BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Night Sins

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Excellent book.. couldn't put it down! Was just a teensy disappointed in the ending, but there is a sequel.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

Normally I enjoy Tami's books. This is the first one to disappoint, and boy, what a disappointment! The two main characters have about as much chemistry together as George W. Bush and Al Gore. They just never meshed well for me. The book leaves the reader with many ...
Normally I enjoy Tami's books. This is the first one to disappoint, and boy, what a disappointment! The two main characters have about as much chemistry together as George W. Bush and Al Gore. They just never meshed well for me. The book leaves the reader with many loose ends and many unanswered questions. Also the story was extremely drawn out. I found myself skipping over paragraphs to get to the meat of the story, and even at one point considered just reading the end to see 'who done it', which by the way is something I NEVER do. If you want to read a good Tami Hoag book with likeable characters and a good story line try 'Lucky's Lady'. I highly recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    Good read

    Excellent book.. couldn't put it down! Was just a teensy disappointed in the ending, but there is a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for light reading...

    This is the first book I've read from Tami Hoag. It's terrific for light reading, but it's certainly not a mind bender. I've enjoyed the twists and turns in this "whodunnit" mystery, and it's definately a page turner! The love scenes are a little hokey, like something out of a romance novel. But, the characters have true personality - you either love them or hate them! I'm definately willing to try some of Tami Hoag's other books, with hopes they'll be addictive page turners as well!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Book was just ok...it had the potential to be so much better.

    Keep in mind while reading this book there will be no closure. You must read Guilty as Sin to find out who done it. Fortunately I bought the double volume of both books. That was a total of 1,130 pages to find out who done it...ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! Definitely too long for the story line...it could have been written in 600 pages or less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    Ok...worst book I have read in a long time. The ending sucked...if you can even call it an ending. It didn't really even end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    The Quiet before the storm????

    I recently took a break from reading the awesome romance novels and jumped into Tami Hoag's novel 'Night Sins'. This is an awesome horror story about a small town and a little boy of 8 being kidnapped. Tami had a lot of twist and turns in her novel that kept you guessing about who did the kidnapping. It's also a great story about letting go of the past horrific events and being able to move on. Tami did a wonderful job in writing this great suspensful novel. Thanks Tami!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Don't bother

    Normally I enjoy Tami's books. This is the first one to disappoint, and boy, what a disappointment! The two main characters have about as much chemistry together as George W. Bush and Al Gore. They just never meshed well for me. The book leaves the reader with many loose ends and many unanswered questions. Also the story was extremely drawn out. I found myself skipping over paragraphs to get to the meat of the story, and even at one point considered just reading the end to see 'who done it', which by the way is something I NEVER do. If you want to read a good Tami Hoag book with likeable characters and a good story line try 'Lucky's Lady'. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Big Fan

    This was the first Tami Hoag book I read almost 15 years ago....been a fan ever since. Havent read one I didnt like.....all are page turners with some twisted plots....she keeps you guessing. I usuallyfind myself not wanting the book to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Keeps you on your toes

    This was the first book that I read by Tami Hoag. I really enjoyed this book as well as the romance that occurs in it. Over all it kept me guessing and wondering who did it every step of the way. I do feel that it could have been written just as well if it was shorter. It kept me up a couple nights to the wee hours of the morning because i just needed to know who did it, but that never came. Little to say at 3:15 AM I was a little mad. I would have liked if it had an ending, this book really did not have any closure what so ever. I felt this was a dissapointment. I guess I have to read the follow up book to get my ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I loved this book. The characters were awesome some you loved



    I loved this book. The characters were awesome some you loved and some you loved to hate. The mystery was thrilling from beginning to end. I can't wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Seriously??

    This book started off well, but ended terribly! What a waste of time! SPOILER ALERT: Josh lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Great Book, I would really recommend this

    I liked this book very much and have purchased more of this author, she is an awesome writer. I will purchase more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read!!

    This book touched on everything thats scary! A great and captivating read from beginning to end. I've just purchased Guilty as Sin and cannot wait to dive in!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not worth buying!!!!

    Wow! what a waste of money this is!!!! I only made it to page 60. I felt like I was reading a cheesy romance novel, were they try to fit in sexual tension anywhere even if it doesn't make sense! The scene on page 60 is just retarded. This is the first Tami Hoag book I ever bought, and honestly don't think I will buy one of her books again. Wasted money! It was just a silly book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    First book I read by Hoag

    The book was fair, but I think that Michael Connelly has upped my expectations a bit for this type of story (romance set aside- no romance really when it comes to Michael) I recently discovered his books...Anyway- I was worried almost immediately that I would not like the lead character after her line-badly timed joke-about the person she replaced. (page 25). I found it completely thoughtless and it made me almost dislike her immediately. As for Mitch, I totally got that he would let himself get rusty/let himself lose his edge, but he did not seem to grow the way he should have. I think the author could have done a much better job with this/missed a good opportunity there. I found myself asking if he was ever a good cop. I will read the sequel that I think is out there, but not sure if I will become a Tami Hoag fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Outstanding!

    I fell in love with Night Sins while being lazy on a saturday and watching part of the movie on TNT. When i bought the book, i was very eager to read it! I acctually got hooked on it, and was spending more time reading than anything else. I reccomend this book to absolutley anyone who reads for fun and loves a good thriller. Also, for those of you who say that the book left you with unsolved questions, you might want to try reading the sequal. Anyway, I hope to be reading more of Tami Hoags books soon and i am hoping to find one as good as Night Sins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    page turning

    I enjoyed this book.I didn't want to put it down until I knew the end.It was a combination of a weird, complicated romance and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    novel just doesn't work

    I wrote a 'kind of' personal review of Hoag's book a few days ago, but to be honest, I couldn't even finish it. I reached page 200-or-so and threw it in the closet -- such was my disgust. I don't know whether the book is suspense or Harlequin romance, and the suspense just didn't build at all. The whole thing was a string of stereotypes, hackneyed writing and characters, 'telegraphed' plotting. When Hoag actually has some possible suspense, she lets it get away. Major, major disappointment for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    AWESOME READ!

    Great story and characters. A real page turner! I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    A Must Read

    Excellent. Definitely a book everyone should read. Couldn't put it down. Very suspenseful and thrilling. Makes you look over your shoulder. Gives you goosebumps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Excellent!

    This is the best book I have ever read. I bought it one night, and stayed up til 4 am to finish it. Once you read the first chapter, you will read the rest. The climax has you on the edge of your seat. The chemisrty between the charcters is just out of this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5