Customer Reviews for

Night Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 1092 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(709)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read all year.

This novel is fantastic! I read it all in one day. It was engaging and completely captivated me until the end.
It is a story of three teens who become friends and the way life altering decisions warp the future. Lexi is a foster care child who is sent to Western Washin...
This novel is fantastic! I read it all in one day. It was engaging and completely captivated me until the end.
It is a story of three teens who become friends and the way life altering decisions warp the future. Lexi is a foster care child who is sent to Western Washington to live with her only known relative after many years in the system. Her great-aunt gives her hope in life and a stable home. She meets Mia and Zach, twins, who become her family after years of being alone. It's a dream come true for Lexi, until one fateful day when one bad decision shatters the world she knows.
It was heartbreaking, poignant, and beautifully written. This is the first novel I've read by Kristin Hannah but it's so enthralling I will be on the lookout for other stories available.

posted by salander_9277 on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The ensemble cast is fully developed while the character driven story line is well written

In 2000, fourteen year old Lexi Baill learns she has family in Port George, Washington; her addicted late mom said they had none. She goes to live with her Great Aunt Eva who welcomes her to her trailer home.

Jude Faraday worries about her fourteen year old twins, p...
In 2000, fourteen year old Lexi Baill learns she has family in Port George, Washington; her addicted late mom said they had none. She goes to live with her Great Aunt Eva who welcomes her to her trailer home.

Jude Faraday worries about her fourteen year old twins, popular Zach shy loner Mia. At lunch Lexi notices Mia alone and asks to join her. Mia warns her she commits social suicide but Lexi sits down with her. Mia invites her to her house while Zach is stunned as he is attracted to the new girl, but will not act on it as Mia needs friends.

Three years later, Mia and Tyler go to a dance, as Jude persuades Zach to take Lexi. At the dance, Zach and Lexi admit their attraction and begin dating. They go to a party with Zach the designated driver, but he gets drunk. On the way home, they have an accident. Mia dies; Zach is severely hurt; and Lexi breaks her arm. Lexi is convicted of vehicular homicide for driving under the influence and given 65 months. Her lawyer informs Zach that Lexi is pregnant. In 2010, Lexi is out of prison but needs to see Grace once before she leaves town. She is stunned as Grace is alone and unhappy. Angry Lexi files for partial custody.

The ensemble cast is fully developed while the character driven story line is well written. Although the transition in time in high school is difficult to follow and the underlying cause for the conviction over the top of the Space Needle, readers will enjoy this deep melodramatic family drama as the death of Mia turned her surviving loved ones into living dead.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best book I've read all year.

    This novel is fantastic! I read it all in one day. It was engaging and completely captivated me until the end.
    It is a story of three teens who become friends and the way life altering decisions warp the future. Lexi is a foster care child who is sent to Western Washington to live with her only known relative after many years in the system. Her great-aunt gives her hope in life and a stable home. She meets Mia and Zach, twins, who become her family after years of being alone. It's a dream come true for Lexi, until one fateful day when one bad decision shatters the world she knows.
    It was heartbreaking, poignant, and beautifully written. This is the first novel I've read by Kristin Hannah but it's so enthralling I will be on the lookout for other stories available.

    48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    night road

    Great weekend read with great plot and likeable characters. LOVED IT!

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring and heartfelt.

    NIGHT ROAD is an inspiring, heartfelt story about love, friendship, forbidden love, acceptance, tragedy, anger, loss and ultimately forgiveness. Lexi Baill is a lonely teen in search of a real home with real friends and family.. a place to belong. When she meets Mia Farraday a fellow loner and kindred spirit, she is immediately welcomed into the Farraday family where Jude, the mom, treats her like a second daughter. Tragedy strikes. Everything changes. A life is lost, another destroyed, the family left with regret and despair. The struggle begins. This story is devastating and heartbreaking as it journeys through many thought-provoking, soul-searching levels in their search for healing. Impacting and poignant, this wonderful storyline will leave you counting the days for Hannah's next book launch.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally charged women's fiction

    Fourteen year old Lexi Baill has bounced between her drug addicted mother and foster care for years. Following her mother's death, a relative is finally located in Washington State. Her elderly Aunt Eva brings her home and provides a stable and loving home for her on the poorer side of this wealthy community.

    On her first day of school Lexi meets Mia Faraday, a vulnerable and insecure girl, and the two quickly become friends. Lexi is soon a part of the Faraday family, welcomed by Mia's parents, Jude and Miles, as well as Mia's twin brother, Zach. Jude had her own difficult childhood growing up and she is determined to be the perfect mother, totally micromanaging her children's lives and guarding them closely.

    NIGHT ROAD follows the high school years of the Faradays and Lexi and the burgeoning love between Lexi and Zach until a bad decision and tragedy shatters all of their lives, severing the bonds of family and friendship. Emotionally complex, this powerful novel deals with the intricacies of family life, parenting, despair, hope and the search for forgiveness with heartbreaking realism.

    I loved this book, but I strongly recommend that you keep the Kleenex handy! Lynn Kimmerle

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular!

    When I first heard of this book a few months back, I just knew I had to read it. The premise sounded amazing, the cover was eye-catching, and Kristin has received plenty of praise. Therefore, when the chance finally came to read Night Road, I jumped right in, devouring it in one long sitting, as Night Road was simply fantastic. Full of likeable and complex characters, star-crossed romance, and tension, this one read had me flipping the pages as fast as humanly possible.

    Night Road tells the story of Lexie Baill and the Farraday family. For Jude Farraday, her whole life has been dedicated to her family- specifically her two twins Zach and Mia. However, while Zach is the king of his grade, Mia has always failed to the wayside. Everything changes when Lexie moves to town during the twin's freshman year of high school, though. Scared yet brave, Lexie quickly finds herself part of the Farraday family- another daughter to Jude, a best friend to Mia, and possibly "something more" to Zach. As the years continue, the bond only grows strong...until one horrific accident. Faced with sudden and bone chilling tragedy, everything changes between them all, landing one in jail and the rest in emotional distress. Will they all be able to begin living again? Will they be able to forget and move on before it is too late to do so? Will everything get worse or better in the end? Only time and more pages will tell in this heart wrenching tale of love, hope, and forgiving as well as moving on.

    Out of everything in this book, I have to say the characters are most likely my favorite aspect. Complex yet loveable, the main characters found in this one where one is who stories caught me from the very first page and kept me until the very last. Specifically, I loved the bonds that developed as the novel progressed. Ones between family, friends, and boyfriends/girlfriends- all were present and in full string. There was the one between Mia, Zach, and Lexie. Complicated as it was, it was easy to see just how much these three loved and adored each other and how far they would go to make the others happy. There was also the one between families, showing how while love is important, sometimes it cannot save everything. However, the thing I loved most about these characters was that they were real. Lexie, Zach, Mia, Jude, and Miles all made mistakes, but they learned from them and improved upon them- even if it did take a long time to do so. More importantly, when faced with tragedy, they grew strong, though in a way that was believable.

    Moving on, another part of Night Road I found enjoyable was the plot and the execution. Full of twists and turns to keep nearly any reader enthralled with the story at hand, I truly never lost interest, not even once. As I was constantly rooting for the characters on their journey's, sitting on the edge of seat, eating up every word, curious to see what road block would pop up next.

    Making everything even better was Kristin Hannah's writing. Hannah is one talented storyteller to say the least. She knows how to balance the sad scenes with the funny scenes. More importantly, she knows how to not only bring the characters to life, but also have the reader become dedicated to their stories.

    Nearly perfect, reading Kristin Hannah's Night Road is the perfect way to spend a day, in my opinion.

    Grade: A+

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Great book!

    Easy reading that keeps your attention! Love every book that I have read by Kristin Hannah!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    just WOW!

    Its rarely that a book will move me like this one did. I can't stop thinking about it.
    Kristin Hannah is one of my favorite authors and I've read quite a few of her books - Firefly Lane being my favorite before this.
    I found myself laughing, crying, agreeing, and not wanting the book to end. Here characters are believable and human. All their frailties and strengths are laid out just as they are in real life.
    A must read book for anyone who is a mother.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Emotional!

    Emotional, unforgettable story. Very well-written.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book was very sad, but it dealt with issues amonng teens and parents that can go soooo wrong in the teen years. The reality of it is overwhelming but beautifully written. I really don't like the mom in this story, as she doesn't own up to her faults or believe that she is the reason why things went so wrong. Unfortunately the reality of this story rings true in a lot of real life situations that cannot be left behind.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Liked it!

    This book had a LOT of plots twists that will keep you turning pages. I have never cried so much over any other book in my life, and i finished it in one day. Well written, this book will make you laugh, cry, and everything in between. Night road is very eventful and my head was practically spinning by the end because of how many twists and turns the book took you on. I recommend this book for ages 10-100 :).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Must read!!!!!

    This was my first Kristen Hannah book... but definately not my last!!! It grabbed me from the very beginning - I read it in a day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Best book I've read in a very long time.

    This book is a must read for every mother. I am the mother of a teenage daughter and this book has caused me to rethink the way I've handled some things. I can relate to Jude as I am a helicopter mother and want to protect my kids with everything in me. I really enjoyed this book and will recommend it to everyone!!! Life can change on a dime, let your kids know how much you love them and at the same time allow them to experience independance a little as they grow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Night Road...

    A bit difficult to get into though well worth finishing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kristen Hanna does it again!

    This book was so touching. It had me reaching for my tissue box many times. I actually couldn't put it down I finished it in one afternoon. I am recommending this to my friends and family I know they will love it as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    This is honestly the best book I've read yet! Night Road is a bo

    This is honestly the best book I've read yet! Night Road is a book that will absolutely keep you on the edge of your seat. I've recommended this book countless numbers of people, reading it myself many times over. Originally, I walked right past the book and my boyfriend pulled it down for me, telling me to give it a shot thinking I would enjoy it. Thanks to him, it's my favorite book :) I would absolutely recommend this to anybody!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Okay but just so sad.

    I've read Kristin's other books and she seems to be so sad. I need a happiness when I read. I did enjoy her writing, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Loved this book and read it in 1 1/2 days. I felt the book was

    Loved this book and read it in 1 1/2 days. I felt the book was well-written and the story line very emotionally griping. There were parts where I was drug into the situation by the writing and not many books have that effect on me. It's a book I won't forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great read

    I had a very hard time putting it down, a friend told me to read this book. If you not had the chance to read it, please do. I want to get more books by her. Happy reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Not!

    This book dragged on and on and on persecuting a young girl who was nothing but nice to everyone who treated her wrong - especially Jude who, as a mother figure, was worst of all. Then, at the end Jude accepts her and everything is supposed to be all right? Excuse me? Talk about fantasy and unreality, cruelty and down right evil! I can't even give this book a 1/2 rating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I absolutely love this book. I have told everyone to start read

    I absolutely love this book. I have told everyone to start reading Kristin Hannah books. I can't put them down. This is my favorite. The emotional impact really hits home. I have told all my teenage daughtes and their friends to read it. It's a good life lesson about drinking and driving. Read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56