Customer Reviews for

Night Shift (Jill Kismet Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended if you like urban fantasy & strong heroine..

Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill ...
Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill Kismet. Jill is a hunter. She is a resident peace keeper of Santa Luz dealing with everything that goes bump in the night. But she's not a regular hunter you know... Tainted with Hellbreed power, Jill has to use everything she knows and every info sources she has trying to solve the crime committed by something supernatural, something unreal. With several cops killed by the most gruesome ways, Jill is working against time, teaming with weres trying to put all the puzzles together.. to find the truth behind.
Though several people mentioned that this one has the same concept as the Dante Valentine's series, I, myself, still find it intriguing and very entertaining. Jill is a likable heroine, just like Dante is in her first three books (Don't make me mention the rest of that series..) She is strong, independent and not a perfect figure. Jill has a past, though she took us through her personal life now and then but it doesn't sound like she's whining.. .It's just enough to make the readers know why she did what she did and why she thought what she thought. I also like the way the author throws some romance in the story, not much since the book is not in the romance genre but enough to make her characters complicated and real and sometimes, can put a smile on your face while reading the book.
In my opinion, Saintcrow did it better than Working for the devil, the first book of Dante Valentine's series.
So if you're looking around trying to find some new book to read, and if you don't mind urban fantasy, I highly recommended you try this one. Or if you're already Lilith Saintcrow's fan and still not so sure if you want to read this one (since you're afraid of the similarity with Dante Valentine's series), I still highly recommended you to try it. As mentioned previously, I personally think the book is better written. And once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down. .. Happy Reading..** :)

posted by Sini_R on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner but not in a good way........

I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, h...
I read this book in one day. I just couldn't wait to get it over with. There was just way too much self-analysis/self-doubt/self-hating, to the point of it taking up pages. This story just didn't grap me and I was so looking forward to it. I will read Hunter's Prayer, hopefully Jill won't be so pathetic in that book. I found Jill's character to be very depressing. Lilith is very good at describing a tortured soul but at some point the character has to be as strong on the inside as they are on the outside. Without that it just seems like pages of whining flash backs.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended if you like urban fantasy & strong heroine..

    Lilith Saintcrow did it again. If you're familiar with her previous work especially the Dante Valentine series, there is no way that you won't like this one. This is the first book of Saintcrow's 'Jill Kismet' series.
    The story starts out focusing on our heroine, Jill Kismet. Jill is a hunter. She is a resident peace keeper of Santa Luz dealing with everything that goes bump in the night. But she's not a regular hunter you know... Tainted with Hellbreed power, Jill has to use everything she knows and every info sources she has trying to solve the crime committed by something supernatural, something unreal. With several cops killed by the most gruesome ways, Jill is working against time, teaming with weres trying to put all the puzzles together.. to find the truth behind.
    Though several people mentioned that this one has the same concept as the Dante Valentine's series, I, myself, still find it intriguing and very entertaining. Jill is a likable heroine, just like Dante is in her first three books (Don't make me mention the rest of that series..) She is strong, independent and not a perfect figure. Jill has a past, though she took us through her personal life now and then but it doesn't sound like she's whining.. .It's just enough to make the readers know why she did what she did and why she thought what she thought. I also like the way the author throws some romance in the story, not much since the book is not in the romance genre but enough to make her characters complicated and real and sometimes, can put a smile on your face while reading the book.
    In my opinion, Saintcrow did it better than Working for the devil, the first book of Dante Valentine's series.
    So if you're looking around trying to find some new book to read, and if you don't mind urban fantasy, I highly recommended you try this one. Or if you're already Lilith Saintcrow's fan and still not so sure if you want to read this one (since you're afraid of the similarity with Dante Valentine's series), I still highly recommended you to try it. As mentioned previously, I personally think the book is better written. And once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down. .. Happy Reading..** :)

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a spellbinding action packed urban fantasy

    As a young girl she lived in the streets selling her body to anyone who had the cash to pay for it. Her life changed for the better when she met Mikhail, who taught her to be a hunter a person who works the darkside keeping humans safe from hellbreed (demons). She performs the exorcisms that the priests cannot or will not. Ironically the Church believes she is doomed to hell because she kills and consorts with the damned.------------------- Life is about to turn depressing for Jill Kismet even though she has a link to a hellbreed Perry who has given her extraordinary powers. Five police officers were killed by what seems likea hellbreed and a rogue were-shapeshifter. Jill knows these are her natural enemies. As the murders continue Jill thinks the hellbreed is protecting the Were especially when she learns who the father of the damned is. As Jill struggles to end the killings, someone decides to end Jill.----------------- Lilith Saintcrow always provides a spellbinding action packed urban fantasy that contains a touch of romance, which enhance the plot. However it is the locale where magic works and human authorities deal through liaisons with the supernatural in a realm that seems real because the crimes committed by the paranormal come across as genuine and the subsequent investigations feels authentic. Jill is a strong protagonist who takes on the hellbreeds to protect humanity especially the children. She chose to link with Perry so she is a better fighter though she knows that will probably damn her at least the Church says so. Her efforts on the NIGHT SHIFT make for an enjoyable urban fantasy investigative thriller that shows why this reviewer is a huge fan of Ms. Saintcrow.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommend- was surprised how much i liked

    So The main Character Kismet is a Hunter fighting the demons"hell breeds", She has these Powers to help her fight them but had to make a deal "trade" to get them, she is dealing with the death of her teacher and how confused she is about is she now evil or still on the side of light. |Has a lot of action and for the 1st book in a series it really was good, you know how the 1sts always have all the bake ground info to set up but this was never boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Good read, slow start but fast Ending!

    Agreat read,a littl slow to start but got much better in Old!, let ya know what I think of nezt Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    its in paper too

    this was the first ebook i paied for and im glad i did the charactures have promise and saintcrow has a way of getting the point across in very few words. like i said if your not sure these books are also in paperback. its good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    great paranormal

    weres hybrids, and halfbreeds. kiss is a gal with a haunted dirty past and she is such an inspiration to do good. couldnt put this book down. definately reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Excellent new series

    I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Nice book

    I really enjoyed this ebook. I sat down and read the whole novel in one setting. I loved the main character. The author does a nice job of vetting out her background, so the things she is able to do in this novel makes sense.
    I will definitely be getting the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am totally hooked

    This was a fantastic story and I am invested in the characters. I can't wait to start the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8