Customer Reviews for

The Night Fairy

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My daughter enjoyed this story. She had good things to say.

My daughter enjoyed this story. She had good things to say.

posted by 9419569 on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a good book for children 8 and up. It is intense in places and might scare some children who are imagining that they are Flory.

The book is a charming book but a little odd. The night fairy, Flory, is a nicely developed character and a strong girl. She does not look for others to improve her situation but develops her own skills and strengths. After her wing is injured by a bat at night, she bec...
The book is a charming book but a little odd. The night fairy, Flory, is a nicely developed character and a strong girl. She does not look for others to improve her situation but develops her own skills and strengths. After her wing is injured by a bat at night, she becomes a day fairy so she doesn't have to deal with bats again. She befriends a squirrel named Skuggle. She then meets a hummingbird who gives her rides. She wants the bird to serve her but the bird forthrightly tells her that she cannot. The hummingbird will still give her rides but cannot be available at her beck and call. Flory then protects the hummingbird's nest from a praying mantis, a spider and a raccoon. A bat comes swooping in to help chase the raccoon away. Even though her wing is growing back nicely, Flory still cannot fly well. The bat, who is the one who injured her because he thought she was a luna moth, apologizes and offers to give her rides around the garden. She tells the bat, Peregrine, that, "Now that I am not afraid of you, I am not afraid of anything." The hummingbird gives Flory a ride to the nest so she can see the baby hummingbirds whom she protected. This illustration is the best one in the book. But the ending is what is awful about the book. Flory falls asleep and the squirrel comes to asks her about the cherries she was supposed to bring. I think the book should have ended after she sees the baby hummingbirds; it is like the author didn't know where to end the story.

posted by JennyLouHarris on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter enjoyed this story. She had good things to say.

    My daughter enjoyed this story. She had good things to say.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    My daughter was engrossed, wondering how Flory would solve all of her problems. This is a sweet story that really shows the importance of taking responsibility for your actions.

    Flory really has a tough go of it from the beginning. She learns how to take care of her self, then to look out for others. She also learns that it's easier to "catch a fly with honey," and the joy that can come with forgiveness. There are so many life lessons thrown into this book with a fun, adventure story for the fairy lover in all of us.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    A rich, engrossing tale

    This book was a wonderful story with rich details. I read it with my 8 year old daughter and we both loved it! I think we both wanted the story to never end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    I love it

    I can not put this book down!!!! U should read it is gr8

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    This is a good book for children 8 and up. It is intense in places and might scare some children who are imagining that they are Flory.

    The book is a charming book but a little odd. The night fairy, Flory, is a nicely developed character and a strong girl. She does not look for others to improve her situation but develops her own skills and strengths. After her wing is injured by a bat at night, she becomes a day fairy so she doesn't have to deal with bats again. She befriends a squirrel named Skuggle. She then meets a hummingbird who gives her rides. She wants the bird to serve her but the bird forthrightly tells her that she cannot. The hummingbird will still give her rides but cannot be available at her beck and call. Flory then protects the hummingbird's nest from a praying mantis, a spider and a raccoon. A bat comes swooping in to help chase the raccoon away. Even though her wing is growing back nicely, Flory still cannot fly well. The bat, who is the one who injured her because he thought she was a luna moth, apologizes and offers to give her rides around the garden. She tells the bat, Peregrine, that, "Now that I am not afraid of you, I am not afraid of anything." The hummingbird gives Flory a ride to the nest so she can see the baby hummingbirds whom she protected. This illustration is the best one in the book. But the ending is what is awful about the book. Flory falls asleep and the squirrel comes to asks her about the cherries she was supposed to bring. I think the book should have ended after she sees the baby hummingbirds; it is like the author didn't know where to end the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    AWESOME

    I recomend to 7+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Awsome

    I read this for a book parade book. It was great one of my favs. I highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Great quick read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I think its wierd but its on my wishlist on my new nook i got for $5.00

    Kinda wierd but on my wishlist thats on my nook i got for $5.00

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!

    SO MUCH GOOD TO SAY SO LITTLE ROOM TO SAY IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    V

    An interesting story!READ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I WILL read it. i I WILL read it. It looks good!!!

    I like faires bivviituvtgcffyyfccrxtxdxyxyexesaaseghnkolmjfssertgcxxdjkjb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    AWSEOME

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Madison

    Not reaaly in the mood but its super sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Stupid

    I don't like this book. I think it's not very friendly. And not too fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Very enjoyable and delightful reading.

    This book is not only adult entertaining but one I would encourage to be read to children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2