Customer Reviews for

Night Reigns (Immortal Guardians Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fast-paced, exciting addition to the series!

Review by Shannon: If you read Darkness Dawn, the first book in the Immortal Guardians series, you will remember Marcus. He helped Roland and Sarah by letting them stay in one of his houses, but was always very morose. We had learned then that he was mourning the leavin...
Review by Shannon: If you read Darkness Dawn, the first book in the Immortal Guardians series, you will remember Marcus. He helped Roland and Sarah by letting them stay in one of his houses, but was always very morose. We had learned then that he was mourning the leaving of the woman he loved, Bethany, six years prior. When this book begins, it¿s 18 months later and Marcus is still mourning. Mourning and missing his best friend, knowing that she¿s with the people she loved. But Marcus is not in a good place. So when Seth assigns him a Second and it¿s the small red-haired woman who helped him during a fight with eight vampires, he¿s irritated and suddenly having feelings he didn¿t know he was still capable of feeling.

We were also introduced to Ami in Darkness Dawns. She was rescued by Seth, David and Darnell when they broke her out of a research facility where she was being tortured. They were able to find her because she was telepathically screaming out in pain and terror. They saved her, but you had to wonder if the small, quiet woman would ever be able to recover.

Fast forward two years and this is where Night Reign picks up. Ami is now out and about, living a somewhat normal life. She¿s still terrified to be in a room with people she doesn¿t know and she absolutely do not trust doctors or labs, but she¿s moving forward. When she senses a fight happening not far from the video rental machine she was at, she investigates and immediately senses and Immortal Guardian in need of help. She assists with her guns and then leaves when she¿s able to. What Ami doesn¿t realize is that Immortal Guardian is soon going to be her assignment.

Seth, the leader of the Immortal Guardians, brings Ami to Guardian Marcus Greydon¿s house. No one is more surprised than Marcus when Seth announces that Ami is going to be his Second. He¿s done giving Marcus any leeway with his grieving for Bethany, so he¿s instituting the rule that every Guardian has a second, which includes Marcus.

Marcus tries to fight having Ami in his house, because having her there stirs up feelings he didn¿t think he could feel anymore. But when Ami shows up to save him twice during a fight, he realizes that having her at his back feels right. But soon those feelings grow to something more than friendship and appreciation and Marcus begins to question if he can follow those feelings with a woman he knows he¿ll only have for a short period of time.

Marcus, Ami and the rest of the Immortal Guardians are soon in fight with vampires as someone new, the Vampire King, has taken over and is attempting to organize an army. But what that army wants comes into question when Ami realizes that drugs that are being used on Guardians during fights are the same as what was used on her when she was captured. Soon the Guardians are closing ranks to protect their own and determine who exactly is involved.

posted by RtBBlog on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

lost me a little

i love ms.duvall concept and i truly love theimmortals and the humans , i have a thing for tall men and these are all tall. my favorite character is seth followed closely by david. now heres where the tricky part comes, i was there hook line and sinker unntil ami's trut...
i love ms.duvall concept and i truly love theimmortals and the humans , i have a thing for tall men and these are all tall. my favorite character is seth followed closely by david. now heres where the tricky part comes, i was there hook line and sinker unntil ami's truth was revealed. don't know what happened but thats when ms. duvall lost me a little. can't explain it don't know why but thats what happened. i will read the rest of the series but i hope she can do better and hold me in the next one.

posted by pepper-ann on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, exciting addition to the series!

    Review by Shannon: If you read Darkness Dawn, the first book in the Immortal Guardians series, you will remember Marcus. He helped Roland and Sarah by letting them stay in one of his houses, but was always very morose. We had learned then that he was mourning the leaving of the woman he loved, Bethany, six years prior. When this book begins, it¿s 18 months later and Marcus is still mourning. Mourning and missing his best friend, knowing that she¿s with the people she loved. But Marcus is not in a good place. So when Seth assigns him a Second and it¿s the small red-haired woman who helped him during a fight with eight vampires, he¿s irritated and suddenly having feelings he didn¿t know he was still capable of feeling.

    We were also introduced to Ami in Darkness Dawns. She was rescued by Seth, David and Darnell when they broke her out of a research facility where she was being tortured. They were able to find her because she was telepathically screaming out in pain and terror. They saved her, but you had to wonder if the small, quiet woman would ever be able to recover.

    Fast forward two years and this is where Night Reign picks up. Ami is now out and about, living a somewhat normal life. She¿s still terrified to be in a room with people she doesn¿t know and she absolutely do not trust doctors or labs, but she¿s moving forward. When she senses a fight happening not far from the video rental machine she was at, she investigates and immediately senses and Immortal Guardian in need of help. She assists with her guns and then leaves when she¿s able to. What Ami doesn¿t realize is that Immortal Guardian is soon going to be her assignment.

    Seth, the leader of the Immortal Guardians, brings Ami to Guardian Marcus Greydon¿s house. No one is more surprised than Marcus when Seth announces that Ami is going to be his Second. He¿s done giving Marcus any leeway with his grieving for Bethany, so he¿s instituting the rule that every Guardian has a second, which includes Marcus.

    Marcus tries to fight having Ami in his house, because having her there stirs up feelings he didn¿t think he could feel anymore. But when Ami shows up to save him twice during a fight, he realizes that having her at his back feels right. But soon those feelings grow to something more than friendship and appreciation and Marcus begins to question if he can follow those feelings with a woman he knows he¿ll only have for a short period of time.

    Marcus, Ami and the rest of the Immortal Guardians are soon in fight with vampires as someone new, the Vampire King, has taken over and is attempting to organize an army. But what that army wants comes into question when Ami realizes that drugs that are being used on Guardians during fights are the same as what was used on her when she was captured. Soon the Guardians are closing ranks to protect their own and determine who exactly is involved.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Cant wait!!!!!!!

    In the first book, i loved Markus. I was sad wheni learned of the sadness and pain behind his smile, so when i learned of him gettingg his own book, i nearly fell from my seat.. This book is bound to bbe as ggood or even better as the first with Rolend.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Good, yet environmentally preachy.

    Good read, yet a bit heavy on the author's environmental views. Towards the last few chapters there were some holes or plot jumps that made me feel like I skipped a few pages when I didn't. Overall I would still recommend the book with those warnings attached. I liked the unique twist surrounding Ami's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Peace Loving Granola Blood Suckers

    First - good story - as is the first in the series! Also, it is error free and well written, which is a relief (some eBooks are distractingly bad in that regard).

    But, there is one annoying thing. The "good guys" are full on, take no prisoners organic and utopian desiring immortals. This translates into a tone that is more than slightly patronizing, though it is worse in the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    Another great book by Dianne Duvall

    Another great book by Dianne Duvall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    This was another wonderful book.After being introduced to Ami an

    This was another wonderful book.After being introduced to Ami and Marcus in the first book it was nice to continue their story in the next. This book was an enjoyable read. I'm not sure I like how mixed up this reading subject is. It states it's a romance, and it is, but it's also Paranormal, and Sci Fi aliens, mention of time travel, possible government conspiracies and I don't know what else will be thrown in. I look forward to reading more, but I enjoyed the first book, much more then this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This series continues to deliver excellent surprises

    This series continues to deliver excellent surprises; in a genre sometimes saturated with retellings Ms. Duvall gives new life to the undead. The world that I liked at the beginning of this series has both expanded and begun to evolve; now encompassing not just otherworldly phenomenon but other worlds, and becoming a dynamic and interesting place that I am eager to delve further into. I enjoyed the plot of this book, while the outside conflict was a bit trite through most of the book the inner struggles between characters more than made up for it and once those calmed down the outside forces found a twist that took things in a whole new direction. I loved all the characters in this book. Ami, both strong and vulnerable due to past damage and Marcus the thawing ice-cold heart that had felt too much, along with all the secondary characters we met in the first book including glimpses of the staring couple after their HEA. After finishing this book I am eager to see what story is next as at least two possibilities presented themselves, both stories I would love to read. I give this book a hearty four stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    4.5stars -- a fun ride I love when the books opens with action t

    4.5stars -- a fun ride
    I love when the books opens with action to snare my interests immediately. It took a little bit for me to reconcile the Ami that starts off here in warrior mode with the Ami/Amirska that reclusive shell that ended the last installment but I like it! Marcus was one of my favorite characters from the first book and it was good to see him be the lead here.

    This fun, easy to read series so reminiscent of a few other series but seems to be setting the stage to branch out from its humble beginnings. As a couple, Marcus & Ami were a little different from the norm by not having a lot of back and forth denial of falling for each other. We got visits from others that we met in book one and the thrill quotient was racheted up with a good number of well done action pieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    recommend for an easy read

    easy and funny read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    highly recommend

    Love these guardians. I wish I had one!!! Cant wait to read the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Marcus and Ami are cute together. Who is Bastien? What's he real

    Marcus and Ami are cute together. Who is Bastien? What's he really about? And Seth... hmmm secrets. I love when a book pulls me in and keeps me hooked. I would rather read then sleep or eat! I enjoyed the book very much but boy talk about leaving you hanging... come on #3! I cannot believe it ended like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Pretty good

    Looking foward to #3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great Read

    I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Liked

    Nice follow up to book #1. I liked the development of Ami's and Marcus' characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Kiri

    I lived this book! Im hoping in the next book seth and bestine will be featured more! I think what i love most about this series is the close family like relationship all the characters share. And the random humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great book

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great but

    This was a great book but its ends abruptly. I wasnt expecting that but cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3