on earth as we know it.
    A fascinating tale.  It took me a bit to get into it as the author bounced around  some but as the story unfolded it was well worth it.   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    When I first was introduced to the Night Walker world I was draw

    When I first was introduced to the Night Walker world I was drawn into the history of how they came about. Night Demon gives us more insight into the beginning of the Night Walkers.
    Its starts in the Yucatan with Lukas and Gretchen. Lukas has been looking for away out his immoral life. Gretchen believes hes is archaeologist studying the Mayan glyphs found in the pyramids. What they find is a awaking of a dark demon.
    The awaking calls the four Night Walker gods. Can they defeat the demon and safe the moral world?
    Will Lukas and Gretchen find true love? These and many more questions can only answered if you read this book.(less)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Lisa brought out ALL the stops in this continuation of her Night

    Lisa brought out ALL the stops in this continuation of her Night Series. It takes on more of a darker and more sinister tone which helps with the underlying main plot that we have seen though Night walker and even a little in Night Thief.




    The Guardian awakens, knowing his Demon has arising from her eternal resting place and is now free. Knowing that humanity is in danger he sends out his call to the four Night Walker Gods to help him put her back and save humanity from a deadly and bloody fate. Will they answer the call?? Read on to find out.




    We meet Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch as they are getting ever closer to uncovering the tale of the Night walkers and their history. As they get closer they realize that something is very amiss in the Yucatan jungle. The creatures are acting strangely and at times its so deadly quiet that Gretchen feels like she is being watched, or worse hunted. Lukas knows not what is roaming around the jungle, but knows that keeping her near is only putting her in danger. In an effort to spare her from finding out anything more about his world he sends her back home stateside. Gretchen is offended he would dismiss her that easily, especially given her unique qualifications which make her all that more important to his work.




    Meanwhile in the areas near Brownsville,Texas the evil form the jungle hunts for what sustains in...human souls. As normal people suddenly experience feelings of uselessness and suffering a voice tells them that only their blood can set them free. At first a dozen or more are found dead, then the toll rises exponentially until its in the thousands. Gretchen too knows something is wrong when she too begins to feel doubt, and uselessness and feels empty. It unnerves her and knows this isn't how she normally is. She takes measures to fend off the evil voice in her head and succeeds.




    Lukas arrives to confer with his Maker, who is defensive and wonders why he is here. As Lukas explains what is going on it alerts Calisto (Night Walker) that things are much worse then they thought. Calisto and Kate were visited by Murac, an ancient god and night walker, who tells them things they didn't know about their kind. But the proof is hard to deny. Lukas returns to find Gretchen and his fears are confirmed the Demon is out and its reach is only growing. He is left with no choice but to return to the jungle and continue his search for answers, and of course stubborn Gretchen is coming too.




    In the Yucatan three of the Four Gods unite at the Mayan Pyramid to meet the Guardian and being their hunt for the reason for it's release, the Goddess of the Moon is resurrected. So many questions are left unanswered as they try to find answers and save the world from a gruesome fate. They soon find one of their own has far more sinister ideas and puts his own plans into action to try and prevent the others from putting the Demon back in her resting place.




    You meet all the four Gods and see just how they came to put the Demon to rest more than a thousand years ago. There is plenty of conflict as betrayal and past choices come full circle for some. For one in particular the past can be a bitter pill to swallow as old feelings resurface and hurt come bubbling to the surface. The main story take shape and is played out underneath the romance between Lukas and Gretchen. Lukas and Gretchen are a well mached couple, but with Lukas always trying to keep Gretchen at arms length it takes a long time for Lukas to catch up to where Gretchen is in how he feels about her. She managed to break down his barriers and work her way into his heart and when things are finally out in the open they come off the pages.




    Night Demon is a perfect continuation of the Night trilogy and we get to see our beloved Calisto, Kate, Kane and Rita in a new way as they all fight to save the world from the evil in the jungle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I loved the that there is archeology in this and I love that a l

    I loved the that there is archeology in this and I love that a lot of it is in the jungle! I like how this series is so different from other authors. The Night walkers are a unique twist and sexy as all get out. I am not into romance much but this series makes me forget about that!! I love it!!!! Keep on writing Lisa cause I need more!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    OMG! I am soooo hooked on Lisa's Night Walkers. I want, want,

    OMG! I am soooo hooked on Lisa's Night Walkers. I want, want, want one of my own! LOL!

    Thrills, Chills, Adventure, Romance, History... this book has it all! Lukas has led a tortured existence as a Night Walker, a "life" he did not choose. He believes he may finally be on the right track to finding a way to commit suicide - something he has unsuccessfully tried many times - as the Mayan glyphs around a sacrificial altar deep in the jungle seem to describe a Mayan rite in which a Night Walker dies.

    Gretchen is an archaelogist who has been working thru her University helping Lukas interpret ancient Mayan drawings. She believes she is doing this for educational purposes and has no idea that she may be aiding her associate in ending his "life."

    Their relationship on the surface appears to be strictly professional ... but both are masking feelings that become evident as what had been their routine is threatened by an evil force that neither understands.

    The story takes place in the Yucatan peninsula and in California with flashbacks to other times and places.

    I would highly recommend that the 1st two books in this series be read 1st not only to enhance the contiguity of the story, but also because characters in the 1st two books are an integral part of this book: Calisto and Kate from Night Walker AND Kane and Rita from Night Thief. What a treat!

    I can hardly wait until the next book in this series... WooHoo!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Deep in the Yucatan jungle Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch are wo

    Deep in the Yucatan jungle Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch are working hard at translating a series of ancient Mayan glyphs they have found on an altar.

    Lukas shouldn't exist, his transition into a Night Walker was an accidental mistake during an encounter with Calisto (whose story we read about in Night Walker) and he has been searching for ways to end his immortal life.  He has kept his true identity from Gretchen, but as the months pass he is finding it hard to admit, especially to himself, his true feelings for her.

    Gretchen has been working side by side with Lukas for months helping him to decipher the glyphs that they have found.   She has feelings for Lukas but she feels that he is hiding something from him.  She never sees him during the day, he works all night when she is sleeping, and she knows that Smith can’t possibly be his real last name.

    The glyphs they find indicate a ritual was performed but they haven’t been able to find the missing piece of the puzzle.   She decides one day to go back to the alter to search for clues on her own.  But when she gets there she knows that something is different, something has happened.  Or is it someone.  There is a presence and it’s dark.  Even though it wants her she finds a way to fend off the evil.  She finds a way to fend off the evil voice but others cannot.  Strange deaths start to occur in surrounding areas. People start to feel ‘caged in’ (for lack of a better term) and a voice in their minds tells them that their blood will set them free.  

    As the story of the glyphs unfolds Gretchen finds herself drawn into a world that she never knew existed. Does that symbol really mean demon? What needs to be done to stop the evil from spreading? New and old characters must unite to stop the events occurring again, failure is not an option especially with the fate of the world in their hands. 

    This is the second book in Lisa Kessler’s Night Series, and I have been looking forward to this book since I finished Night Walker. The wait (which felt like forever) was worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Ok well I have finished Night Demon and really did not want it t

    Ok well I have finished Night Demon and really did not want it to end!! I have read all of the Night Series that Lisa Kessler has written and I love it, however Night Demon is thus far the more exciting. This book was so thrilling, on the edge of your seat story! There was no any part of this book that was not exciting and adventuress. And I am looking forward to this adventure continuing in Night Child!!!! Great job Lisa!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Deep in the Yucatan jungle Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch are ha

    Deep in the Yucatan jungle Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch are hard at work translating a series of ancient mayan glyphs they have found on an altar. Lukas is desperate to discover the origins of the Night Walkers in order to explain and inevitably end his own existense. Lukas shouldn't exist, his transition into a Night Walker occured accidentally during an encounter with an inexperienced Calisto and Lukas has been struggling to come to terms with it ever since.

    Gretchen has spent 10 months in the jungle by Lukas's side, she is harboring a crush on him despite his little quirks. He disappears every day, never opens up to her and has she ever saw him eat?

    As the story of the glyph's unfolds Gretchen finds herself drawn into a world that she never knew existed. Does that symbol really mean demon? New and old characters must unite to stop the events occuring again, failure is not an option especially with the fate of the world in their hands.

    This is the 2nd book in Lisa's Night Walker series and dare I say it's better than the last! Lisa far surpassed my expectations with this one, the plot was a little darker, the twists where unexpected and the ending... what an ending! Lisa has developed an amazing world, the new characters were a great addition and I can't wait to get to their part of the story an get to know them a little more intimately. I loved Calisto, then came Kane & he stole my heart but with this one - I was firmly in Lukas's corner, I wonder who'll steal my heart next. Lisa has a gift for making you fall in love with her hero's, her heroine's are equally as likeable. You can relate to them easily and find yurself invested in ther journey. The mythology used is what captured my interest in the first place and with this installment and how it was tweaked to develop the plot, that's what will have me returning for more. The rest is just icing on the cake!

    I can't wait to see the cover for the next one, and see if her "ab-tastic" reign continues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intense, Brilliant characters!

    Deep in the hot and humid Yucatan rain forest, archeologists Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch have been attempting to decipher the glyphs on an ancient Mayan altar. For Lukas, this is personal. Hundreds of years ago he was accidentally made into an immortal Night Walker and he can no longer live with the regrets of his past, hoping to uncover a way to end the lonely existence he abhors. Yet, after living and working in such close quarters, both Lukas and Gretchen shield a growing attraction to each other. Could these feelings be what saves Lukas?

    Meanwhile, far below the Mayan altar, the entombed Night Demon, Camelotz, has awakened, and she is hungry for blood, death, and destruction. Only by the banding together of all four of the Night Walker gods who originally entrapped her, can the world be saved. What has caused her to awaken? Has she grown too strong to be defeated?
    With so many gods in one place, so many Night Walkers, so much power, what will happen? It’s a showdown between good and evil and no one knows what to expect! Will love tip the scales?

    The world that Lisa Kessler has crafted is simply amazing, filled with rich detail, an intense pace, and brilliantly diverse characters! The ancient Mayan history is both frightening and fascinating at the same time, making Night Demon an intriguing and highly recommended must read!

    This copy of Night Demon was given to me by Entangled Publishing, LLC - Entangled Select in exchange for a honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gretchen Finch's life changed when she became a research assista

    Gretchen Finch's life changed when she became a research assistant for Lukas 'Smith', an unfortunate human turned Night Walker. After spending time in the Yucatan jungles helping him translate Mayan glyphs she realizes that she's more than a little fond of him, but he's not feeling the same way about her. Determined to continue her studies, she goes back to the altar sight and feels the pure evil that's about to be released. 
    The plot thickens! Poor Lukas wants nothing more than to end his Night Walker nights, He finally realizes that Gretchen is extremely special to him. All he wants to do is protect her, get her away from the danger that's been unleashed. 
    The Night Walker gods that trapped the evil before have to unite to send it back to hell. 
    More plot twists, romance, mystery, history, mythology all rolled into one don't put me down book! Excellently written, description and action balanced to perfection. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I learned more about the Mayans in this book than I ever did in school.

    There were times in this book that I was just a little lost. There is so much information and so many characters that at times I seemed to get it all mixed up. At times I even got the characters mixed up. I loved all the info that was in this book and at times I could really believe it. I asked myself could this really be true. Made more sense then a lot of other things I have ever learned.

    I really enjoyed Gretchen’s spunkiness. She has a thirst for knowledge and is very loyal. She is also very smart and I enjoyed reading about her. She even outsmarted the demon. That is something that not even the gods could do. The song that she uses to keep others out of her mind is one I never would have thought anyone would use against such strong men.

    I was afraid that Lukas was going to not let anything get in his way of finding a way to end his life. How could he let the woman of his life get away because he just didn’t want to share his secret. Sometimes men can be so dense. Behind every man is an even stronger woman. I knew Gretchen would do what she thought was right and not listen to Lukas.

    Even though at times I was a little lost I worked my way through this book and I was glad that I did when I just took everything in. The author did a wonderful job with her story and I loved the knowledge that she had about Mayans and the gods. I was left thinking that maybe if I had read the first book I wouldn’t have been so lost.

    So while I go back and read the first book before the third one comes out, you need to read the first one too. I can’t wait to see what will happen in the third book. I hope that no one else gets hurt and that everything works out. I know there has to be mystery and suspense to make a great read but not too much please. I don’t know if I can handle it.

    This book did more than keep my attention and now I want to see what else I will find out about these night walkers. So come along and join this great adventure with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Lisa brought out ALL the stops in this continuation of her Night

    Lisa brought out ALL the stops in this continuation of her Night Series. It takes on more of a darker and more sinister tone which helps with the underlying main plot that we have seen though Night walker and even a little in Night Thief.




    The Guardian awakens, knowing his Demon has arising from her eternal resting place and is now free. Knowing that humanity is in danger he sends out his call to the four Night Walker Gods to help him put her back and save humanity from a deadly and bloody fate. Will they answer the call?? Read on to find out.




    We meet Lukas Smith and Gretchen Finch as they are getting ever closer to uncovering the tale of the Night walkers and their history. As they get closer they realize that something is very amiss in the Yucatan jungle. The creatures are acting strangely and at times its so deadly quiet that Gretchen feels like she is being watched, or worse hunted. Lukas knows not what is roaming around the jungle, but knows that keeping her near is only putting her in danger. In an effort to spare her from finding out anything more about his world he sends her back home stateside. Gretchen is offended he would dismiss her that easily, especially given her unique qualifications which make her all that more important to his work.




    Meanwhile in the areas near Brownsville,Texas the evil form the jungle hunts for what sustains in...human souls. As normal people suddenly experience feelings of uselessness and suffering a voice tells them that only their blood can set them free. At first a dozen or more are found dead, then the toll rises exponentially until its in the thousands. Gretchen too knows something is wrong when she too begins to feel doubt, and uselessness and feels empty. It unnerves her and knows this isn't how she normally is. She takes measures to fend off the evil voice in her head and succeeds.




    Lukas arrives to confer with his Maker, who is defensive and wonders why he is here. As Lukas explains what is going on it alerts Calisto (Night Walker) that things are much worse then they thought. Calisto and Kate were visited by Murac, an ancient god and night walker, who tells them things they didn't know about their kind. But the proof is hard to deny. Lukas returns to find Gretchen and his fears are confirmed the Demon is out and its reach is only growing. He is left with no choice but to return to the jungle and continue his search for answers, and of course stubborn Gretchen is coming too.




    In the Yucatan three of the Four Gods unite at the Mayan Pyramid to meet the Guardian and being their hunt for the reason for it's release, the Goddess of the Moon is resurrected. So many questions are left unanswered as they try to find answers and save the world from a gruesome fate. They soon find one of their own has far more sinister ideas and puts his own plans into action to try and prevent the others from putting the Demon back in her resting place.




    You meet all the four Gods and see just how they came to put the Demon to rest more than a thousand years ago. There is plenty of conflict as betrayal and past choices come full circle for some. For one in particular the past can be a bitter pill to swallow as old feelings resurface and hurt come bubbling to the surface. The main story take shape and is played out underneath the romance between Lukas and Gretchen. Lukas and Gretchen are a well mached couple, but with Lukas always trying to keep Gretchen at arms length it takes a long time for Lukas to catch up to where Gretchen is in how he feels about her. She managed to break down his barriers and work her way into his heart and when things are finally out in the open they come off the pages.




    Night Demon is a perfect continuation of the Night trilogy and we get to see our beloved Calisto, Kate, Kane and Rita in a new way as they all fight to save the world from the evil in the jungle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    The Night Walkers have to work together in this book. They have

    The Night Walkers have to work together in this book. They have an enemy in common called Camelotz and she isn't really all that bothered who she kills. Totally indiscriminate, whether Night Walker or human she doesn't give two monkeys and is quite happy to just destroy anyone in her vicinity.
    This book gives us a little extra insight into the origins of the Night Walkers. The Mayan connection and earlier fate of the Night Demon was an interesting element, perhaps one that will be delved into at later date.
    For me it lacked the a certain character depth. I didn't feel any kind of connection to any of them. It was also missing that certain flair that often goes hand in hand with books of this genre.It is as if the author had all the ingredients and just hadn't added the extra spice to the story yet.
    Despite that I think readers who are looking for a light and entertaining excursion into the world of ancient gods and Night Walkers will enjoy it.
    I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1