Customer Reviews for

Night Shift

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Collection of Short Stories

This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to ...
This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to fall around the 17-page range. They may not be the deepest or most profound things ever written, but they¿re fun to read and that¿s what matters. Another plus to this book is that the tale of `Salem¿s Lot continues in two stories contained within. ¿Jerusalem¿s Lot' is a prequel, while ¿One for the Road¿ is an epilogue of sorts. So you might want to check it out if you were a fan of that novel. If you¿re in the mood for something fun to read to help pass a dull moment, Night Shift is for you. However, if you demand something richer and more intense, I¿d look elsewhere.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

King's collection collects good and bad!

Its hard to review a collection of short stories because its hard to lump the good with the bad. Some were really good, such as Children Of The Corn, Sometimes They Come Back, Strawberry Spring, and One For The Road. Sadly, there are a couple clunkers in the mix like:...
Its hard to review a collection of short stories because its hard to lump the good with the bad. Some were really good, such as Children Of The Corn, Sometimes They Come Back, Strawberry Spring, and One For The Road. Sadly, there are a couple clunkers in the mix like: Lawnmower Man, Trucks, and I Am The Doorway. What this book does show however is the extremely wide array of stories floating around in King's head. Pretty amazing when you think about the diversity. A pretty good book to flip through but far from great.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on April 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A Fun Collection of Short Stories

    This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to fall around the 17-page range. They may not be the deepest or most profound things ever written, but they¿re fun to read and that¿s what matters. Another plus to this book is that the tale of `Salem¿s Lot continues in two stories contained within. ¿Jerusalem¿s Lot' is a prequel, while ¿One for the Road¿ is an epilogue of sorts. So you might want to check it out if you were a fan of that novel. If you¿re in the mood for something fun to read to help pass a dull moment, Night Shift is for you. However, if you demand something richer and more intense, I¿d look elsewhere.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    One of my favorites!

    This is a great book I loved it! The Boogeyman and Children Of The Corn are the scaryest!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Scary!

    I read this book for the first time over 25 years ago, and to this day, I cannot sleep or allow my children to sleep with the closet door open. A friend was spending the night and as she closed the closet in the guest room I said, "You close the door, too?" She replied, "Oh, yeah. I've read Stephen King."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    First, let me say I have been a major Stephen King fan since I f

    First, let me say I have been a major Stephen King fan since I first read The Stand in 1981. I then read all his books up to that time, including Night Shift, which was the only one I didn't care for. I basically dismissed it as immature and lightweight—silly premises, like rats and a guy who turns into slime from drinking bad beer, with gratuitous gore tossed in for the gross-out factor. I've reread many of King's books since, but always skipped Night Shift. I guess I was the immature one then. I just finished it, and I am astonished. The work is brilliant, no less brilliant than any of King's work. Each story is wonderfully crafted. One of King's greatest talents, I think, is his portrayal of people, and he shines in this collection. Gray Matter (the stupid story about the guy who turns to slime from drinking bad beer) is a masterpiece of character. The trek up the hill with the case of beer is so good it could be framed. Trucks has the same these-people-are-so-real-and-right quality, and reminded me of The Mist, one of my all-time favorites. And to think I almost passed this collection by again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Some of the best storytelling that Stephen King produces is usua

    Some of the best storytelling that Stephen King produces is usually contained in his short story collections. Night Shift is no exception. Written well over 30 years ago for various publications, the book contains some real classics - most of which have been turned into movies (most of which sucked). Stories such as Children of the Corn, The Lawnmower Man (which oddly enough the movie had very little to do with the story...and even more oddly...the movie was better), Graveyard Shift, Trucks (became Maximum Overdrive), several that became Cat's Eye, and many more. It even includes the 'Salems Lot prequel and follow-up. Each story does a wonderful job of either creating tremendous suspense or scaring the hell out of you. They all mostly end with a bit of a cliffhanger ending that allows your imagination to run wild with how the story ends. A great read that allows you to experience one of the greatest storytellers of all time in bite-size chunks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    20 Short stories of terror...

    ...to chill your bones. Stephen King is a great story-teller. Every story is so different and this book provides a lot of variety. Many of them are just pure suspense, which are my favorites, e.g. The Ledge and Quitters, Inc. There's some occultic ones which are not my favorites, e.g. Children of the Corn and Jerusalem's Lot. There will be something in this variety pack for everyone to enjoy. This is a collection written in the early 1970's. I think this author will one day be the modern day Edgar Allan Poe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome stories from the King of Horror

    These collections of Stephen King's earlier short stories were so excellent, believable & not so believable in the sometimes and very scary. I enjoyed reading them all. My ultimate favorite tale was Jerusalem's Lot, I Am the Doorway, Sometimes They Come Back, Quitters, Inc., I Know What You Need, The Last Rung on the Ladder, One for the Road, The Last Rung on the Ladder, Strawberry Spring & Gray Matter. Those are the real in depth and horrifying tales.

    I love this book a lot that I've read them several times, and would recommend it them to anyone. You cannot go wrong with SK earlier works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    King's collection collects good and bad!

    Its hard to review a collection of short stories because its hard to lump the good with the bad. Some were really good, such as Children Of The Corn, Sometimes They Come Back, Strawberry Spring, and One For The Road. Sadly, there are a couple clunkers in the mix like: Lawnmower Man, Trucks, and I Am The Doorway. What this book does show however is the extremely wide array of stories floating around in King's head. Pretty amazing when you think about the diversity. A pretty good book to flip through but far from great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    What a great read! Once I picked this up I could not put it down

    What a great read! Once I picked this up I could not put it down. Each of the short stories in here aren't too long, so you can go through them quickly. They're fun but I'll be honest they scared me too! I would definitely recommend reading this as long as you don't mind getting spooked. I really enjoyed reading each of these stories and I can't wait to read them again!
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Hhhhhh

    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjhhhhhhhhhhhhhhyhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhgghghhhhhhhjhhh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Eh

    The stories are not quute what i was expecting, some of them just don't give me the chills one would expect from a Stephen King story. I mean some of them are really interesting and chilling, like "Sometimes They Come Back", but ithers are just plain silly. Possessed trucks? That sounds already done. And the way the short "Boogeyman" ended was just plain ridiculous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Modern classics? You decide.

    Great assembly of short stories. Must read for all Stephen King fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Short story lovers will love this collection

    This book a wonderful collection of well developed stories, characters, and
    fright! Writing a short story is such a talent, not everyone can do a great job like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I love this book. My favorite short stories are- I know what you

    I love this book. My favorite short stories are- I know what you need, Children of the corn. King once again managed to deliver bone chilling, dark thoughts for his loyal fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Exceptional. My favorites are: "The Ma

    Exceptional.



    My favorites are: "The Man Who Loved Flowers", "The Last Rung On the Ladder", and "Strawberry Spring". Read this book- but keep the lights on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Last rung on the ladder.

    Best short story in the whole book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I loved this collection when it was first published, and I haven

    I loved this collection when it was first published, and I haven't been without a copy since. Now I'm able to have it on my Nook! I'm a happy girl!

    My fave story (they're all good) is "The Last Rung on the Ladder." Never fails to make me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Gteat

    It is a great read it some stories that are movies like children of the corn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Changepelt

    *changes into a blue tom with blue eyes that match the pond. His paw flashes out and catches a big carp*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    The pond

    A clear pond fed by a swiftly-flowing brook.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10