Customer Reviews for

Night Star (Immortals Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 1177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(687)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

I love the series. They are wonderful and keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Uhm. . .

I really loved the first book and the second one was great too but i'm really getting tired of waiting for her to get on with the story i become less and less excited about each book. I really hope this one will be better and hopefully more interesting. Of course that w...
I really loved the first book and the second one was great too but i'm really getting tired of waiting for her to get on with the story i become less and less excited about each book. I really hope this one will be better and hopefully more interesting. Of course that will only happen if Ever quits making mistake after mistake. I guess we'll see.

posted by riveting on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Ever Drives Me Crazy

    She has it all. The perfect boyfriend, good friends, awesome powers and all she does is pity herself because she and Damen can't freakin' touch and it's just so the end of the world. I wanted to reach into the book and smack Ever for always finding a new reason to be all emo about. She pissed me off quite a bit. And as for the romance... way too cheesy for my liking. Almost gag-worthy. Noel is a great writer and all and knows how to put emotion in her writing, but maybe if she made Ever just a tad bit less... pitiful and maybe eased down on the mushy romance a bit more and the plot actually went somewhere instead of just handing out new problems for Ever to be all "Woe is me" about, then I could have loved the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Ya-Aholic

    I was surprised how much i liked this new addition to the Immortal series by Alyson Noel. I was starting to get very sick of this series towards thee end, it seemed like each book was just dragging things out. Thank god that Night Star came threw, night star has less (somewhat confusing) magic involved, more problems of Ever's love triangle with Jude and Damen (which i love!) and more mystery towards the end making it hard to not want the 6th and Final book right after you finish this. If you are reading the Immortal series and feel your gettting sick of it, PLEASE continue it, Night Star was just as good as evermore and blue moon (which are the best in the series). I know I am very happy i didnt give up on this series, and cannot wait for the 6th and finale book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    There's another one? :(

    Please, don't waste your time on these books if you know what good literature is like. Especially after the fourth book. Nothing ever gets solved and its just exhausting to read. Everything I liked about it in the first book has changed, for worse. Now I'm committed, and I was all too happy to finish this book. Then I see that the final book is coming this summer and I wanted to shoot myself. All the characters are so mixed up now, it's ridiculous. Just, ugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Sondbird

    Hi im songbird i died about a good 10 seasons ago i never joined starclan may i join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Everstar

    "And I am here."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Is this starclan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Pretty good

    I love these books and this wasnt as good as the others but is bettter than the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ok continuation of story

    the 5th installment of this series begins to wrap up some of the constant questions that are lingering. However, it seems in each book there is a villian that Ever "must defeat." Granted in the last 2 books she finally takes the high road, but its pretty much the same story, one of the immortals is evil or goes bad - Ever must end it. The author does however bring in a new element into the Summerland with a little mystery that must be solved which should make the last book more interesting. Hopefully the 2 immortals involved with that don't end up being the same as the others and she puts a little new spin on things. There was still lots of the high school teen drama that should capture the young readers attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better but still waiting for the best

    I am a fan of the series but I feel the author has simply dragged Ever's issues for far too long. It has improved in this book remarkably Ever is much more like the character I loved in the first book. I am not sad to say I was a little happy to see there is only one book left in the series for I felt it should have ended here had it not been Ever still hasn't found an anecdote for Damien. However though in most cases if I find you can skip a book in the series I would say do so but in this case you really learn more about Ever's past lives then in any other book which makes it interesting. Not to spoil but Ever finally yes I mean FINALLY makes a decision between Jude and Damien so unfortunetly you need to read the book to find out because there is details you will need to learn to understand the decision and yes there is finally an end to her best friend again you need to read. Not the best work I have ever read but I feel that it wasn't a amazing or horrible read but it did have many good parts and was much better then the previous one. I suggest it if you plan to finish the series. Hopefully Noel gives us a concluding book that will leave us at the edge of our seats, an ending that is befitting of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    decent

    the series is good but frankly it has become repetetive. the characters are interesting and well developed. the verbiage of this series is very unoriginal though which can make it frustrating and a bit boring. looking forward to a conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Good but not mind blowing

    I find this series to be pretty good. Noel has definitely had some creativity throughout the books, by coming up with a new species instead of sticking with the usual vampires and werewolf. My only complaint is that I personally am getting a little tired of watching Ever make mistakes over again so I was pleased to find out that Everlasting would be the final book of this series. hopefully it will be the best of the series and the ending will blow us all away. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    It wasnt so terrible, but...

    I have to admit that it wasnt as horrible as I expected. Everything is being painfully drawn out though. When I learned that there would be fifth book, I figured there might be some resolution for the main characters but... I hope the next book finally allows Ever and Damen to have what they so desperately want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I was a little hesitant with reading this one. The back and forth in the story was really starting to get to me. Not to mention some of the choices that Ever has made along the way. I had hope that the author could redeem the story little.

    I was both right and wrong in that aspect. Of course Ever still has some trust issues with Damen. She's horrible at jumping to conclusions and assuming the worst. I also don't really like her attitude towards her aunt. I wonder if she realizes that she sounds a bit like Haven when she stars spotting off that her aunt doesn't know what's really going on and refuses to accepts things she's been told. Damen was ok. I wish he would stop hiding things from Ever because you know a lot of this heartache could be avoided. Plus, its weird how he rushed to the defense of everyone else. And Haven...wow. I knew it was coming, but she's a really violent character. I'm glad we have some resolution there, because I don't think I could have stood another book with the same theme.

    I was so HAPPY to finally see some resolution with some story lines. Ever finally choose, and I think it's a good choice and she fully understands what she's doing. Plus, I think we have a better understanding of Damen and all their past lives together. Damen was sugar coating a lot of it.

    I thought this book was ok, even though it had a lot of the things I was hoping might happen. I'm also hoping that the next book in the series is the last. There's not much left to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ugh series are dragging

    seriously cant wait for the series to end!! the first two books were good but after that the series keep dragging an getting kinda stupid!! just end all ready!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Night Star

    This is ana amazing sequel to the other Immortals books, I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite

    I usually read a book in a sitting but found it hard to get into this one. I kept reading a little and putting it down. I really enjoy this series but this one for me was probably my least favorite. Still I will read the final book in the series! An ...moreI usually read a book in a sitting but found it hard to get into this one. I kept reading a little and putting it down. I really enjoy this series but this one for me was probably my least favorite. Still I will read the final book in the series! An okay book overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book in the series

    This book was fairly well written. It was a page turn, but of corse led to a lot of lead up to the final book. I really love Ever and it is good to see her getting her strength back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    OKAY...

    I am reading this book right now. The plot is taking forever to start and I feel like it will never get to the interesting parts. The first book was absolutely the best but the main character grew old very quickly. I want to finish the series just to finish to be done with it, hopefully the last is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Did not enjoy it.

    It was ok. I was secretly hoping Jude was her soulmate. And now to make Damen and Jude friends well that just takes the cake. I may or may not read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Good

    I am a huge fan of the series but this one is not great, I dont reget buying and reading it but cant help but to be a bit bored and disapointed with it which is hard for me to say because this is one of my favorites. It just seams to be dragging it out too much. This whole thing with Damen and Ever not being able to touch should be wrapped up and move on to a new adventure but I guess Noel likes dragging it out too much. Oh well I did enjoy the book and hopefully I will like the 6th and final book next year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7