Customer Reviews for

The Night Listener

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Borrow Only

    It started off with the promise of a good story and ended with much less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Fooled me once--shame on you!

    The cover suggests that this novel is about an abused boy, dying from AIDS, who befriends a radio personality that he's never met, and that the plot twists will keep you enthralled. Unfortunately, that story only accounts for about 25% of the book. The rest is about the narrator's life as a gay man, including several graphic descriptions of sexual acts. If that interests you, buy the book. If, however, the ostensible plot attracts you (and it's actually a very interesing story), borrow the book and read the real-life account at the back. It's only about thirty pages, and it's much better than the novelized version.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    The Seduction by a Bejeweled Elephant

    Refreshingly, now and then a book reminds us what the art of telling stories is all about. Maupin's success in the field of novel birthing does just that ...and so very much more. THE NIGHT LISTENER is a FINE mystery/love story/reminiscence and as such it is difficult to stop turning the pages, so involved is the unwinding of the tale. But to my eyes and mind this book is so much more than just a well-told tale complete with allegory and metaphor. This book studies the achingly long, ever-present clash of father/son relationships. Whether concocted as an adoptive father in search of a needy youth as in this book, or just examining the way all men are challenged by this complicated love/hate, approach/avoid, mimic/revolt interaction we live through as sons and subsequently as fathers, Maupin serves us a study of one of the core dilemmas we face. And as for the structure of this immensely rewarding novel, Maupin has given us the choices to determine our own resolutions about his beautifully drawn characters. In the early pages of the book he admits that his way of relating stories is always altered by flights of fancy, or 'bejeweling an elephant' that his tale takes us on such a kaleidoscopic ride is enhanced by his starting out with this sort of honesty. And in truth, isn't this the way we all electively distort history as we relate it.... to fulfill our hope and fantasies of how we actually exist? Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Shell Game

    This book brings to mind a shell game or the puzzle of opening a box only to find a smaller box, followed by successive smaller and smaller boxes. The story follows the thoughts, insecurites and sexual exploits of a moody gay man. Staying with the book page after page in order to garner the outcome of a teenage radio listener with aids finds the reader opening the last small box at the end only to find it empty. The story finally (mercifully) ends abruptly and you realize that you were duped by the author. The carrot (teenage boy plotline) was merely dangled to keep the reader from closing the book sooner. An implied promise that the storyline contains something besides the gay character and the author on a soapbox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Good book to have.

    It was very good book. It was worth of buying it, the only thing that dissapointed me it was the ending. I wanted to know more about what happened latter, was that boy really a fiction?? I think the ending was a litle weak, but overall i enjoyed this book. Great buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Hodgepodge Mess

    Premise was enticing so I bought it. Started not liking it about halfway through but kept going expecting it would all come together (based on reviews of the book). Felt like I'd wasted my time when I finished. Never read anything by him before and, after this, never will again. Creepy too, and not in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MAUPIN S PROSE IS ENTHRALLING - HIS VOICE ARRESTING

    While the movie version of The Night Listener certainly didn't set any box office records, for this listener the audio rates high largely because of the affecting narration provided by author Armistead Maupin. This is a poignant story of a man who feels lost and unloved, and Maupin reads it with insight, illuminating the fears and doubts that possess protagonist Gabriel Noone. Gabriel comes to life at night - he's a Manhattan based late hours radio host, Noone At Night. He's also a gay man who has broken up with his partner, Jess. After finding himself evidently free of the AIDS virus Jess wants more in life than he is finding with Gabriel. While Gabriel only wanted Jess. Especially vulnerable due to an abusive father who publicly ridiculed him and would never recognize his homosexuality, Gabriel is depressed and feels useless. He seeks to assuage that feeling by connecting with a young fan, Pete Lomax, who lives in Wisconsin. Pete has suffered as much or more than Gabriel at the hands of physically abusive parents, and now in a struggle with AIDS. The two, Gabriel and Pete, quickly develop a warm, supportive father/son relationship all by telephone. Gabriel, of course, again feels needed. Eventually, Gabriel decides to go to Wisconsin to see Pete. What he finds there is totally unexpected. Those who enjoyed Tales of the City will once again find themselves enthralled by Maupin's prose. His voice is icing on the cake. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    new timer to maupin

    Having never read a Maupin novel before, I approached this one without expectations. I enjoyed it completely, completing it in three sittings. A page turner! Caution: there is adult language and content. Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Wonderfully crafted story!!

    Recommended by an old high school friend (we are about to turn 50...), Night Listener proved to be a gem. Not just a page turner, either, though it certainly is that. Maupin has observant insights that reminded me why I so enjoyed his Tales of the City series years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    twists and turns

    I really enjoyed this book, he takes thru every emotion that you can think that possible one person could handle. Highly recommend this book,can't wait for his next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    WOW! I loved this book!

    The only bad thing about this book is that it ended. I love a book that makes me think. I can't stop thinking about all the clues that led the the various surprises at the end. I recommend this to anyone who likes a story with a twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Simply WONDERFUL!

    I loved this book! Maupin did a wonderful job of telling this tale. The twists and turns kept coming the entire way throughout the book and I found myself unable to put it down. I read the Tales of the City series several years ago because they were recommended by a friend of mine back east. He knew I was relocating to San Francisco and thought I would enjoy the stories...and boy did I ever! I have to admit I wasn't able to really get into Maupin's 'Maybe the Moon' and didn't know whether or not I would enjoy 'The Night Listener.' I'm SO glad that I gave it a chance or I would have missed out on what has turned out to be one of my favorite books ever! Thanks Maupin...and keep the stories coming..I'm hungry for more more more! In fact, I think I'm going to go and try to read 'Maybe the Moon' again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    DISAPPOINTED

    LOVE HIS WORK, BUT THIS WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT, HOPE THINGS WILL IMPROVE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Doesn't compare

    I bought Night Listener, because I will read anything written by A.Maupin. If you are an avid fan, this will disappoint. Though I believe it not to be his best, I hope he continues to create. I will definitely give him 1, 2, 3, 4, or even 5 chances to redeem himself. If Maupin has been recommended to you, start with the 'City' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2002

    Armistead Maupin Continues to Perpetrate Fraud With His Latest 'Novel'.

    .In 1993 either Paul Monette or Armistead Maupin (perhaps in concert) concocted a book claiming to be the true autobiography of an abused, aids-inflicted young teen-ager named, allegedly, Tony Johnson. The book was named ' A Rock and a Hard Place.' The book jacket came garlanded with ribbons of praise from confederates such as Fred Rogers, Marva Collins,and (of course) Armistead Maupin. Unfortunately, not a single word in the book was true. The putative author, despite extensive investigation on my part, was uncovered by no-one who had ever seen the bogus rascal, not even his agent, or his 'very best friend,' Paul Monette. The book was obviously a cruel hoax written for unknown reasons, perhaps pecuniary or social. The Pirandellian denouement is that Maupin has now produced a novel which recapitulates my role in trying to unmask the fraud, and confesses at the end that the Tony Johnson book was a hoax. So, what we have here, in The Silent Listener, is a novel claimed to be fictional based on an autobiography claimed to be true, which was, in fact, entirely fictional. Those of you out there tempted to buy the book may not wish to entrust yourself to the manipulation of such a deceitful writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    Funny, touching, introspective, honest

    I tried reading 'Tales' and never really could get into it. But this one is different. When I laughed out loud, in the store on page 2, I knew I had to own this book. It was like reading about people I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    the night listener changed my life

    IT ROX!!!!!! this book kix BUTT(ok i can't say WHAT I WANT 2) i used to never EVER read 4 pleasure now i do it all the time THIS BOOK IS AWESOME 4 REAL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2000

    Simply Incredible

    Armistead Maupin has hit another home run with this fine and intriguing novel. His latest story is by turns thoughtful, humorous, suspenseful, and provocative. Maupin takes a facinating premise and creates a moving story which involves fact and fiction while exploring the gray, and often blurry, line between the two. This novel is different in its tone and structure from the Tales of the City series. It's more serious and a little darker...but no less interesting. A MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    It WAS worth the wait

    Mr. Maupin has an almost magical gift of making characters believable through naturally flowing dialogue and plot progression. The book was NOT like 'Tales of the City' by any means. It was darker, almost spooky at times. However, there was the immediate affinity to the main characters which was typical Maupin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Great

    I was amazed when I found out that Armistad wrote another novel. I did love Tales of the City and I really liked this novel! The story was great and I was happy to see that he brought back Anna and Edgar. It brought back a little piece of home from Tales! Read this book, It will definitely hold your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2