Customer Reviews for

Night Shift (Jill Kismet Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 618 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended if you like urban fantasy & strong heroine..

Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill ...
Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill Kismet. Jill is a hunter. She is a resident peace keeper of Santa Luz dealing with everything that goes bump in the night. But she's not a regular hunter you know... Tainted with Hellbreed power, Jill has to use everything she knows and every info sources she has trying to solve the crime committed by something supernatural, something unreal. With several cops killed by the most gruesome ways, Jill is working against time, teaming with weres trying to put all the puzzles together.. to find the truth behind.
Though several people mentioned that this one has the same concept as the Dante Valentine's series, I, myself, still find it intriguing and very entertaining. Jill is a likable heroine, just like Dante is in her first three books (Don't make me mention the rest of that series..) She is strong, independent and not a perfect figure. Jill has a past, though she took us through her personal life now and then but it doesn't sound like she's whining.. .It's just enough to make the readers know why she did what she did and why she thought what she thought. I also like the way the author throws some romance in the story, not much since the book is not in the romance genre but enough to make her characters complicated and real and sometimes, can put a smile on your face while reading the book.
In my opinion, Saintcrow did it better than Working for the devil, the first book of Dante Valentine's series.
So if you're looking around trying to find some new book to read, and if you don't mind urban fantasy, I highly recommended you try this one. Or if you're already Lilith Saintcrow's fan and still not so sure if you want to read this one (since you're afraid of the similarity with Dante Valentine's series), I still highly recommended you to try it. As mentioned previously, I personally think the book is better written. And once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down. .. Happy Reading..** :)

posted by Sini_R on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner but not in a good way........

I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, h...
I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, hopefully Jill won't be so pathetic in that book. I found Jill's character to be very depressing. Lilith is very good at describing a tortured soul but at some point the character has to be as strong on the inside as they are on the outside. Without that it just seems like pages of whining flash backs.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 620 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Not half as cool as Dante

    I bought these books because the Dante Valentine series was so bodacious. But Jill does'nt quite make muster. Dante is a badass, naturally cool, sarcastic original. Jill kind reminds me of Cher. Mildly annoying and trying too hard. She got on my nerves. Lilith please bring back Dante in some form. Given both their personalities it's highly unlikely Dante and Japh are living happily ever after. I would love to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommend- was surprised how much i liked

    So The main Character Kismet is a Hunter fighting the demons"hell breeds", She has these Powers to help her fight them but had to make a deal "trade" to get them, she is dealing with the death of her teacher and how confused she is about is she now evil or still on the side of light. |Has a lot of action and for the 1st book in a series it really was good, you know how the 1sts always have all the bake ground info to set up but this was never boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't get into it

    Wanted to like this series... first book is collecting dust unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Good read, slow start but fast Ending!

    Agreat read,a littl slow to start but got much better in Old!, let ya know what I think of nezt Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    I enjoyed it.

    I'm not much into urban fantasy, but I thoroughly enjoyed the main character. It was a fun read and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    worth the read

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a great first volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Good Read

    This was a free download and I must say...pretty darn good. The main character, Jill Kismet, is one tough cookie. Look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Read

    I bought this book when it was on sale. I thought it would be interesting to check out and see if i could get into this type of story. Turns out, it's pretty good. The story moves along well and kept me interested. I liked the characters and think I might just read more from this series later on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Pretty good

    I havent read anything like this before so I am pleasantly surprised at how entertaining Kiss is. Sometimes I had to reread a paragraph to get the full meaning of what she was saying but I managed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    its in paper too

    this was the first ebook i paied for and im glad i did the charactures have promise and saintcrow has a way of getting the point across in very few words. like i said if your not sure these books are also in paperback. its good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    great paranormal

    weres hybrids, and halfbreeds. kiss is a gal with a haunted dirty past and she is such an inspiration to do good. couldnt put this book down. definately reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Not bad

    This book had a good idea. Something different, however, it was kind of wordy and the descriptions got muddled sometimes making it a little confusing...It would of probabaly helped to know there was a dictionary at the back of the book to help you with all the "creatures" in the book. It took a little bit for me to get into it, but by about 1/3 of the way in, I got into the story line. There is a second book in the series and I may read that one, but it is not high on my list of books to read. Again, this wasn't bad, just not 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Has grit

    Not your usual paranormal. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Excellent new series

    I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    great read

    i really enjoyed this book. i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Nope

    I didn't get pass the 3rd chapter. Too many swear words, definitely too many F words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Not worth the $.99

    This was a very poor attempt at cashing in on the whole supernatural craze. The plot was predictable and all over the place. She was very redundant. Every other line was repeating the same story of Kismet's clothes or hair. The action was disjointed and quite frankly silly. There was also the whole romance novel like love triangle. Very poorly written. Over all bad read. The good reviews are from romance magazines if that gives you any clue. The begining of the next book starts off the exact same way as this one. Don't waste your buck, get a nice cup of coffee instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Nice book

    I really enjoyed this ebook. I sat down and read the whole novel in one setting. I loved the main character. The author does a nice job of vetting out her background, so the things she is able to do in this novel makes sense.
    I will definitely be getting the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Worth the read!

    To be honest I was a little put off at first by Saintcrow's characterization of Jill, especially her past and her relationship with her former teacher, but the dialogue and Jill's narration completely redeemed the book. The action is very connected, not to mention enthralling, and the love story is very well done. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Much better than expected.

    In the interest of full disclosure, I will state that I really do not like the whole paranormal/supernatural genre. Why? Because it is so invasive. It has taken over everything. Search in mystery, get slayers. Search in science fiction, get a more slayers. For those who don't like it, it is a serious curse. Lots and lots of noise in the stream, making it incredibly difficult to find things which are of interest.
    So, having said that, why did I ever read this book? Saintcrow was the NOOKBook Spotlight author, and this particular book was offered as an introduction. In the interest of fairness, I set aside my bias and gave it a chance. And I am actually glad I did.
    The book was really quite good. Saintcrow writes well. The plot moves quickly, and the text flows well. The style is a bit edgy, but enjoyable. Protagonist Jill Kismet is really quite engaging as a flawed hero. As noted in other reviews, expect both violence and language.
    So, was it enough to convert me to a fan of the genre? Not really. I did like the book and would consider reading another in the series, but the genre still does not particularly interest me as much as others. Still, for those who like the genre or are curious about it, this would be a great choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 620 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31