Customer Reviews for

Night Rising (Vampire Babylon Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

exciting action-packed vampire thriller

Dawn Madison returns to California when private detective company Limpet & Co calls her informing her that her dad Frank vanished four days ago while working on the Robby Pennybaker case. Robby died twenty-three years ago, but he appears in a scene of the new movie Dia...
Dawn Madison returns to California when private detective company Limpet & Co calls her informing her that her dad Frank vanished four days ago while working on the Robby Pennybaker case. Robby died twenty-three years ago, but he appears in a scene of the new movie Diaper Derby even stranger he has not changed in the two plus decades one iota. Dawn hires on with the agency and works with techno geek Breisi who loves Frank, and psychic midget Kiko, who believes his new partner who has a key role to play in the upcoming war with the vampires. --- When the trio arrives at the home of Robbie¿s mother, Guards, the lowest form of being in the vampiric hierarchy, surround the place. They barely escape with their lives and Dawn reassesses her belief system as she now knows that vampires exist and somehow are tied to her father¿s disappearance. The vampires hide in the Underground from mortals and will go to any length to prevent outsiders from finding it or knowing they exist. Dawn and her companions learn about the lair during the first battle between humans and their predatory enemy, an omen of the bloody war that will soon follow. --- Readers will want to obtain the next two books in the series and not just because this is an exciting action-packed vampire thriller. Fans will want to know who the mysterious Joseph Limpet is, why he never leaves his abode, how he gets inside Dawn¿s mind and makes love to her though he seems to have no physical body. The audience will also wonder whether Dawn will find her father and if yes in what condition will he is in. This is a fantastic tale that sets up the next entries, but also provides booklovers with plenty of adventure and a touch of romance. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disliked

I have to say that I really disliked the main character. I thought the concept was fairly interesting, but just didn't like Dawn at all. I did finish the first book but unfortunately I had bought all three of the books (big mistake), luckily I still had my receipt and...
I have to say that I really disliked the main character. I thought the concept was fairly interesting, but just didn't like Dawn at all. I did finish the first book but unfortunately I had bought all three of the books (big mistake), luckily I still had my receipt and was able to return them all in time. Very unfortunate and I really love vampire, werewolves, etc. books and have read lots of them.

If you really want something good, I highly recommend the Night Huntress Series by Jeaniene Frost or the Cassandra Palmer books by Karen Chance.

posted by VampLoverKP on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disliked

    I have to say that I really disliked the main character. I thought the concept was fairly interesting, but just didn't like Dawn at all. I did finish the first book but unfortunately I had bought all three of the books (big mistake), luckily I still had my receipt and was able to return them all in time. Very unfortunate and I really love vampire, werewolves, etc. books and have read lots of them.

    If you really want something good, I highly recommend the Night Huntress Series by Jeaniene Frost or the Cassandra Palmer books by Karen Chance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting action-packed vampire thriller

    Dawn Madison returns to California when private detective company Limpet & Co calls her informing her that her dad Frank vanished four days ago while working on the Robby Pennybaker case. Robby died twenty-three years ago, but he appears in a scene of the new movie Diaper Derby even stranger he has not changed in the two plus decades one iota. Dawn hires on with the agency and works with techno geek Breisi who loves Frank, and psychic midget Kiko, who believes his new partner who has a key role to play in the upcoming war with the vampires. --- When the trio arrives at the home of Robbie¿s mother, Guards, the lowest form of being in the vampiric hierarchy, surround the place. They barely escape with their lives and Dawn reassesses her belief system as she now knows that vampires exist and somehow are tied to her father¿s disappearance. The vampires hide in the Underground from mortals and will go to any length to prevent outsiders from finding it or knowing they exist. Dawn and her companions learn about the lair during the first battle between humans and their predatory enemy, an omen of the bloody war that will soon follow. --- Readers will want to obtain the next two books in the series and not just because this is an exciting action-packed vampire thriller. Fans will want to know who the mysterious Joseph Limpet is, why he never leaves his abode, how he gets inside Dawn¿s mind and makes love to her though he seems to have no physical body. The audience will also wonder whether Dawn will find her father and if yes in what condition will he is in. This is a fantastic tale that sets up the next entries, but also provides booklovers with plenty of adventure and a touch of romance. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I liked this book. It took me a few chapters to get into it, although it seemed OK the writing was a bit light and lacked depth. The characters did end up developing, esp the two sidekicks (Kiko and Breisie) who soon became my favorites. I wasn't sure about the main heroins nymphomania, but with the developments involving Jonah I couldn't help but get a little into it. I did see the not so twisty-twist coming from a mile away, but still enjoyed watching it develop and knowing it will be gone into more in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Gave as Gift

    Grandkids picked it out to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved This Book

    This book held my attention from day one. Teachers were yelling at me because i wouldn't put it down. I loved how Dawn seemed so human. Her character was written very well and i just absolutely loved this book. I thought it had jsut the right amount of everything. Humor, action, romance, horror. Just an amzing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    Sounded good, but not really...

    I read this a while back when it first came out and I tried really hard to finish it. I got about 150pgs in it and I just couldn't finish it. I thought the plot was a good idea but it was just boring. I couldn't connect to the main character or any of the characters for that matter. I don't know I just think the book needed more to it. If you're a paranormal romance/vampire book lover then I recommend you skip this one or borrow it from the library. Not worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Good Book

    It was a great read although for the first couple of pages it was boring, but once I got into the book i couldn't put it down! The plot makes exciting, confusing twists which makes the mystery part of the book even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Confused....

    I started reading this book, got to the 3rd chapter or something, couldn't go on....I might try to read it again another time, but the first time I tried reading it now, I got really lost. I read what it was supposed to be about and thought that it would be good, but I just couldn't finish it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    I read everything but couldn't finish this

    I read every book I start but I couldn't finish this one. It was just boring. You didn't give a dam about the characters. The plot just circled around and after 200 pages I just gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    A suprising star

    This is extremely suprising because i picked up the book because of my fasination with vampires only to be hooked by the story line and the dark secrets its very well written and exciting please read i highly push this book to the top

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    huh?

    Although this book is a departure from other urban fantasy titles and should be given more consideration than the trash that is written today, I found this book to be too confusing. The mystery in the plot just confused me and I did not understand the characters at all. The action takes place in Hollywood, but considering what's going on nowadays in said place, it's overrated, this book included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Definitely worth reading

    Dawn Madison, a young stunt woman, is summoned to L.A. to find out what has happened to her father, Frank, who has disappeared. She is introduced to the Limpet Agency, whom her father worked for, and meets Kiko and Breisi, paranormal investigators. Dawn has issues concerning her mother, Eva, who was Hollywood royalty before she was murdered one month after Dawn was born. Dawn feels she will never compare to her beautiful mother. In the course of the hunt for her father, she finds out the Limpet Agency is investigating a sighting of a young Hollywood child star, Robby Pennybaker, who died at the age of 12. During the investigation for her father and the reason for the sighting of Robby, she is brought into the world of vampires and the Underground. For the most part, the book was entertaining, but didn't entirely grab me from page to page. The ending is left open for a continuation of the story and many loose ends are left dangling. But all in all, a good effort and worth reading the next book to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Vampires Beware! There's a new hunter on the scene!

    New to the dark fantasy scene, Chris Marie Green creates a detailed hierarchy of vampire society that lives figuratively in and is called the Underground in modern Hollywood. We learn about the Underground through the eyes of the son of its creator and master vampire, Sorin, and Dawn Madison, the daughter of a Hollywood legend and sex symbol, Eva Claremont, and a private investigator, Frank Madison. Tough and confident on the outside, but needy and confused on the inside, Dawn appears to be the successful and competent stunt woman she is. Estranged from her father, she nonetheless rushes to Hollywood at the behest of Frank¿s employers, Limpet and Company, when he goes missing while investigating the mysterious pictures of a long missing twelve year old child actor. Her insecurities make it difficult for her to interact with and trust her partners in investigation, Kiko, a psychic little person, and Breisi, a beautiful Latina actress and techno-geek. She develops a complex and sexual relationship with Jonah, their unseen but powerful employer. Weaving fully developed characters with complicated motives and a well-considered and action filled plot, Chris Marie Green proves herself to be a masterful storyteller and world builder. There are plenty of clues for the story line of the next book. I wonder when it will be published!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Fascinating Start to New Series

    This book was fabulous, from beginning to end! The heroine is complex, the mystery is completely engaging, and the secondary characters are very strong. The book draws you in so quickly you'll find it hard to put down. I was very disappointed when I reached the end simply because I was not ready to leave their lives. Once you read this book you will be eagerly awaiting the next in the Vampire Babylon series. Chris Marie Green will be on my 'automatic buy' list from now on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3