Customer Reviews for

Night Passage (Jesse Stone Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Crisp, Interesting, and Speedy Read

The main character, Jesse Stone, is a believable fallen hero. I loved the witty and concise dialogue and the mixture of suspense and romance. This book is well written despite it being such an easy read. I recommend this if you are looking for relaxed entertainment.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

NO SAMPLE ! ! !

So this book sounded interesting, so, the thing to do...... Read the free sample....... RIGHT ? ? WRONG ! ! ! The " free sample" consists of ..... 14 pages of media reviews and a 15th page.... The books cover ! ! ! Now I'm not interested . NO S

posted by 7671286 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Crisp, Interesting, and Speedy Read

    The main character, Jesse Stone, is a believable fallen hero. I loved the witty and concise dialogue and the mixture of suspense and romance. This book is well written despite it being such an easy read. I recommend this if you are looking for relaxed entertainment.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Jesse Stone series renewed my interest in Robert B Parker.

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I am an avid mystery reader but became interested in this series after seeing one of the books that was made in to a TV movie. Couldn't put the book down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    NO SAMPLE ! ! !

    So this book sounded interesting, so, the thing to do...... Read the free sample....... RIGHT ? ? WRONG ! ! ! The " free sample" consists of ..... 14 pages of media reviews and a 15th page.... The books cover ! ! ! Now I'm not interested . NO S

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite but a quick read....

    Those of you who have read other reviews know that I stumbled upon an old tupperware tub in my house filled with old books belonging to myself and my husband. I have since read a few of Robert Parker's novels, and again, this is my first read of NIGHT PASSAGE.

    Coming from Massachusetts, I love taking quick trips back home through Robert Parker's characters. And when I only have time for a few chapters, his writing works for me.

    The problem with this book is that I expected more. I think that I have read enough of Mr. Parker to begin to favor some books over others. Some reviewers have said that they were sick of listening to ex-spouses express their undying love for each other while on the telephone at night, sharing a drink. I tend to agree. That became old rather quickly. I too, wish Mr. Parker had spent more time putting more detail in what could have been an even greater detective book. I would have understood more if this was the first book he had written, but I felt that he penned it rather quickly and sent it along for publication without giving it much thought.

    That said, I read this book in about 3 days and did enjoy it as a fluffy, fast paced, short chapter read.

    J.R. Reardon
    author, CONFIDENTIAL COMMUNICATIONS

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    An easy read that holds your attention

    Good characters, particularly Jesse Stone. The small town feel is very accurate, with many sub-plots to hold your interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Convinced!

    The first book in this series has convinced me to read more of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Silverstar

    She stalks a squirrel, but before she reaches it, it scampers away. She sighs why were so many memories flooding through her head: When she had become Windheart's mate, her three kits that were now warriors, the day Windheart went to Starclan, loosing one of her closest friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Not the same as the movie, but still good story and character development.

    My husband and I became interested in the movies, so I decided to read the book. The story is great but different from the movie. I think I really like the movie characters, and it is hard to loose some essential aspects of the movie when reading the book. Should be the other way around. Still I think the book is fun and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Parker At His Best

    As a big fan of the Spenser novels, Night Passage is Robert Parker at his best. The character of Jesse Stone is complicated and conflicted and the story line makes you want to continue reading to its conclusion and then will make you want to read more. Night Passage is the first of the Jesse Stone Series and after reading it, I've since purchased and read all of Parker's Jesse Stone Series books. They are quick reads, entertaining and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    enjoyed it

    will be reading the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Smooth and relaxed Reading

    When I read each of these Jesse Stone books I always sense the easy going style of the character of the small town Police Chief, as played by Tom Selleck, in the previous TV Movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Recommend

    If you have seem the Jesse Stone series starring Tom Selleck and liked it, you'll enjoy this book. It's characters are well developed and it's a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I am a long time Parker fan, and upon seeing an ad for the Jesse

    I am a long time Parker fan, and upon seeing an ad for the Jesse Stone series, I set about reading and acquiring them. I enjoy Parker's skill at character creation. Flawed, but with a code that makes them do the right thing, and the hard thing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Good writing

    255 pages I enjoyed the story and will read more of the series. It helps to have seen some of the tv shows so you have face with the name. Tom Selleck plays him well. Good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Good easy Ready

    As an ex-cop, I thoroughly enjoyed the book/story. I have been reading the "Jesse Stone" series and enjoy them. There is alot about him that reflects cops. They are tough to be married to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Great stuff Maynard!

    OK. I admit I only read this because I caught the television movie with Tom Selleck and liked the character. The movie followed the book pretty well, and the book is really kind of cinematic. Having worked my way through other detective fiction serials, it's nice to find another series of books that look promising. I'll probably work my way through the rest of the them because this was a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    excellent

    I have to admit "visualizing" Tom Selleck as Jesse Stone made it even more delightful. good story, good flow to it, a little too much bed hopping too early in Jesse's arrival to Paradise. All in all I am moving forward; started reading Trouble in Paradise and almost finished and ready to move to Death in Paradise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3