Customer Reviews for

Night Game: A John Marquez Crime Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Fast-Paced, Compelling Read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the second installment in the John Marquez crime fiction series. Intelligent characters, well-paced plot, an insight into a world I knew nothing about, the illegal trafficking in bear bile (just as the first Marquez explored the world of...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the second installment in the John Marquez crime fiction series. Intelligent characters, well-paced plot, an insight into a world I knew nothing about, the illegal trafficking in bear bile (just as the first Marquez explored the world of abalone smuggling, another world previously unknown to me) - plus, to top it all off, good writing. One could hardly ask for anything more, except a third installment. As to that, I understand one is on the way, one focusing on caviar and sturgeon trafficking, with a special appearance by Russian mobsters. I'm looking forward to it already. In the meantime, though, check out Night Game. You won't be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

M

Leave it to harriet klausner to ruin another book with her cliff note plot spoiler. Bn needs to delete all her plot spoiling posts.

posted by 8888649 on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    A Fast-Paced, Compelling Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the second installment in the John Marquez crime fiction series. Intelligent characters, well-paced plot, an insight into a world I knew nothing about, the illegal trafficking in bear bile (just as the first Marquez explored the world of abalone smuggling, another world previously unknown to me) - plus, to top it all off, good writing. One could hardly ask for anything more, except a third installment. As to that, I understand one is on the way, one focusing on caviar and sturgeon trafficking, with a special appearance by Russian mobsters. I'm looking forward to it already. In the meantime, though, check out Night Game. You won't be disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Pretty good!

    This is not the type of book I normally read (nonfiction, scifi, classics) so it was hard to get used to the writing style but overall I think it was a good book. It kept me entertained and was a good vacation read. I thought the plot was very interesting- haven't found anything related to Fish and Game mysteries ever. If you want an easy, interesting read I recommend it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    M

    Leave it to harriet klausner to ruin another book with her cliff note plot spoiler. Bn needs to delete all her plot spoiling posts.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    a good mystery and likeable main characters

    Russell sets his books in beautiful parts of California that don't make the news, the people actually understand nature, not like so many "nature lovers", and Marquez has a real life outside of his work. I also like that Marquez and his family aren't at odds over his work's demands for a change.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A character driven thriller

    California Department of Fish & Game Special Operations Chief Lieutenant John Marquez and his undercover team investigate poachers using torturous devices to capture, and slaughter bears to sell body parts to healers. The violators are organized, professional, and one step ahead of the game wardens because they hacked into the law enforcement computers. No one interferes with this shadowy group¿s lucrative business and if threatening the wardens and their families fails, murder will follow and may have already occurred.................................. Meanwhile as he struggles to do his job without endangering his loved ones, John investigates disgraced game warden, Bill Petroni at the same time that homicide detective Jack Kendal suspects Bill for murder of a camper last year. The link is Bill¿s live in lover Sophie Broussard, who has ties to bear poaching and other illegal activities. Could Bill have provided insider information to a deadly group intent on keeping their profits the envy of the Fortune 500 firms?................... The atmosphere is incredible as the picturesque Northern California Mountains come across as sinister and dangerous as any urban noir scene. John is terrific with his ethics pulled in several directions due to concern for his family, his team and their family, the bears he is supposed to protect, and doing his job. The enemy is the key as they are shadowy yet successful, which leads to intrigue balanced against cruelty and cynicism from government officials whose vision is a paraphrase from the Eisenhower administration that what is good for business is good for the USA. This is a fabulous tale in which justice and morality struggles against making a buck at any cost (as long as someone else pays the tab)....................... Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Well told story

    I'll look for other books in the Series. Well told story with interesting twists. Believable to an ex-cop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Recommend

    This book was hard for me to get interested in, but once I did it was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Not a Good Read

    Thought it was to contrived. Finished it just to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Rcommend for the outdoors men.

    The story includes too many character,game wardens,poochers,girls,lawmen. I just found it too hard to follow,but I always continue to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    An interesting read I became totally involved in.

    Living in California I knew all the areas the author wrote about. And I always like that. This book was about the law enforcement that protects our wild animals, in this case bears. It brought up problems I never knew about concerning selling bear parts to black markets for profit. And after reading this book I want to investigate more on the subject in a non-fiction setting. It is a page turner for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    A good mystery

    Moves slower then I expected but lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Booooring

    Forced myself to finish it. Not worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Don't Bother

    I gave on this book after 37 pages. Very hard to read, as the author doesn't punctuate well. I grew tired of rereading sentences to make sense of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Gay

    I recommend this book to anyone else that it gay buzzums

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    to M

    This is very simple. All u hav 2 do is skip the reviews that r mpte than 2;pages long. Obviosly u r 2 stupod 2 figure it out on ur on. I like harriets reviews. Unlike u, i dont have the money 2 by al of the salevbooks. So do me a favor, and shut ur dum trap. Some people dont appreciate wen others whine about everything. Why dont u worry about something that is going to matter like wen u die or something!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1