Customer Reviews for

The Night Season (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great

I cannot wait until the new ones come out. I love this author. Especially the ones about gretchen lowell. Shes evil! Hurry please!

posted by 6501146 on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Missing the usual bite!

Chelsea Cain has always been able to enrapture me with her characters. Their personalities, dialogue, and rationales. Here, it seems to lack a bunch of that. The lack of Gretchen Lowell in this is somewhat like Silence Of The Lambs without Hannibal Lecter. While the...
Chelsea Cain has always been able to enrapture me with her characters. Their personalities, dialogue, and rationales. Here, it seems to lack a bunch of that. The lack of Gretchen Lowell in this is somewhat like Silence Of The Lambs without Hannibal Lecter. While there is a villain, it just doesn't compare. I felt there just wasn't enough to this book. Not enough Archie and Susan. While what was there I enjoyed, it just didn't live up to the previous books. The antagonist here was without any real charisma or interest. His motivation and especially his weapon of choice weren't interesting. I don't want it to seem that I didn't like this book, it just doesn't compare favorably to the previous three books. With all that I still have faith that the next time I read about Archie and Susan I will be pleased.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Great

    I cannot wait until the new ones come out. I love this author. Especially the ones about gretchen lowell. Shes evil! Hurry please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missing the usual bite!

    Chelsea Cain has always been able to enrapture me with her characters. Their personalities, dialogue, and rationales. Here, it seems to lack a bunch of that. The lack of Gretchen Lowell in this is somewhat like Silence Of The Lambs without Hannibal Lecter. While there is a villain, it just doesn't compare. I felt there just wasn't enough to this book. Not enough Archie and Susan. While what was there I enjoyed, it just didn't live up to the previous books. The antagonist here was without any real charisma or interest. His motivation and especially his weapon of choice weren't interesting. I don't want it to seem that I didn't like this book, it just doesn't compare favorably to the previous three books. With all that I still have faith that the next time I read about Archie and Susan I will be pleased.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable mystery

    Heavy rains have caused the Williamette River in Portland, Oregon to flood the city. Det. Archie Sheridan has just learned that one of the recent drowning victims actually died from poisoning before going into the rising water.

    When the medical examiner discovers that more of the presumed drowning victims actually met the same fate, Sheridan finds himself in a search for a serial killer. The killer is using a very unusual way to harm his victims, a deadly toxin from an exotic octopus sting.

    Sheridan heroically rescues a young boy from the floodwaters, only to have the boy disappear from the hospital. As Sheridan races against time to find the killer, he believes the child is tied into the case. Having lost her day job, reporter Susan Ward follows Archie throughout the investigation. It's obvious that there is an attraction between Sheridan and Ward, but since I haven't read any of Cain's other novels, it's hard to tell what the connection is.

    The murder weapon in Ms. Cain's novel was just a little too far-fetched to be believable. However, THE NIGHT SEASON is a well written light mystery and I liked that Cain incorporated the true story of the Vanport Flood on Memorial Day in 1948. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    great book

    I was a little worried that a book without Gretchen would be lacking but that is not the case. She is still there due to the fact that Archie carries her with him always. Susan may have a little too much access to the police world but she is fun as a character. Over all this book kept my attention and continues the story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Would not recommend.

    Seriously, this was a disappointment. All other books have been great reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Cephalopod chat rooms?  I like this book, but not as much as the

    Cephalopod chat rooms? 
    I like this book, but not as much as the previous three, and for one very big reason. The “star” of these stories, Gretchen Lowell, the Beauty Killer, is relegated to background status while Archie and Susan are off investigating a new case. Not that the story isn’t interesting, or that the twists and turns aren’t there (in fact I really like the way the town was flooding through the whole narrative), it’s just that I miss Gretchen in this one. I’m not sure what that says about me, but this feels like more of a side story than a direct sequel to Evil at Heart. It’s worth reading though, It’s not like you were going to skip this one and go right to book five were you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Night Season - Not my Favorite of the Series To see a more

    The Night Season - Not my Favorite of the Series

    To see a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!




    The Night Season was not my favorite book in the Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell series, however, it wasn't a horrible book by any stretch of the imagination! 




    Chelsea Cain quickly became my go-to author when I needed a really good head screwing and am craving a psychological thriller! She is phenomenal at writing totally off-the-wall plots that leaves you sitting back and wondering who the heck can come up with this stuff!! I've always been amazed at her detail and ability to leave you on the edge of your seat and keep your head shaking throughout the entire book, and The Night Season is no different!




    This is the first book of Cain's that the narrator, Christine Delaine has read, and I must admit that at first, she wasn't my favorite narrator. I think the change in narrator compared to what I had been used to in the first books of the series, was the first dramatic difference in me liking this book less than I did the others. I don't think that this narrator did a bad job, I just think that the original narrator, Carolyn McCormick, was such a fantastic fit for this series, that I had a hard time adjusting mid-series! I think it was just big shoes for Ms. Delaine to fill!




    The plot of this book wasn't as exciting to me as the others and I did find myself having a hard time following it throughout the first part of the book. Once I got through a little of the book, it did seem to pick up and I didn't have as hard of a time finishing it as I originally thought I was going to! 




    Cain has created an awesome ensemble of characters in this series and I really enjoy following them throughout the different books and learning what happens to each character as they go. Each book is a character building book, and we get to really get up close and personal with Susan in The Night Season, as well as getting to learn more about Archie and his relationship with Gretchen! We also learn more about Archie's co-workers, Henry and Claire! 




    Overall, this book does not deter me one bit from continuing on in this series, so I am very interested to see what else Chelsea Cain comes up with in Kill You Twice! As with every series that a person reads, I am sure there is one book or another that you do not favor, and this was my book of this series! I can't wait to see what else Cain has in store for her readers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Where is she

    Not as good as the first two but a thrill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Love all of her books

    Another good read. Intriguing and a nice change from her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!!!

    Wonderful! Couldn't put the book down the whole time I was reading it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    great,fast read

    i'd forgotten i'd already read it (had bought the hardcover) but read it again anyway, as it was that good. love the mystery and evil vs good stuff that plagues each of her stories. waiting for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Some might like it, others wont

    If you picked this book up to read more on Gretchen, you won’t find much about her. She is mentioned but not until literally, the last pages of the book. Anyhow, I thought this was a nice break away from Gretchen (you can only drag her out for how many books?) and focuses on a much different serial killer. I really enjoyed reading about this new mystery killer, but the setting and the floods add to an already dark and sinister setting. The floods themselves do add more action and suspense (especially towards the end) so I thought this was a nice addition to an already dark setting. The pace of this plot was really good, and the short chapters makes the reading go much faster than usual. I like how there are no lulls in the plot. Although the sub plot with Susan Ward is not as interesting, it’s still related to the main storyline and provides more background information that is important to understanding the plot. There are quite a few moments of total suspense and thrills. The ending and the revealing of the killer had a lot of action sequences, and as mentioned before, the floods add more to the action and suspense. There was one particular moment in the book where I feared for a character (not going to reveal, am trying to keep this spoiler free!). The only thing I didn’t like about this book is the way the killer killed his victims. It’s a little far fetched and perhaps to some readers, they might find it silly. It’s different, and I have not read anything like this. Although I found it a little unbelievable, it’s still interesting and still worth reading. I’m glad there’s a break from Gretchen. For a moment I thought this Gretchen thing might drag and just might make the series go downhill. It may disappoint some readers, but this plot was well done, the characters are consistent, and I think it’s worth the read. With a tiny cliffhanger ending, I am curious to find out what happens next to Archie and Susan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    MISSED GRETCHEN, BUT STLL A GREAT READ!!

    I thought that the lack of Gretchen in this book would make it less of a read than the last three in this series. Gretchen still lies behind the scenes in everything that is Archie. I am glad to see that she will be coming back as a major player in the next installment, but this story worked well with her more behind the scenes. It was more of an Archie story and where he is in his stage of recovery from his time with Gretchen. It was still a fast exciting read for me.

    LOVE THIS AUTHOR, LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!!!!! SPD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Excellence Continues!

    I've read all of the previous Gretchen Lowell books, and this one did not disappoint. I am eagerly awaiting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Disappointed!!!

    Wrote the author because the first, second and third books were so engrossing that I couldnt put them down. They are DEFINITELY the kind of intense books that thrill lovers are looking for!!!!!! Was waiting for the same intensity with this one and was severly let down....:( I've been all around town touting how marvelous of a writer Chelsea Cain is and I will still do so, but can you please, please, please come out with another tortuous, intense, captivating book that we all crave?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great new begining-thank you!

    Thank God the Beauty Killer is behind bars-I couldn't take a fourth book of Archie being ravaged.

    This Chelsea Cain book takes a look at another serial killer and gives her hero Archie Sheridan another purpose in life. The same quirky characters are in this book and you develop feelings for each of them without feeling the pull from the past 3 storylines. It was easy for me to fall in love with Susan Ward, the reporter who tags along in every book. She just can't leave well enough alone and it always gets her in trouble. She's a smart cookie though and we pull for her the entire time.

    Thank you Chelsea for not carving Archie up again. Good read. Fast paced with plenty of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 Stars -- Enjoyable But Much Less Intense Than The Other Books In The Series!

    The city of Portland, OR is in crisis, as heavy rains have flooded the Willamette River and several people have drowned in the rising waters. Or, at least that's what was thought until the medical examiner discovers that the latest victim didn't drown. She was poisoned before she went into the water. Soon after, three of those drownings are also proven to be murders. As a result, Portland has a new killer on its hands, and Detective Archie Sheridan, the protagonist from Cain's first three books, and his task force have a new case. The Night Season also brings back Reporter Susan Ward who is chasing the story of the new serial killer, as well as another lead for an entirely separate mystery.

    Prior to reading the latest installment from Chelsea Cain, I was hoping she would be able to provide at least the same level of intense drama as in her earlier books. Unfortunately, while The Night Season is fast-paced, provides a good amount of excitement and (for the most part)interesting main characters, it, for me, lacked the fever pitch that made me unable to put down the earlier books. Despite its various scenes of excitement, the book's story line and characters never captivated me enough to put reading it above most other things I had to do. Mainly, this is due to my becoming increasingly annoyed with Reporter Susan Ward, who displays an unbelievable amount of stupidity -- okay, maybe I should say naivete -- for a person that is considered to be a respected and experienced crime reporter. This is also due to the motivations of the murderer not being made important enough for me to care a lot about, and of the method chosen for committing the murders being both over the top and somewhat gimmicky.

    Overall, despite what I view as its flaws, The Night Season is fairly entertaining and enjoyable. It is not, however, a book that I'd recommend that you rush out to read. Maybe, get it from the library or wait for it to come out in paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    WORST BOOK I'VE EVER READ

    I recently started reading mrs cains books.over the past month. I've read all her books. needless to say that I felt her lastest book "The night season" was a hugh disappointment.what the hell a seven yearold could have done a better job,and probably has. really, a octopus? tiny keys? a kidnapping? only to bring gretchen lowell in at the end. Mrs. cain should thank all the people-total three pages- for even letting her write this piece of crap . I read anywere from twenty to thirty books a month. this HAS TO BE THE WORST BOOK I'VE EVER READ. IF POSSIBLE I WOULD GO BACK TO THE BOOKSTORE AND DEMAND MY MONEY BACK.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced and interesting

    Review: I really enjoyed this book. Wow, it grabbed me right from the start and just kept hold. It is a few books along in a series(4th) but I had no problem catching up to what was going on and the relationships between the characters.

    The detective is recovering from a brutal beating and hostage situation from one of the previous books, the reporter is struggling with her feelings for him and with the book she is writing. She's also quite quirky and many on the police force and her own colleagues find her a bit over the top and pushy. I found her funny and a bit scary (eating the Jolly Ranch from the table, really?) The other characters add a level of believability, but still are secondary to the ongoing story. Even the long time detective friends and partners are just part of the scenery in this story.

    This story moved fast, just like the flooding river. It started in 1949 and then ended in the present. I enjoyed the way the past introduced the problems in the future and the guilt of those who knew the truth. I've been to Portland several times and this was a fun reminder of the area. Of course I have only been there when it isn't flooding and icy cold (just in the sunny summer).

    The book was dark with the theme and with the rain soaked streets and people. The murder weapon was unique and different. It really kept my attention and I didn't put it down. I would suggest this and her other titles to anyone who loves a good police procedural murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I love Archie, Susan and Gretchen. Susan made Night Season. I missed Gretchen in this novel. I wish she could have been more than just a comic book air bubble here.

    Night Season is a good book not as much gore as in the other novels but was happy to see Archie getting stronger. Can't wait to see what Chelsea does with Archie and Susan. Looking forward to new hair colors by Susan in the next book, which I can't wait to read.

    If your new to this series start at the beginning, Heartsick. You won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5