Customer Reviews for

Night Hoops

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    Night Hoops Was Great!

    Night Hoops is a book about a kid named Nick who has to accept his mom and dad's divorce,and trying to have his dad compliment his game.There are NO boring parts in this book.I thought that every moment in this book,thrilled me.I also play basketball in real life,and if you play basketball you will absolutely LOVE this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Okay, so let me preface this with the fact that I don┬┐t care for

    Okay, so let me preface this with the fact that I don’t care for sports and that I normally wouldn’t pick up this novel, accept that one of my students wanted to read it for a project. So, since I don’t have all that many sports books on the approved list for my students to read, I allowed it under the condition that I read it too so I could grade the project accordingly. This all being said, please note that if you enjoy sports like basketball or MG novels, then this is definitely a book for you. As a middle-aged female more interested in paranormal teen romance, well, this book didn’t hit the spot for me, but that doesn’t mean it’s not good. Deuker is actually a quite accomplished MG author with multiple novels concerning sports for you MG and YA male, and I will definitely be reading more of his work in order to broaden the genre’s I have on my approved reading lists. Deuker has solid themes and though not all the characters are positive in this novel, he has strong male leads that work through problems, creating a happy ending, which is something more books need, in my opinion. I loved the fact that both nick and Trent had their own set of problems, but were able to overlook them and come together for the greater good and their team, and I liked that they worked to solve their problems. Divorce is a very hard topic to write about, as are troubled households, and Deuker did a phenomenal job creating life-like scenarios and causing the reader to feel for his characters. Though I’m not in love with the story since it’s not my cup of tea, I know good writing when I see it, and I definitely think MG males will love this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Gabri

    Idk nm astrids going to like all the nook partys i wanna find one with out her :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Ty

    Hey guys havnt tlked for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Basket ball sucks so does this book

    Yeah what i said before i wouldbrate it a zero stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book for anyone who likes basketball. It was also very interesting because it described things other than basketball. An easy book to read. It should be on everyones list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Good book, especially if you are interested in basketball

    The book is about Nick and Trent. It is a high suspense book with lots of basketball action and they are very good at basketball. Trent gets into some trouble but turns his life around when he goes to hang out with Nick. I liked the details in the games and how it tells how they win. I didn't like how at the beginning of the story it started out slow. I would recommend this book to boys ages 10-15 who like basketball; even if you don't like to read you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    A+++

    A+++
    Brett Milligan

    Night Hoops, By Carl Duecker, is a great read. It shows emotion, love, heartbreak and trust. The book is a fictional story, but when you read it, it feels so real. I chose Night Hoops because I love sports books, and also Carl Duecker is an excellent author.
    Night Hoops is mainly about two boys, Trent Dawson and Nick Abbot, and how they overcame hatred between each other for a sport they both love. The setting for the story is inside Nick's house, at school, or on the basketball court. This story shows a lot of pain that their families are going through, and how two boys become friends and overcome the odds.
    Night Hoops, in my opinion, is probably the best sports book I have read yet. The character I liked was Nick Abbot. Nick is a good young boy. He does not try to find trouble; usually trouble finds him. I like nick's work ethics; he works hard for what he wants. The ending of the book is a little short and probably not what most readers would want to see. However the overall book is amazing. I would recommend this book for people 12 to 15 years old. I have learned a lesson from this book about; even if you do not think it is possible, keep trying and soon it will come to you.
    Night Hoops, in my opinion, is a 5-star book. It makes you think, and you never want to stop reading it. If you're into sports, this book this would be a perfect book for you. Carl Duecker used a lot of creativity when writing this book. He makes the reader wonder what will happen next. I have also read another book by Carl Duecker and I loved it; Heart of a Champion. It is an amazing sports story. I guarantee you, if you read one of Carl Duecker books; you will want to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly Recommended- An Awesome Must Read Book.

    Night Hoops is full with action and emotion. The story can be related in many ways to many people and also it is an addicting page turner. I thought the book did a good job having emotion and a splendid job describing the basketball games. The title of the book fits the storyline perfectly because most of the main points are at night shooting hoops. The emotion in the book heated up the farther I got in the book. Friendships are made, but some relationships are broken. Nick's family slowly starts falling apart which gave me the thought that if that happened to me I would go insane. Even though I don't know much about basketball, Carl Deuker described everything precisely so you can understand what's happening. The thing that was very emotional was the change of heart of Trent. With that, the whole story changes. Even with the change of heart, he still remained loyal to his brother still putting him in danger. The worst part of the book was when it ended because I wanted to know what would happen to Trent and his future. -C Long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Great book for kids who love to play basketball.

    Nick Abbott is your average basketball sophmore who decides to try out for the varsity team at Bothell High School. But just like the game, Nick's life has some twists Nick Abbott is a sophomore in high school and wants to be the star basketball player more than anything.
    He faces many problems in his life. For example, his parents are going through a divorce. Nicks dad also wants him to quit basetball and focus on his trumpet playing. Also, Nick has to face his angry neighbor, Trent Dawson, who is also on the basketball team. The two of them start to become friends as they practice playing basketball every night on Nick's backyard court. Nick joins the team with Trent and they become friends. Nick and Trent begin to play basketball as a team and they win the championship. Trent also thanks Nick for helping out with his school work and his personal things about his brother. They become best friends.
    Nick starts to grow up in many ways on the court and off of it while he is dealing with his new life changes. The main message of the book is that it is very important to make adjustments during the course of a game, as well as, to learn that adjustments are important in life, too.
    This is a great novel about basketball and friendship. Night Hoops was a really great book and I recommend this to all kids and teens who love to play basketball. This is a great novel about basketball and friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Quality Book

    This book suprised me to be honest. Usually I don't expect much from a sports fiction especially from an author that I'm unfamiliar with. But this book seemed to have a balance of sports content and a gripping story to keep me interested and even making me really enjoy reading this book. As the main character, nick abbott, narrates the story I seem to put myself into his shoes as he dealswith his parents divorce and a struggle to decide to help a troubled kid or leave him be. And although I'm not at all in the situation as him, Deuker was able to create such a realistic setting in this book that Nick's thoughts, feelings, and emotions were so easily transferred to the reader through the literature. Deuker also has great knowledge of the game of basketball and accurately cheoreographed the action scenes during the basketball game, a skill which many authors do not possess and therefore their stories lack a setting in which a real basketball player would know is realistic. Not only does Deuker keep the content up to par for a basketball player but he also keeps it easy enough to understand for someone who has never touched a basketball in their life. Overall this book was really complete and I would recommend this book to all my friends especially those who are passionate about sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    This is a great story for kids who love basketball.

    Nick Abbott is your average basketball sofpmore who decides to try out for the varsity team at Bothell High School. But just like the game, Nick's life has some twists Nick Abbott is a sophomore in high school and wants to be the star basketball player more than anything.
    He faces many problems in his life. For example, his parents are going through a divorce. Nicks dad also wants him to quit basetball and focus on his trumpet playing. Also, Nick has to face his angry neighbor, Trent Dawson, who is also on the basketball team. The two of them start to become friends as they practice playing basketball every night on Nick's backyard court. Nick joins the team with trent and they become friends. Nick and Trent begin to play basketball as a team and they win the championship. Trent also thanks Nick for helping out with his school work and his personal things about his brother. They become best friends.
    Nick starts to grow up in many ways on the court and off of it while he is dealing with his new life changes. The main message of the book is that it is very important to make adjustments during the course of a game, as well as, to learn that adjustments are important in life, too.
    This is a great novel about basketball and friendship. Night Hoops was a really great book and I recommend this to all kids and teens who love to play basketball. This is a great novel about basketball and friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    Nick Abbott wants his father's approval more than anything, but his brother Scott is always first in his father's eyes. Nick's father was a basketball star in high school, and he wants Scott to excel in that sport, but Scott just wants to play his trumpet. Nick's parents decide to go their separate ways, and the divorce is a big psychological problem for Nick, but he is determined to be a star on his high school basketball team and gain his father's approval.

    The boy that lives across the street, Trent Dawson, is an angry and disturbed young man who doesn't get along with anyone, but the boys gradually form a tense friendship as they practice in Nick's new backyard basketball court. Nick convinces Trent that he could be an important part of the squad if he would bring his grades up and try out for the team.

    Then Trent's brother shoots another boy and Trent feels compelled to go with his brother, who is in hiding. Nick's team is on the verge of a championship season, and with Trent's aggressiveness and Nick's leadership, they could win. Without Trent, the team may falter, and Nick is desperate to convince Trent to stay in school and on the team.

    Teen angst and the emotional strain of high school relationships are realistic within NIGHT HOOPS. The excitement and descriptions of the games are well written. Deuker is a master at characterization and delivering a story with escalating suspense as the boys deal with real problems. Even reluctant readers, and especially sports-minded boys, will enjoy this electrifying novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    An Engaging Read for Sports Fans

    In a town by the name of Bothell there is a family by the name of the Abbots. This family consists of a mother and father with marital problems. And 2 brothers, younger brother Nick, and Older brother Scott. That is both in high school and play basketball. Their father insisted on building a basketball court in the back yard. Their mother said that they couldn't build it, but the father decided to build it any way. The basketball court was a good thing for Nick because it helped him with his skills. But not for Scott he played the trumpet as well, but his father was very pushy for him to play basketball well. Ultimately Scott chose the trumpet and that displeased his father eventually causing the parents to get a divorce. Across the street for the Abbots were the Dawson's. There we two Dawson boys Trent who was Nicks age and Zach the older one. The Dawson boys were trouble, with their mom having many boyfriends, which had taken a toll on the boys. When school time came around Nick tried out for the basketball team. Strongly so did Trent. This is also where Nick met Luke, Luke ended up being a very good friend to Nick. But during tryouts Trent was very aggressive and no one liked him very much. Nick, Luke, and Trent all made the team. Steve Clay is the Dawson boy's mother current boyfriend has been giving provision by Mrs. Abbott to shoot hoops with Trent in the backyard. When December came nick was suppose to go on a basketball trip but didn't make the cut. By this time Steve clay has broken up with his girlfriend but Trent still came by at night to shoot hoops. When nick didn't go on the basketball trip Scott and his mom had left for a trip. So when Trent came by to shoot hoops Nick shot around with him. This is when Trent and Nick became good friends. Soon enough they had worked their way to star players on the varsity team winning the conference in a big game against Garfield.
    The major message from this book is that friendship is on of the most important things that you can have this life. I like this book because of this message, it shows a very good transformation of Trent. He goes from bully to a not so bad and nice kid. It shows how people learn to apply themselves and succeed under the worst circumstances. The only dislike of this book for me is that Nick's father was somewhat of a jerk in the sense that Nick could never make him happy until he was the only one in the family playing basketball.
    I think that someone should definitely read this book if they are into sports and understand certain sports analogies, also if they like a good story line. Another book i can recommend is Phil Jackson's book about his last season with the Lakers because of its basketball content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    night hoops by carl dueker

    This book started off good, there wasn`t really a dull moment in the book. I like how this book is about a kid who makes the high school basketball team. Eventhough his neighbor slash enemy made the team too. The book is about how he and that kid get through the season together. I liked how the book was full of action and there were no boring parts in it. There were things I would have thought would never happen, but they did. I liked how the book ended, it was a very good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    good book

    Night Hoops, by Carl Deuker, Sports Fiction This book is about a kid who makes the high school basketball team. Unfortunately, his neighbor/ enemy made the team too. The book is about how he and that kid get through the season. I liked how the book was full of action and there were no boring parts in it. There was stuff in it that I would have thought would never happen, but they did. I liked how the book ended, it was very surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    OMG THiS BOOK WAS GREAT! i WAS HOOKED FROM THE START. iF YOU LOVE BASKETBALL ''LiKE ME'' AND TEEN FiCTiON, DEFiNATELY READ THiS BOOK. i HAD TO READ iT FOR SUMMER READiNG, BUT i WOULD READ iT EVEN iF i DiDN'T HAVE TO. AWESOME BOOK...ONE OF THE BEST iVE EVER READ! XOXOX

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    michaels amazing review

    Carl Deuker¿s fourth book for young adults is another winner filled with fast paced action and surprises all along the way. Night Hoops is a fantastic book for sports lovers and Mike Lupica fans. All four of his books were nominated for ALA best book for young adults. Nick Abbot always thought of Trent Dawson as a punk or a thug who was always getting himself into deep trouble. But when Nick Abbot only wants to make it on the school basketball team at school. But so is Trent Dawson and Nick tries to learn more about him than his family saying that Trent is a bad influence because his brother gets into to much trouble and his mom is a bad influence. But Nick doesn¿t care what he hears because when the coach tells him to help Trent or sit on the bench he decides to keep his spot on the team and become friends with Trent. While trying to figure this out Nick needs to show his family the same thing. But it gets harder to do when Trent makes a big mistake and Nick needs to help Trent see his mistake. By the end of Night Hoops you will see the friendship that Nick and Trent have becomes stronger than ever. It will keep you thinking hard about this book from front to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Earning Pride Takes Hard Work

    Night Hoops by Carl Deuker is an outstanding book. Nick lives with hid only brother and his mom and dad. Later on, Nick¿s mom and dad argue too much and they divorced. Nick¿s mom got the right to take her kids and her husband moved into an apartment. There¿s one thing the family had all in common ,which is they all love basketball. Nick¿s brother is in band though and plays the trumpet after school with his girlfriend. Nick, only a sophomore, gets the dream of a lifetime because he gets on the Greenbriar Varsity basketball squad. His neighbor, Trent, is also on the varsity but he struggles to get his grades up and he eventually does. Trent¿s brother, Zach is accused of shooting someone. He misses practices a lot as he deals with his problems. Nick decides to let him come over at night to his house and shoot hoops. Nick and Trent were arch enemies but on the court they somehow bond together. They help each other face their problems as they try to finish a successful basketball season. I thought this book was really good and I couldn¿t get my eyes off it. I was rushing to finish each page to see what is going to happen next. The book was pretty interesting ,although the middle part of the book seemed a little blasé. The middle of the book was just about every game that was played. You would like this book if you enjoy sports novels or liked the Matt Christopher books but there¿s more vocabulary that the Matt Christopher books. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who¿s from the age of eleven to sixteen. There¿s no mistakes or flaws in this book and there¿s no confusing parts that seem to leave you hanging. This is the best book I¿ve read yet. Night Hoops isn¿t a part of a series but I wish there was because I would like to read more and more about. This would relate to any sports book of Matt Christopher¿s about basketball. This book is intense and seems never ending. I hope you get the chance to read this extraordinary book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A real page turner!

    This book was a great book! I read it over my vacation and I couldn't stop reading it. On some nights I stayed up until two in the morning because I couldn't put it down. It deals mostly with unlikely friendships and sports but it also has other issues. Night Hoops is very detailed and catches your attention very quickly. I got hooked on the book at the second chapter. I recommend this book to anyone. I highly doubt any reader will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2