Customer Reviews for

Night Life (Nocturne City Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

tense gritty police procedural urban fantasy

Nocturne City Police Detective Luna Wilder, a werewolf, leads the investigation into the mutilated murder of a prostitute. Luna knows no one besides her cares about some lowlife Jane Doe hooker even though dark magic was involved. After learning the victim¿s name is L...
Nocturne City Police Detective Luna Wilder, a werewolf, leads the investigation into the mutilated murder of a prostitute. Luna knows no one besides her cares about some lowlife Jane Doe hooker even though dark magic was involved. After learning the victim¿s name is Lilia, Luna finds clues leading to were-biker Dmitri Sandovsky as the killer. When a second murder occurs similar to the first with dark magic again, Luna is stunned to find the son of the District Attorney at the crime scene. He being an untouchable and she being a werewolf leads to her suspension. However, a forced leave of absence does not prevent Luna from investigating because she knows the killer is not finished as there is more to these homicides than meets the eye. At the same time alpha werewolf Dmitri is fuming as he knew both dead females and he plans to kill their predator. He and Luna team up trying to track down the culprit. --- NIGHT LIFE is a tense gritty police procedural urban fantasy that grips the audience from the onset by insuring the paranormal species seem genuine part of achieving this is an X-Man like prejudice that Luna receives from mortals. The investigation is entertaining as it provides the duality of chasing after a serial killer while also taking the reader on a tour of Nocturne City. Caitlin Kittredge provides a dark crime caper set in an urban center in which humans and supernaturals distrusting co-exist side by side. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Night Life Proves an above average foray into Urban Fantasy.

This book has character. Romance, Violance, Magic, Attitude. Think Faith (from the Buffy the vampire slayer) meets Law and Order SVU. She's tough, opinionated, stubborn, and independent. It is the first novel in the Nocturne City series and has an average lead chara...
This book has character. Romance, Violance, Magic, Attitude. Think Faith (from the Buffy the vampire slayer) meets Law and Order SVU. She's tough, opinionated, stubborn, and independent. It is the first novel in the Nocturne City series and has an average lead character Luna Wilder with potential. I believe The strongest point in the book are the characters surrounding Luna, and the mythology the author is developing.

If you read Urban fantasy a detective with an affinity for the full moon is not uncommon. However, I really liked the werewolf mythology created in the book. It is a classic concept but there are intricicies that aren't commonly found. I was disapointed there wasn't more of a back story. Luna's affliction is skated over as well as her attempt to control it. Even though there is a lot information on her attempting to deal with it both physically and mentally there isn't a lot of explination defining it. Don't get me wrong, there are glimpses into the past but I fell the author assumes too much in the first novel. I do think this will be rectified in future novels.

I found it an interesting read, but it was obivous the author was working into this character as well as the surrounding characters. I haven't completed the series, but I see a lot of build up. I see really good things possibly happening in next novels. This is great rainey day reading if you enjoy the genre.

posted by TSmoker on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night Life Proves an above average foray into Urban Fantasy.

    This book has character. Romance, Violance, Magic, Attitude. Think Faith (from the Buffy the vampire slayer) meets Law and Order SVU. She's tough, opinionated, stubborn, and independent. It is the first novel in the Nocturne City series and has an average lead character Luna Wilder with potential. I believe The strongest point in the book are the characters surrounding Luna, and the mythology the author is developing.

    If you read Urban fantasy a detective with an affinity for the full moon is not uncommon. However, I really liked the werewolf mythology created in the book. It is a classic concept but there are intricicies that aren't commonly found. I was disapointed there wasn't more of a back story. Luna's affliction is skated over as well as her attempt to control it. Even though there is a lot information on her attempting to deal with it both physically and mentally there isn't a lot of explination defining it. Don't get me wrong, there are glimpses into the past but I fell the author assumes too much in the first novel. I do think this will be rectified in future novels.

    I found it an interesting read, but it was obivous the author was working into this character as well as the surrounding characters. I haven't completed the series, but I see a lot of build up. I see really good things possibly happening in next novels. This is great rainey day reading if you enjoy the genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    not loving nocturne city

    The author attempts to weave a dangerous preternaturally-aware world into the fabric of the story. Although she describes Nocturne City well enough, it somehow falls short of the landscapes created by Ilona Andrews or Lilith Saintcrow. I fail to see how Luna, the heroine, can fall for the love interest, Dmitri Sandovsky, who is basically a pimp. The book is too cut and dry for my taste, but then I am being overly harsh after reading this right after Hamilton's Blood Noir.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tense gritty police procedural urban fantasy

    Nocturne City Police Detective Luna Wilder, a werewolf, leads the investigation into the mutilated murder of a prostitute. Luna knows no one besides her cares about some lowlife Jane Doe hooker even though dark magic was involved. After learning the victim¿s name is Lilia, Luna finds clues leading to were-biker Dmitri Sandovsky as the killer. When a second murder occurs similar to the first with dark magic again, Luna is stunned to find the son of the District Attorney at the crime scene. He being an untouchable and she being a werewolf leads to her suspension. However, a forced leave of absence does not prevent Luna from investigating because she knows the killer is not finished as there is more to these homicides than meets the eye. At the same time alpha werewolf Dmitri is fuming as he knew both dead females and he plans to kill their predator. He and Luna team up trying to track down the culprit. --- NIGHT LIFE is a tense gritty police procedural urban fantasy that grips the audience from the onset by insuring the paranormal species seem genuine part of achieving this is an X-Man like prejudice that Luna receives from mortals. The investigation is entertaining as it provides the duality of chasing after a serial killer while also taking the reader on a tour of Nocturne City. Caitlin Kittredge provides a dark crime caper set in an urban center in which humans and supernaturals distrusting co-exist side by side. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    That awkward moment..

    ..when you realize you won't be finishing the book you paid $6.99 for because it's TERRIBLE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Do not waste your money

    All the negative reviews are right on target.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Was disapointed

    This author has quite a few books out so I had high hopes for this one...at least I did not waste any money on it. Wont be buying any in the future.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hardcore female love it!!!

    This book is a real good book at first it was a little slow but it picks up after a couple of chapters. The reviews on the book helped me continue when I wanted to put to the side and start another book. At the end I am over thrilled that I did continue. READ THIS BOOK thats all I can say!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Howling Good Book

    This book is very interesting; as soon as you pick it up, you won't want to put it down. The minute you finish it, you'll be dying to buy the rest of the series; it's that juicy.
    The book is from the first person view of Luna Wilder, a cocky, independent homicide detective who's keeping one secret from her entire precinct: She's a werewolf. In Nocturne City, werewolf packs range all over, caster and blood witches perform in their homes, and black magic is thick in the air.
    There is profanity in this book, but I enjoy the thrill of knowing the author isn't afraid to put the words out there; it really brings the character more to life. A fair warning, there is a sex scene towards the end of the book, and it is quite graphic. Personally, I rather like those parts in books -my mind is not the cleanest- and I like how the author just puts the characters out there, and writes so descriptively.
    This is a very good book for teens and young adults who like werewolves and the thrill of the chase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why was this published?

    To sum: In general characters are themselves, but all main characters posess some redeeming virtue that allows readers to love them. That is not true in this book. The main character is unpleasant to be around in most every situation with very little rationalization or reasoning to support her behavior. The main love interest is a glorified pimp and drug dealer. Luna doesnt even manage to be a decent member of the force. Other than illogical character actions and a bizarre number of plot holes, there is nothing here worth discovering. Fans of fantasy/urban paranormal/supernatural mysteries or even a nice romance would be much better served by authors like Kelley Armstrong, Lilith Saintcrow, Ilona Andrews, Kim Harrison, early LKH, and Patricia Briggs. Pick something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    Good Series Starter

    Luna Wilder is an Insoli, a werewolf without a pack. This is a rough place to be, no one to help explain what's going on, magic to make you more powerful, and the target of werepacks. If that was not enough to keep her on her toes, she is also a homicide detective. She starts out getting called into the murder of a prostitute that was a were. Soon, there are a couple other murders that turn up the son of a politician.

    Luna finds herself in a political fight where next thing she knows, she is on suspension, fired, and scum bag detective is taking her cases. But she doesn't let that stop her from finding the killer and why he is taking lives. The same thing has happened at least twice before and she is determined to stop it. With the help of her witch sister and a local packs alpha, she goes on the hunt.

    This is the first of the Nocturne City and you can tell that it is a little rough around the edges. But it is still a good story with potential. I do have to say it gets a little old that no matter what Luna does, she always seems to run face first into danger. But the fact that she doesn't really have anyone to trust or help her beyond her sister Sunny, it makes a little more sense. I recommend this book. It is a little rough, but still worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Bad editing...good potential

    The concept for this book is very promising. However, the execution leaves much to be desired. I loved the story - it was very entertaining. Unfortunately, there were several spelling errors 'mudering?' and the story did not always flow 'Luna wishes she had a gun and then on the next page she falls and loses the gun. Huh?'. If you can avoid being distracted by all the misspellings and continuity problems, you could actually enjoy the story. This is my first time reading this author. The story has enough promise that I may give her another try. Hopefully the next book in the series had a better editor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    So-so

    This book started out great, excitement, intrigue...then it went downhill. The heroine had a chip on her shoulder the entire book, the 'hero' was a flake who lamented the loss of his 'mate' 'yet pimped her out?!'. And I didn't find him very sexy at that 'wiry red head, ugh'. Sunny didn't do much for me either. It will have to be a slow week for me to read the next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Easily one of the worst books I've read. I truly have no idea ho

    Easily one of the worst books I've read. I truly have no idea how this woman managed to publish 1 book, let alone a dozen.

    The writing was disjointed. I don't think this book was ever looked over by an editor, there were so many inconsistencies, spelling errors, grammatical mistakes etc.

    The characters were so 1 dimensional and most of the time it was hard to tell what motivated their actions. The cousin is supposed to be this balanced, light witch, who was compassionate enough to leave with Luna when their grandmother kicked her out. Yet throughout the book she acts like a nasty, spoiled 15 year old.

    Dmitri is the leader a bike/werewolf gang. Who is not only homeless, but a drug dealer and pimp. Not a great main romantic interest. He's pretty much psychotic, flying off in a rage at the slightest provocation. Except (spoiler) when his entire pack is slaughtered, then he barely makes a peep. There's no scene of him howling his rage at losing his entire pack. He's just all "Oh, gee I wonder if my sister's still alive, La De Da." The sex scene in the book I also, frankly, found to be strange and off-putting.

    Luna was an ok character. Definitely the best of the bunch, but still underdeveloped. I feel there should have been more background. I found the story behind her becoming a werewolf to be very thin and not well thought out. I would imagine that in that world packs would have rules against biting random people who didn't want to become werewolves. Yet the guy who bit her just expected her to immediately join his pack? Why would you bite some random chick you were having a one night stand with, knowing you'd be stuck with her forever?

    I didn't like how she portrayed most of the supernatural community as squatters and bums. Especially how most wolf packs were homeless biker gangs, yet the werewolves were organized enough to have a council that rules over all the packs in the world. It just doesn't make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A must-read for urban fantasy/detective fans.

    Get the whole series-you won't want to interrupt your reading! Believable, likable characters, a strong female lead who isn't too perfect to be 'real', vivid detail without becoming verbose, all in a brisk plot that revvs to a breakneck pace at times. Hold on tight, its a great ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    You must check it out!!

    I really enjoy reading this book. I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes or love reading about werewolves or witches. I would read more books by this author if like or love author like her. I would recommend this book to a book club to read and have a book discussion on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    Good Read, nice twists. Will Continue.

    None.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    At the scene of the crime

    This book is filled with who did the crime & mixture of weres and two sides of witches thrown in a hot pursuit to find out who is friend or foe. For those who love to follow the investigation & catch the suspect with some paranormal drop in this is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Slow at the start but becomes a great read

    This book was a little slow in the beginning, but after some chapters it picks up and turns out to be an awesome book, can't wait for the next one to come out. I am totally drawn into these books now. It should be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Brazenly Exciting!

    I absolutely loved this book. It has a dark feel of it. Can't wait to see what happens next for Luna and Dmitri.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Good Start to a New Series

    Luna is a Werewolf and a Cop with a chip on her shoulder, she is hunting a serial killer that may be the work of a Demon. She also travels with out a pack. She has a suspect in Dmitri Sandovsky, pack leader of a clan of Redback Werewolves. She decides he isn't the killer and he helps her hunt the Demon/Serial Killer? There are Witches and Black Magicians that prowl the streets at night in Nocture City and perhaps in the sequel we will learn more about the world that Luna lives in. Luna also has a roommate, her cousin Sunny, a blood Witch, and a Scary Grandmother, another Blood Witch, and her Grandmother doesn't seem to be to fond of Luna. I enjoyed this book, but I wish more wolfing would have gone on, and I will read the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7