Customer Reviews for

The Night Eternal

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Buckle Your Seat Belts... Your in for a thrillTastic Ride!

I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I can hardly believe I've been involved in this world, in this Strain, for 3 years. I bought the first book on a whim because I like Guillermo Del Toro's storytelling and 3 years later I'm finishing The Night Eternal with t...
I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I can hardly believe I've been involved in this world, in this Strain, for 3 years. I bought the first book on a whim because I like Guillermo Del Toro's storytelling and 3 years later I'm finishing The Night Eternal with tears in my eyes and a heavy yet satisfied heart. This book is the conclusion of a 2 1/2 year battle for humanity's freedom set against the back drop of present day New York City. The story is centered on a biological strain of a parasitic vampiric virus that feeds on blood, all blood, with its preference being that of human blood. Because it is a biological strain all the fantastical concepts of vampires are eliminated. These are nasty, evil, animalistic creatures that hunger only for blood while telepathically obeying the one and only Master. Nora, Fet, Eph,Gus, Mr.Quinlan and Zack are all thrust into a New World, a new reality that forces them to deal with their worst nightmares and yet, though the enemies are the vampires and ultimately The Master, it is Human Nature that attacks their senses and lurks within the shadows. The degradation of humanity is what poses the greatest threat. When people are forced to survive without the protection of "Civilization", when money currency no longer dictates the worthy from the worthless, and when individual survival is determined by the devil himself, does the true nature of the human being emerge. This story is a perfect conclusion to a 3 year old adventure that I waited so patiently to conclude. The story is well written and will certainly immerse you into the apocalyptic tale. But it is the character's individual stories that will enthrall you and challenge you to ask yourself, "What would I do?" I have never dealt with vampires but I have felt every emotion these characters dealt with when faced with detrimental situations. I yelled, I screamed, I cried, I put the book down, I came back to it, I felt most every feeling possible and ultimately that is what I look for. I want art to elicit emotions from me thus allowing me to become an active contributor. I was not disappointed. I encourage you to read this Trilogy, it is well worth it, and just maybe you will learn something about your nature and how you would deal with. the end of the world.

posted by Mairone on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly disappointing

The first two books in the trilogy were engaging and extremely entertaining.
I don't know what happened in the two years between The Fall and The Night Eternal to turn the characters (especially Nora, Zach and V) into cardboard, self-absorbed idiots, but it was as if s...
The first two books in the trilogy were engaging and extremely entertaining.
I don't know what happened in the two years between The Fall and The Night Eternal to turn the characters (especially Nora, Zach and V) into cardboard, self-absorbed idiots, but it was as if someone else had written this waste of money and time.
The characters became uninteresting. The situations, unbelievable. The origins of the vampires, a lame joke.
if you've read and enjoyed the first two books, do yourself a favor and make up your own ending. It's sure to be more satisfying!

posted by 1038780 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Can't wait!!

    The first two books are awesome. I love the original features of the vampires these guys created and there's plenty of frightening violence to keep you on edge. It's so nice to read a vampire series in which they don't 'sparkle' and their storyline doesn't include a high school dance. I'd like to see movies made out of these books!! (I'd also like to see another Blade movie...come on Guillermo!)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    When does the movie come out?!

    It's over? :( I was so impatient for this last and final part of The Strain trilogy, but the closer I got to the end, the slower I read. lol..I didn't want it to be over! In del Toro's final piece, we learn where the "Master" truely came from and what the character's destinies truely are. Some are backstabbers, some are destined to fall in love and others simply "go out with a bang". It's a great read and I can honestly say that I was satisfied with the ending. Now...go read this book!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A deadly virus is claiming world domination and humans are now the hunted!

    When the unthinkable happens to the entire world, chaos will soon reign and humans will be farmed and hunted. So is the premise behind the latest novel from Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan in The Night Eternal.

    For just two hours a day, a faint muted light falls upon the earth as sunlight, leaving the rest of the day in darkness. This is the result of nuclear fallout that now blankets the earth and creates prime living conditions for a new race called strigoi, a type of vampire that is infected with a worm like virus. The Master, as he is called, has formed a new race on earth, the strigoi, that live only to feed and with the only way to kill them being the use of silver weapons and nuclear devices, the strigoi have been collecting them as a way to ensure their own survival from the remaining humans who would like to see them destroyed.

    The humans that remain that are unwilling or unable to fight back are kept in collective farms, herded like livestock, throughout the world in various cities, as a way to ensure that the strigoi will always have enough food. B+ blood being the most sought after are treated far better than the rest of the human race and the elderly are dispatched quickly. Only a handful of humans seek to uncover the secret that lies within a silver bound book called the Occido Lumen entrusted to them by a man called Setrakian. In it contains the way to destroy the Master and the muted race of strigoi and hopefully restore the world before all hope is lost. Will they be able to decipher the book before they are all hunted down and eliminated?

    I received this book compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I saw this book comparable to the movie I Am Legend but with more in depth story content. A warning to some of my readers that this book does contain a fair amount of profanity but overall the story is well written and thought out. I would rate this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars and for those the like a story that pits good against evil, then this is definitely a book for you. This is book 3 in The Strain Trilogy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Excellent ending if a little jumbled at times

    This was an excellent ending to the Strain trilogy. Some parts were a little erratic and overly dramaticbut overall a great end to an engrossing trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    As good as the first 2 books

    I wonder if there could be a better end to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why aren¿t these bodies decomposing as they should?  I waited fo

    Why aren’t these bodies decomposing as they should? 
    I waited for all these books to be out before I read them so I could plow through all three in one go. Good move on my part. These novels are great and really move, I wouldn’t want to take a six month break in between. 
    What I like best about this story is the fresh take on vampires. Nothing about these things is what we have seen before, it makes this subject exciting again. This would make a fantastic mini-series on TV if it could be pulled off. Memorable characters, exciting action, surprises, a great mystery, and most importantly, the scares! For my money, they could have left out the religious connections, but I admit that does fit in pretty good as far as vampires are concerned.
    I’m not sure how two people write a book together, it must be tricky. This reminds me a bit of when George Lucas and Chris Claremont collaborated on the sequels to Willow (Shadow Moon, Shadow Dawn, Shadow Star) to equally great effect. Maybe more directors should do this? Well whatever magic sauce is going on here, I hope it keeps going. Great books, they deserve more attention, like yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Jeremy

    The End Got Me Almost In Tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Worth finishing the series

    I was hooked after book one, but book two seemed to drag on and I was worried about book three doing the same. Book three 'The Night Eternal' moved at a quicker pace than book two and ended in a way I didn't expect. If you enjoyed book one, push through book two to get to three. I've heard they are making a movie from this three book series which is why I read it in the first place. This three part series could easily be one movie, maybe two max. A lot of the fighting scenes could be cut out to move the story along. If you enjoyed book one, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Was okay

    I won't spoil the book by giving details. There was one thing that was mentioned over and over again that I couldn't wrap my brain around. If the authors could have explained why something impossible was made possible I know I would have enjoyed this trilogy more. I felt compelled to read all 3 books hoping this one thing could be explained. I don't want to give this book 3 stars but I don't feel it's 4 stars either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Melissa on series

    Wonderful,great,would like to see more along this line. Maybe with vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Entertaining

    Action packed ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Very Good!

    Well written and engaging. character development is well-done and the story line flows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    I forgot how vicious vampires are.

    This bookis a gem for anyone who loves vampirrs, that act like vampires. Del Toro is an awesome story teller and Hogan is an awesome writer so combining the warped and genius minds of these two makes for an awesome tale of vampires amd vampire hunters unlike anything told before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Pretty good

    I was not espescially fond of the first two, but had to read this last installment to see how it ends. I was not disappointed. A good ending to a good series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Great read, with an unexpected ending

    Not typical of any book about vampires, it ended the series well. They tired up the loose ends and went in an unexpected direction. I'd read these authors again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Very Recommended - Great end to the trilogy

    If you enjoyed the first two books, you will not be disappointed, action-packed from cover to end, very intriguing back stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Good Finish to the Trilogy

    Not a bad finish. Answers a lot of questions, but the answers themselves seem kind of run of the mill. Still very entertaining and an excellent resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Fast Exciting Read

    I have read a dozen or so of these never ending vampire epic's that are well beyone the 10 book phase of their devlopement. This being a true trilogy was able to sum up the characters and their experiences in three books. Very fresh concept, and you dont have to worry about spending the next 10 years trying to keep up with the latest installment. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    It succeeded all my expectations and more!

    This is a classic! I liked the way the authors moved it to a High Tec Sci-Fi, but still providing the history of the vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5