Customer Reviews for

The Night Eternal

Average Rating 4
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Buckle Your Seat Belts... Your in for a thrillTastic Ride!

I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I can hardly believe I've been involved in this world, in this Strain, for 3 years. I bought the first book on a whim because I like Guillermo Del Toro's storytelling and 3 years later I'm finishing The Night Eternal with t...
I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I can hardly believe I've been involved in this world, in this Strain, for 3 years. I bought the first book on a whim because I like Guillermo Del Toro's storytelling and 3 years later I'm finishing The Night Eternal with tears in my eyes and a heavy yet satisfied heart. This book is the conclusion of a 2 1/2 year battle for humanity's freedom set against the back drop of present day New York City. The story is centered on a biological strain of a parasitic vampiric virus that feeds on blood, all blood, with its preference being that of human blood. Because it is a biological strain all the fantastical concepts of vampires are eliminated. These are nasty, evil, animalistic creatures that hunger only for blood while telepathically obeying the one and only Master. Nora, Fet, Eph,Gus, Mr.Quinlan and Zack are all thrust into a New World, a new reality that forces them to deal with their worst nightmares and yet, though the enemies are the vampires and ultimately The Master, it is Human Nature that attacks their senses and lurks within the shadows. The degradation of humanity is what poses the greatest threat. When people are forced to survive without the protection of "Civilization", when money currency no longer dictates the worthy from the worthless, and when individual survival is determined by the devil himself, does the true nature of the human being emerge. This story is a perfect conclusion to a 3 year old adventure that I waited so patiently to conclude. The story is well written and will certainly immerse you into the apocalyptic tale. But it is the character's individual stories that will enthrall you and challenge you to ask yourself, "What would I do?" I have never dealt with vampires but I have felt every emotion these characters dealt with when faced with detrimental situations. I yelled, I screamed, I cried, I put the book down, I came back to it, I felt most every feeling possible and ultimately that is what I look for. I want art to elicit emotions from me thus allowing me to become an active contributor. I was not disappointed. I encourage you to read this Trilogy, it is well worth it, and just maybe you will learn something about your nature and how you would deal with. the end of the world.

posted by Mairone on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly disappointing

The first two books in the trilogy were engaging and extremely entertaining.
I don't know what happened in the two years between The Fall and The Night Eternal to turn the characters (especially Nora, Zach and V) into cardboard, self-absorbed idiots, but it was as if s...
The first two books in the trilogy were engaging and extremely entertaining.
I don't know what happened in the two years between The Fall and The Night Eternal to turn the characters (especially Nora, Zach and V) into cardboard, self-absorbed idiots, but it was as if someone else had written this waste of money and time.
The characters became uninteresting. The situations, unbelievable. The origins of the vampires, a lame joke.
if you've read and enjoyed the first two books, do yourself a favor and make up your own ending. It's sure to be more satisfying!

posted by 1038780 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Buckle Your Seat Belts... Your in for a thrillTastic Ride!

    I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I can hardly believe I've been involved in this world, in this Strain, for 3 years. I bought the first book on a whim because I like Guillermo Del Toro's storytelling and 3 years later I'm finishing The Night Eternal with tears in my eyes and a heavy yet satisfied heart. This book is the conclusion of a 2 1/2 year battle for humanity's freedom set against the back drop of present day New York City. The story is centered on a biological strain of a parasitic vampiric virus that feeds on blood, all blood, with its preference being that of human blood. Because it is a biological strain all the fantastical concepts of vampires are eliminated. These are nasty, evil, animalistic creatures that hunger only for blood while telepathically obeying the one and only Master. Nora, Fet, Eph,Gus, Mr.Quinlan and Zack are all thrust into a New World, a new reality that forces them to deal with their worst nightmares and yet, though the enemies are the vampires and ultimately The Master, it is Human Nature that attacks their senses and lurks within the shadows. The degradation of humanity is what poses the greatest threat. When people are forced to survive without the protection of "Civilization", when money currency no longer dictates the worthy from the worthless, and when individual survival is determined by the devil himself, does the true nature of the human being emerge. This story is a perfect conclusion to a 3 year old adventure that I waited so patiently to conclude. The story is well written and will certainly immerse you into the apocalyptic tale. But it is the character's individual stories that will enthrall you and challenge you to ask yourself, "What would I do?" I have never dealt with vampires but I have felt every emotion these characters dealt with when faced with detrimental situations. I yelled, I screamed, I cried, I put the book down, I came back to it, I felt most every feeling possible and ultimately that is what I look for. I want art to elicit emotions from me thus allowing me to become an active contributor. I was not disappointed. I encourage you to read this Trilogy, it is well worth it, and just maybe you will learn something about your nature and how you would deal with. the end of the world.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Intense!! I loved it!

    Intense, writing is genius! This was a great ending to an amazing trilogy. Every page was so intense. Kept me guessing and i didnt want to stop reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Enjoyed this book greatly, can't wait to read the next

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The final Strain post-apocalyptic urban fantasy is an exciting ending to an entertaining fresh modern spin to the mythos

    Two years ago the pandemic vampiric virus was deployed on an unsuspecting New York City (see The Strain). The toll turned devastatingly global as humanity fell from the top of the food chain with the vampires hunting mortals. Releasing a nuclear winter that turned the earth into almost total Night Eternal, the Master ancient vampire has his followers establish death camp ranches where his followers can breed humans in order to snack on the mortals.

    There are few free humans who remain outside the cattle captivity; most of those hide in remote holes. A small defiant cell continues to rebel against the Master and his bloody horde. Doctors Eph Goodweather and Nora Martinez, Vasiliy Fet, and the Master's hybrid offspring Mr. Quinlan have different motivations accentuated by the death of their spiritual leader Abraham Setrakian (see The Fall) in spite of the same goal to rid the planet of the bloodsuckers. One of the rebels has the answer to end the genocide killing of the Master and his species in what would be a suicide mission, but whose side is this individual on as the ancient vampire masterly manipulates his enemies into betraying their kind.

    The final Strain post-apocalyptic urban fantasy is an exciting ending to an entertaining fresh modern spin to the mythos. Action-packed throughout the trilogy, readers will enjoy what looks like the final extermination of humanity except for those in the camps. Although the climax will not shock the audience and too much personal demons defang the human resistance (and slows the plot), fans will appreciate getting there; as before they become bloodless fodder Nora and others must discover man's most beloved weapon against an amoral more powerful predator.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love this trilogy!!!!

    I cant wait till this book comes out! I couldnt put the other two down!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Wow

    Wow, enjoyed the last installment. Did not end as expected. Still confused about the space satalite and how it fits with the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    fantastic read!!

    This was a great ending to a very fast paced, engrossing series! I hope there are more books from these two in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Fun fun fun

    I had a wonderful month reading all three books iam going to tell all my colllege friends to get this book for their winter vacation it was a total distraction loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is going to rock thanks del toro and chuck hogan

    this book looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Addictive

    Just sorry this was the last book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    READ!!!

    i really liked this trilogy...read each book aloud from my nook...to my husband...so we could both read at the same time!! he really liked the books also.
    these are not your usual...romantic...or even sexy-ish...vampires.
    i was even disappointed when the 3rd book was finished...i wanted the story to continue...maybe a few more years down the road...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Bravo

    Ihadto wait a year for this but worth every day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    This book, number 2 of 3, like the first, picks up where the fir

    This book, number 2 of 3, like the first, picks up where the first left off......two years later and goes directly for your psyche! Again! No 2-3 chapters before you get GRABBED.......AGAIN! I read this book in two sittings, just like the first. I have already finished the third and now can't wait for the TV series in July 2014. An explosive ending that will stun you. This is by far the best new take on Vampire Mania. It makes Twilight look like a Mary Poppins rerun. If you live alone, spend the night with somebody. If you live with somebody, make sure you see their reflection before you close your eyes and absolutely, positively, buy all the silver you can afford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great series. Highly Recommend starting from the first book though

    Guillermo del toro, the creator of Pans Labyrinth, teams up with another great author who has written some great movie novelizations and more to construct this modernish vampire story.

    Book 1, The Strain, is the only place to start!
    If youre looking at this before reading/buying the first one, go get that one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Excellent

    If you like vampire novels, you must read the strain first. All three books were amazing written. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Clearwing

    Position: elder. Gender:tom. Fur color: all white with grey flecks. Eye color: creamy blue. Mate: no one. Kits:none. History : was a loner his whole life until his abandoned den (where he lived) caught on fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Map

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Bios here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Falconclaw------updated

    Name- Yawn your really that lazy to look up?<br>Looks- Black with gold specks and blue eyes<br>Personality- Cheerful, protective, loving....<br>Mate-Icetail<br>Crush- well duh<br>kits- soon<br>Kin- none alive<br>Past- What?<br>Other- nope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Captivating and haunting!

    Captivating and haunting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6