Customer Reviews for

Night Shift (Jill Kismet Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 618 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended if you like urban fantasy & strong heroine..

Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill ...
Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill Kismet. Jill is a hunter. She is a resident peace keeper of Santa Luz dealing with everything that goes bump in the night. But she's not a regular hunter you know... Tainted with Hellbreed power, Jill has to use everything she knows and every info sources she has trying to solve the crime committed by something supernatural, something unreal. With several cops killed by the most gruesome ways, Jill is working against time, teaming with weres trying to put all the puzzles together.. to find the truth behind.
Though several people mentioned that this one has the same concept as the Dante Valentine's series, I, myself, still find it intriguing and very entertaining. Jill is a likable heroine, just like Dante is in her first three books (Don't make me mention the rest of that series..) She is strong, independent and not a perfect figure. Jill has a past, though she took us through her personal life now and then but it doesn't sound like she's whining.. .It's just enough to make the readers know why she did what she did and why she thought what she thought. I also like the way the author throws some romance in the story, not much since the book is not in the romance genre but enough to make her characters complicated and real and sometimes, can put a smile on your face while reading the book.
In my opinion, Saintcrow did it better than Working for the devil, the first book of Dante Valentine's series.
So if you're looking around trying to find some new book to read, and if you don't mind urban fantasy, I highly recommended you try this one. Or if you're already Lilith Saintcrow's fan and still not so sure if you want to read this one (since you're afraid of the similarity with Dante Valentine's series), I still highly recommended you to try it. As mentioned previously, I personally think the book is better written. And once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down. .. Happy Reading..** :)

posted by Sini_R on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner but not in a good way........

I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, h...
I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, hopefully Jill won't be so pathetic in that book. I found Jill's character to be very depressing. Lilith is very good at describing a tortured soul but at some point the character has to be as strong on the inside as they are on the outside. Without that it just seems like pages of whining flash backs.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's Actually Pretty Good!

    One thing this book is NOT, is a paranormal romance. It IS a paranormal action book, 'cause it has plenty of it in between the pages. Practically non-stop! I WAS hoping for a little romance, but something tells me the rest of the series will flesh out the relationship building between Jill Kismet (the main character, and a truly "kick-ass" type of girl), and the Were-Cougar who's interested in her, Saul Dustcircle. I plan to get the other books, just to find out how Jill and Pericles (the Hellbreed she has to deal with) continue to "interact" with each other, as well. This is a very intriguing start to an action-packed series, and I want to know what happens next!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    "Not Real" fan

    I really enjoyed this story. No sex was a blessing, however If you took the cuss word GD out, it would shorten the story by a quarter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    A New Series, Jill Kismet

    This is the first book I have read by Lilith Saintcrow. I felt that Jill Kismet was one tough Hunter and kicked some major booty. She is a demon slayer and performs exorcisms. She has silver charms in her hair and wears leather pants and a leather trench coat, she also has a backup coat. She has been marked by a demon, he gave her some extra powers and she has to visit him once a month. Her former lover and teacher Mikhail is dead, he was killed by a demon. Jill is on the hunt for a rogue were and a hellbreed woman that are together. She has friends from the FBI that are also hunting for them, her FBI friends are were. They bring along a friend with them, his name is Saul, he is an American Indian and also a Were and her one friend asked if he can crash at Jills house. Jill says it is okay and Saul cleans up her house and cooks for her, they kiss, could this be the beginning of a romance? You should read the book to find out what else happens in the book, otherwise I will give away the entire story. I did enjoy the book though and I plan on reading the second book in the series, Hunter's Prayer, it is coming out in August or Sept 2008.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Very good urban fantasy. Briskly paced and a nicely complicated

    Very good urban fantasy. Briskly paced and a nicely complicated plot, with a strong female protagonist and a little love-interest for spice. Very close to my "perfect" read, except that the violence was just a tad too graphic for my taste. Thus the four stars instead of the five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    One Tough Lady

    Jill Kismet hunts things that prowl in the night protecting the innocent from not-so-innocent paranormals. In order to do that she makes an alliance with one of the dark shadows. She walks the line between good and evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    solid action

    This variant of the 'tough as nails heroine out against all the monsters' is wonderfully action packed. Kismet brings a massive action-hero style boom to the genre. The pace is unrelenting, just like big budget action, you can feel the explosions and here the heavy metal soundtrack as the book races through the plot neatly, nicely, and quite well. Love it, looking forward to getting into the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    It maybe akin to Dreden & nearly Dante

    You read this first book & get drawn in if your open to some simlarities to Butcher as well as the other series of Dante. I picked this up as a follow from read the previous & never had issue with any disimilarities of her previous series. Take a chance and Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    I enjoyed it.

    I'm not much into urban fantasy, but I thoroughly enjoyed the main character. It was a fun read and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    worth the read

    i really enjoyed this book. it was a great first volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Good Read

    This was a free download and I must say...pretty darn good. The main character, Jill Kismet, is one tough cookie. Look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Read

    I bought this book when it was on sale. I thought it would be interesting to check out and see if i could get into this type of story. Turns out, it's pretty good. The story moves along well and kept me interested. I liked the characters and think I might just read more from this series later on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Pretty good

    I havent read anything like this before so I am pleasantly surprised at how entertaining Kiss is. Sometimes I had to reread a paragraph to get the full meaning of what she was saying but I managed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    great read

    i really enjoyed this book. i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Worth the read!

    To be honest I was a little put off at first by Saintcrow's characterization of Jill, especially her past and her relationship with her former teacher, but the dialogue and Jill's narration completely redeemed the book. The action is very connected, not to mention enthralling, and the love story is very well done. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Much better than expected.

    In the interest of full disclosure, I will state that I really do not like the whole paranormal/supernatural genre. Why? Because it is so invasive. It has taken over everything. Search in mystery, get slayers. Search in science fiction, get a more slayers. For those who don't like it, it is a serious curse. Lots and lots of noise in the stream, making it incredibly difficult to find things which are of interest.
    So, having said that, why did I ever read this book? Saintcrow was the NOOKBook Spotlight author, and this particular book was offered as an introduction. In the interest of fairness, I set aside my bias and gave it a chance. And I am actually glad I did.
    The book was really quite good. Saintcrow writes well. The plot moves quickly, and the text flows well. The style is a bit edgy, but enjoyable. Protagonist Jill Kismet is really quite engaging as a flawed hero. As noted in other reviews, expect both violence and language.
    So, was it enough to convert me to a fan of the genre? Not really. I did like the book and would consider reading another in the series, but the genre still does not particularly interest me as much as others. Still, for those who like the genre or are curious about it, this would be a great choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    catchy

    I was not sure what to think but the book was only .99 so I purchased it. Took a bit to get into due to complexity of the story. Once got to chapter 5 things got more interesting and understandable. I am liking the book a lot and looking forward to contine reading material by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Well Written, interesting, LOTs of swearing :-(

    This book is actually very well written and the story is fairly engaging. It was not evil, although it did have a great deal of violence (which was relatively easy to skim over if you prefer to not read it... I only skimmed when it got bloody violent, the rest is jsut action which is well written and creative.) and does delve, necessarily to the plot, in concepts like exorcism and hell. The characters are enjoyable and likeable (except for thos we are not supposed to enjoy, of course) and the mystery was decent, although pretty easy to figure out. The story, however, is good, and the main character multifaceted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Must try!

    Saw it on sale... Figured. Why not? So glad I did. Was unsure at first, but once I continued reading it grabbed me with the characters, plot and exciting twists! Very different & something new to get into. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great action, awesome urban fantasy

    Comparing this with Dante Valentine, they're both almost similar in regards to personality. Tough and able to raise literal hell to track down villains, yet soft and sensitive sides come out when no one's looking (well, almost). I can't really say who I like more as they're both such interesting characters with such horrible pasts and are able to climb out of it and become strong butt kicking characters. I like it how they're not suffering from nyphomania like some paranormal urban fantasy characters I've read about which makes me roll my eyes each time they're mentioned. I love Jill and Dante's wit, their sarcasm, sometimes their thoughts made me laugh out loud, and their reckless impulsive behavior when fighting -it's always exciting to read, and it just seems as if they're not scared to run into a fight with the odds stacked against them. It's also nice to read about a character in which not *every* other character wants to sleep with them (unlike some other urban fantasy novels I've read too)

    I thought the plot was great, and the action sequences were awesome. There's a lot of action in this book, I found myself reading page after page because it caught my attention and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. Although this is a mystery in this book I couldn't really bring myself to guess who it was, or who was behind everything as all I was concerned with was who Jill was going to fight next. All the pieces fit in together anyway, and the only questions I'm left with is more about Jill's past. I'd like to know more of her and more stories of her and Mikhail.

    The romance (well budding romance) between Jill and Saul is nice although I find it a little mismatched, it's amusing to see Jill trying to push him away even though it's not what she wants, and Saul can see right through it. I thought it was cute how Saul walks so close to Jill and invades her "personal space" much to her annoyance. In a way, I think they're right for each other, but in other ways I don't think so..they're just so different, perhaps because you don't know much about Saul and his character isn't really that developed in the book. Perhaps in future books....

    The only criticism I could give is, although the action is nice, it just seems like one huge adrenalin rush and the writing just feels haphazard. Then again it could be just me that feels this way.

    Overall an excellent book if you're looking for a strong character, a good exciting plot, and plenty of fighting scenes to get you turning page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    A fun read

    I really enjoyed this one. I look for strong, likable female characters, and Jill Kismet fits the bill. I look forward to reading her next adventures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10