BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Night Owls

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Debut worth reading! It is: Thrilling. Good book for

Exceptional Debut worth reading! It is: Thrilling. Good book for: Book Clubs, Rainy Days, Gift Giving and Permanent Libraries. Can't wait for book 2 come out by this Author.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

There is nothing obviously wrong with this book. The plot is pr

There is nothing obviously wrong with this book. The plot is pretty quick and it walks a fine line between being familiar enough not to scare people off while being new enough that it should keep you interesting. The characters involved are realistic enough that you b...
There is nothing obviously wrong with this book. The plot is pretty quick and it walks a fine line between being familiar enough not to scare people off while being new enough that it should keep you interesting. The characters involved are realistic enough that you believe that they could exist in this insane situation. And this is one of the only times recently that I have read a book in which vampires are treated in a way that is intelligent and doesn't make me want to hurl. All that being said this book just doesn't jell. There's nothing about it that says why I couldn't get into it because it has all the write ingredients, and the writing isn't bad, but somehow it just doesn't work well enough to make it a good book.

posted by 9544829 on April 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Enjoyed it.

    I enjoyed it. A slightly different take on vampires, werewolves, and monster hunter societies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Exceptional Debut worth reading! It is: Thrilling. Good book for

    Exceptional Debut worth reading! It is: Thrilling. Good book for: Book Clubs, Rainy Days, Gift Giving and Permanent Libraries.
    Can't wait for book 2 come out by this Author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    There is nothing obviously wrong with this book. The plot is pr

    There is nothing obviously wrong with this book. The plot is pretty quick and it walks a fine line between being familiar enough not to scare people off while being new enough that it should keep you interesting. The characters involved are realistic enough that you believe that they could exist in this insane situation. And this is one of the only times recently that I have read a book in which vampires are treated in a way that is intelligent and doesn't make me want to hurl. All that being said this book just doesn't jell. There's nothing about it that says why I couldn't get into it because it has all the write ingredients, and the writing isn't bad, but somehow it just doesn't work well enough to make it a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Dragonclaw

    That was a typeo i said i hope you eat deathberries owlface

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Owlface

    Its funny how you say"ichopecyou"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

        In the new series by Lauren M. Roy, the main characters, Ell

        In the new series by Lauren M. Roy, the main characters, Elly and Val are as different as night and day 
    but they are both Night Owls. Eleanor has grown up under the tutelage and care of Father Value, a black 
    sheep member of the mysterious Brotherhood. Elly’s entire life has been a lesson in survival. Father Value
     taught her to fight and ultimately how to destroy the evil supernatural beings known as Jackals (which 
    reminded me of a variant of werewolf). When Father Value is murdered by a Jackal over possession of an 
    ancient and magical book, Elly’s first instinct is to steal it back. With her mentor gone, Elly has no place to turn 
    except the home of a former member of the Brotherhood and friend of her foster father. With the Jackals in hot 
    pursuit, Elly runs to the community of Edgewood where she hopes she can hide the book. Valerie McTeague 
    owns a bookstore in the same town named Night Owls. Val, a recluse vampire, caters to the late night college 
    crowd. When Elly’s contact brings the mysterious volume to Night Owls for safe keeping, it‘s placed in the
     locked rare book room. The Jackals sniff out its location, igniting a chain of events that causes these two 
    women’s paths to collide and sets the stage for a supernatural showdown of epic proportions. 

    I took this book on vacation with me and I was totally absorbed. Lauren M. Roy’s debut is terrific, and I am 
    already impatient to continue reading the next in her new series featuring these two charismatic ladies. Elly 
    is my favorite. On one hand she is the ultimate killing machine and the other she is a socially awkward young
     lady who has never known what it’s like to just be “normal”. Val is cool, compassionate and completely 
    badass. She has a close relationship with her human servant, Chaz, but one clouded with secrets. Their 
    relationship was well written, but Chaz was the weakest component of this story for me. Although he is loyal 
    and protective of Val, it took me most of the book before I finally warmed up to him. Val’s other interesting 
    associates include lesbian succubi, leaders of a group of Boston Vampires known as the Stregoi, and Cavale,
     a warlock with a mysterious past. These characters added layers of amusement, volatility, and promise to the
     mix. I really enjoyed sharing this adventure with these ladies and their cohorts and look forward to more to 
    come. If Night Owls were a real bookstore, I would apply for a job immediately just so I wouldn't miss any of the
     excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    To kailey

    Go to tiger mother

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    To ellie

    Hey, im dillion. I am a dancer. I am 14 years old. Brown hair and green eyes. You sound really pretty. I hope we can talk somtime. Tell me if you wanns talk in a diffrent res so that u can have mutiple conversations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    To Ellie

    I am usally stuck in awkward moments

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    To Ellie from Trey

    Hi Im single

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Kailye

    : )So tell me bout yourself?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    CALLING ALL NIGHT OWLS!

    DO U STAY UP LATE??? DO U ONLY RP AT NIGHT???? THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU! RE TWO IS BIOS! RE THREE IS MAIN CAMP! RE FOUR IS GIRLS DORM! RE FIVE IS BOYS DORM! RE SIX IS MY PLACE! BE ANYONE OR ANYTHING YOU WANT! MRS ARIANA JOHNSON!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Well done A debut worth reading!

    A debut worth reading! The narrative was well-paced and the characters complex, yet accessible. I highly recommend the book and I eagerly await thnext indtallment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle *eARC rece

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle
    *eARC received from the Publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    --Actual rating 3.5 Skulls

    Night Owls takes place in a semi-closed society. Our heroine, Val, a bookstore owner who used to be a Hunter (and is a vampire), tries to
    exist quietly with her Renfield Chaz and a group of unlikely allies, a couple of succubi, 2 ex Brotherhood members, and a human until a
    group of vicious, bloodthirsty Jackals come to town and the entire gang must go on the offensive. 

    The book was well written, it had delightful characters, interesting world building, fun dialogue, and some cool twists. Did I love it? No. Was
    it worth the read. Certainly. 

    Miss Roy deserves kudos for coming into a genre so steeped in material that it is hard to find something unique with exactly that, some
    new material. She also takes us back to the old days of Urban Fantasy where there really was no romance. It was all about the world, the
    characters and the story arc. 

    Even though I personally didn't love it, it was very enjoyable and looks to be an exciting start to a great new urban fantasy series. I'll
    definitely tune in for book #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1