Customer Reviews for

Night Shift

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Collection of Short Stories

This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to ...
This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to fall around the 17-page range. They may not be the deepest or most profound things ever written, but they¿re fun to read and that¿s what matters. Another plus to this book is that the tale of `Salem¿s Lot continues in two stories contained within. ¿Jerusalem¿s Lot' is a prequel, while ¿One for the Road¿ is an epilogue of sorts. So you might want to check it out if you were a fan of that novel. If you¿re in the mood for something fun to read to help pass a dull moment, Night Shift is for you. However, if you demand something richer and more intense, I¿d look elsewhere.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

King's collection collects good and bad!

Its hard to review a collection of short stories because its hard to lump the good with the bad. Some were really good, such as Children Of The Corn, Sometimes They Come Back, Strawberry Spring, and One For The Road. Sadly, there are a couple clunkers in the mix like:...
Its hard to review a collection of short stories because its hard to lump the good with the bad. Some were really good, such as Children Of The Corn, Sometimes They Come Back, Strawberry Spring, and One For The Road. Sadly, there are a couple clunkers in the mix like: Lawnmower Man, Trucks, and I Am The Doorway. What this book does show however is the extremely wide array of stories floating around in King's head. Pretty amazing when you think about the diversity. A pretty good book to flip through but far from great.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on April 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    20 Short stories of terror...

    ...to chill your bones. Stephen King is a great story-teller. Every story is so different and this book provides a lot of variety. Many of them are just pure suspense, which are my favorites, e.g. The Ledge and Quitters, Inc. There's some occultic ones which are not my favorites, e.g. Children of the Corn and Jerusalem's Lot. There will be something in this variety pack for everyone to enjoy. This is a collection written in the early 1970's. I think this author will one day be the modern day Edgar Allan Poe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Omg the closet one is soooo creepy xD

    Its scary haha i had my brother come in check my closet and turn on the light 4 me as i hid under the cover xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Night Shift, Short Stories/Collections

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Another King book to read........

    I would recommened this boook to people who like Stephan King like me. I know why King is one of the most famous authors in the world. This book can be more exciting to read at night and during a storm certianly. For people who don't like Horror books, do not read it. This book can help you get a English project done and it's creeepy but, FUN!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Good for Constant Readers

    I read this collection of some of King's earliest short works over a long period of time. I enjoyed the creepy plot lines and the bluntness of his writing, but I wouldn't recommend this to those who aren't hard-core Stephen King fans. Read 'Everything's Eventual' first, since those stories are more well-polished and in my opinion, better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    A Good Read

    I can't always get through King's books but this a pretty easy read. for people who are just being introduced to King, this is a great starter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Entertaining

    This book was okay, but not what I expected.. If u like Stephen King then read it, if u're looking for a scary book donb't buy this one.. It's entertaining, but not scary..Well, atleast to me anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Steven really IS a King

    I love each book of his and this collection of short stories is simply another masterpiece. Some stories were a little weak according to my view but there were others like 'Children of the corn', 'Sometimes they come back', 'I am the Doorway' and especially: 'Jerusalems Lot' & 'One for the road' that I am never going to forget!!! A must-read for all fans of King and of Horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    LOVED IT

    This was a really great book! I loved all the short stories. My Favorite would have to be Battleground I loved that story. Also The boogie man was another great one. Children of The Corn also great. All of them are. If you like Stephen King definently read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Whoa

    If you like Edgar Allen Poe, you'll have a great time with King. This is the first book of his that I have read, and I read it in a week. I can't walk into a room now without checking all the dark corners (inside closets, under beds, behind chairs, etc.) I would give this book 5 stars if it weren't for the lack of resolve that some of the stories had. They just plain didn't end well. Especially "Grey Matter" and "Children of the Corn". I still don't understand "Children of the Corn". But the rest were excelent. My favorite was "Battleground", a story in which a man is trapped in his house by live toy soldiers. Spooky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    makes me keep my closets shut

    A colletion of short stories that are pretty scary, one of the stories toched me more than actually scared me. those who have younger sisters the last rung on the ladder is a must read. oh yea I would of gave it five stars if a lot of the stories had endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Whasn't that bad

    Stephen Kings 'Night Shift' was really a chiller in his series. The collection of short storieswill keep you on the edge of your seat. The only thing that i think was really wrong with the story is the ending were usually cut short or want you keep you wanting for more. Many people do enjoy that kind of ending but I need some kind of ending (good or bad). Overall it's a great book to read on a chilling October night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Night Shift Review

    Stephen King ahs written some great books, I reccomend his book Night Shift. There are 20 short chilling horror stories that will keep you up for hours. One good story is Children of the Corn. Children of the Corn is about a couple who are on the verge of getting a divorce, taking a road trip to the husband's brother's house. They go through a lot of very small towns, when they get to a place where the rouads are lined with corn. The next thing they know, they are leaning over a dead boy on the road. King makes a dramatic, suspenseful ending to this story, which will be kept secret. Another story in this book is The Man Who Loved Flowers. The Man Who Loved Flowers is one of the shortest stories in the book, although it is interesting to read. It is about a man who is very in love with his girlfriend. He buys his lady a bouqet of flowers and then meets her in the park. In the end, the man and the lady have a weird, yet logical surprise. I have explained only a couple of the stories in the boook Night Shift. There are many more suspenseful, horror stories to keep you up for hours on end. The good thing about this book is that you don't have to start from the begining and go to the end. You can start and end wherever you want to. The one story that I highly reommend is I Know What You Need. This story is a strange one, and also a mystery. It will give you a taste to what the rest of the book is like and keep you reading. The ending of this story will shock you, like most of the stories endings. I'm sure you will like the book as much as I did, even if horror stories aren't your thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Would you work the Night Shift?

    Night Shift is a great collection of some of King's great short fiction. From a maddened laundry machine in 'The Mangler' to a world of hideous rats in 'Graveyard Shift', from killer vehicles in 'Trucks' to a man trying to stop smoking in 'Quitter's Inc.', from an idyllic lake in 'The Raft' to a common childhood monster in 'The Boogeyman', King takes the reader to other horriying worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4