Customer Reviews for

Night Play (Dark-Hunter Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 713 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Would you like some book crack?

    Welcome to some grade A book crack!! Really, there isn't much more to say about this book. I devoured it in a few sweet hours and was ready to hop onto the next hunky piece of man meat in the dark hunter series. This whole series is nothing more than simple book crack and I love it! Every book in this series, so far, has held onto the same basic plot line - hunky tortured male falls in love with insecure woman. Can she love him back? Is he worthy? Is she worthy? How will their love survive? What the hell is up with the sexy piece of flesh named Acheron? See, it's the same thing over and over again, but man does it make for some great relaxing reading.

    What's different about Night Play - not much. OK, so the lead male character Vane isn't a Dark-Hunter, but he is a Were-Hunter Wolf. No matter what Vane is in the story, these guys are all the same, usually immortal hunks with a tortured past that are amazed to fine themselves drawn to these modern day women. The best change in this book is the plus sized heroine, Bride. It was a nice change compared to having believe that Barbie doesn't have a love life and needs a hunky man to help repair her self-esteem, pleeease. Give me a story about a real woman any day, and all the more better that she gets to play sex kitten with the hot love stallion.

    You almost can't go wrong with this series. Yes, some books are way better than others. No, the reading isn't strenuous or thought provoking. Yes, the series should be read in order, but you could probably manage just fine picking up any of them and reading it solely. My recommendation: Pick up the book, get into your favorite reading spot, grab some coffee, and relax with some simple reading. You won't regret the series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    my favorite book

    I love this book and have read mutliple times...I like the fact that Bride isn't a skinny mini and Vane loves her no matter what size she is...I hope Sherrilyn has some more plus size love interest for these hunky men!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For girls who like their guys to go 'Grr'

    This is by far one of my favorites out of the Dark-Hunters series. I absolutely love Vane and Bride.

    This movie will have you wooting as Vane proves to the world that thin doesn't always mean beautiful. You find yourself wishing you were Bride as Vane defends her from a @sshole ex in the most hilarious ways.

    Watch as this wily wolf works his way into your heart and your permanent book collection!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite Dark-Hunter books!

    Vane and Bride are just an awesome romantic couple! It was fun to get into the head of a Were-Hunter for the first time in this series (not counting the hard to find short story, Dragonswan, which I actually read after this novel). Life and romance through the eyes of a wolf is incredibly fun, new and very humorous at times. I love that he sees the beauty of a full-figured woman because women are beautiful in all shapes, sizes (and colors). If I were Bride, I'd want to part of Vane's pack too. His brothers are great characters too and can't wait to hear more about Fang's story!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    One of the few alpha males I've found!

    Loved it!! Loved him! Vane was one of those guys with a painful past too, but unlike Zarek, he didn¿t wallow in it. He came to terms with it and didn¿t let it dictate his present behavior. He accepted it and moved on. He wasn¿t always brooding or angry, he could laugh and make jokes and never felt like he was deprived of his childhood. He never felt sorry for himself. His powers are up there with Acheron¿s! Hot! He knows a lot about Ash-much more than any of the Dark-Hunters. He could wield his magic precisely and he had tons of it!! I give the books I love the most the shortest reviews because I can't think of any criticisms. I mostly love Vane because he saw Bride for who she was. We plus-size ladies can be so selfconscious that it is hard for us to believe anyone can find us sexy. Vane is my hero!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    This is my favorite book in series. I agree this is some grade A

    This is my favorite book in series. I agree this is some grade A book crack as has been stated already. But this book with Vane and Bride, is the best so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Great book!

    This is one of my favorite books! Must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Love, love, love :)

    I am completely, utterly, unconditionally hooked to Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark-Hunter Series. I loved this book because it brought in a whole other element to the Dark-Hunter, the world of the sexy Were-Hunters and Vane. Wow wee! How I love these books. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    ONE OF MY FAVS!

    I loved that this one had action but mostly just simply a GREAT love story. I love Bride, I love how Vane loved her exactly the way the was and did not want her to change. I felt for Fang. And the fact that Fury got his brothers back that was great! I love all the books but this one I read in one sitting just to read how much Vane loved Bride. Must get!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Series keeps getting better...

    This was a twist compared to the DH novels that came before. While Vane's parents were the villains, the murder plot against him was more toned down. It was interesting to have the focus more on Vane & Bride's relationship. Think I will have to start adding these to my bookshelf instead of borrowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Kyrsten

    Is there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    A PERSON

    Where r u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    Great Story

    Great story!!!! This is book five and it rocks. The characters are loveable and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    One of the most enjoyable books I ever read!

    One of the most enjoyable books I ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    I do recommend this book I enjoyed reading the series of her books

    Not everybody enjoys the type of books that I like to read. What I liked is the way she starts her series and you can easily continue the reading even if you stop for awhile and then continued. I like stories that are part GREEK mythology and and part now. Her books are not long and drawn out
    there short and to the point. My only draw back is that these series of books are not bundled you need to purchase them separately. When I finish this series I will start the others. If your the type of person who likes fantasy and SYFY then these series would be right up your ally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    One of her best!

    I really enjoyed this book. Vane is such a hunk and Fury is so funny that when you put them together with Bride you end up with a book you'll read over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Great Book This is one of my most favorite Dark Hunter books. Pe

    Great Book
    This is one of my most favorite Dark Hunter books. Perfect balance of romance, action, and sacrifice. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Kara

    Babe?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Jake

    Cool.gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Emilee

    Stops crying I am sorry i shouldnt hae told you sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36