Customer Reviews for

Night Film

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

I was surprised to find an ARC of Night Film from Random House Reader's Circle in my mailbox this week. I began reading it yesterday and was instantly immersed in the complex story of Scott McGrath and his investigation into the suicide of Ashley Cordova. I read all 5...
I was surprised to find an ARC of Night Film from Random House Reader's Circle in my mailbox this week. I began reading it yesterday and was instantly immersed in the complex story of Scott McGrath and his investigation into the suicide of Ashley Cordova. I read all 587 pages in just over 24-hours...I could not put it down. This book is AWESOME! Creepy, suspenseful, funny in parts, and tender too. It's definitely a book I will have to read again in the future. If you enjoy Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and other authors with amazing storytelling ability laced with dark undertones you will enjoy this book and I highly recommend it.

posted by Jessica3751 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Formatting on Nook is all screwed up, buy the paper one

Formatting on Nook is all screwed up, buy the paper one

posted by 9934656 on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    *****. Free copy from publishers--my honest review***** I'm

    *****. Free copy from publishers--my honest review*****




    I'm a bit conflicted with this book.  Basically, I found the book very engaging, especially when the story took me into scenes and/or feelings that reminded me of specific movies, but as just a mystery, I felt that less could have been more.  The whole book gave me the same feeling I got when I watched Stanley Kubreck's "2001-A Space Odyssey"---that tumbling over and over feeling to a strange end.  So, if you loved that classic movie, you'll probably love this book.




    There were also numerous "episodes" in the telling of this story that definitely felt like Hitchcock movies.  For example, when the investigative team in this story were trying to break into a secret  nightclub, their only possible entrance came by walking along the beach , then climbing a rickety staircase---or Hitchcock's "39 Steps".  But again, perhaps Pessl had too many scenes to capture in this 624 page missive.  But if you like real depth in your books, you will love this book as it transports you into memories of movies past.




    The general story line seemed to take lots of Alfred Hitchcock's life into account as our "created" character, newspaper reporter, Scott McGrath, pursued the mystery of thriller/horror "created" film director, Stanislas Cordova's daughter, Ashley's death.  Ashley reportedly committed suicide, but McGrath, and his two young sidekicks wonder if she was really murdered.  As they delve deeper and deeper into her life, the cult following of her mysterious father reveals more questions than answers. 




    Definitely a different type of mystery that revealed a never ending group of clues, that lead to numerous conclusions before the final reveal in the last couple of pages. Must be enjoyed as a "literary" mystery with lots of room for discussion within book groups.  

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    The writing was what kept the book moving along. After reading

    The writing was what kept the book moving along. After reading other reviews, I was ready for a very scarey book, but instead it was a book that just sucked me in and I was just along for the ride. Not scarey, but it plays with your mind; lets you create your own other world, while leaving you in this one to wonder in your really sane. I loved every minute of this ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's a page turner, although I felt it went on too long...

    It's a page turner, although I felt it went on too long...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    I was very intrigued by this book.  

    I was very intrigued by this book.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    spellbinding

    Pessl will make you question your own beliefs in the supernatural. Superb storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Excellent read. The book had me hooked from the start. You cou

    Excellent read. The book had me hooked from the start. You could sense the full gamut of tension, fear, terror and joy throughout the book. Characters that you care about move through a gripping tale of human nature and horror, as well as humor and joy. This book is a psychological and emotional roller coaster. At the end I wasn't sure if I was satisfied or disappointed with the ending. Upon further reflection I realized that not knowing if I was satisfied or disappointed actually led me to be VERY satisfied, for the not knowing was, after all, the point. Your state of mind at the end pretty much cemented the author's intention in my opinion. Having read the book on a Nook Simple Touch I wasn't able to take "advantage" of the multimedia add-ons, and I don't know if I missed an additional dimension or not, but I was satisfied with the book as a straight read. The photographs of news articles and web pages were a bit difficult to read on the Nook, but with a bit of squinting and strong lighting I was able to suss it all out. Bottom line - I recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    I liked this book, a lot. There is a significant value to a boo

    I liked this book, a lot. There is a significant value to a book that can transport you into a world so seemingly real (and yet bizarre!) that you end up googling some of the main characters and aspects of the book to see if it is real (or at least where the author got her ideas!). I loved the usage of modern media inserted into the book and it kept me up reading more than one night in a row. This is NOT an easy beach read, it is a great suspense novel that will keep you guessing until the end. The only drawback is it is very long and it does seem to drag a little in a few places...but it is so worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Great Read!Interesting and Weird

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book on my train commutes and even at my desk :) It's one of those books that's so weird, you're not quite sure how someone comes up with all of it. Pessl's writing is nice and kept me interested, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Inventive & Bizzare

    Read this book while on a beach vacation where I was afforded the opportunity to complete its 660 pages over 3 days. I think that was critical to my enjoyment of the story as, otherwise, it may have been a confusing narrative to follow. Pessl has created a well-developed world and exceptionally well-written characters. The story twists and turns and keeps you on your toes and is at times equally creepy, sinister, spellbinding and suspenseful. You'll need some appreciation for the macabre to enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Twisted

    About the only word to describe this is Twisted. There are a lot of twists and turns in it and a very dark/complex base. I am pretty good about solving mysteries. This one, not until the very near the end, did I recognize the final move. So, in that regard it was a better than average book. I don't mind a complicated plot, but I did find this one just a little over done for my preference almost, like the author couldn't decide on the ending and kept changing it. That is why I did not give it 5 stars. Overall a very good read, but not excellent, for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Dark, dark and more dark.......surreal but couldn't put it down.

    Dark, dark and more dark.......surreal but couldn't put it down. What a story teller!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Good Book

    Liked this book but was slightly dissapointed in the ending.
    Characters were developed well. Story was spell binding. I just wanted a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Good but not Great

    With all the hype about this book I thought I'd be finished with it quickly, but it took a long time to finish. While a very good book, it never really captured my attention until the last 150 pages. I found I could put it down and while I usually devour books, this one I could only read a few chapters then fall asleep. Again, a very good book, but not great. A reporter who ran with a random item he uncovered about a famous, reclusive and mysterious director is disgraced when the item proves to be untrue. Evidently he was set up but why.... While nursing back his reputation he gets entangled in the directors life again when the director's daughter commits suicide. From that point on its just a bizarre unravelling of truth and fiction. Thrown in is a good deal of magic, witchcraft, hallucinations, fan obsession and an interesting use of social media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Fun story

    Great quick read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Sounds good.

    Sounds good.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2